DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22JUN2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the amended Claims 1 and 11, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The requirement of providing means for controlling a concentration prior to contacting the blood present both 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 112(b) issues, see below. As currently written, the Claims lack means for said control, as well as how said concentrations are determined (e.g., sensors, selective membranes, etc.). Furthermore, as dialysis is generally cyclical, all times after contacting the blood are also before contacting the blood. Additionally specifying where dialysate concentrations are measured or maintained would greatly improve clarity of the Claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 11 as currently amended require “means for controlling a concentration….prior to contacting the blood”, but there does not appear to be support for the amended structure in the Specification or Claims.
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 require “means for controlling a concentration….prior to contacting the blood”, which is unclear, and therefore indefinite. It is unclear from the Claims and Specification what structure provides said means for controlling a concentration prior to contacting the blood. Similarly, it is unclear if the claimed ranges are desired to be maintained (i.e., as the dialysate circulates, the concentration is maintained as claimed to be within range each pass, or if simply providing initial dialysate at the claimed ranges would suffice).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180256637 A1 (Sherman) in view of US 20050074485 A1 (Lipton).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Sherman teaches a dialyzer (Fig. 1)) comprising:
a dialysis unit (80) including a blood channel and a dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1, wherein the blood channel and dialysate channels are considered to extend through the dialysis unit 80);
a dialysate [0031];
a dialysate supply channel (60) configured to supply a dialysate to the dialysate channel;
a dialysate discharge channel configured to discharge the dialysate from the dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1);
a blood supply channel configured to supply blood to the blood channel, and a blood discharge channel configured to discharge the blood from the blood channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1);
wherein the blood channel and the dialysate channel are in contact with each other via a dialysis membrane (90) [0021] the dialysate flowing through the dialysate channel contains nitrite ions.
Sherman fails to teach a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM or a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate is 40 to 120 µM.
Lipton teaches a dialysis system wherein the concentration of nitrite ions is between 40 and 120 µM prior to contacting the blood (Fig. 3) [0093].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the concentration of nitrite ions in the dialysate of Sherman with the ranges taught by Lipton as Sherman teaches a desire to prevent a plurality of conditions by controlling nitrite levels [0012].
Sherman Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 3, Sherman teaches the dialyzer according to Claim 1.
Sherman further teaches the dialysis unit or the dialysate supply channel includes a material that releases the nitric oxide and/or the nitrite ions, namely sodium nitrite [0012, 0013, 0132].
Regarding claims 11-13, Sherman teaches a dialyzer comprising:
a dialysis unit (80) including a blood channel and a dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1, wherein the blood channel and dialysate channels are considered to extend through the dialysis unit 80);
a dialysate supply channel (60) configured to supply a dialysate to the dialysate channel;
a dialysate discharge channel configured to discharge the dialysate from the dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1);
a blood supply channel configured to supply blood to the blood channel, and a blood discharge channel configured to discharge the blood from the blood channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1); and
means for controlling the concentration of nitrite [0103], and a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate channel
wherein the means for controlling the concentration includes a material (the carrier solution described in [0102] or [0103]) that releases nitric oxide and/or nitrite ions into the dialysate; and
wherein the means for controlling a concentration includes a flow meter configured to meter the nitric oxide into the dialysate (as would necessarily be required to deliver the flow rates as described in [0103]).
Sherman fails to teach a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM or a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate is 40 to 120 µM.
Lipton teaches a dialysis system wherein the concentration of nitrite ions is between 40 and 120 µM prior to contacting the blood (Fig. 3) [0093].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the concentration of nitrite ions in the dialysate of Sherman with the ranges taught by Lipton as Sherman teaches a desire to prevent a plurality of conditions by controlling nitrite levels [0012].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Lipton and further in view of US 20060068031 A1 (Miller et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Sherman teaches the dialyzer according to Claim 1.
Sherman fails to teach a nitric oxide gas supply source, a flow meter connected to the nitric oxide gas supply source, and a nitric oxide gas supply path for supplying the nitric oxide gas to the dialysate.
Miller teaches a blood treatment system (Fig. 9) comprising a nitric oxide gas supply source (7), a flow meter (8) connected to the nitric oxide gas supply source, and a nitric oxide gas supply path for supplying the nitric oxide gas to the blood of the patient (9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dialysate nitric oxide control system of Sherman in view of Miller with the nitric oxide gas supply and metering of Miller as it would be obvious to try when considering known methods to maintain nitric oxide at acceptable levels for treatment [Miller 0068] with a reasonable expectation of providing nitric oxide to the dialysate MPEP 2143 I.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Lipton and further in view of US 6911427 B1 (Stamler).
Regarding claim 5, Sherman teaches a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate is 40 to 120 µM as described in claim 1, but fails to teach the dialysate contains nitric oxide and nitrite ions, and a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM.
Stamler teaches a formulation for use in a dialysate (Col. 19, ll. 9-13) wherein a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM through teaching a range where the concentration of nitric oxide added was 5 µM (Col. 44, ll. 13-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dialysate of Sherman with nitric oxide at the concentration taught by Stamler to control the interactions between nitric oxide and the patient’s blood and thereby preventing detrimental side effects (Col. 2, ll. 11-23).
Conclusion
/HANS KALIHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781