Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 uses the terminology C-plane and U-plane, but claims doesn’t disclose or the define the acronym “C” and “U” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1)
1, Goel discloses a radio node comprising: a memory storing instructions [par 0157, In some cases, processor 1220 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In other cases, a memory controller may be integrated into processor 1220. Processor 1220 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting time synchronization of a second interface based on information received over a first interface)];
and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to: a first processing section configured to receive a synchronization signal transmitted from a first node [abstract, par 0005, A first node (e.g., a user equipment (UE)) may receive a timing synchronization signal from a second node (e.g., a base station) over a cellular wireless communication link. In some aspects, the timing synchronization signal may indicate mapping information to synchronize the first node with the second node. . For example, the UE may have a wireless interface that receives timing synchronization signals over a cellular wireless communication link, such as from a base station. The timing synchronization signals may be reference signal(s), synchronization signal(s), beam management signal(s), and the like. In some cases, the UE may be associated with a first clock with a first time and the synchronization signals may include a mapping for a second time of a second clock associated with a time synchronized wireless network (e.g., a clock associated with the base station)];
and a second processing section configured to generate a reference signal by
using a time signal acquired from a time signal source [par 0006, The UE may provide timing control signals to the device via the local wired interface, where the timing control signals are based on the timer function of the local wired interface. In some aspects, the UE (or a controller function of the device that includes the UE functionality) controls the end device using the timing control signals (reference signal). Thus, the UE may leverage cellular timing synchronization signals to provide timing and control of the end device, such as in an industrial machine],
and execute processing relating to synchronization in accordance with a comparison result based on the synchronization signal and the reference signal [par 0012, 0013, determining that at least one metric of the cellular wireless communication link satisfies a threshold and transmitting the timing control signal to control the device based on the determination. The at least one metric of the cellular wireless communication link may include operations, features, means, or instructions for a reference signal received power (RSRP), a SNR, a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a bandwidth parameter, a throughput parameter].
Claim 2, Goel describe the radio node according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to restore a first reference signal by using the synchronization signal transmitted from the first node [par 0096, 0097, The timing synchronization signals may carry or otherwise convey an indication of timing information, e.g., absolute or relative timing information. UE 230 may be operating within a timing accuracy threshold. In the non-limiting example of FIG. 2, this may include the UE 230 providing a timing control signal to device 235, where the device 235 requires strict timing synchronization to perform a given task, e.g., movement of components of device 235 that must be synchronized. In other aspects, the UE 230 may be operating within a timing accuracy threshold based on other scenarios, e.g., in a vehicle-based deployment where coordinate of sensor information, safety messages, and the like],
the generated reference signal is a second reference signal different from the first reference signal, and the one or more processors are configured to evaluate a first synchronization signal in accordance with a comparison result of the first reference signal and the second reference signal, the first synchronization signal being the received synchronization signal [par 0098, UE 230 may be a dual-interface UE that is configured with a cellular wireless communication interface and a local wired interface. The UE 230 may receive the timing synchronization signals from base station 225 over the cellular interface and communicate with the device 235 over the local wired interface. In other aspects, the local wired interface is configured for communications over a local communication network. The local wired interface may include a timer function (e.g., one or more clocks, timers, etc.) that UE 230 configures with the timing synchronization signals received from base station 225. UE 230 may transmit a timing control signal to device 235 over the local wired interface. For example, UE 230 may generate the timing control signals based on the timer function. Accordingly, UE 230 may manage or control aspects of device 235 operations using the timing control signals, which are based on the timing synchronization signals received from base station 225].
Claim 3, Goel disclose the radio node according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate a second synchronization signal, based on an evaluation result of the first synchronization signal, and transmit the second synchronization signal to a second node[fig 4, par 0109, 0110, UE 410 may configure a timer function of a local wired interface of UE 410 based on the timing synchronization signals. In some aspects, this may include UE 410 configuring the timer function as a PTP function. UE 410 may transmit (and device 415 may receive) timing control signals via the local wired interface. The timing control signals may be based on the timer function].
Claim 4, Goel illustrate the radio node according to claim 3, wherein the second processing section is the one or more processors are configured to generate the second synchronization signal by using another signal received from the first node in addition to the evaluation result [par 0108, 0111, At 420, base station 305 may transmit (and UE 310 may receive) timing synchronization signals over a cellular wireless communication link. The timing synchronization signals may include any combination of a primary synchronization signal, a secondary synchronization signal, system information block (SIB), positioning reference signal (PRS), UE 410 may configure the timer function and transmit the timing control signals dependent upon the channel performance of the cellular wireless communication link. The metrics of the cellular wireless communication link may include any combination of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a bandwidth parameter, a throughput parameter, and the like. For example, UE 410 may determine that at least one metric of the cellular wireless communication link satisfies a threshold and transmit the timing control signal to control the device 415 based at least in part on the determination. For example, if UE 410 determines that an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SNR, or an SINR is above a corresponding threshold, the UE 410 may then determine that a timing of the device 415 may be based on the timing information received via the cellular wireless communication link].
Claim 6, Goel discloses the radio node according to claim 3, wherein the evaluation result is information indicating fluctuation and/or validity of the first synchronization signal [par 0099, UE 230 transmitting the timing control signals may be based on the channel performance of the wireless link between base station 225 and UE 230. For example, UE 230 may configure the timer function based on the metric(s) associated with the wireless link, e.g., SINR, bandwidth, throughput, channel quality, etc. When the channel metrics satisfy a threshold, e.g., the channel performance is suitable to meet the timing accuracy requirements of device 235, UE may transmit the timing control signals. When the channel metrics do not satisfy the threshold]
Claim 7, Goel provides the radio node according to 3, comprising a memory configured to store capability information indicating whether or not the second synchronization signal can be generated based on the second reference signal generated using the time signal [par 0015, the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for configuring the timer function as a precision time protocol (PTP) function, a generalized PTP function, or a timing and synchronization protocol function],
and configuration information indicating whether or not the second synchronization signal is to be generated based on the second reference signal generated using the time signal [par 0099, UE 230 transmitting the timing control signals may be based on the channel performance of the wireless link between base station 225 and UE 230. For example, UE 230 may configure the timer function based on the metric(s) associated with the wireless link, e.g., SINR, bandwidth, throughput, channel quality, etc. When the channel metrics satisfy a threshold, e.g., the channel performance is suitable to meet the timing accuracy requirements of device 235, UE may transmit the timing control signals. When the channel metrics do not satisfy the threshold, UE 230 may withhold the timing control signals].
Claim 8, Goel discloses the radio node according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transfer the received synchronization to a second node, based on timing indicated by the reference signal generated using the time signal [fig 4, par 0109, 0110, UE 410 may configure a timer function of a local wired interface of UE 410 based on the timing synchronization signals. In some aspects, this may include UE 410 configuring the timer function as a PTP function. UE 410 may transmit (and device 415 may receive) timing control signals via the local wired interface. The timing control signals may be based on the timer function].
Claim 9, Goel illustrates the radio node according to claim 8, wherein the synchronization signal includes synchronization accuracy information indicating synchronization accuracy of the synchronization signal [par 0091, In some aspects, component(s) of wireless communication system 200 may be part of a core network in an LTE/LTE-A, mmW, NR, etc. network, such as is described with respect to wireless communications system 100. In some aspects, one or more devices operating in such a network, including industrial-grade devices, may require timing synchronization satisfying a defined accuracy level]
and the one or more processors are configured to change the synchronization accuracy information, based on the synchronization signal adjusted using the reference signal [par 0066, 0106, The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying certain amplitude and phase offsets to signals carried via each of the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation). This configured time may be used by the PTP techniques. Thus, certain aspects include using timing information received on a wireless interface to control the timing on another interface. For example, UE 310 may adjust a clock on the second interface based on the timing information. UE 310 may use the timing information to modify the second interface to control devices connected through the second interface].
Claim 10, Goel display the radio node according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to, when performing an adjustment by using the reference signal to improve the synchronization accuracy of the synchronization signal [par 0005, 0047 For example, the UE may have a wireless interface that receives timing synchronization signals over a cellular wireless communication link, such as from a base station. The timing synchronization signals may be reference signal(s), synchronization signal(s), beam management signal(s), and the like. In some cases, the UE may be associated with a first clock with a first time and the synchronization signals may include a mapping for a second time of a second clock associated with a time synchronized wireless network (e.g., a clock associated with the base station. Accordingly, the UE may use cellular-based timing synchronization signaling to configure timing control signals for an end device connected to the UE. In some aspects, the UE may transmit the timing control signals to the end device when the wireless channel performance supports a threshold degree of timing accuracy.].
change the synchronization accuracy information to a value indicating that the synchronization accuracy is higher [fig 5, par 0067, 0099, 0106, 0114, For example, a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions, and the UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. For example, UE 230 may configure the timer function based on the metric(s) associated with the wireless link, e.g., SINR, bandwidth, throughput, channel quality, etc. When the channel metrics satisfy a threshold, e.g., the channel performance is suitable to meet the timing accuracy requirements of device 235, UE may transmit the timing control signals].
Claim 11, Goel provide the radio node according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to change the synchronization accuracy information to a value indicating that the synchronization accuracy is lower than actual synchronization accuracy of the synchronization signal [fig 5, par 0047, 0106, 0153, In some aspects, the UE may transmit the timing control signals to the end device when the wireless channel performance supports a threshold degree of timing accuracy. UE 310 configuring a time on Ethernet hardware (such as a clock on the hardware). This configured time may be used by the PTP techniques. Thus, certain aspects include using timing information received on a wireless interface to control the timing on another interface. For example, UE 310 may adjust a clock on the second interface based on the timing information. UE 310 may use the timing information to modify the second interface to control devices connected through the second interface. Cellular metric manager 1135 may determine that at least one metric of the cellular wireless communication link satisfies a threshold, transmit the timing control signal to control the device based on the determination, determine that at least one metric of the cellular wireless communication link fails to satisfy a threshold, and withhold the timing control signal from the device based on the determination. I
Claim 12, Goel discloses the radio node according to any one of claims 9 to 11, claim 9, wherein the synchronization accuracy information is a clock class in a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) and/or a Synchronous Status Message (SSM) in Synchronous Ethernet (SyncE) [par 0113, As shown by reference number 520, sending node 505-a may receive a PTP message (e.g., from an upstream node of sending node 505, such as from a switch 220 with a time source 215 as described with reference to FIG. 2 by a wireline connection, a wireless connection, and/or the like). For example, sending node 505-a may receive a PTP message including information identifying a reference timestamp for an upstream GM function, an aggregated delay associated with propagation of the PTP message to sending node 505-a, and/or the like. In this case, sending node 505-a may synchronize master clock function 510-a to a reference time of the upstream GM function based at least in part on the PTP message].
Claim 20, Goel creates a method comprising: receiving a synchronization signal transmitted from a first node[abstract, par 0005, A first node (e.g., a user equipment (UE)) may receive a timing synchronization signal from a second node (e.g., a base station) over a cellular wireless communication link. In some aspects, the timing synchronization signal may indicate mapping information to synchronize the first node with the second node. . For example, the UE may have a wireless interface that receives timing synchronization signals over a cellular wireless communication link, such as from a base station. The timing synchronization signals may be reference signal(s), synchronization signal(s), beam management signal(s), and the like. In some cases, the UE may be associated with a first clock with a first time and the synchronization signals may include a mapping for a second time of a second clock associated with a time synchronized wireless network (e.g., a clock associated with the base station)];
and generating a reference signal by using a time signal acquired from a time signal source[par 0006, The UE may provide timing control signals to the device via the local wired interface, where the timing control signals are based on the timer function of the local wired interface. In some aspects, the UE (or a controller function of the device that includes the UE functionality) controls the end device using the timing control signals (reference signal). Thus, the UE may leverage cellular timing synchronization signals to provide timing and control of the end device, such as in an industrial machine],
and executing processing relating to synchronization in accordance with a comparison result based on the synchronization signal and the reference signal[par 0012, 0013, determining that at least one metric of the cellular wireless communication link satisfies a threshold and transmitting the timing control signal to control the device based on the determination. The at least one metric of the cellular wireless communication link may include operations, features, means, or instructions for a reference signal received power (RSRP), a SNR, a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a bandwidth parameter, a throughput parameter].
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1) in view of Mochizuki et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0245402 A1)
Claim 5, Goel discloses the radio node according to claim 4, Goel fails to show wherein the another signal is a C plane signal and/or a U plane signal.
In an analogous art Mochizuki show wherein the another signal is a C plane signal and/or a U plane signal [par 0230, Here, the UE (1501) corresponds to a mobile station; the eNB#1 (1502), a first base station; the eNB#2 (1503), a second base station; and the MME (1505) and the S-GW (1506), a gateway station. For C-plane signals, the RRC connection between the UE (1501) and the eNB#1 (1502) corresponds to a first radio communication connection, and the RRC connection between the UE (1501) and the eNB#2 (1503) corresponds to a second radio communication connection. Similarly, for C-plane signals, the S1-MME signaling connection between the MME (1505) and the eNB#1 (1502) corresponds to a first communication connection, and the S1-MME signaling connection between the MME (1505) and the eNB#2 (1503) corresponds to a second communication connection. For U-plane signals].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and Mochizuki because U-plane and C-plane signals are transmitted while being distributed to the first path including the first communication connection and the first radio communication connection and a second path including the second communication connection and the second radio communication connection.[Mochizuki par 0232].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0321279 A1).
Claim 13,Goel creates the radio node according to claim 8, further comprising the memory is configured to store capability information indicating whether or not the synchronization signal can be adjusted by using the reference signal generated using the time signal[par 0015, the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for configuring the timer function as a precision time protocol (PTP) function, a generalized PTP function, or a timing and synchronization protocol function],
Goel fail to show configuration information indicating whether or not the synchronization signal is to be adjusted by using the reference signal generated using the time signal.
In an analogous art Yang fail to show configuration information indicating whether or not the synchronization signal is to be adjusted by using the reference signal generated using the time signal [par 0004, a base station can transmit one or more reference signals to a UE, such as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and synchronous signal block (SSB). From these reference signals, the UE can measure the channel quality of the downlink transmission. One indicator of downlink channel quality is the reference signal received power (RSRP); another indicator of downlink channel quality is the signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR). The UE reports the measured indicator to the base station, and the base station adjusts downlink signals based on the report from the UE]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and Yang because this improved to benefit operators and users. These improvements may also apply to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards [Yang par 0005].
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1) in view of ZHANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0173740 A1).
Claim 14, Goel provides the radio node claim 1, Goel fail show wherein the time signal source is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal.
In an analogous art ZHANG show wherein the time signal source is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal [par 0109, Nodes or satellites of the navigation satellite constellation(s) (“GNSS nodes”) may provide positioning services by continuously transmitting or broadcasting GNSS signals along a line of sight, which may be used by GNSS receivers (e.g., positioning circuitry XS45 and/or positioning circuitry implemented by UEs XQ01, XQ02, or the like) to determine their GNSS position. The GNSS signals may include a pseudorandom code (e.g., a sequence of ones and zeros) that is known to the GNSS receiver and a message that includes a time of transmission (ToT) of a code epoch (e.g., a defined point in the pseudorandom code sequence) and the GNSS node position at the ToT].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and ZHANG because this would provide detection of a beam failure, beam recovery mechanism, and configuring the UE with resources for UL transmission of signals for recovery purposes ZHANG par 0030].
Claim 15, Goel reveal the radio node according to claim 1, Goel fail to show wherein the time signal source is an atomic clock.
In an analogous art ZHANG show wherein the time signal source is an atomic clock [par 0109, The GNSS receivers also implement clocks that are typically less stable and less precise than the atomic clocks of the GNSS nodes, and the GNSS receivers may use the measured GNSS signals to determine the GNSS receivers' deviation from true time (e.g., an offset of the GNSS receiver clock relative to the GNSS node time). In some embodiments].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and ZHANG because this would provide detection of a beam failure, beam recovery mechanism, and configuring the UE with resources for UL transmission of signals for recovery purposes ZHANG par 0030].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1) in view of LI et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0313288 A1).
Claim 16, Goel provide the radio node according to claim 1, Goel fail to show wherein the radio node is a Fronthaul Analyzer (FHA) configured to analyze a signal transmitted and received by another node.
In an analogous art LI show wherein the radio node is a Fronthaul Analyzer (FHA) configured to analyze a signal transmitted and received by another node [abstract, A front-haul transport network and a data transmission method, the front-haul transport network including: an access type front-haul transport node (FTN-ACC), used for connecting to a remote radio unit (RRU); an aggregate type front-haul transport node (FTN-AGG), one end of which is connected to the FTN-ACC and the other end of which is connected to baseband processing units (BBUs)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and LI because this would provide an FTN that can satisfy the transmission delay requirement and reduce cost of fault location and/or maintenance. [ZHANG par 0008]
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1) in view of Berg et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0014537 A1).
Claim 17, Goel discloses the radio node according to claim 1, Goel fail to show wherein the radio node is a Fronthaul Multiplexer (FHM) connected to a plurality of second nodes in parallel.
In an analogous art Berg show wherein the radio node is a Fronthaul Multiplexer (FHM) connected to a plurality of second nodes in parallel [par 0170, the network node 160 transmits, the global beam identifier, to a network node operating as a fronthaul multiplexer for transmission to one or more of the plurality of TRPs and/or at least one of the plurality of TRPs].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and Berg because capacity can be upgraded by cell splitting (adding baseband and/or fronthaul resources) without the need for replacing Rus. [Berg par 0007]
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1) in view of Harada et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0078740 A1).
Claim 18, Goel provide the radio node according to 1, Goel fail to show wherein the radio node is one of a plurality of second nodes connected in series, and the radio node is deployed between two second nodes among the plurality of second nodes, the two second nodes being adjacent to the radio node.
In an analogous art Harada show wherein the radio node is one of a plurality of second nodes connected in series [par 0020, 0066, Radio communication system 1 includes a plurality of IAB nodes 10A to 10C, each of which is one example of a radio node. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the multi-hop topology in which IAB nodes #1 to #4 are connected in series to the IAB donor is assumed],
and the radio node is deployed between two second nodes among the plurality of second nodes, the two second nodes being adjacent to the radio node[fig 4, the fig shows IAB node#3 deployed between IAB node#2 and IAB node #4].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and Harada because to appropriately adjust a data transmission timing between radio nodes. [Harada par 0009].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0190635 A1) in view of McKee et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2008/0144529 A1).
Claim 19, Goel defines a communication system comprising: a first node configured to transmit a synchronization signal; a radio node configured to receive the synchronization signal[abstract, par 0005, A first node (e.g., a user equipment (UE)) may receive a timing synchronization signal from a second node (e.g., a base station) over a cellular wireless communication link. In some aspects, the timing synchronization signal may indicate mapping information to synchronize the first node with the second node. . For example, the UE may have a wireless interface that receives timing synchronization signals over a cellular wireless communication link, such as from a base station. The timing synchronization signals may be reference signal(s), synchronization signal(s), beam management signal(s), and the like. In some cases, the UE may be associated with a first clock with a first time and the synchronization signals may include a mapping for a second time of a second clock associated with a time synchronized wireless network (e.g., a clock associated with the base station)];
generate a reference signal by using a time signal acquired from a time signal source, and execute processing relating to synchronization in accordance with a comparison result based on the synchronization signal and the reference signal source [par 0006, The UE may provide timing control signals to the device via the local wired interface, where the timing control signals are based on the timer function of the local wired interface. In some aspects, the UE (or a controller function of the device that includes the UE functionality) controls the end device using the timing control signals (reference signal). Thus, the UE may leverage cellular timing synchronization signals to provide timing and control of the end device, such as in an industrial machine];
Goel fail to show a second node configured to be deployed in a subsequent stage of the radio node.
In an analogous art McKee show a second node configured to be deployed in a subsequent stage of the radio node [par 0043, Other searches that may be taking place in parallel at this stage are not shown for clarity. In the example of FIG. 3, a plurality of "third nodes" are located that are able to provide the third service (only one third node 36 is shown for clarity). In a similar way a number of fourth, fifth, etc nodes able to provide a desired fourth, fifth, etc service are located in subsequent stages, as required (not shown)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Goel and McKee because this provides a method for setting up a process in a computer network and in particular for the location and selection of services to provide the process. [McKee, par 0001]
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468