DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 21NOV2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection prompted by Applicant’s amendment to claims. A new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sherman in view of Lipton.
As required by the amended Claims, the required concentration of nitrite in the dialysate flowing in the dialysate channel, Sherman teaching a range of up to 1 µM [0230]. Lipton, as cited below, explores a variety of nitrite ranges during various conditions.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180256637 A1 (Sherman) in view of US 20050074485 A1 (Lipton).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Sherman teaches a dialyzer (Fig. 1)) comprising:
a dialysis unit (80) including a blood channel and a dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1, wherein the blood channel and dialysate channels are considered to extend through the dialysis unit 80);
a dialysate [0031];
a dialysate supply channel (60) configured to supply a dialysate to the dialysate channel;
a dialysate discharge channel configured to discharge the dialysate from the dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1);
a blood supply channel configured to supply blood to the blood channel, and a blood discharge channel configured to discharge the blood from the blood channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1);
wherein the blood channel and the dialysate channel are in contact with each other via a dialysis membrane (90) [0021] the dialysate flowing through the dialysate channel contains nitrite ions.
Sherman fails to teach a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM or a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate is 40 to 120 µM.
Lipton teaches a dialysis system wherein the concentration of nitrite ions is between 40 and 120 µM (Fig. 3) [0093].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the concentration of nitrite ions in the dialysate of Sherman with the ranges taught by Lipton as Sherman teaches a desire to prevent a plurality of conditions by controlling nitrite levels [0012].
Sherman Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 3, Sherman teaches the dialyzer according to Claim 1.
Sherman further teaches the dialysis unit or the dialysate supply channel includes a material that releases the nitric oxide and/or the nitrite ions, namely sodium nitrite [0012, 0013, 0132].
Regarding claims 11-13, Sherman teaches a dialyzer comprising:
a dialysis unit (80) including a blood channel and a dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1, wherein the blood channel and dialysate channels are considered to extend through the dialysis unit 80);
a dialysate supply channel (60) configured to supply a dialysate to the dialysate channel;
a dialysate discharge channel configured to discharge the dialysate from the dialysate channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1);
a blood supply channel configured to supply blood to the blood channel, and a blood discharge channel configured to discharge the blood from the blood channel (Sherman Annotated Fig. 1); and
means for controlling the concentration of nitrite [0103], and a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate channel
wherein the means for controlling the concentration includes a material (the carrier solution described in [0102] or [0103]) that releases nitric oxide and/or nitrite ions into the dialysate; and
wherein the means for controlling a concentration includes a flow meter configured to meter the nitric oxide into the dialysate (as would necessarily be required to deliver the flow rates as described in [0103]).
Sherman fails to teach a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM or a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate is 40 to 120 µM.
Lipton teaches a dialysis system wherein the concentration of nitrite ions is between 40 and 120 µM (Fig. 3) [0093].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the concentration of nitrite ions in the dialysate of Sherman with the ranges taught by Lipton as Sherman teaches a desire to prevent a plurality of conditions by controlling nitrite levels [0012].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Lipton and further in view of US 20060068031 A1 (Miller et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Sherman teaches the dialyzer according to Claim 1.
Sherman fails to teach a nitric oxide gas supply source, a flow meter connected to the nitric oxide gas supply source, and a nitric oxide gas supply path for supplying the nitric oxide gas to the dialysate.
Miller teaches a blood treatment system (Fig. 9) comprising a nitric oxide gas supply source (7), a flow meter (8) connected to the nitric oxide gas supply source, and a nitric oxide gas supply path for supplying the nitric oxide gas to the blood of the patient (9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dialysate nitric oxide control system of Sherman in view of Miller with the nitric oxide gas supply and metering of Miller as it would be obvious to try when considering known methods to maintain nitric oxide at acceptable levels for treatment [Miller 0068] with a reasonable expectation of providing nitric oxide to the dialysate MPEP 2143 I.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Lipton and further in view of US 6911427 B1 (Stamler).
Regarding claim 5, Sherman teaches a concentration of the nitrite ions in the dialysate is 40 to 120 µM as described in claim 1, but fails to teach the dialysate contains nitric oxide and nitrite ions, and a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM.
Stamler teaches a formulation for use in a dialysate (Col. 19, ll. 9-13) wherein a concentration of the nitric oxide in the dialysate is 0.5 to 10 µM through teaching a range where the concentration of nitric oxide added was 5 µM (Col. 44, ll. 13-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dialysate of Sherman with nitric oxide at the concentration taught by Stamler to control the interactions between nitric oxide and the patient’s blood and thereby preventing detrimental side effects (Col. 2, ll. 11-23).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANS KALIHER/ Examiner, Art Unit
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781