DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0373573) in view of Shinpuku et al. (US 2020/0067089).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 6, the reference Kim et al. discloses an apparatus (see para. [0014]; [0016]; [0027]; [0083]; Fig. 1) for manufacturing a precursor for positive electrode active material, the apparatus comprising: a reactor configured to receive a reaction solution and produce a precursor for positive electrode active material through a co-precipitation reaction of the reaction solution (see paras. [0016]; [0027]; [0072]-[0075]; Fig. 1); and a filtration unit (not labeled) disposed inside the reactor and configured to discharge a filtrate excluding solids in the reaction solution to outside of the reactor when the reaction solution reaches a predetermined solution level (see paras. [0069]-[0075]; Fig. 1). The reference Kim et al., however, does not specifically disclose an extraction unit configured to extract a portion of the reaction solution and transfer the portion to a storage tank to maintain the content of the solids in the reaction solution at a predetermined level or lower, and wherein the extraction unit is not connected to the filtration unit.
The reference Shinpuku et al. teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a precursor for positive electrode active material (see paras. [0056]-[0062]), the apparatus comprising: a reactor (13) configured to receive a reaction solution and produce a precursor for positive electrode active material through a co-precipitation reaction of the reaction solution (see paras. [0058]-[060]); and an extraction unit (14) configured to extract a portion of the reaction solution containing the precursor and transfer the portion to a storage tank to maintain the content of the solids in the reaction solution at a predetermined level or lower (see paras. [0061]; [0088]). The reference Shinpuku et al. further teaches that the extraction unit (14) can be used to extract a portion of the reaction solution containing the precursor and transfer the portion to a downstream process once the coprecipitation reaction reaches a steady state (see paras. [0061]-[0062]; [0088]; [0092]; [0103]; Fig. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an extraction unit as taught by Shinpuku et al. to the apparatus of Kim et al. to extract a portion of the reaction solution containing the precursor material and transfer the portion to a storage tank, as claimed by applicant, once the coprecipitation reaction in the reactor of Kim et al. reaches a steady state, such as when the average particle diameter of the precursor produced in the reactor is 8 μm or smaller, as suggested by Shinpuku et al. (see paras. [0060]-[0061]; [0063]). Further, such a modification would amount to nothing more than a use of a known device for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 2, the references Kim et al. and Shinpuku et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the reactor comprises one or more input parts configured to continuously supply raw materials (see Kim et. al.: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the references Kim et al. and Shinpuku et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the filtration unit comprises a filter made of a metal material (see Kim et al.: para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, the references Kim et al. and Shinpuku et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the filtration unit comprises a pleated filter made of a metal material (see Kim et al.: para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 7, the references Kim et al. and Shinpuku et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the extraction unit comprises a pump (see Shinpuku et al.: paras. [0061]; [0088]; Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 23 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the reference Shinpuku et al. teaches that once a precipitation reaction in a reactor (13) reaches a steady state, such as when the average particle diameter of a product slurry produced in the reactor is 8 μm or smaller, an extraction unit (14) may be employed for extracting a portion of the product slurry from the reactor at a fixed flow rate (see paras. [0061]; [0063]; [0088]). Accordingly, the examiner maintains the position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly provide an extraction unit as taught by Shinpuku et al. to the apparatus of Kim et al. to extract a portion of the reaction solution from the reactor and transfer the portion to a storage tank, as claimed by applicant. Further, such a modification would amount to nothing more than a use of a known device for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774