DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In the amendments filed 09/08/2026, claims 1-29 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 7-29 are withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (JP 2006328367 A, machine translation in English used for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a curable composition for forming a hard coat layer [0087], wherein the curable composition contains a fluoroaliphatic group-containing monomer [0087], wherein the above monomers may form copolymers with other copolymerizable monomers [0088], wherein the monomers are furfuryl acrylate [0089], wherein the curable composition contains a resin composition that can be cured by thermal radiation [0073], wherein the resin composition can be cured by heat radiation [0074], wherein the following means is used for curing the curable composition: heat [0069], wherein the hard coat layer can be formed by a crosslinking reaction of compounds contained in the curable composition by irradiation with heat [0104], wherein curing by thermal irradiation can be carried out by heating in the presence of a thermal radical initiator [0180], wherein the hard coat layer is formed by a cured film made of the curable composition [0073], wherein an anti-reflective film has the hard coat layer provided on a transparent support directly or via another layer, and an anti-reflective layer is further laminated on the hard coat layer [0071], where in the process, an organic solvent is used as a coating solution or as part of a coating solution, wherein the organic solvent does not impair solubility or dispersibility when mixed with other materials such as fluorine-containing polymers [0024], wherein a solvent is used in the preparation of the curable composition, wherein examples of the solvent include ketones, esters, and alcohols [0062], wherein the polymer comprising the fluoroaliphatic group-containing monomer can be produced by known methods that are polymerizing them in an organic solvent with the addition of a general-purpose radical polymerization initiator [0095], wherein a ketone-based solvent is the coating solvent [0108], wherein the coating solution for the hard coat layer comprises the ketone-based solvent [0225-0240], which reads on a multi-level substrate coating composition comprising a compound (A) serving as a main agent, and a solvent, wherein the compound (A) has a partial structure of the following Formula (1) Formula (1)
wherein the solvent is exclusively an organic solvent, and the composition is cured by heating as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Kato satisfies the limitation the multi-level substrate coating composition according to claim 1, wherein the aromatic ring is a benzene ring, a naphthalene ring, or an anthracene ring as claimed. This is because the aromatic ring is not required to be present if the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1), and Kato’s teachings read on the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1) as explained above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Kato satisfies the limitation the multi-level substrate coating composition according to claim 1, wherein the polymer containing the aromatic ring is a polymer having a hydroxyaryl novolac structure in which a hydroxyl group is substituted with a partial structure of Formula (A-1) or (A-2) as claimed. This is because the polymer containing the aromatic ring is not required to be present if the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1), the compound (A) is not required to have a partial structure of the Formulae (A-1), (A-2), (A-3), (17), (18), or (20) if the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1), and Kato’s teachings read on the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1) as explained above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Kato satisfies the limitation the multi-level substrate coating composition according to claim 1, wherein the monomer containing the aromatic ring is a monomer prepared by substitution of a hydroxyl group of the aromatic ring with a partial structure of Formula (A-1) or (A-2) as claimed. This is because the monomer containing the aromatic ring is not required to be present if the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1), the compound (A) is not required to have a partial structure of the Formulae (A-1), (A-2), (A-3), (17), (18), or (20) if the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1), and Kato’s teachings read on the compound (A) has a partial structure of the Formula (1) as explained above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Kato teaches that an acid generator is incorporated into the curable composition [0054], which reads on wherein the composition further comprises an acid generator as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (JP 2006-328367 A, machine translation in English used for citation) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Kato teaches the multi-level substrate coating composition according to claim 1 as explained above. Kato teaches that the curable composition may contain inorganic fine particles [0048] and that the inorganic fine particles may be subjected to chemical surface treatments such as surfactants [0052], which optionally reads on wherein the composition further comprises a surfactant as claimed.
Kato does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the composition further comprises a surfactant. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Kato’s inorganic fine particles that are subjected to chemical surface treatments that are surfactants to modify Kato’s curable composition, such that Kato’s surfactants are present in Kato’s curable composition. The proposed modification would read on wherein the composition further comprises a surfactant as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kato teaches that the curable composition may contain inorganic fine particles [0048], that the inorganic fine particles can effectively improve scratch resistance without formation of fine irregularities or deterioration of appearance [0048], and that the inorganic fine particles may be subjected to chemical surface treatments such as surfactants in order to stabilize their dispersion in the dispersion or coating solution, or to enhance their affinity and bonding with binder components [0052].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 11-12, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 11-12, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rink et al. (US 5,840,372) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 11-12, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rink et al. (US 5,840,372) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yoshizawa et al. (JP 2006-206712 A, machine translation in English used for citation) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767