DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amendment(s) and Claim Status
In the Amendment filed January 2, 2026, claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 12-14 and 16 were amended, claim 8 was canceled and claims 17-18 were added. Claims 1-7 and 9-18 have been presented for further consideration and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are directed to newly filed amendments not yet considered by the examiner. As such, the following Office Action has been updated to address the amended claim language and applicant's remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelsen, US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0160195 (published May 30, 2019, hereinafter KELSEN), in view of Hong et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0326818 (published November 15, 2018, hereinafter HONG)
As per claim 1 (Currently Amended), KELSEN teaches of a scent (e.g., considered by the examiner as aroma, fragrance, odor or element that affects observable smell) output control device (see fig. 4, 8, 13 and 34; and par. 3: a scent output control device), comprising:
an information acquisition unit (considered by the examiner as a unit which captures input information/data for further processing by the system) (see par. 105 and 125: system capable of capturing control information and initiating activity via a user interface) that includes:
a voice information acquisition unit configured to acquire, as voice information, a user utterance word (see par. 105 and 125: system capable of providing scent to a designated environment based on voice input); and
a scent output control unit (see fig. 11 and 12; and par. 4 and 50: system provide controllers for managing the distribution of frequencies in a variety of environments (e.g., gaming, cars, rooms, etc.)) configured to:
receive a plurality of pieces of information that includes the voice information (see par. 105 and 125: distribution of scent can be initiated via voice input);
select, based on a specific mode, the voice information among the plurality of pieces of information and select, based on the voice information, a scent among a plurality of scents (see fig. 13 and 14; and par. 105, 110 and 125 and : voice commands can be accompanied or coupled with other input parameters (e.g., music, sensed environmental input, user defined input, etc.) to provide the scent requested from one or more prepared scent canisters, in an effort to fit a determined environment and/or user defined mood/activity); and
control output of the selected scent and a scent output unit configured to output the selected scent based on the control of the output of the selected scent (see par. 3, 6 and 51: based on predefined control parameters and input, the controller provides a scent from a plurality of prepared scents for distribution).
While KELSEN focuses on an automotive device which works in concert with the car’s HVAC system to provide user selected fragrance to the interior of the car respective of user and environmental information, the reference fails to explicitly address receiving information from an information acquisition unit (IAU).
Like KELSEN, HONG is directed to a system which provides scents to vehicle compartments per user input. However, HONG further teaches of a system which uses an IAU mounted inside a vehicle which captures [biometric] sensor data for use in the system (see at least par. 9, and 130-137 and 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to employ the use of HONG's system and method of using an IAU as a means for gathering environmental information, with KELSEN's system and method of relying user and environmental inputs to formulate an output fragrance suitable for the user while also mitigating any unwanted environmental smells.
As per claim 2, the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein the scent output control device according to claim 1, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output unit is further configured to output the selected scent into an automobile (see: par. 3-4: application is designed to infuse one or more selected scents into the interior of a vehicle).
As per claim 3 (Currently Amended), the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 1, wherein the information acquisition unit further includes at least one of:
An environmental information acquisition unit configured to acquire environment information (see par. 81 and 105: system capable of operations based on environmental triggers);
an operation information acquisition unit configured to acquire operation information of a vehicle (see par. 103: system can make fragrance preferences based on vehicle type);
a biological information acquisition unit configured to acquire biological information of an occupant in the vehicle (see HONG further focuses on using and information acquisition unit (IAU) for gathering environmental data and biological input data (see par. 130-137 and 160));
a network and broadcast information acquisition unit configured to acquire at least one of network information or broadcast information (see fig. 36; and par. 5, 103, and 113-115: system capable of local and remote operations, wherein control information can be managed remotely);
a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire position information (see par. 90 and 102: system capable of suggesting positional information for fragrance); or
an advertisement information acquisition unit configured to acquire advertisement information (see par. 102: system capable of providing business intelligence for potential fragrant applications, and designing and making [business] recommendations based on a plurality of geographic data, trends, seasonal information, consumption data, and a variety of other commercial/business influences).
As per claim 4 (Currently Amended), the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 3, wherein
the plurality of pieces of information further includes at least one of the environment information and operational information (see par. 81, 105: system capable of operations based on environmental triggers), the biological information (see HONG further focuses on using and information acquisition unit (IAU) for gathering environmental data and biological input data (see par. 130-137 and 160)), the at least one of the network information or the broadcast information, the position information (see par. 90 and 102: system capable of suggesting positional information for fragrance), or the advertisement information (par. 102: system capable of providing business intelligence for potential fragrant applications, and designing and making [business] recommendations based on a plurality of geographic data, trends, seasonal information, consumption data, and a variety of other commercial/business influences).
As per claim 5, the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein HONG teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 1, wherein the scent output control unit is further configured to:
select a mode-correspondence scent database based on the specific mode, wherein the mode-correspondence scent database includes registration of a scent output mode (see par. 10-20: the system contains a plurality of registered capsules which are sprayed based the state of the cabin and/or determined state of the user); and
control the output of the selected scent based on the scent output mode (see par. 18-20: upon determining the state/operational mode for application, the system determines the appropriate application of material).
As per claim 6, the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein HONG teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 5, wherein
the mode-correspondence scent database further includes registration of an identifier of a scent output cartridge for the selected scent (see par. 10, 14 and 16: the system contains a plurality of registered perfume capsules which are identified to a conditional state within the cabin, and sprayed based the determined state of the cabin and/or determined state of the user)), and
the scent output unit is further configured to output the selected scent based on the identifier of the scent output cartridge (see par. 18-20: upon determining the state/operational mode for application, the system determines the appropriate application of material).
As per claim 7, the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 5, further comprising a display unit (see par. 67 and 98: system uses a visual display to interface with system operations), wherein the mode-correspondence scent database further includes registration of a plurality of identifiers of a plurality of scent output cartridges, and the scent output control unit (see fig. 34-35; and par. 65 and 112: system provided fragrances are cataloged and identified for application) is further configured to:
generate display information associated with the plurality of scent output cartridges; display the generated display information on the display unit (see par. 49, 67 and 87: system displays information allocated to scent output); and
receive a user selection of a scent cartridge among the plurality of scent output cartridges based on the display information displayed on the display unit (see par. 49, 87 and 98: interfacing display provides for input and output fragrance information allocated to user designations and operational parameters of the system).
8. (Canceled)
As per claim 9, the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 1, wherein
the information acquisition unit further includes a broadcast information acquisition unit configured to acquire, as at least one of network information or broadcast information, and a word (see fig. 36; and par. 5, 113-115 and 125, 129: system capable of local and remote operations, wherein control information can be capture via voice and speech input and managed remotely), and
the scent output control unit is further configured to: select the scent based on the word and output the selected scent via the scent output unit (see par. 125 and 129: system capable of capturing and allocating fragrance application and operations based on speech).
As per claim 10, the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 1, further comprising a display unit (see par. 67 and 98: system uses a visual display to interface with system operations, wherein the scent output control unit is further configured to:
generate display information and display the generated display information on the display unit (see par. 49, 67 and 87: system displays information allocated to scent output); and
receive a user selection of the specific mode based on the display information displayed on the display unit (see par. 49, 87 and 98: interfacing display provides for input and output fragrance information allocated to user selected modes (e.g., mood, environmental impacts, etc.)).
As per claim 11, the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control device according to claim 1, wherein
the scent output control unit is further configured to set the specific mode (see par. 49, 87 and 98: interfacing display provides for input and output fragrance information allocated to user selected modes (e.g., mood, environmental impacts, etc.), and
the specific mode includes at least two of
a current location correspondence mode (see par. 90 and 102: system capable of suggesting positional information for fragrance application), a word correspondence mode (par. 125 and 129: system capable of capturing and allocating fragrance output based on recognized speech), an environment correspondence mode (see par. 81, 105: system performs operations based on environmental triggers which correspond to predetermined modes), an operation state correspondence mode (see par. 103: in recognizing vehicle operations mode, the system can make fragrance preferences based on a vehicle type), a biological state correspondence mode (see HONG further focuses on using and information acquisition unit (IAU) for gathering environmental data and biological input data (see par. 130-137 and 160), an advertisement correspondence mode, or an all acquired information correspondence mode (par. 102: system capable of providing business intelligence for potential fragrant applications, and designing and making [business] recommendations based on a plurality of geographic data, trends, seasonal information, consumption data, and a variety of other commercial/business influences).
As per claim 12 (Currently Amended), KELSEN teaches of a scent output control system (see fig. 4, 8, 13 and 34; and par. 3-4: a scent output control system), comprising:
a scent output control device that includes:
an information acquisition unit (see par. 105 and 125: system capable of capturing control information and initiating activity via a user interface) including:
a voice information acquisition unit configured to acquire, as voice information, a user utterance word (par. 105, 125 and 129: the system provides scent to a designated environment based on voice input, wherein the system is capable of capturing and allocating fragrance applications and operations based on speech); and
a scent output control unit and a scent output unit (see fig. 15, 31 and 34; and par. 4 and 50: system provide controllers for managing the distribution of frequencies in a variety of environments (e.g., gaming, cars, rooms, etc.); and
a scent output mode determination server (considered by the examiner as the scent controller) (see fig. 34 and 36; and par. 5, 66 and 98: the provides for both local and remote operations, in light of predetermined modes, wherein operations can be managed based on remote server operations), wherein the scent output control is configured to:
receive a plurality of pieces of information that includes the voice information (see par. 105 and 125: distribution of scent can be initiated via voice input);
select, based on a specific mode, the voice information among the plurality of pieces of information (see fig. 13 and 14; and par. 105, 110 and 125 and : voice commands can be accompanied or coupled with other input parameters (e.g., music, sensed environmental input, user defined input, etc.) to provide the scent requested from one or more prepared scent canisters, in an effort to fit a determined environment and/or user defined mood/activity);
transmit the voice information to the scent output mode determination controller, wherein the scent output mode determination controller is configured to:
receive the voice information from the scent output control unit (see par. 3, 6 and 51: receiving information from the scent output, wherein based on predefined control parameters and input, the controller provides a scent from a plurality of prepared scents for distribution);
determine, among a plurality of scents, a scent based on the voice information and transmit information associated with the determined scent to the scent output control unit and output, based on the information associated with the determined scent, the determined scent via the scent output unit (see fig. 13 and 14; and par. 105, 110 and 125: voice commands can be accompanied or coupled with other input parameters (e.g., music, sensed environmental input, user defined input, etc.) to provide the scent requested from one or more prepared scent canisters, in an effort to fit a determined environment and/or user defined mood/activity, and based on the inputs, provide an output to the output controller to administer categorized and pre-allocated scents which correspond to the combined input).
KELSEN focuses on an fragrance distribution device which works in concert with the a plurality of HVAC systems to provide user selected fragrance to a determined area, but fails to explicitly address receiving information from an information acquisition unit (IAU).
HONG is directed to a system which provides scents to vehicle compartments per user input, wherein the reference further focuses on using an IAU mounted inside a vehicle which captures [biometric] sensor data for use in the system (see at least par. 9, and 130-137 and 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to employ the use of HONG's system and method of using an IAU as a means for gathering environmental information, with KELSEN's system and method of relying user and environmental inputs to formulate an output fragrance suitable for the user while also mitigating any unwanted environmental smells.
As per claim 13 (Currently Amended), the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control system according to claim 12, wherein
The information acquisition unit is configured to acquire the plurality of pieces of information (see par. 105 and 125: system capable of capturing control information and initiating activity via a user interface),
the information acquisition unit further includes at least one of:
an environment information acquisition unit configured to acquire environment information (see par. 81, 105: system capable of operations based on environmental triggers); an operation information acquisition unit configured to acquire operation information of a vehicle (see par. 103: system can make fragrance preferences based on vehicle type); a biological information acquisition unit configured to acquire biological information of an occupant in the vehicle (HONG, par. 130-137 and 160, further focuses on using and information acquisition unit (IAU) for gathering environmental data and biological input data); a network and broadcast information acquisition unit configured to acquire at least one of network information or broadcast information (see fig. 36; and par. 5, 103, and 113-115: system capable of local and remote operations, wherein control information can be managed remotely); a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire position information (see par. 90 and 102: system capable of suggesting positional information for fragrance); or an advertisement information acquisition unit configured to acquire|[ an]| advertisement information (see par. 102: system capable of providing business intelligence for potential fragrant applications, and designing and making [business] recommendations based on a plurality of geographic data, trends, seasonal information, consumption data, and a variety of other commercial/business influences) and
the plurality of pieces of information includes at least one of the environment information or the operation information (see par. 81, 105: system capable of operations based on environmental triggers), the biological information (HONG par. 130-137 and 160, further focuses on using and information acquisition unit (IAU) for gathering environmental data and biological input data), the at least one of the network information or the broadcast information, the position information (see par. 90 and 102: system capable of suggesting positional information for fragrance), or the advertisement information (par. 102: system capable of providing business intelligence for potential fragrant applications, and designing and making [business] recommendations based on a plurality of geographic data, trends, seasonal information, consumption data, and a variety of other commercial/business influences).
As per claim 14 (Currently Amended), KELSEN teaches of a scent output control method, comprising:
In a scent output control device that includes an information acquisition unit, including a voice information acquisition unit and a scent output control unit, and a scent output unit (see fig. 4, 8, 11-13 and 34; and par. 3-4 and 50: a scent output control device, wherein the system supports the use of controllers for managing the distribution of fragrancies in a variety of environments (e.g., gaming, cars, rooms, etc.)):
acquiring, by the voice information acquisition unit, a user utterance word as voice information (see par. 105, 125 and 129: system capable of providing scent to a designated environment based on voice input, wherein operations support analyzing speech for application);
receiving, by the scent output control unit, a plurality of pieces of information that includes the voice information and selecting, by the scent output control unit, the voice information among the plurality of pieces of information, wherein the selection of the voice information is based on a specific mode (see fig. 13 and 14; and par. 105, 110 and 125: scent control input information may consist of multiple pieces of information, wherein voice commands can be coupled with other input parameters (e.g., music, sensed environmental input, user defined input, etc.) to align output parameters with predetermined user modes, in an effort to provide the scent requested from one or more prepared scent canisters);
selecting, by the scent output control unit, a scent among a plurality of scents based on the voice information and controlling, by the scent output control unit, output of the selected scent (see par. 125 and 129: system capable of capturing and allocating fragrance application and operations based on speech); and
outputting by the scent output control unit, the selected scent based on the control of the output of the selected scent (see par. 3, 6 and 51: based on predefined control parameters and input, the controller provides a scent from a plurality of prepared scents for distribution).
KELSEN focuses on an fragrance distribution in a host of different environments, but fails to explicitly address receiving information from an information acquisition unit (IAU).
HONG focuses on a system which provides scents to vehicle compartments per user input, wherein the reference further focuses on using an information acquisition unit (IAU) mounted inside a vehicle which captures [biometric] sensor data for use in the system (see at least par. 9, and 130-137 and 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to employ the use of HONG's system and method of using an IAU as a means for gathering environmental information, with KELSEN's system and method of relying user and environmental inputs to formulate an output fragrance suitable for the user while also mitigating any unwanted environmental smells.
As per claim 15, KELSEN teaches of a scent output control method, comprising:
in a scent output control system that includes a scent output control device, including a scent output unit, and a scent output mode determination server (see fig. 4, 8, 11-13 and 34; and par. 3-4 and 50: a scent output control device, wherein the system supports the use of controllers for local and remote management of the distribution of fragrances in a variety of different environments (e.g., gaming, cars, rooms, etc.):
acquiring, by the scent output control device, a plurality of pieces of first information, selecting, by the scent output control device, a piece of first information among the plurality of pieces of first information based on a specific mode (system capable of capturing input data, as defined by the user and/or system, prompting application of different modes within the scent control system, wherein the first information could be a voice initiating operations (see par. 105 and 125: system capable of providing scent to a designated environment based on voice input), commercial/business application prompting operations based on environmental data (see par. 102: system capable of providing business intelligence for potential fragrant applications, and designing and making [business] recommendations based on a plurality of geographic data, trends, seasonal information, consumption data, and a variety of other commercial/business influences), environmental triggering inputs prompting a different mode (par. 81 and 105: system capable of operations based on environmental triggers));
transmitting, by the scent output control device, the selected piece of first information to the scent output mode determination server and receiving, by the scent output mode determination server, the selected piece of first information from the scent output control device (see par. 3, 6 and 51: transmitting and receiving information from the input unit to the scent control unit output, wherein based on the input and/or predefined control parameters, the controller provides further instruction for scent activity);
determining, by the scent output mode determination server, a scent among a plurality of scents based on the selected piece of first information (see based on the input, determine a mode for operations for the dispersion unit);
transmitting, by the scent output mode determination server, second information associated with the determined scent to the scent output control device and outputting, by the scent output control device, the determined scent via the scent output unit, wherein the output of the determined scent is based on the second information (see fig. 36; and par. 72 and 75: based on determined control parameters received from the first/initial set of input data, sending control information to the dispersion system in an effort to initiate distribution of one or more scents from the allocated canisters based on the secondary control data).
KELSEN focuses on an fragrance distribution in a host of different environments, but fails to explicitly address receiving information from an information acquisition unit (IAU).
HONG focuses on a system which provides scents to vehicle compartments per user input, wherein the reference further focuses on using an information acquisition unit (IAU) mounted inside a vehicle which captures [biometric] sensor data for use in the system (see at least par. 9, and 130-137 and 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to employ the use of HONG's system and method of using an IAU as a means for gathering environmental information, with KELSEN's system and method of relying user and environmental inputs to formulate an output fragrance suitable for the user while also mitigating any unwanted environmental smells.
As per claim 16 (Currently Amended), KELSEN teaches of a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a scent output control device, cause the scent output control device to execute operations (see par. 5, 72 and 76: system relies on the use of software executed on a computer to perform control and application functions within the system), the operations comprising:
acquiring, by a voice information acquisition unit of the scent output control device, a user utterance word as voice information, wherein the scent output control device includes an information acquisition unit including the voice information acquisition unit and a scent output control unit, and a scent output unit (see fig. 4, 8, 11-13 and 34; and par. 3-4 and 50: a scent output control device, wherein the system supports the use of controllers for managing the distribution of fragrancies in a variety of environments (e.g., gaming, cars, rooms, etc.));
receiving, by the scent output control unit, a plurality of pieces of information that includes the voice information (see par. 105 and 125: distribution of scent can be initiated via voice input);
selecting, by the scent output control unit, the voice information among the plurality of pieces of information, wherein the selection of the voice information is based on a specific mode (see par. 3-5, 125 and 129: system capable of using environmental input, predetermined input, user initiated input, along with captured speech to set mode parameters for operations);
selecting, by the scent output control unit, a scent among a plurality of scents based on the voice information (see par. 76, 125 and 129: selecting dispersion of material based on a voice/speech driven scent output control input); and
controlling, by the scent output control unit, output of the selected scent and outputting, by the scent output control unit, the selected scent based on the control of the output of the selected scent (see par. 3-6 and 51: based on predefined control parameters and input, the controller provides a scent from a plurality of prepared scents for distribution).
KELSEN focuses on an fragrance distribution in a host of different environments, but fails to explicitly address receiving information from an information acquisition unit (IAU).
HONG focuses on a system which provides scents to vehicle compartments per user input, wherein the reference further focuses on using an information acquisition unit (IAU) mounted inside a vehicle which captures [biometric] sensor data for use in the system (see at least par. 9, and 130-137 and 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to employ the use of HONG's system and method of using an IAU as a means for gathering environmental information, with KELSEN's system and method of relying user and environmental inputs to formulate an output fragrance suitable for the user while also mitigating any unwanted environmental smells.
As per claim 17 (New), the combination of KELSEN and HONG teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein KELSEN teaches of the scent output control method according to claim 15, wherein
the scent output control device further includes an information acquisition unit that includes a voice information acquisition unit and a scent output control unit (see par. 3-6, 105 and 125: system captures voice input for use with allied information in controlling and determining the distribution of output fragrances), and
the scent output control method further comprises:
acquiring, by the voice information acquisition unit, a user utterance word as voice information fig. 36; and par. 5, 113-115 and 125, 129: system capable of local and remote operations, wherein control information can be capture via voice and speech input, wherein
the plurality of pieces of first information includes the voice information and the selected piece of first information is the voice information (system capable of capturing input data, as defined by the user and/or system, prompting application of different modes within the scent control system, wherein the first information could be a voice initiating operations, (see par. 105 and 125: system capable of providing scent to a designated environment based on voice input), commercial/business application prompting operations based on environmental data (see par. 102: system capable of providing business intelligence for potential fragrant applications, and designing and making [business] recommendations based on a plurality of geographic data, trends, seasonal information, consumption data, and a variety of other commercial/business influences), environmental triggering inputs prompting a different mode (par. 81 and 105: system capable of operations based on environmental triggers)), and
determining, by the scent output mode determination server, the scent among the plurality of scents based on the voice information (see par. 125 and 129: system capable of capturing and allocating fragrance application and operations based on speech).
As per claim 18 (New), KELSEN teaches of a scent output control device, comprising:
an information acquisition unit (see fig. 4, 8, 13 and 34; and par. 3: a scent output control device) that includes:
a broadcast information acquisition unit configured to acquire, as at least one of network information or broadcast information, a word (see fig. 36; and par. 5, 103, 113-115 and 125: system capable of local and remote operations, wherein control information can be managed remotely and controlling input can be in the form of voice and/or speech); and
a scent output control unit configured to:
receive a plurality of pieces of information that includes the at least one of the network information or the broadcast information (see fig. 36; and par. 87, 116-117: system captures information via local and remote means, where data may be broadcast over networks);
select, based on a specific mode, the at least one of the network information or the broadcast information among the plurality of pieces of information (see par. 109-111 and 116-117: capture data (e.g, wired or wireless over the network) can be use with various forms of predetermined and/or user defined data to set mode parameters);
select, based on the at least one of the network information or the broadcast information, a scent among a plurality of scents (see fig. 13 and 14; and par. 105, 110 and 125: based on input data received locally and/or over the network, providing scent parameters in line with requested or predetermined scent distribution); and
control output of the selected scent and a scent output unit configured to output the selected scent based on the control of the output of the selected scent (see par. 3-6 and 51: system controller initiates distribution of fragrances and provides a scent from a plurality of the prepared canisters, based on predetermined input and operational modes).
KELSEN focuses on an fragrance distribution in a host of different environments, but fails to explicitly address receiving information from an information acquisition unit (IAU).
HONG focuses on a system which provides scents to vehicle compartments per user input, wherein the reference further focuses on using an information acquisition unit (IAU) mounted inside a vehicle which captures [biometric] sensor data for use in the system (see at least par. 9, and 130-137 and 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to employ the use of HONG's system and method of using an IAU as a means for gathering environmental information, with KELSEN's system and method of relying user and environmental inputs to formulate an output fragrance suitable for the user while also mitigating any unwanted environmental smells.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Habbel [2014/0097266, 9,352,065] and Fukuhara [5,174,967] focus on a systems and methods for dispensing scents in alignment with HVAC operations, while Lyubich et al. [2018/0194194], teaches of an HVAC system which controls airflow based on seating configurations. The balance of the references cited in the attached PTO Form-892 focus on systems which facilitate airflow control within vehicle spaces based user and environmental inputs, while allowing HVAC operations to work in concert with other automotive functions.
Conclusion
The applicant is strongly encouraged to contact the examiner if further clarifications are needed with respect to interpretation of currently presented claims and/or cited prior art.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/Kelvin Booker/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119