DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 07/16/2026 are entered. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the currently amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 16, 18-20, 22, 24-26, 28, 30-32 and 38-41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regards to previously cited reference Hoglund (which is referred to as D1 in the Applicant’s response), the Applicant argues that Hoglund fails to disclose “obtaining a configuration on a number of random access preambles and random access occasions associated with a capability supported by the UE” (first paragraph on page 17 of Applicant’s response dated 07/16/2026). However, Hoglund also discloses “In one embodiment, the indication may be in PRACH-Config or RACH-ConfigCommon information element for eMTC, such as in SIB2. In another embodiment, the indication may be in NPRACH-ConfigSIB-NB or RACH-ConfigCommon-NB information element for NB-IoT in SIB2-NB together with the grouping information used to configure the set of random-access preambles or subcarriers, in which the UE uses to announce it will try to use early data transmission in Msg3, i.e. the EDT indication” in previously cited paragraph [0056], wherein “the set of random-access preambles” represents the claimed “a number of random access preambles”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoglund (US 2023/0199617) in view of Yavuz (US 2016/0205542) and Wong (US 2021/0105772).
Hoglund discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a method performed by a UE in a communication system (see UE in system of Fig. 1), the method comprising:
obtaining a configuration on a number of random access preambles and random access occasions associated with a capability supported by the UE, wherein the capability corresponds to a combination of a light capability of the UE and EDT (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0051] and [0056], wherein the UE receives an EDT indication for eMTC or NB-IoT, wherein eMTC and NB-IoT are considered light capability for limited capability UEs, i.e. paragraph [0003]; and see “preamble/(N)PRACH resource range” recited in paragraph [0060], wherein the preamble resource is also an occasion for transmitting the preambles);
transmitting, to a base station, a random access preamble based on the configuration (see “As part of the UE-specific indication, not only may it be indicated that the UE is allowed to use EDT, but also the preamble/(N)PRACH resource to use for EDT may be indicated” recited in paragraph [0060]; and see preamble transmission to an eNB in Fig. 1), wherein the random access preamble is associated with the capability supported by the UE (see “As part of the UE-specific indication, not only may it be indicated that the UE is allowed to use EDT, but also the preamble/(N)PRACH resource to use for EDT may be indicated” recited in paragraph [0060], wherein the random access preamble being associated with the EDT, which is part of the capability supported by the UE);
receiving, from the base station, a random access response in response to the random access preamble (see step 2 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE receives the RAR from the eNB);
transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 (see step 3 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE transmits msg3 to the eNB).
Regarding claim 16, a method performed by a base station in a communication system (see eNB in system of Fig. 1), the method comprising:
identifying a configuration on a number of random access preambles and random access occasions associated with a capability supported by the UE, wherein the capability corresponds to a combination of a light capability of the UE and EDT (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0051] and [0056], wherein the UE receives an EDT indication for eMTC or NB-IoT, wherein eMTC and NB-IoT are considered light capability for limited capability UEs, i.e. paragraph [0003]; and see “preamble/(N)PRACH resource range” recited in paragraph [0060], wherein the preamble resource is also an occasion for transmitting the preambles);
receiving, from the UE, a random access preamble based on the configuration (see “As part of the UE-specific indication, not only may it be indicated that the UE is allowed to use EDT, but also the preamble/(N)PRACH resource to use for EDT may be indicated” recited in paragraph [0060]; and see preamble transmission to an eNB in Fig. 1);
transmitting, to the UE, a random access response in response to the random access preamble (see step 2 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE receives the RAR from the eNB);
receiving, from the UE, a message 3 (see step 3 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE transmits msg3 to the eNB).
Regarding claim 22, a UE in a communication system (see UE in system of Fig. 1), the UE comprising:
a transceiver; and
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (see wireless device 410 in Fig. 4 including processing circuitry 420 and transceiver circuitry 422) and configured to:
obtain a configuration on a number of random access preambles and random access occasions associated with a capability supported by the UE, wherein the capability corresponds to a combination of a light capability of the UE and EDT (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0051] and [0056], wherein the UE receives an EDT indication for eMTC or NB-IoT, wherein eMTC and NB-IoT are considered light capability for limited capability UEs, i.e. paragraph [0003]; and see “preamble/(N)PRACH resource range” recited in paragraph [0060], wherein the preamble resource is also an occasion for transmitting the preambles);
transmit, to a base station, a random access preamble based on the configuration (see “As part of the UE-specific indication, not only may it be indicated that the UE is allowed to use EDT, but also the preamble/(N)PRACH resource to use for EDT may be indicated” recited in paragraph [0060]; and see preamble transmission to an eNB in Fig. 1), wherein the random access preamble is associated with the capability supported by the UE (see “As part of the UE-specific indication, not only may it be indicated that the UE is allowed to use EDT, but also the preamble/(N)PRACH resource to use for EDT may be indicated” recited in paragraph [0060], wherein the random access preamble being associated with the EDT, which is part of the capability supported by the UE);
receive, from the base station, a random access response in response to the random access preamble (see step 2 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE receives the RAR from the eNB);
transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 (see step 3 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE transmits msg3 to the eNB).
Regarding claim 28, a base station in a communication system (see eNB in system of Fig. 1), the base station comprising:
a transceiver; and
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (see network device 450 in Fig. 4 including processing circuitry 470 and transceiver circuitry 472) and configured to:
identify a configuration on a number of random access preambles and random access occasions associated with a capability supported by the UE, wherein the capability corresponds to a combination of a light capability of the UE and EDT (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0051] and [0056], wherein the UE receives an EDT indication for eMTC or NB-IoT, wherein eMTC and NB-IoT are considered light capability for limited capability UEs, i.e. paragraph [0003]; and see “preamble/(N)PRACH resource range” recited in paragraph [0060], wherein the preamble resource is also an occasion for transmitting the preambles);
receive, from the UE, a random access preamble based on the configuration (see “As part of the UE-specific indication, not only may it be indicated that the UE is allowed to use EDT, but also the preamble/(N)PRACH resource to use for EDT may be indicated” recited in paragraph [0060]; and see preamble transmission to an eNB in Fig. 1);
transmit, to the UE, a random access response in response to the random access preamble (see step 2 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE receives the RAR from the eNB);
receive, from the UE, a message 3 (see step 3 in Fig. 1, wherein the UE transmits msg3 to the eNB).
Hoglund does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1 and 22, obtaining information on a separate initial uplink bandwidth part for a light capability via system information; transmitting, to a base station, a random access preamble associated with the capability supported by the UE in the separate initial uplink bandwidth part for the light capability; transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 including a MAC subheader for the light capability of the UE, wherein the MAC sub header includes a specific LCID for the light capability of the UE; regarding claims 16 and 28, transmitting, to a UE, information on a separate initial uplink bandwidth part for a light capability via system information; receiving, from the UE, a random access preamble associated with the capability supported by the UE in the separate initial uplink bandwidth part for the light capability; receiving, from the UE, a message 3 including a MAC subheader for the light capability of the UE, wherein the MAC sub header includes a specific LCID for the light capability of the UE.
Yavuz discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 22, transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 including a MAC subheader for the light capability of the UE (see “embodiments herein may use fields in the MAC header in the Msg3 for CCCH Access to signal category restrictions, such as TBS restriction for low complexity UEs, before UE category and capability information may be exchanged” recited in paragraph [0083]), wherein the MAC sub header includes a specific LCID for the light capability of the UE (see “LCID” recited in paragraph [0079]; “an R/R/E/LCID MAC Subheader, which is the shortest available MAC subheader” recited in paragraph [0085]; “Logical Channel IDentity (LCID): The Logical Channel ID field 301 may identify the logical channel CCCH with LCID=00000. This may allow a MAC receiver to determine the message is sent on the CCCH” recited in paragraph [0087] and see “see “embodiments herein may use fields in the MAC header in the Msg3 for CCCH Access to signal category restrictions, such as TBS restriction for low complexity UEs” recited in paragraph [0083] showing that the category restriction being directed towards the CCCH indicated using the LCID).
Regarding claims 16 and 28, receiving, from the UE, a message 3 including a MAC subheader for the light capability of the UE (see “embodiments herein may use fields in the MAC header in the Msg3 for CCCH Access to signal category restrictions, such as TBS restriction for low complexity UEs, before UE category and capability information may be exchanged” recited in paragraph [0083]), wherein the MAC sub header includes a specific LCID for the light capability of the UE (see “LCID” recited in paragraph [0079]; “an R/R/E/LCID MAC Subheader, which is the shortest available MAC subheader” recited in paragraph [0085]; “Logical Channel IDentity (LCID): The Logical Channel ID field 301 may identify the logical channel CCCH with LCID=00000. This may allow a MAC receiver to determine the message is sent on the CCCH” recited in paragraph [0087] and see “see “embodiments herein may use fields in the MAC header in the Msg3 for CCCH Access to signal category restrictions, such as TBS restriction for low complexity UEs” recited in paragraph [0083] showing that the category restriction being directed towards the CCCH indicated using the LCID).
Wong discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 22, obtaining information on a separate initial uplink bandwidth part for a light capability via system information (see “a predefined/initial set of frequencies for a narrowband carrier may be signalled from a base station (network entity) to a terminal device, for example in RRC signalling as system information in a system information block” recited in paragraph [0038]; Figs. 2, 3, 5 and 7 each shows different numbers of separate narrowband carriers being configured; wherein paragraph [0006] and [0025] shows that narrow band carriers are used by low complexity devices while legacy terminals operate using the full system bandwidth; and see paragraphs [0065] and [0069], which show that the initial predefined location of narrowband within the system bandwidth may be exchanged in system information signaling); transmitting, to a base station, a random access preamble associated with the capability supported by the UE in the separate initial uplink bandwidth part for the light capability (paragraphs [0060]-[0061] shows the use of shifted or unshifted narrowband carriers for random access that includes the transmission of RACH preamble on a narrowband carrier, which is associated with the light capability, such as NB-IoT or eMTC, of the UE; wherein the light capability is part of the multiple capabilities included in the claimed “capability”).
Regarding claims 16 and 28, transmitting, to a UE, information on a separate initial uplink bandwidth part for a light capability via system information (see “a predefined/initial set of frequencies for a narrowband carrier may be signalled from a base station (network entity) to a terminal device, for example in RRC signalling as system information in a system information block” recited in paragraph [0038]; Figs. 2, 3, 5 and 7 each shows different numbers of separate narrowband carriers being configured; wherein paragraph [0006] and [0025] shows that narrow band carriers are used by low complexity devices while legacy terminals operate using the full system bandwidth; and see paragraphs [0065] and [0069], which show that the initial predefined location of narrowband within the system bandwidth may be exchanged in system information signaling); receiving, from the UE, a random access preamble associated with the capability supported by the UE in the separate initial uplink bandwidth part for the light capability (paragraphs [0060]-[0061] shows the use of shifted or unshifted narrowband carriers for random access that includes the transmission of RACH preamble on a narrowband carrier, which is associated with the light capability, such as NB-IoT or eMTC, of the UE; wherein the light capability is part of the multiple capabilities included in the claimed “capability”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Hoglund using features, as taught by Yavuz and Wong, in order to provide the network node with any category indication in due time for the network node 110 to act accordingly (see paragraph [0081]-[0082] of Yavuz) and in order to support IoT type and MTC type terminals devices that operate on a narrowband carrier operating within a wider system frequency bandwidth (see paragraph [0025] of Wong).
Claim(s) 3, 18, 24 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoglund, Yavuz and Wong as applied to claims 1, 16, 22 and 28 above, and further in view of Awadin (US 2023/0140213).
Hoglund, Yavuz and Wong disclose the features as shown above.
Hoglund does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 3, 18, 24 and 30 transmitting, to the base station/from the UE, capability information including information on a maximum bandwidth for the light capability supported by the UE.
Awadin discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 3, 18, 24 and 30 transmitting, to the base station/from the UE, capability information including information on a maximum bandwidth for the light capability supported by the UE (see “new UE category for reduced capability NR devices may be defined. Among other information, the category may define the maximum number of antennas that can be supported by reduced capability NR devices in addition to the maximum bandwidth that can be supported by such devices. A reduced capability NR device may indicate such capability as early as in RACH procedure” recited in paragraph [0137]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Hoglund, Yavuz and Wong using features, as taught by Awadin, in order to provide bandwidth capability (see paragraph [0137] of Awadin).
Claim(s) 4-5, 19-20, 25-26, 31-32 and 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoglund, Yavuz and Wong as applied to claims 1, 16, 22 and 28 above, and further in view of Gupta (US 2019/0261294).
Hoglund, Yavuz and Wong disclose the features as shown above.
Hoglund does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 4 and 25, obtaining information on a separate initial downlink bandwidth part for the light capability; regarding claims 5 and 26, wherein a physical downlink control channel for receiving the random access response is monitored by using the separate initial downlink bandwidth part; regarding claims 19 and 31, wherein information on a separate initial downlink bandwidth part for the light capability is transmitted to the UE; regarding claims 20 and 32, wherein a physical downlink control channel for transmitting the random access response is transmitted by using the separate initial downlink bandwidth part; regarding claims 38-41, wherein the message 3 is transmitted/received in the separate initial uplink bandwidth part.
Gupta discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 4 and 25, obtaining information on a separate initial downlink bandwidth part for the light capability (see “narrowband operation of IoE devices and MTC UEs …narrow bandwidth 808 can be used for both UL and DL and can be used for a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), physical broadcast channel (PBCH), SIB, and/or paging” recited in paragraph [0073], wherein the IoE devices and MTC UEs are considered to be devices operating with the light capability).
Regarding claims 5 and 26, wherein a physical downlink control channel for receiving the random access response is monitored by using the separate initial downlink bandwidth part (see “narrowband operation of IoE devices and MTC UEs …narrow bandwidth 808 can be used for both UL and DL and can be used for a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), physical broadcast channel (PBCH), SIB, and/or paging” recited in paragraph [0073], wherein the MTC UE must monitor the narrowband to receive the DL transmission).
Regarding claims 19 and 31, wherein information on a separate initial downlink bandwidth part for the light capability is transmitted to the UE (see “narrowband operation of IoE devices and MTC UEs …narrow bandwidth 808 can be used for both UL and DL and can be used for a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), physical broadcast channel (PBCH), SIB, and/or paging” recited in paragraph [0073], wherein the IoE devices and MTC UEs are considered to be devices operating with the light capability).
Regarding claims 20 and 32, wherein a physical downlink control channel for transmitting the random access response is transmitted by using the separate initial downlink bandwidth part (see “narrowband operation of IoE devices and MTC UEs …narrow bandwidth 808 can be used for both UL and DL and can be used for a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), physical broadcast channel (PBCH), SIB, and/or paging” recited in paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claims 38-41, wherein the message 3 is transmitted/received in the separate initial uplink bandwidth part (see “UL random access channel (RACH) messages (e.g., message 1 and message 3) can be communicated by MTC UEs in the UL center frequency 811 to facilitate access to the network… other UL transmissions can be communicated in a bandwidth different from narrow bandwidth 808, such as bandwidth 816” recited in paragraph [0073], wherein the MTC UEs are considered to be UEs with light capability and uses a separate narrow bandwidth 808 which is different from other UL transmissions using other bandwidth part, such as bandwidth 816; Wong as shown above shows the transmission of the preamble, or message 1, using the separate initial uplink bandwidth part, thus when combined with the teaching of Gupta wherein the message 1 and message3 are communicated using the same narrow bandwidth, it would have been obvious to communicate the message 3 on the separate initial uplink bandwidth part taught by Wong).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Hoglund, Yavuz and Wong using features, as taught by Gupta, in order to reduce costs of low complexity UEs (see paragraph [0076] of Gupta).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473