Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an acquisition unit” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation “an arrangement action” is unclear if it is referring to the arrangement action recited in claim 1, or a different arrangement action.
In claim 2, the limitation “information on an arrangement action at each time on the basis of time-series data of the arrangement information” is unclear “at each time” what happens? When is the arrangement action generated?
In claim 7, the limitation “an arrangement action” is unclear if it is referring to the arrangement action recited in claim 1, or a different arrangement action.
Claim limitation “an acquisition unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In this case, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR 2018-0098485).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches an information processing device (100; Fig. 6) comprising: an arrangement generation unit configured to generate new arrangement information (para. 0012-0014;0041-0043; 0046-0047) which is information on a new arrangement on the basis of arrangement information including food ingredient information which is information on food ingredients used for an arrangement of a dish (the user selects ingredients to compose a dish; para. 0012-0014;0041-0043; 0046-0047), arrangement action information which is information on an arrangement action by a cooking person (the steps of the recipe are provided once the recipe is generated; para. 0012-0014;0041-0043; 0046-0047), and cooking tool information which is information on cooking tools used for the arrangement (para. 0025; para. 0029-0047).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement generation unit generates the new arrangement information including information on an arrangement action at each time on the basis of time-series data of the arrangement information (para. 0046).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement generation unit generates the new arrangement information on the basis of the arrangement information further including layout information which is information on a layout of arranged food ingredients (para. 0012-0014;0041-0043; 0046-0047).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement generation unit generates the new arrangement information on the basis of the arrangement information further including tableware information which is information on tableware used for the arrangement (para. 0038).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising: a recipe generation unit configured to generate recipe data by associating cooking step information and the new arrangement information with each other, the cooking step information being information on a cooking step when food ingredients used for the new arrangement are prepared (para. 0034-0064).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches an information processing method comprising: causing an information processing device to generate new arrangement information (para. 0012-0014;0041-0043; 0046-0047) which is information on a new arrangement on the basis of arrangement information including food ingredient information which is information on food ingredients used for an arrangement of a dish (the user selects ingredients to compose a dish; para. 0012-0014;0041-0043; 0046-0047), arrangement action information which is information on an arrangement action by a cooking person (the steps of the recipe are provided once the recipe is generated; para. 0012-0014;0041-0043; 0046-0047), and cooking tool information which is information on cooking tools used for the arrangement (para. 0025; para. 0029-0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Oleynik (US 9,815,191).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches all the elements of the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, except for, further comprising: an order command generation unit configured to generate an order command for causing a cooking robot to perform the cooking step and the new arrangement step on the basis of the recipe data of a predetermined dish.
Oleynik teaches an information processing device (abstract) comprising an order command generation unit configured to generate an order command for causing a cooking robot to perform the cooking step and the new arrangement step on the basis of the recipe data of a predetermined dish (Col. 18, lines 11-55; Col. 22, lines 2-8; Col. 28, lines 50-61).
Therefore, it would have it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing device of Park, with Oleynik, by providing an order command generation unit configured to generate an order command for causing a cooking robot to perform the cooking step and the new arrangement step on the basis of the recipe data of a predetermined dish, to execute the cooking steps faster, and minimize errors.
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches all the elements of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1, except for, wherein at least any one of the food ingredient information, the arrangement action information, and the cooking tool information is information obtained by analyzing an image obtained by imaging a state of arrangement by the cooking person or analyzing sensor data obtained by measuring an arrangement action by the cooking person.
Oleynik teaches wherein at least any one of the food ingredient information, the arrangement action information, and the cooking tool information is information obtained by analyzing an image obtained by imaging a state of arrangement by the cooking person or analyzing sensor data obtained by measuring an arrangement action by the cooking person (Col. 12, lines 37-51; Col. 16, lines 18-32; Col. 17, lines 46-53; Col. 27, lines 47-67; Col. 45, lines 61-66).
Therefore, it would have it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing device of Park, with Oleynik, by obtaining at least any one of the food ingredient information, the arrangement action information, and the cooking tool information by imaging a state of arrangement by the cooking person or analyzing sensor data obtained by measuring an arrangement action by the cooking person, for a more accurate information gathering.
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches all the elements of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 2, except for, wherein the arrangement generation unit generates the new arrangement information on the basis of a model generated by performing learning on the basis of time-series data of the arrangement information, subjective information indicating a subjective evaluation of a person for an arrangement of the cooking person, and an image indicating an arrangement result made by the cooking person.
Oleynik teaches wherein the arrangement generation unit generates the new arrangement information on the basis of a model generated by performing learning on the basis of time-series data of the arrangement information (Col. 15, lines 4-15; Col. 25, lines 36-41; Col. 86, lines 16-18), subjective information indicating a subjective evaluation of a person for an arrangement of the cooking person (Col. 12, lines 37-51; Col. 16, lines 18-32; Col. 17, lines 46-53; Col. 27, lines 47-67; Col. 45, lines 61-66), and an image indicating an arrangement result made by the cooking person (Col. 12, lines 37-51; Col. 16, lines 18-32; Col. 17, lines 46-53; Col. 27, lines 47-67; Col. 45, lines 61-66).
Therefore, it would have it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing device of Park, with Oleynik, by generating the new arrangement information on the basis of a model generated by performing learning on the basis of time-series data of the arrangement information, subjective information indicating a subjective evaluation of a person for an arrangement of the cooking person, and an image indicating an arrangement result made by the cooking person, to minimize cooking errors.
Regarding claim 9, Park and Oleynik combined teach the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the model is a neural network that uses a subjective evaluation of a person for an arrangement and an image indicating a predetermined arrangement result as inputs and uses time-series data on the new arrangement as an output (Oleynik; Col. 15, lines 4-15; Col. 25, lines 36-41; Col. 29, lines 24-56; Col. 86, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 10, Park and Oleynik combined teach the information processing device according to claim 9, further comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire the subjective evaluation and the image indicating the predetermined arrangement result which are inputs of the model, on the basis of an input by a user who requires the new arrangement (Col. 12, lines 37-51; Col. 16, lines 18-32; Col. 17, lines 46-53; Col. 27, lines 47-67; Col. 45, lines 61-66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0291277, US 2016/0081515 and US 2010/0171716.
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 01/21/2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761