DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magagnoli (2016/0235955) in view of Hunter (2025/0049391). Evidenced by Stein (2011/0319755), Hunter et al (2024/0164642).
The rejection states that Magagnoli is unclear as teaching the femoral part having at least one temperature sensor in each condylar section (102, 103). As shown below, Magagnoli clearly teaches recesses 104 in both condylar sections fully capable of receiving a temperature sensor in each condylar section.
Applicant asserts that the examiner is relying on conclusory common sense; the examiner disagrees.
Hunter teaches a very similar knee spacer fully capable of being temporarily implanted having a femoral part comprising two condylar sections and a plurality of temperature sensors (applicant’s “detection means”) to detect possible infection; see at least par. 0082-0084 and 0233.
Par. 0083 teaches temperature sensors (plural) may be included within one or more components. Summary: The femoral part is a component of the knee device and can include two or more temperature sensors.
Par. 0098 teaches sensors, including temperature sensors, at a density of greater than 10 per square centimeter may be placed randomly, or at one or more specific location within the knee replacement. Summary: It is the examiner’s position that both “randomly” or “at more specification locations” include placing a temperature sensor in each condyle. Par. 0098 teaches “a wide variety of sensors” which include strain gauge sensors and temperature sensors at various locations. Included figure 6 showing strain gauge sensors.
The reasoning for combining Magagnoli in view of Hunter is stated in the grounds of rejection.
The argument directed to the “a spacer device intended to be temporarily implanted a patient’s joint area” is obviously functional language which does not differentiate the final claimed spacer. Note that Magagnoli’s abstract starts with “a temporary disposable spacer”.
Applicant’s arguments beginning on page 10, line 17 – page 11, line 7 are unclear how they pertain to the at least claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 36, 38-42, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magagnoli (2016/0235955) in view of Hunter (2025/0049391). Claim 42 is evidenced by Hunter et al (2024/0164642).
Magagnoli teaches a knee spacer device capable of the being implanted temporarily (also, see par. 0031).
Said knee spacer comprising at least one sensor as well as electronic circuitry for obtaining data detected by said at least one senor (at least par. 0175-0180); and
wherein said at least one sensor comprising one force or load sensor (see par. 0176); and
a tibial part 1 intended to be fixed to a patient's tibia and a femoral part 100 (having two condylar sections 102, 103) intended to be fixed to a patient's femur for slidingly engaging said tibial part.
Said knee spacer comprising a detection means which is at least one temperature sensor (bio-sensor) in the tibial part and at least one temperature sensor (bio-sensor) in the femoral part. See par. 0178. A temperature measurement is a detection means of a possible infection.
All “at least one sensor” includes electronic circuitry for obtaining the data detected by the sensor; see par. 0175-0180. Referring to par. 0175, the spacer device 1, 100, 200 can comprise at least one specific diagnostic or measuring device, not illustrated in the figures, housed inside one of the recesses 4, 4”, 104, 104’, 204, 204’. Recesses 104 are in the both recesses.
However, Magagnoli is unclear as teaching the femoral part having at least one temperature sensor in each condylar section (102, 103).
Hunter teaches a very similar knee spacer capable of being temporarily implanted having a femoral part comprising two condylar sections and a plurality of temperature sensors (detection means) to detect possible infection; see at least par. 0082-0084, 0233.
Par. 0083 teaches sensors such as temperature sensors (detecting temperature increases), pH sensors (detecting pH decreases), and other metabolic sensors can be used to suggest the presence of infection on or around the implant. For example, temperature sensors (plural) may be included within one or more components (such as the femoral part) of a knee prosthesis, medical device or kit in order to allow early detection of infection could allow preemptive treatment with antibiotics or surgical drainage and eliminate the need to surgically remove the knee prosthesis, medical device or kit.
Par. 0098 teaches sensors including temperature sensors at a density of greater than 10 per square centimeter may be placed randomly, or at one or more specific location within the knee replacement.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used a plurality of temperature sensors at one or more specific locations within the femoral part (one component) as taught by Hunter in the recesses 104 of the femoral part of Magagnoli to include at least one first temperature sensors in the first condylar section and at least a second temperature sensor in the other condylar section to determine the presence of an infection on the totality of the femoral part and not merely focusing on a single condyle in order to allow early detection of infection. Condylar sections are separated by a distance, as shown in the figure above, and an infection can occur at one or both of the condylar sections.
Claim 36, see par. 0067 teaching the main body can be made of PMMA. See par. 0177 teaching the chip (with sensors) is inside the spacer device.
Claim 38, the examiner takes the position that a temperature sensor can be considered a monoclonal antibodies suitable for the supersensitive identification of bacterial presence.
Claim 39, see at least par. 0176 teaching an accelerometer which is designed to measure and/or detect acceleration. Also, see at least par. 0020 of Hunter.
Claim 40, Magagnoli teaches: [0180] As an example, the bio-sensor could comprise data transmission means to allow the detection in real time of the conditions of use of the spacer device 1, 100, 200 with which it is associated, thus allowing the operation of the spacer device 1, 100, 200 to be monitored.
The monitoring device is interpreted as the unit for detecting parameters or disturbances of a patient”. It is inherent that the unit comprises a group or component for receiving and processing the sensor data. Also, see at least figures 10-11 of Hunter et al and par. 0101-0105 which would have been obvious to have used with the device of Magagnoli for communicating with the electronic circuitry/sensors of the device. Also, see at least figures 10-11 of Hunter et al and par. 0101-0105 which would have been obvious to have used with the device of Magagnoli for communicating with the electronic circuitry/sensors of the device. Also, see the include figure taken from Stein et al below.
Claim 41, the “group or component for receiving and processing” to be capable of the operate as described in par. 0180 inherently must have a power supply component. Also, see figure 10, “POWER SUPPLY” of Hunter.
Claim 42, see at least par. 0025 of Hunter teaching a watch or cellphone which are wearable and have a power supply. The examiner further provides Hunter (2024/0164642) as evidence teaching:
[0131] Because the power coil 74 is in near-field proximity to the power coil 28, the coils are magnetically (i.e., inductively) coupled such that each coil acts as a respective winding of a transformer. This coupling occurs even though the coil 28 may be implanted in a subject such that items like air, clothing, and biological materials (e.g., skin or other tissue, and blood) separate the coils 28 and 74.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have positioned the power supply in the clothing (garment) such that the device could be indefinitely powered without further surgery.
Claim 45: The control component claimed as doing the same thing as the group or component for receiving and processing. See all claims above.
Claims 43-44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magagnoli and in view of Hunter (2025/0049391). Evidenced by Stein (2011/0319755).
Magagnoli and in view of Hunter (2025/0049391) teach a knee spacer device as described above for claim 40 above.
Claim 43: Magagnoli teaches the knee spacer device as described above having a chip with sensors, a miniaturized circuit and a transmission means to allow operation of the knee spacer device to be monitored (par. 0176-0180). It is inherent that the receiving and processing group includes a scanner/reader for receiving and processing the sensor data. Also, see at least figures 10-11 of Hunter et al and par. 0101-0105 which would have been obvious to have used with the device of Magagnoli for communicating with the electronic circuitry/sensors of the device. Further, it is unclear if Magagnoli and/or Hunter teach a battery in the scanner or discuss the how the chip is powered.
The examiner evidences Stein et al teaching a very similar knee spacer device including a battery in the spacer; see at least par. 0118. It would have obvious to one have ordinary skill in the art to have used a battery as taught by Stein et al to power the chip in the spacer of Magagnoli et al (or in view of Hunter) for transmitting data or maintaining memory.
Claim 44: The reader receives accelerometer data and other sensor data to inherently evaluate movement of the knee spacer device reflected by the data.
Claim 46 claims the control component further comprises a computer. See par. 0176-0180 of Magagnoli teaching real time monitoring which inherently includes a computer. Further, see at least the discussion of claim 42 above teaching a watch or cellphone. Stein et al teaches using a laptop.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRUCE E SNOW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774