Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 3, 2026 in response to the Non-final rejection of February 3, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1, 15-18, and 27 were amended or previously presented.
Claims 21-24 have been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner under 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Claims 1, 15-18, and 27 are currently under consideration.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of Claims 1, and 15-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and arguments thereto.
The rejection of Claim(s) 1, and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0382477 (Drake et al., June 1, 2018) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and arguments thereto.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enenkel et al., (EP2966085A1, 1-13-2016, IDS)
Species note: Applicant’s elected species (SEQ ID NO:5) is free of the art. The next species searched was SEQ ID NO:12.
As to claim 1, Enenkel et al., teach a polypeptide complex comprising, from N-terminus to C-terminus [0030], antibodies and fragments such as an Fab domain [0039] linked to a hinge region. Enenkel et al. teach that the antibody of the invention has a variant human IgG1 heavy chain constant (CH) region comprising at least a CH1 and/or an upper hinge region [0072]. The reference further teaches [page 22, see line 46] a hinge region comprising SEQ ID NO:12.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 99; Length 23;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 15; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 EPKSCDKTPPCPPCP 15
|||||||||||||||
Db 1 EPKSCDKTPPCPPCP 15
As to claims 15-17, the reference further teaches [0037-0038] that the complex can comprise Fc regions or Fc-fusion proteins. Fc-fusion proteins can be constructed by genetic engineering approaches by introducing the CH2 domain of the heavy chain immunoglobulin constant region comprising the N-linked glycosylation site into another expression construct comprising, for example, other immunoglobulin domains, enzymatically active protein portions, or effector domains. An Fc-fusion protein may further comprise the hinge region (encompasses operably linked). Enenkel teaches [0037] that the Fc polypeptide can be human IgG1. The term "Fc region" (fragment crystallizable region) as used herein refers to the C-terminal region of an antibody heavy chain. The Fc region of a full antibody usually comprises two CH2 domains and two CH3 domains. A preferred immunoglobulin CH2 domain within the context of the present invention is a human IgG1 CH2 domain. The reference further teaches [0096] that the Fc region can comprise IgG2 and IgG4. “Thus the antibody comprises only the CH1 region or the upper hinge region of IgG2 or IgG4P or in the case that both the CH1 region and the upper hinge region are from IgG2 or IgG4P the antibody comprises a CH2 and/or CH3 region of IgG1.”
As to claim 18, Enenkel et al., teach [0150] that the polypeptide complex may further comprise drug conjugates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY B NICKOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643