DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 02, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-11, 16-17, 19, 22, 25, 27, 39-41 and 57-61 remain pending in the application. It is noted that claim 61 recites that it is previously presented, however, it is a new claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gran et al. (US 2016/0373869 A1) (“Gran”).
Regarding claim 27, Gran discloses A method of measuring a response time of a hearing device wearer (Abstract and entire document “hearing aid”, see also at least FIG. 2-3 showing the ear-worn device and see [0178] discussing response time), comprising:
initiating the provision of a stimulus to the hearing device wearer with a hearing device ([0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” a sound signal, such as speech from others, is detected in the environment by the microphone and the sound data is processed and the output transducer then provides the processed sound as the stimulus, as the sound is detected and enhanced it is understood that the stimulus is sufficient to generate a response. See also [0176 – 0178]),
the hearing device comprising: a control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0160], “signal processor 18” see also [0111 – 0115] defining the processors as control circuitry and either hardware or software);
a clock circuit in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0160], “signal processor 18” see also [0111 – 0115] defining the processors as control circuitry and either hardware or software. It is understood that processors inherently disclose clock circuits as is well known within the art);
an electroacoustic transducer for generating sound in electrical communication with the control circuit ([0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” it is interpreted that the output transducer is the electroacoustic transducer);
a power supply circuit in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0163], “The BTE hearing aid 12 is powered by battery 28.” It is interpreted that battery 28 is a power supply circuit in communication with the other components including the control circuit/processors/other circuitry.); and
a motion sensor in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 4 and [0175], “The performance detector 40 is also connected to one or more orientation sensors 44, such as gyroscopes, e.g. MEMS gyros, tilt sensors, roll ball switches, etc., configured for outputting signals for determination of orientation of the head of a user wearing the hearing aid, e.g. one or more of head yaw, head pitch, head roll, or combinations hereof, e.g. tilt, i.e. the angular deviation from the heads normal vertical position, when the user is standing up or sitting down.” As shown in FIG. 4, the motion sensor 44 is connected with the circuitry);
wherein the stimulus comprises an auditory stimulus generated by the electroacoustic transducer that is perceived to originate from a particular direction ([0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” a sound signal, such as speech from others, is detected in the environment by the microphone and the sound data is processed and the output transducer then provides the processed sound as the stimulus, as the sound is detected and enhanced it is understood that the stimulus is sufficient to generate a response. And [0044 – 0045], and [0176 – 0178], “The performance detector comprises a direction of arrival detector configured for determination of the direction of arrival of sound at the hearing aid 12. The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as a stimulus sufficient to generate a response and the device monitors the looking direction of the user which is the qualified response.); and
monitoring for a qualified response to the stimulus using at least one of a motion sensor and a microphone, the qualified response comprising a signal from the motion sensor indicative of the ear-worn device wearer turning their head toward the particular direction of the stimulus ([0044 – 0045], and [0176 – 0178], “The performance detector comprises a direction of arrival detector configured for determination of the direction of arrival of sound at the hearing aid 12. The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44.” It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as a stimulus sufficient to generate a response and the device monitors the looking direction of the user which is the qualified response and is interpreted as non-reflexive. FIG. 4 and [0175], “The performance detector 40 is also connected to one or more orientation sensors 44, such as gyroscopes, e.g. MEMS gyros, tilt sensors, roll ball switches, etc., configured for outputting signals for determination of orientation of the head of a user wearing the hearing aid, e.g. one or more of head yaw, head pitch, head roll, or combinations hereof, e.g. tilt, i.e. the angular deviation from the heads normal vertical position, when the user is standing up or sitting down.” As shown in FIG. 4, the motion sensor 44 is connected with the circuitry. See further [0125], “Optionally, one of the hearing aid systems comprises: a direction of arrival detector configured for determining a direction of arrival of sound at the one of the hearing aid system; and an orientation sensor configured for determining a looking direction of the user of the one of the hearing aid systems during the arrival of the sound; wherein the performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of the arrival of the sound, and the looking direction of the user of the one of the hearing aid systems;”).
Regarding claim 39, Gran discloses The method of claim 27, further comprising changing at least one of a hearing device configuration or a signal processing setting ([0178], “The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server, and the at least one server determines one or more signal processing parameters for improved listening performance of the user based on the received data and the performance model, whereby obtained listening performance of other users of hearing aid systems possibly with hearing losses similar to the hearing loss of the user in question is included in the determination of signal processing parameters of the hearing aid of the user in question. The at least one server may for example increase a gain value at a frequency of the received speech so that the time used for responding to speech from another direction than the looking direction is decreased. The at least one server may also adjust complex gain values, e.g. in order to perform filtering.” See also [0179 – 0183]. The hearing device adjusts the signal processing algorithms); and
monitoring for a second qualified response to the stimulus; and using a second response time to determine if the change benefits the device wearer, wherein a decrease in the second response time over a previously measured response time is indicative of a benefit to the device wearer ([0178], “The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server, and the at least one server determines one or more signal processing parameters for improved listening performance of the user based on the received data and the performance model, whereby obtained listening performance of other users of hearing aid systems possibly with hearing losses similar to the hearing loss of the user in question is included in the determination of signal processing parameters of the hearing aid of the user in question. The at least one server may for example increase a gain value at a frequency of the received speech so that the time used for responding to speech from another direction than the looking direction is decreased. The at least one server may also adjust complex gain values, e.g. in order to perform filtering.” See also [0068], “The at least one server may be configured for updating the performance model based on received performance determinations. The performance determinations may be performed frequently during use, e.g. once every hour, e.g. once every 10 minutes, e.g. once every 5 minutes, e.g. once every 2 minutes, e.g. once every minute.” The performance of the device wearer is measured frequently and the device can adjust the signal processing parameters. It is generally understood that a decreased reaction time is beneficial, see [0178], “The at least one server may for example increase a gain value at a frequency of the received speech so that the time used for responding to speech from another direction than the looking direction is decreased.”).
Regarding claim 40, Gran discloses The method of claim 27, further comprising measuring the response time at a plurality of time points following at least one event; determining whether the at least one event has caused an improvement, a decline, or no change to the device wearer, wherein a longitudinal decrease in the measured response time is indicative of the improvement ([0178], “The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server, and the at least one server determines one or more signal processing parameters for improved listening performance of the user based on the received data and the performance model, whereby obtained listening performance of other users of hearing aid systems possibly with hearing losses similar to the hearing loss of the user in question is included in the determination of signal processing parameters of the hearing aid of the user in question. The at least one server may for example increase a gain value at a frequency of the received speech so that the time used for responding to speech from another direction than the looking direction is decreased. The at least one server may also adjust complex gain values, e.g. in order to perform filtering.” See also [0068], “The at least one server may be configured for updating the performance model based on received performance determinations. The performance determinations may be performed frequently during use, e.g. once every hour, e.g. once every 10 minutes, e.g. once every 5 minutes, e.g. once every 2 minutes, e.g. once every minute.” The performance of the device wearer is measured frequently and the device can adjust the signal processing parameters. The event can be interpreted as the first change to the parameters and then monitors every minute for example to check reaction time again. It is generally understood that a decreased reaction time is beneficial, see [0178], “The at least one server may for example increase a gain value at a frequency of the received speech so that the time used for responding to speech from another direction than the looking direction is decreased.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 16-17, 22, 25, 41 and 57-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gran in view of Malchano et al. (US 2018/0133507 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gran discloses An ear-worn device (Abstract and entire document “hearing aid”, see also at least FIG. 2-3 showing the ear-worn device), comprising:
a control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0160], “signal processor 18” see also [0111 – 0115] defining the processors as control circuitry and either hardware or software);
a clock circuit in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0160], “signal processor 18” see also [0111 – 0115] defining the processors as control circuitry and either hardware or software. It is understood that processors inherently disclose clock circuits as is well known within the art);
a motion sensor in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 4 and [0175], “The performance detector 40 is also connected to one or more orientation sensors 44, such as gyroscopes, e.g. MEMS gyros, tilt sensors, roll ball switches, etc., configured for outputting signals for determination of orientation of the head of a user wearing the hearing aid, e.g. one or more of head yaw, head pitch, head roll, or combinations hereof, e.g. tilt, i.e. the angular deviation from the heads normal vertical position, when the user is standing up or sitting down.” As shown in FIG. 4, the motion sensor 44 is connected with the circuitry);
a microphone in electrical communication with the control circuit ([0013] microphone);
an electroacoustic transducer for generating sound in electrical communication with the control circuit ([0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” it is interpreted that the output transducer is the electroacoustic transducer); and
a power supply circuit in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0163], “The BTE hearing aid 12 is powered by battery 28.” It is interpreted that battery 28 is a power supply circuit in communication with the other components including the control circuit/processors/other circuitry.);
wherein the ear-worn device is configured to initiate generation of a stimulus sufficient to generate a response from the ear-worn device wearer ([0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” a sound signal, such as speech from others, is detected in the environment by the microphone and the sound data is processed and the output transducer then provides the processed sound as the stimulus, as the sound is detected and enhanced it is understood that the stimulus is sufficient to generate a response. See also [0176 – 0178]); and
wherein the ear-worn device is configured to monitor for a qualified response to the stimulus using at least one of the motion sensor and the microphone, wherein the qualified response comprises performance of the action ([0044 – 0045], and [0176 – 0178], “The performance detector comprises a direction of arrival detector configured for determination of the direction of arrival of sound at the hearing aid 12. The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as a stimulus sufficient to generate a response and the device monitors the looking direction of the user which is the qualified response. Uses motion and microphone data for the response); and
measure an amount of time between the stimulus and the qualified response ([0178], “The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server,” reaction time of the qualified response (turning head) to listen to the detected sound.).
Gran fails to disclose wherein the stimulus comprises instructions for the ear-worn device wearer to perform an action;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Malchano teaches wherein the stimulus comprises instructions for the ear-worn device wearer to perform an action ([0469], [0438], [0120 – 0124] serial reaction time test);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Gran to include wherein the stimulus comprises instructions for the ear-worn device wearer to perform an action as taught by Malchano to assess and improve functioning of the brain ([0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, Gran as modified further discloses the stimulus comprising an auditory stimulus (Gran [0116], “an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” the output transducer provides the processed sound as the stimulus, See also [0176 – 0178], wherein the speech is interpreted as the stimulus and speech is an auditory stimulus).
Regarding claim 6, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, Gran as modified further discloses the stimulus comprising audible words (Gran [0116], “an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” the output transducer provides the processed sound as the stimulus, See also [0176 – 0178], wherein the speech is interpreted as the stimulus and speech comprises audible words).
Regarding claim 8, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 6, Gran as modified further discloses wherein the audible words are time-compressed (Gran [0116], “an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” the output transducer provides the processed sound as the stimulus, See also [0176 – 0178], wherein the speech is interpreted as the stimulus and speech comprises audible words as a compensated audio signal, see also [0180], “The signal processing algorithms of the processor 18 may perform various forms of noise reduction and dynamic range compression as well as a range of other signal processing tasks.” The output audio signal is optimized for the wearer. See further, [0006], “here, the higher performing subjects benefit from syllabic compression whereas the lower performing patients benefit more from longer time constants in the compression.” The device outputs time compressed audio signals. See further [0183], “Examples of signal processing parameters include: Amount of noise reduction, amount of gain and amount of HF gain, algorithm control parameters controlling whether corresponding signal algorithms are selected for execution or not, corner-frequencies and slopes of filters, compression thresholds and ratios of compressor algorithms, filter coefficients, including adaptive filter coefficients, adaptation rates and probe signal characteristics of adaptive feedback cancellation algorithms, etc.” the output audio signals, speech, audible words, are optimized using compression algorithms including time compression).
Regarding claim 16, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, Gran as modified further discloses wherein the ear-worn device is configured to monitor for the qualified response using the motion sensor (Gran [0178], “The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server,” motion sensors 44 detect the qualified response).
Regarding claim 17, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 16, Gran as modified further discloses wherein the qualified response comprises a reaction motion (Gran [0178], “The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server,” It is interpreted that turning the head to listen is a reaction motion).
Regarding claim 22, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 16, Gran as modified further discloses wherein the ear-worn device is configured to evaluate the measured amount of time between the stimulus and the qualified response longitudinally and determine longitudinal trends (Gran [0043], “The performance detector may relate a current user response to speech to a statistical model based on previous performance of the user and other users for determination of the user's performance.” See also [0066] and [0176 – [0178] discussing reaction time as the parameter measured by the performance detector for the trend).
Regarding claim 25, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 16, Gran as modified further discloses wherein the ear-worn device is configured to compare the amount of time between the stimulus and the qualified response for the ear-worn device wearer to an average amount of time between stimuli and a plurality of qualified responses for a population of ear-worn device wearers (Gran [0149], “In the illustrated in situ fitting system 100, at least one of the servers 110 has access to a statistical performance model (not shown) based on determined listening performance of a plurality of users of the plurality of hearing aid systems, and the at least one server 110 is configured for determination of a signal processing parameter value of a hearing aid 12A, 12B based on the determined listening performance of the user of the hearing aid system 10 and the performance model.” and [0176 – [0178] discussing reaction time as the parameter measured by the performance detector for the trend).
Regarding claim 41, Gran discloses An ear-worn device (Abstract and entire document “hearing aid”, see also at least FIG. 2-3 showing the ear-worn device), comprising:
a control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0160], “signal processor 18” see also [0111 – 0115] defining the processors as control circuitry and either hardware or software);
a clock circuit in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0160], “signal processor 18” see also [0111 – 0115] defining the processors as control circuitry and either hardware or software. It is understood that processors inherently disclose clock circuits as is well known within the art);
an electroacoustic transducer for generating sound in electrical communication with the control circuit ([0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” it is interpreted that the output transducer is the electroacoustic transducer);
a power supply circuit in electrical communication with the control circuit (FIG. 2 and [0163], “The BTE hearing aid 12 is powered by battery 28.” It is interpreted that battery 28 is a power supply circuit in communication with the other components including the control circuit/processors/other circuitry.); and
wherein the ear-worn device is configured to detect a stimulus sufficient to generate a response from the ear-worn device wearer ([0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” a sound signal, such as speech from others, is detected in the environment by the microphone and the sound data is processed and the output transducer then provides the processed sound as the stimulus, as the sound is detected and enhanced it is understood that the stimulus is sufficient to generate a response. See also [0176 – 0178]), It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as a stimulus sufficient to generate a response and the device monitors the looking direction of the user which is the response.);
monitor for a qualified response to the stimulus, the qualified response comprising any actual reaction to the stimulus ([0044 – 0045], and [0176 – 0178], “The performance detector comprises a direction of arrival detector configured for determination of the direction of arrival of sound at the hearing aid 12. The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as a stimulus sufficient to generate a response and the device monitors the looking direction of the user which is the qualified response.); and
measure an amount of time between the stimulus and the qualified response ([0178], “The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server,” reaction time of the qualified response (turning head) to listen to the detected sound.).
Gran fails to disclose an electrooculogram (EOG) sensor in electrical communication with the control circuit;
the stimulus comprising a prompt for the ear-worn device wearer to direct their gaze at a target;
monitor for a qualified response to the stimulus, by determining a direction of gaze for the ear-worn device wearer with the EOG sensor; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Malchano teaches an electrooculogram (EOG) sensor in electrical communication with the control circuit ([0032], [0469], [0438], [0120 – 0124] serial reaction time test); ;
the stimulus comprising a prompt for the ear-worn device wearer to direct their gaze at a target ([0469], [0438], [0120 – 0124] serial reaction time test);
monitor for a qualified response to the stimulus, by determining a direction of gaze for the ear-worn device wearer with the EOG sensor ([0469], [0438], [0120 – 0124] serial reaction time test);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Gran to include wherein the stimulus comprises instructions for the ear-worn device wearer to perform an action as taught by Malchano to assess and improve functioning of the brain ([0032]).
Regarding claim 57, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, Gran as modified further discloses the qualified response comprising a non-reflexive reaction to the stimulus (Gran [0178], “The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. The performance detector 40 is configured for transmission of data relating to determined user reaction times or absence of user reaction in response to reception of speech to the at least one server,” It is interpreted that turning the head to listen is a non-reflexive reaction.).
Regarding claim 58, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 41, Gran as modified further discloses wherein the ear-worn device is configured to operate in a passive mode wherein the stimulus is an event detected by the ear-worn device (Gran [0044 – 0045], and [0176 – 0178], “The performance detector comprises a direction of arrival detector configured for determination of the direction of arrival of sound at the hearing aid 12. The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as an event).
Regarding claim 59, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 58, Gran as modified further discloses the event comprising any of a sound exceeding a threshold value of loudness, the ear-worn device wearer's name, and an utterance matching an individual's voice selected from a group of predetermined individuals familiar to the ear-worn device wearer (Gran [0044 – 0045], and [0176 – 0178], “The performance detector comprises a direction of arrival detector configured for determination of the direction of arrival of sound at the hearing aid 12. The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44. It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as an event that is a sound exceeding a threshold value of loudness, as the sensor detects the sound, it is interpreted that the loudness is above a threshold value since it is sensed and then triggers the monitoring of the user. See also [0037] discussing voice recognition and separation. See also [0153] describing speech, restaurant clatter, music, etc.).
Regarding claim 60, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, wherein the ear-worn device is configured to establish a baseline of normal movement for the ear-worn device wearer, and wherein the qualified response comprises a direct reaction to the stimulus outside of the baseline of normal movement (Gran [0175 – 0178] the models monitor the data with a performance model to understand how the user is improving over time or compares to similar users or baseline normal users, one of the monitoring being movement to a stimulus such as turning the head to listen to speech).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gran in view of Malchano in further view of Goodall et al. (US 2017/0113057 A1) (“Goodall”).
Regarding claim 10, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, Gran as modified fails to disclose the stimulus comprising a tactile stimulus.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Goodall teaches the stimulus comprising a tactile stimulus (Para. [0189], “In various aspects, recommendation 2522 is for a secondary stimulus 2632 to be delivered in association with the neural stimulus. In various aspects, secondary stimulus 2632 includes music, an auditory stimulus, a video stimulus, a tactile stimulus, a haptic stimulus, an olfactory stimulus, a pharmaceutical, a nutraceutical, a secondary neural stimulus, an experience (including, but not limited to a virtual reality experience, a game experience, a virtual therapist experience, an augmented reality experience, and/or an interactive experience).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Gran as modified to include the stimulus comprising a tactile stimulus as taught by Goodall in order to diagnose health states (Para. [0115], “In particular, values of any such parameters that are indicative of worsening mental or physical/physiological status of the subject can be reported to a medical care provider so that an appropriate intervention can be made, and/or used as a basis for modulating the delivery of neural stimulation.”).
Regarding claim 11, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, Gran as modified fails to disclose the stimulus comprising a game event.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Goodall teaches the stimulus comprising a game event (Para. [0189], “In various aspects, recommendation 2522 is for a secondary stimulus 2632 to be delivered in association with the neural stimulus. In various aspects, secondary stimulus 2632 includes music, an auditory stimulus, a video stimulus, a tactile stimulus, a haptic stimulus, an olfactory stimulus, a pharmaceutical, a nutraceutical, a secondary neural stimulus, an experience (including, but not limited to a virtual reality experience, a game experience, a virtual therapist experience, an augmented reality experience, and/or an interactive experience).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Gran as modified to include the stimulus comprising a game event as taught by Goodall in order to diagnose health states (Para. [0115], “In particular, values of any such parameters that are indicative of worsening mental or physical/physiological status of the subject can be reported to a medical care provider so that an appropriate intervention can be made, and/or used as a basis for modulating the delivery of neural stimulation.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gran in view of Malchano in further view of Simon et al. (US 2016/0015289 A1) (“Simon”).
Regarding claim 19, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 16, Gran as modified fails to disclose wherein the qualified response comprises a balance recovery event.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Simon teaches wherein the qualified response comprises a balance recovery event (Para. [0059], “5) built-in accelerometer, gyrometer and magnetic compass that enables assessment of balance and stability;”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Gran as modified to include wherein the qualified response comprises a balance recovery event as taught by Simon in order to monitor more modalities of brain health during assessment (Para. [0059]).
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gran in view of Malchano in further view of Elsmore et al. (US 7837472 B1).
Regarding claim 61, Gran as modified discloses The ear-worn device of claim 1, Gran as modified fails to disclose wherein the stimulus comprises a dual-task paradigm stimulus.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Elsmore teaches wherein the stimulus comprises a dual-task paradigm stimulus (Col. 2 line 58 – col. 3 line 5, “The test modules of the exemplary embodiment are designed to allow specified test options to be modified. For example, the number and spacing of stimulus presentations, the stimulus durations, the task difficulty, etc., may be customized for a particular application. Test modules of the assessment and rehabilitation system include sleep/fatigue scale, mood scale, simple and two-choice reaction time, four choice reaction time, procedural reaction time, Sternberg memory search task, running memory continuous performance task, mathematical processing task, digit set comparison task, logical reasoning-symbolic, Tower of Hanoi (Tower Puzzle), Stroop color/word interference, code substitution (learning and recall), spatial processing task (simultaneous and successive), matching to sample (simultaneous and successive), matrix rotation (simultaneous and successive), tracking (unstable and adaptive), pursuit tracking, switching task, dual task, synthetic work task, tapping (left and right index finger), mental status test, and Aphasia test.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Gran as modified to include wherein the stimulus comprises a dual-task paradigm stimulus as taught by Elsmore to customize the testing for specific tasks and difficulties (Col. 2 line 58 – col. 3 line 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 02, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the arguments regarding Gran and claim 27, the arguments are not persuasive. Gran generates stimulus from the hearing aid itself as is discussed in the rejection, See [0116], “a hearing aid with a microphone for provision of an audio signal in response to sound signals received at the microphone from a sound environment, a processor that is configured to process the audio signal in accordance with a signal processing algorithm F.sub.n(Θ.sub.n), where Θ.sub.n is a set of signal processing parameters of the signal processing algorithm F.sub.n, to generate a hearing loss compensated audio signal, an output transducer for providing an output signal to a user of the each of the hearing aid systems based on the hearing loss compensated audio signal,” a sound signal, such as speech from others, is detected in the environment by the microphone and the sound data is processed and the output transducer then provides the processed sound as the stimulus, as the sound is detected and enhanced it is understood that the stimulus is sufficient to generate a response. See also [0176 – 0178]. Applicant is correct in that the ear worn device detects a stimulus. However, the ear worn device then additionally generates a stimulus sufficient to generate a response from an ear worn device wearer. Gran also discloses “a motion sensor in electrical communication with the control circuit; wherein the stimulus comprises an auditory stimulus generated by the electroacoustic transducer that is perceived to originate from a particular direction; and monitoring for a qualified response to the stimulus using at least one of a motion sensor and a microphone, the qualified response comprising a signal from the motion sensor indicative of the ear-worn device wearer turning their head toward the particular direction of the stimulus.” See Gran [0044 – 0045], and [0176 – 0178], “The performance detector comprises a direction of arrival detector configured for determination of the direction of arrival of sound at the hearing aid 12. The performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of arrival of the sound and the time from arrival of speech until the user changes his or her looking direction towards the determined direction of arrival of the speech as indicated by the orientation sensors 44.” It is interpreted that the sound in the environment is detected as a stimulus sufficient to generate a response and the device monitors the looking direction of the user which is the qualified response and is interpreted as non-reflexive. FIG. 4 and [0175], “The performance detector 40 is also connected to one or more orientation sensors 44, such as gyroscopes, e.g. MEMS gyros, tilt sensors, roll ball switches, etc., configured for outputting signals for determination of orientation of the head of a user wearing the hearing aid, e.g. one or more of head yaw, head pitch, head roll, or combinations hereof, e.g. tilt, i.e. the angular deviation from the heads normal vertical position, when the user is standing up or sitting down.” As shown in FIG. 4, the motion sensor 44 is connected with the circuitry. See further [0125], “Optionally, one of the hearing aid systems comprises: a direction of arrival detector configured for determining a direction of arrival of sound at the one of the hearing aid system; and an orientation sensor configured for determining a looking direction of the user of the one of the hearing aid systems during the arrival of the sound; wherein the performance detector is configured for comparison of the determined direction of the arrival of the sound, and the looking direction of the user of the one of the hearing aid systems;” Thus, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The arguments regarding claims 10-11, 19 and 23 are moot. There are no additional arguments provided for those claims or other dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung et al. (US-20080243005-A1) also discloses a microphone and device generated stimuli for reaction test monitoring.
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791