DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-23 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claims 1, 10, 17, and 21 are amended
- claims 8 and 18-20 are canceled
b. This is a second non final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 08/27/2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 1-6, 9-10, 12-15, 17, and 21-23 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2), Applicant's arguments, see “However, Jeong docs not disclose SOR information that is provided per network slice, where the SOR information for each network slice indicates "at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to that network slice." Further, Jeong does not disclose that, when the UE prefers the first network slice, the SOR information corresponding specifically to that first network slice is considered in the PLMN selection.” on pages 11-12, filed on 08/27/2026, with respect to Jeong et al. US Pub 2023/0043081, claiming foreign application priority 2020-01-03 (hereinafter “Jeong”), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Velev US Pub 2019/0261185 (hereinafter “Velev”), in combination with previously applied Jeong’s reference. See section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 below for complete details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 12-15, 17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 104 as being unpatentable Jeong et al. US Pub 2023/0043081, claiming foreign application priority 2020-01-03 (hereinafter “Jeong”), and in view of Velev US Pub 2019/0261185 (hereinafter “Velev”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Jeong discloses a network node (“network entity 200” in Fig. 2; [0060] or “AMF 520” [0097]) in a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (“method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators” [0002]), comprising:
at least one memory (“storage unit 220” in Fig. 2; [0061]); and
at least one processor (“control unit 230” in Fig. 2; [0061]) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
obtain Steering of Roaming (SOR) information (“the information for performing the PLMN selection may be information received and stored in advance from the network through various embodiments of the present invention. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the information for performing the PLMN selection may be a container or a SoR container which contains a priority list of PLMN IDs or a PLMN ID list including roaming support slice information.” [0129]) including a list (“the information delivered through the transparent container may be delivered using the SoR container rather than a separate container for the slice roaming. If the SoR container needs to include an access technology ID list for each PLMN ID, two information (i.e., the access technology ID list per PLMN ID and the slice ID list with the roaming agreed per PLMN ID) may be included in separate SoR containers, or may be included in one SoR container.” [0104]) identifying at least one Visited PLMN (VPLMN) (“An AMF 420 and a UDM 430 of FIG. 4 may be NFs of the HPLMN or NFs of the VPLMN.” [0078]) that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to a first network slice of the first PLMN (“perform a registration procedure for a first PLMN, receive a DL NAS transport message including slice roaming information from an AMF of the first PLMN, transmit a UL NAS transport message to the AMF, and perform a PLMN selection procedure using the slice roaming information.” [0010]); and
send the SOR information from the first PLMN (“the terminal may select the HPLMN first of all” [0073]) to a User Equipment (UE) (“In step 507, the terminal 510 stores the slice roaming or the SoR container received from the AMF 520” [0097]) via a second PLMN (“select the PLMN of the highest priority among the discovered candidate PLMNs” [0073]), so as to cause the UE to prioritize the at least one VPLMN in PLMN selection (“In step 303, the terminal selects at least one PLMN from among the candidate PLMNs. In addition, the terminal selects a PLMN ID of at least one selected PLMN. At this time, the terminal may select the HPLMN first of all, first select a registered PLMN (RPLMN), or select the PLMN of the highest priority among the discovered candidate PLMNs using the aforementioned PLMN selection information (in general, a priority list per PLMN ID).” [0073]), wherein
the first PLMN is a Home PLMN (HPLMN) of the UE (“the terminal may select the HPLMN first of all” [0073]),
the second PLMN is a PLMN different from the first PLMN (“select the PLMN of the highest priority among the discovered candidate PLMNs” [0073]),
Yeong does not specifically teach the at least one processor is configured to send the SOR information, per network slice, indicating at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to that network slice, and the SOR information corresponding to the first network slice is considered in the PLMN selection by the UE when the UE prefers the first network slice.
In an analogous art, Velev discloses the at least one processor is configured to send the SOR information, per network slice, indicating at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to that network slice (Velev discloses a HPLMN UDM transmitting a list of PLMN IDs with equivalent NSSAIs, see [0088]-[0092], [0101]-[0106], Fig. 5), and the SOR information corresponding to the first network slice is considered in the PLMN selection by the UE when the UE prefers the first network slice (Velev discloses that the UE prefers Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) selection that prioritizes network slice availability “For example, the UE 402 may include a ‘Configured NSSAI availability’ indication); and/or 3) and/or based on an explicit indication from a UDM/UDR, see [0083-0084]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system, to include Velev’s method for configuring selection assistance information, in order to efficiently select an appropriate network slice (Velev [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Velev’s method for configuring selection assistance information into Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the network node according to claim 1,
Jeong further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to send the SOR information (i.e. “SoR container”) to the UE based on the at least one processor receiving an identifier of the first network slice (“a header of an information element (IE) containing the SoR or the slice roaming information may include information indicating the type of the current container (i.e., whether the current container is the SoR, the slice roaming, the ACK, etc.), and information indicating the type of the list included in the actual container, that is, a secured packet, the PLMN ID and the access technology ID, the PLMN ID and the slice roaming support indicator, the PLMN ID and the slice identifier supporting the roaming, or whether the PLMN ID, the access technology ID, and the slice roaming information are included.” [0107]) from the UE (i.e. “terminal”) via the second PLMN during a registration procedure of the UE to the second PLMN and the second PLMN not providing the equivalent network slice (“In step 305, the terminal performs the registration process with the selected PLMN (i.e. second PLMN). In addition, if there is the selected slice information, the terminal includes and transmits it in requested NSSAI of a registration request message.” [0075]).
Regarding claim 3
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses The network node according to claim 2,
Jeong further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether to send the SOR information to the UE based on priority information of the first network slice included in subscriber data of the UE (“the information for performing the PLMN selection may be a container or a SoR container which contains a priority list of PLMN IDs or a PLMN ID list including roaming support slice information.” [0129]).
Regarding claim 4
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the network node according to claim 3,
Jeon further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to send the SOR information (i.e. “SoR container”) to the UE (i.e. “terminal”) based on the at least one processor receiving an identifier of at least one other network slice of the first PLMN (“a header of an information element (IE) containing the SoR or the slice roaming information may include information indicating the type of the current container (i.e., whether the current container is the SoR, the slice roaming, the ACK, etc.), and information indicating the type of the list included in the actual container, that is, a secured packet, the PLMN ID and the access technology ID, the PLMN ID and the slice roaming support indicator, the PLMN ID and the slice identifier supporting the roaming, or whether the PLMN ID, the access technology ID, and the slice roaming information are included.” [0107]) in addition to the first network slice from the UE via the second PLMN in the registration procedure of the UE to the second PLMN (“In step 305, the terminal performs the registration process with the selected PLMN (i.e. second PLMN). In addition, if there is the selected slice information, the terminal includes and transmits it in requested NSSAI of a registration request message.” [0075]), the subscriber data (i.e. “preferred scheme”) indicating that the first network slice is prioritized over all of the other at least one network slice, and the second PLMN not providing the equivalent network slice (“In step 603, the UDM 630 determines to forward information for setting or changing a PLMN selection mode of the terminal 610, by considering subscription information of the terminal (subscriber) 610, the PLMN currently accessed by the terminal 610, and operator settings. The PLMN selection mode is information which notifies a preferred scheme among the existing PLMN selection operating regardless of the slice roaming, or the PLMN selection scheme considering whether the slice roaming is performed. If the information of the PLMN selection mode is absent, the existing PLMN selection is applied. According to an embodiment, the UDM 630 checks a preference of an operator (a PLMN operator) for the slice selection mode and subscription data of the terminal.” [0114]).
Regarding claim 5
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the network node according to claim 2,
Jeong further discloses wherein the identifier of the first network slice of the first PLMN is sent to the second PLMN in the registration procedure (“Referring to [Table 1], the container may be expressed as a list of one or more slice IDs (S-NSSAI or slice ID of other type) for supporting the roaming per PLMN ID.” [0102] and furthermore “the slice identifier supporting the roaming” [0107]).
Regarding claim 6
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the network node according to claim 1,
Jeong further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to send the SOR information to the UE based on the at least one processor receiving from the UE, via the second PLMN, an indication indicating that the UE prefers PLMN selection that prioritizes network slice availability (“In step 502, the UDM 530 includes and generates information for supporting the slice roaming in the slice roaming container. The corresponding slice roaming container may include a list of PLMN IDs to be accessed by the terminal 510 and a list of slice IDs (S-NSSAI) roaming-agreed in each PLMN ID. The list of the PLMN IDs to be accessed by the terminal 510 may be contained in the slice roaming container based on the priority.” [0091]).
Regarding claim 9
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the network node according to claim 1,
Jeong further discloses wherein the network node includes at least one of a Unified data management (UDM) (“A unified data management (UDM) 155 may be a network entity which stores information of a subscriber and/or the UE 120.” [0039]) and Steering of Roaming Application Function (SOR-AF) of the first PLMN (“The slice roaming information may be configured as separate information or may be included in steering of roaming (SoR).” [0080]).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended)
Jeong discloses a User Equipment (UE) (“user equipment (UE) 120” in Fig. 1; [0029] or “terminal” [0010]) comprising:
at least one memory (“The information for the PLMN selection may be pre-stored in the terminal, received from a home PLMN (HPLMN)” [0071] implying that the terminal has a storage/memory unit); and
at least one processor (“at least one processor” [0010]) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
receive Steering of Roaming (SOR) information (“the information for performing the PLMN selection may be information received and stored in advance from the network through various embodiments of the present invention. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the information for performing the PLMN selection may be a container or a SoR container which contains a priority list of PLMN IDs or a PLMN ID list including roaming support slice information.” [0129]), sent from a first PLMN as a Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) (“the terminal may select the HPLMN first of all” [0073]) via a second PLMN different from the first PLMN (“select the PLMN of the highest priority among the discovered candidate PLMNs” [0073]), the SOR information including a list (“the information delivered through the transparent container may be delivered using the SoR container rather than a separate container for the slice roaming. If the SoR container needs to include an access technology ID list for each PLMN ID, two information (i.e., the access technology ID list per PLMN ID and the slice ID list with the roaming agreed per PLMN ID) may be included in separate SoR containers, or may be included in one SoR container.” [0104]) identifying at least one Visited PLMN (VPLMN) (“An AMF 420 and a UDM 430 of FIG. 4 may be NFs of the HPLMN or NFs of the VPLMN.” [0078]) that is capable of providing a first network slice, wherein the SOR information enables the UE (“In step 507, the terminal 510 stores the slice roaming or the SoR container received from the AMF 520” [0097]) to prioritize selection of a certain VPLMN among the at least one VPLMN (“In step 303, the terminal selects at least one PLMN from among the candidate PLMNs. In addition, the terminal selects a PLMN ID of at least one selected PLMN. At this time, the terminal may select the HPLMN first of all, first select a registered PLMN (RPLMN), or select the PLMN of the highest priority among the discovered candidate PLMNs using the aforementioned PLMN selection information (in general, a priority list per PLMN ID).” [0073]); and
register to a VPLMN for the first network slice among the at least one VPLMN, based on the SOR information (“Referring to FIG. 4. in step 401, a terminal 410 performs a registration procedure. The terminal 410 transmits a registration request message to the AMF 420. The PLMN for the registration may be at least one of the HPLMN or the VPLMN.” [0079]).
Yeong does not specifically teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the SOR information, per network slice, indicating at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to that network slice, and the SOR information corresponding to the first network slice is considered in the PLMN selection by the UE when the UE prefers the first network slice.
In an analogous art, Velev discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the SOR information, per network slice, indicating at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to that network slice (Velev discloses a HPLMN UDM transmitting a list of PLMN IDs with equivalent NSSAIs, see [0088]-[0092], [0101]-[0106], Fig. 5), and the SOR information corresponding to the first network slice is considered in the PLMN selection by the UE when the UE prefers the first network slice (Velev discloses that the UE prefers Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) selection that prioritizes network slice availability “For example, the UE 402 may include a ‘Configured NSSAI availability’ indication); and/or 3) and/or based on an explicit indication from a UDM/UDR, see [0083-0084]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system, to include Velev’s method for configuring selection assistance information, in order to efficiently select an appropriate network slice (Velev [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Velev’s method for configuring selection assistance information into Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12
The UE according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is configured to send an indication indicating that the UE prefers PLMN selection that prioritizes network slice availability, in a registration procedure of the UE to a to the second PLMN.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 12 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 6. Therefore apparatus claim 12 corresponds to apparatus claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 13
The UE according to claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to send an identifier of the first network slice of a first PLMN to the second PLMN in the registration procedure.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 13 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 5. Therefore apparatus claim 13 corresponds to apparatus claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended)
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the UE according to claim 13,
Jeon further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to, in response to sending the indication and the identifier of the first network slice (i.e. “slice ID list”), receive from a network node of the first PLMN, via the second PLMN, SOR information indicating at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing a network slice equivalent to the first network slice (“In [Table 1] or [Table 2], the information delivered through the transparent container may be delivered using the SoR container rather than a separate container for the slice roaming. If the SoR container needs to include an access technology ID list for each PLMN ID, two information (i.e., the access technology ID list per PLMN ID and the slice ID list with the roaming agreed per PLMN ID) may be included in separate SoR containers, or may be included in one SoR container.” [0104]).
Regarding claim 15
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the UE according to claim 14,
Jeon further discloses wherein the SOR information indicating the at least one VPLMN is sent by the network node when the second PLMN does not provide the equivalent network slice (“In step 502, the PLMN ID to be included by the UDM 530 in the list may be selected using information pre-received from the AMF 520 which serves the terminal 510 (a country code included in the serving PLMN ID or the PLMN ID of the AMF 520, or location information stored of the terminal 510), or preset information. For example, using the country code of the serving PLMN ID received from the AMF 520, the slice roaming information may be generated based on the PLMN ID accessible in the country where the terminal 410 is currently located, or a PLMN ID of a neighboring country. Alternatively, the UDM 430 may generate the slice roaming information based on the roaming service information requested by the subscriber 510 (if the roaming service is requested in advance), the PLMN ID accessible by the subscriber 510 in a country to travel, and the PLMN ID of the neighboring country.” [0092]).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended)
A method performed by a network node associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), the method comprising:
obtaining Steering of Roaming (SOR) information including a list identifying at least one Visited PLMN (VPLMN) that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to a first network slice of the first PLMN; and
sending the SOR information from the first PLMN to a User Equipment (UE) via a second PLMN, SO as to cause the UE to prioritize the at least one VPLMN in PLMN selection,
wherein
the first PLMN is a Home PLMN (HPLMN) of the UE,
the second PLMN is a PLMN different from the first PLMN,
the sending comprises sending the SOR information, per network slice, indicating at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to that network slice, and
the SOR information corresponding to the first network slice is considered in the PLMN selection by the UE when the UE prefers the first network slice.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 17 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 17 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended)
A method of a User Equipment (UE) comprising:
receiving Steering of Roaming (SOR) information, sent from a first PLMN as a Home PLMN (HPLMN) via a second PLMN different from the first PLMN, the SOR information including a list identifying at least one Visited PLMN (VPLMN) that is capable of providing a first network slice, wherein the SOR information enables the UE to prioritize selection of a certain VPLMN among the at least one VPLMN; and
registering to a VPLMN for the first network slice among the at least one VPLMN, based on the SOR information, wherein
the receiving comprises receiving the SOR information, per network slice, indicating at least one VPLMN that is capable of providing an equivalent network slice to that network slice, and
the SOR information corresponding to the first network slice is considered in the PLMN selection by the UE when the UE prefers the first network slice.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 21 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 10. Therefore method claim 21 corresponds to apparatus claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 10 rejection above.
Regarding claim 22
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the UE according to claim 10,
Jeon further discloses wherein the first network slice is equivalent to a second network slice of the HPLMN (“An AMF 420 and a UDM 430 of FIG. 4 may be NFs of the HPLMN or NFs of the VPLMN. The PLMN may be at least one of the HPLMN or the VPLMN, and each network entity may be applied according to the PLMN.” [0078]).
Regarding claim 23
The method of the UE according to claim 21, wherein the first network slice is equivalent to a second network slice of the HPLMN.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 23 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 22. Therefore method claim 23 corresponds to apparatus claim 22 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 22 rejection above.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon, in view of Velev, and further in view of Ohlsson et al. US Pub 2021/0195509 (hereinafter “Ohlsson”).
Regarding claim 7
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the network node according to claim 6,
Jeon and Velev do not specifically teach wherein the indication is encrypted by the UE using an encryption key of the first PLMN.
In an analogous art, Ohlsson discloses wherein the indication is encrypted by the UE using an encryption key of the first PLMN (“a NAS registration request including a Network Slice Selection Assistance information, NSSAI, encrypted using Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN, public key. The network node selects a network function based on information provided in the RRC connection request. The network nod forwards to the network function the NAS registration request. The network function decrypts the encrypted NSSAI using a PLMN private key.” [0019]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system, as modified by Velev, to include Ohlsson’s method for handling network slices in a wireless communication network, in order to efficiently provide network slices or functions (Ohlsson [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Ohlsson’s method for handling network slices in a wireless communication network into Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the UE according to claim 10,
Jeon and Velev do not specifically teach to encrypt an indication indicating that the UE prefers PLMN selection that prioritizes network slice availability using an encryption key of a first PLMN.
In an analogous art, Ohlsson discloses (“a NAS registration request including a Network Slice Selection Assistance information, NSSAI, encrypted using Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN, public key. The network node selects a network function based on information provided in the RRC connection request. The network nod forwards to the network function the NAS registration request. The network function decrypts the encrypted NSSAI using a PLMN private key.” [0019]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system, as modified by Velev, to include Ohlsson’s method for handling network slices in a wireless communication network, in order to efficiently provide network slices or functions (Ohlsson [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Ohlsson’s method for handling network slices in a wireless communication network into Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon, in view of Velev, and further in view of Park et al. US Pub 2020/0137675 (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 16
Jeong, as modified by Velev, previously discloses the UE according to claim 10,
Jeon and Velev do not specifically teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to manage an Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology data file per network slice of a first PLMN.
In an analogous art, Park discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to manage an Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology data file per network slice of a first PLMN (“The MS may select and attempt registration for a PLMN/access technology combination (when it is available and permitted) in all the operation bands according to the following order……. iii) A PLMN/access technology combination included in the “operator controlled PLMN selector with access technology” data file (depending on priority) of the SIM except for the PLMN/access technology combination previously selected” [0372]-[0375]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system, as modified by Velev, to include Park’s method for registering a terminal of an access and mobility management function (AMF), in order to efficiently facilitate registration procedure (Park [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Park’s method for registering a terminal of an access and mobility management function (AMF) into Jeon’s method for supporting slice federation between public land mobile network (PLMN) operators in the wireless communication system since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411