DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 08/28/2025. Claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 14 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-9, filed 08/28/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made, as is necessitated by amendment, under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Gao et al (US 20220022215 A1) and Zhang et al (US 20190281588 A1). Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to include features from claim 8, where these added features specify that “the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports” as well as to specify that the first parameter also represents “a same frequency hopping behavior”, where independent claims 11 and 14 are also amended in a similar way to include analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of Remarks that Gao and Yang do not teach these features. This argument is however moot, as newly cited Zhang does teach these features, and a claim mapping has been provided below. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities (appropriate correction is required):
Claim 1 recites “…a comb value the related to…”. It is believed that the word ‘the’ is mistakenly placed here. Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claim 11 recites “…one or more memories operately connected…”. It is believed that the word ‘operatively’ was misspelled. Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Independent claim 1 recites that “the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports”, where claim 8 depends on claim 1. Claim 8 also recites “the second parameters include at least one of i) the comb value related to the transmission of the SRS, ii) the number of SRS ports, iii) spatial related information related to the transmission of the SRS, iv) a sequence ID related to the transmission of the SRS or v) an index of a port (ptrs-Portlndex) related to a phase tracking reference signal”, which does not further limit the claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (US 20220022215 A1), and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20190281588 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches
A method comprising ([0002] method for a UE):
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0044] configuration information is sent on the DL (base station to UE; UE receives) control channel relating to SRS),
wherein SRS resource sets are configured based on the configuration information ([0044] one or more SRS resources (SRS resource sets) are mapped to ports as is indicated by the gNB (configured based on the configuration information));
transmitting. by the UE to the base station, the SRS on each SRS resource based on the SRS resource sets ([0054] UL (UE to base station; UE transmits) transmission of SRS);
receiving, by the UE from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling of a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) ([0079] UL signals such as PUSCH to be scheduled using group ID, which is determined according to the DCI (DCI for PUSCH is received by UE)); and
transmitting, by the UE to the base station, the PUSCH based on the SRS resource sets related to a simultaneous transmission with multiple panels (STxMP) ([0043]-[0044] STxMP is used and SRS resources are being mapped to achieve the beam indication for the UL data channel PUSCH (PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource sets); [0079] SRS associated with a PUSCH transmission),
wherein at least one layer based on each of the multiple panels is indicated based on the DCI ([0079] group ID is determined according to the DCI; [0102]-[0104] group ID is associated with parameters such as a layer indicator, which is obtained using CSI reporting; [0048] UE panels are controlled by the base station using CSI reporting),
wherein each of the multiple panels is related to each of the SRS resource sets ([0044]-[0045] beam indication is performed using mapping of SRS resources, and the multi-beam operation is based on multiple UE panels),
wherein the configuration information includes second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set ([0044] configuration information includes higher-layer parameter (configuration information includes second parameters), where the higher-layer parameter is associated with the SRS resources (configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set)),
Gao does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information includes first parameters and second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set,
wherein the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports, and
wherein the first parameters configured for the SRS resources in the same SRS resource set represent a same frequency domain position and a same frequency hopping behavior.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the configuration information includes first parameters and second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set ([0048]-[0049] SRS resource sets are configured by higher layer parameter SRS-Resource, which is used to configure multiple different SRS parameters (first parameters and second parameters included in configuration information for SRS resources in SRS resource sets) for the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets),
wherein the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports ([0036] and [0049] SRS parameters include number of SRS ports defined by nrofSRS-Ports and transmission comb value defined by transmissionComb, where different SRS resources can have different configurations for comb and antenna ports (represent different values)), and
wherein the first parameters configured for the SRS resources in the same SRS resource set represent a same frequency domain position and a same frequency hopping behavior ([0049] SRS resource sets are configured with frequency hopping bandwidth defined by freqHopping (frequency hopping behavior), and with frequency domain position freqDomainPosition (frequency domain position)).
Gao and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring SRS resources. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the teachings of Zhang where there are certain parameters included in configuration. The rationale behind this would be to reduce beam management latency and increase flexibility for uplink beam indication ([0036] Zhang).
Regarding claim 7, Gao modified by Zhang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Gao further teaches wherein the second parameters include a parameter other than the first parameters among parameters configured for each SRS resource ([0044] spatial relation information (includes another second parameter) referred to as spatialRelationInfo for beam indication for UL (other than the first parameters)).
Regarding claim 8, Gao modified by Zhang teaches The method of claim 7, as is described above.
Gao further teaches wherein the second parameters include at least one of i) the comb value related to the transmission of the SRS, ii) the number of SRS ports, iii) spatial related information related to the transmission of the SRS, iv) a sequence ID related to the transmission of the SRS or v) an index of a port (ptrs-Portlndex) related to a phase tracking reference signal ([0044] spatial relation information referred to as spatialRelationInfo (second parameter based on spatial related information for the transmission of the SRS)).
Regarding claim 9, Gao modified by Zhang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above,
Gao further teaches further comprising:
transmitting UE capability information ([0043] and [0047] STxMP to use the capability of each panel is transmitted through TX beams (capability information is transmitted)),
wherein the UE capability information includes information indicating whether the STxMP is supported ([0043] and [0047] STxMP to use the capability of each panel (STxMP is supported) is transmitted through TX beams).
Regarding claim 11, Gao teaches
A user equipment comprising ([0036] UE comprising):
one or more transceivers ([0036] UE transceiver);
one or more processors controlling the one or more transceivers ([0034] UE processing module coupled to the transceiver module (processor controlling transceiver)); and
one or more memories operately connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to perform operations ([0034] UE memory module connected to the processor module; [0038] software stored in memory executed by the processor),
wherein the operations comprise:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information related to a transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS), wherein SRS resource sets are configured based on the configuration information ([0044] configuration information is sent on the DL (base station to UE; UE recieves) control channel relating to SRS; [0044] one or more SRS resources (SRS resource sets) are mapped to ports as is indicated by the gNB (configured based on the configuration information));
transmitting, to the base station, the SRS on each SRS resource based on the SRS resource sets ([0054] UL (UE to base station; UE transmits) transmission of SRS);
receiving, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling of a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) ([0079] UL signals such as PUSCH to be scheduled using group ID, which is determined according to the DCI); and
transmitting, to the base station, the PUSCH based on the SRS resource sets related to a simultaneous transmission with multiple panels (STxMP) ([0043]-[0044] STxMP is used and SRS resources are being mapped to achieve the beam indication for the UL data channel PUSCH (PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource sets); [0079] SRS associated with a PUSCH transmission),
wherein at least one layer based on each of the multiple panels is indicated based on the DCI ([0079] group ID is determined according to the DCI; [0102]-[0104] group ID is associated with parameters such as a layer indicator, which is obtained using CSI reporting; [0048] UE panels are controlled by the base station using CSI reporting),
wherein each of the multiple panels is related to each of the SRS resource sets ([0044]-[0045] beam indication is performed using mapping of SRS resources, and the multi-beam operation is based on multiple UE panels),
wherein the configuration information includes second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set ([0044] configuration information includes higher-layer parameter (configuration information includes second parameters), where the higher-layer parameter is associated with the SRS resources (configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set)),
Gao does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information includes first parameters and second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set,
wherein the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports, and
wherein the first parameters configured for the SRS resources in the same SRS resource set represent a same frequency domain position and a same frequency hopping behavior.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the configuration information includes first parameters and second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set ([0048]-[0049] SRS resource sets are configured by higher layer parameter SRS-Resource, which is used to configure multiple different SRS parameters (first parameters and second parameters included in configuration information for SRS resources in SRS resource sets) for the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets),
wherein the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports ([0036] and [0049] SRS parameters include number of SRS ports defined by nrofSRS-Ports and transmission comb value defined by transmissionComb, where different SRS resources can have different configurations for comb and antenna ports (represent different values)), and
wherein the first parameters configured for the SRS resources in the same SRS resource set represent a same frequency domain position and a same frequency hopping behavior ([0049] SRS resource sets are configured with frequency hopping bandwidth defined by freqHopping (frequency hopping behavior), and with frequency domain position freqDomainPosition (frequency domain position)).
Gao and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring SRS resources. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the teachings of Zhang where there are certain parameters included in configuration. The rationale behind this would be to reduce beam management latency and increase flexibility for uplink beam indication ([0036] Zhang).
Regarding claim 14, Gao teaches
A method comprising ([0034] base station):
transmitting, by a base station to a user equipment (UE), configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS), wherein SRS resource sets are configured based on the configuration information ([0044] configuration information is sent on the DL (base station to UE; base station transmits) control channel relating to SRS; [0044] one or more SRS resources (SRS resource sets) are mapped to ports as is indicated by the gNB (configured based on the configuration information));
receiving, by the base station from the UE, the SRS on each SRS resource based on the SRS resource sets ([0054] UL (UE to base station; base station receives) transmission of SRS);
transmitting, by the base station to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling of a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) ([0079] UL signals such as PUSCH to be scheduled using group ID, which is determined according to the DCI); and
receiving, by the base station from the UE, the PUSCH based on the SRS resource sets related to a simultaneous transmission with multiple panels (STxMP) ([0043]-[0044] STxMP is used and SRS resources are being mapped to achieve the beam indication for the UL data channel PUSCH (PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource sets); [0079] SRS associated with a PUSCH transmission),
wherein at least one layer based on each of the multiple panels is indicated based on the DCI ([0079] group ID is determined according to the DCI; [0102]-[0104] group ID is associated with parameters such as a layer indicator, which is obtained using CSI reporting; [0048] UE panels are controlled by the base station using CSI reporting),
wherein each of the multiple panels is related to each of the SRS resource sets ([0044]-[0045] beam indication is performed using mapping of SRS resources, and the multi-beam operation is based on multiple UE panels),
wherein the configuration information includes second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set ([0044] configuration information includes higher-layer parameter (configuration information includes second parameters), where the higher-layer parameter is associated with the SRS resources (configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set)),
Gao does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information includes first parameters and second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set,
wherein the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports, and
wherein the first parameters configured for the SRS resources in the same SRS resource set represent a same frequency domain position and a same frequency hopping behavior.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the configuration information includes first parameters and second parameters which are configured for SRS resources in each SRS resource set ([0048]-[0049] SRS resource sets are configured by higher layer parameter SRS-Resource, which is used to configure multiple different SRS parameters (first parameters and second parameters included in configuration information for SRS resources in SRS resource sets) for the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets),
wherein the second parameters configured for SRS resources in a same SRS resource set represent different values of at least one of a comb value the related to the transmission of the SRS and a number of SRS ports ([0036] and [0049] SRS parameters include number of SRS ports defined by nrofSRS-Ports and transmission comb value defined by transmissionComb, where different SRS resources can have different configurations for comb and antenna ports (represent different values)), and
wherein the first parameters configured for the SRS resources in the same SRS resource set represent a same frequency domain position and a same frequency hopping behavior ([0049] SRS resource sets are configured with frequency hopping bandwidth defined by freqHopping (frequency hopping behavior), and with frequency domain position freqDomainPosition (frequency domain position)).
Gao and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring SRS resources. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the teachings of Zhang where there are certain parameters included in configuration. The rationale behind this would be to reduce beam management latency and increase flexibility for uplink beam indication ([0036] Zhang).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478