DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the Applicants Arguments/Remarks and claim amendments filed 5-29-2026.
Claims 1 and 12 are currently amended, claim 11 is canceled, claims 1 and 7-10 and 12-14 are presently examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(u)(2) because the figure numbers are improperly enclosed in brackets. 37 CFR 1.84(u)(2) expressly requires the drawing view numbers are not associated with brackets.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) because under this rule the drawing numbers must be preceded by abbreviated “FIG.” when more than one drawing view is included in the application. E.g., Figure 1 should be written as FIG. 1, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the first electrode and the second electrode are electronically connected to each other by the user’s touch that surrounds both the first electrode and the second electrode.” (emphasis added for clarity). The originally filed written description and claims do not include or support this limitation which requires the users touch to surround both electrodes.
The specification discloses that the first electrode 31 and the second electrode 32 may be electrically connected through a user’s touch input [24]. More particularly the specification describes a user’s thumb simultaneously touching both electrodes when the electrodes are arranged symmetrically or longitudinally on the main body 10 [140]. The specification also describes an embodiment corresponding to FIG 12 where the users thumb contacts the first electrode 31 and the users index finger contacts the second electrode 32 when the electrodes are arranged on different surfaces of the main body 10. [142].
However, these disclosures describe simultaneous physical contact with the electrodes to establish an electrical connection. Although FIG 12 illustrates the users hand surrounding the body 10 of the device, and the FIG 12 illustrates a users touch is in contract with a surface of both the first and second electrodes, the written description and Figures as originally filed do not describe or otherwise establish a requirement that the user’s touch surrounds both the first electrode 31 and the second electrode 32 as claimed.
The originally filed disclosure therefore provides support for electrically connecting the electrodes by simultaneous user contact but does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventors possessed the additionally claimed surrounding relationship at the time of filing. Accordingly, the newly added limitation constitutes unsupported subject matter and claim 1 fails to satisfy the written description requirement of 35 USC 112(a).
Claims 7-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 USC 112(a) by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord (US20160206000A1) in view of Takeuchi (US20180296779A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lord (US20160206000A1) teaches an aerosol generating device comprising:
a main body (assembled housing comprising the control unit 3 connected to the vaporizer device 2 through threaded connection 4,5, [0025]-[0029]);
a heater (10) accommodated in the main body (assembled housing of device 2) and configured to heat an aerosol generating material (heating coil 10 within the housing, [0027]-[0028]);
a puff detecting sensor (20) accommodated in the main body and configured to detect a user's puff (pressure sensor 20 in the control unit circuitry in the main body [0031] and [0034]);
a controller accommodated in the main body and configured to heat the heater (microcontroller 17 in control unit 3 which is in the assembled housing main body [0030]-[0034], microcontroller 17 controls heating current to the heating coil 10 [0030]); and
a power supply unit (14) comprising a switching element (22) and a battery (14). (See [0029] and [0033], battery 14 and switching transistor 22)
the switching element is disposed in a power path between the battery and the controller and is configured to control electrical connection between the battery and the controller (Lord [0033], switching transistor 22 controlling the electrical supply from battery 14 to microcontroller 17)
Lord further discloses that switching transistor 22 is turned off to interrupt the supply of battery (14) current to microcontroller 17 in a power saving mode ( [0033] and [0039]), and that switching transistor 22 is turned on to supply battery current to the microcontroller 17 in an operational mode [0042].
Lord further discloses a switching transistor 22 that is turned off to interrupt the supply of battery current to microcontroller 17 in a power saving mode [0033], and that switching transistor 22 is turned on to supply battery current to microcontroller 17 in an operational mode [0042].
Lord also discloses a controller configured to control power supplied to the heater based on a sensing result of the puff detecting sensor ([0031]-[0033] and [0042], microcontroller 17 controlling heating coil 10 based on sensing result of pressure sensor 20).
However, Lord fails to expressly disclose a power supply unit comprising a first electrode and a second electrode arranged apart from each other on an outer surface of the main body, the first electrode and the second electrode are operatively connected to control the switching element such that, when the electrodes are not electrically connected to each other, no power is supplied to the controller, and when the electrodes are electrically connected to eachother, power is supplied to the controller as claimed.
Takeuchi (US20180296779A1) is directed to an aerosol generating device in the same field of endeavor and teaches a first electrode 211 and a second electrode 212 arranged apart from each other on an outer surface of a main body 110X. [0070]-[0072]. Takeuchi further teaches electrically connecting the first electrode 211 and the second electrode 212 through a users touch (e.g., users finger) [0104]-[0105]
More particularly Takeuchi teaches that simultaneous finger contact with electrodes 211 and 212 establishes conduction between the electrodes [0104] permitting detector 52 to detect the resulting current and control circuit 50 to perform predetermined operations [0105]. Takeuchi further teaches that the predetermined operations may include switching between a power saving sleep mode and a ready mode permitting atomization [0112].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lord’s electronic smoking device to incorporate the exterior finger contact electrode arrangement taught by Takeuchi as an alternative user activation mechanism for controlling Lord’s switching transistor 22.
Specifically, this modification would provide Lord’s control unit 3 with spaced exterior electrodes corresponding to Takeuchi’s electrodes 211 and 212, and configure their electrical conduction to actuate transistor 22, such that transistor 22 connects battery 14 to microcontroller 17 when the electrodes are electrically connected through the users touch and interrupts the supply of battery power to microcontroller 17 when the electrodes are disconnected.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a known touch responsive mechanism for activating and deactivating an electronic smoking device as taught by Takeuchi (Takeuchi [0104]-[0105]) while retaining Lord’s transistor controlled power arrangement for minimizing battery consumption, e.g., power saving mode (Lord [0033]).
The proposed modification would substitute the finger-contact activation mechanism taught by Takeuchi for Lord’s magnetic activation mechanism while retaining Lord’s existing electrical power path 14 switching transistor 22 and microcontroller 17. Thus, in this proposed modified Lord’s device, when the first electrode and the second electrode are not electrically connected to each other no power is supplied to the controller and when the first electrode and the second electrode are electrically connected to each other, power is supplied to the controller as claimed.
Regarding wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are electrically connected to each other by the user’s touch that surrounds both the first and second electrode, the recitation that the users touch surrounds both electrodes describes the intended use of the device and not the structure required by the device, and therefore does not require additional apparatus structure beyond the recited arrangement and electrical contact capability, it does not patentably distinguish an otherwise capable apparatus. The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. The apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See MPEP § 2114(II).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Lord teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Takeuchi teaches the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged on one side surface of the main body. (see [0075], the electrodes 211 and 212 are provided facing the same direction in the first case 110X).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Lord teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Takeuchi teaches the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged symmetrically with respect to a central longitudinal line of the main body. (see FIG 1, 211 is arranged symmetrically with respect to a central longitudinal line of the main body and 212 is also arranged symmetrically with respect to a central longitudinal line of the main body, e.g., 212 is arranged on the central axial line of the main body, e.g., they each exhibit individual axial symmetry as shown in Takeuchi FIG 1, which meets the structural language required by claim 8).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Lord teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Takeuchi teaches the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged apart from each other along a central longitudinal line of the main body. (see FIG 1).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Lord teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Takeuchi teaches the first electrode is arranged on one side surface of the main body, and the second electrode is arranged on the other side surface of the main body, For example, Takeuchi teaches the electrodes can be provided at any position of the first case 110X [0070] and specifically teaches the first electrode 211 and the second electrode 212 have exposed portions facing different exterior surfaces of the first case 110X. [0074], the different exterior surfaces being one side and the other side, respectively.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord (US20160206000A1) and Takeuchi (US20180296779A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US20170143043A1).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Lord teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lord and Takeuchi fails to explicitly disclose the power supply unit comprises a resistive element configured to cut off overvoltage of the battery.
Liu (US20170143043A1) teaches an electronic cigarette in the same field of endeavor and teaches the electronic cigarette device includes a battery voltage sensing circuit [0070] and teaches discontinuing power to the atomizer when battery voltage exceeds a predetermined threshold in order to protect the atomizer from damage [0070].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the power supply circuitry of Lord as modified by Takeuchi to incorporate Liu’s resistive battery voltage detection and overvoltage protection arrangement to enable the controller of modified Lord to detect possible overvoltage and to protect the atomizer of Lord from damage therefrom (Liu [0070]-[0071]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord (US20160206000A1),Takeuchi (US20180296779A1), and Liu (US20170143043A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Xiang (US20140285937A1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Lord teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Lord teaches the switching element is a switching transistor 22 [0033], however Lord is silent to suitable specific types of transistors and therefore fails to explicitly disclose the switching element comprises an NPN transistor.
Xiang US20140285937A1) teaches smoking devices in the same field of endeavor and teaches suitable switching transistors suitable for providing over voltage protection in electronic cigarette devices [0049] includes a NPN transistor [0064] in an electronic cigarette power control circuit, which suitably allows the powering path between the power supply and the electronic cigarette to be cutoff to protect the device
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transistor of modified Lord to be an NPN transistor as taught by Xiang because both Lord and Xiang are directed to electronic smoking devices comprising switching transistors, Lord is silent in regards to transistor types suitable for use and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to a similar reference to find suitable types of transistors for use for a device in the same field of endeavor. Xiang teaches known types of switching transistors for use for over-voltage/current protection for a device in the same field of endeavor and this merely involves applying suitable characteristics to a similar product with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, provided 35 USC 112 rejections are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Lord (US20160206000A1) teaches an electronic smoking device comprising a battery 14, a microcontroller 17 and a switching transistor 22 configured to selectively control electronical power supplied from battery 14 to controller 17 [0033]. Lord further teaches switching transistor being turned off to reduce battery consumption and being turned on to restore electrical power to microcontroller 17 [0039] and [0042].
However, Lord fails to disclose the first electrode is connected to a positive terminal of the battery, the second electrode is connected to a base terminal of the NPN transistor, an emitter terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the controller, a collector terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the resistive element, and the resistive element is connected to a negative terminal of the battery.
Takeuchi (US20180296779A1) teaches first and second electrodes 211 and 212 arranged apart from each other on an exterior surface of an electronic smoking device [0070]-[0072, and that the two electrodes are connected via simultaneous contact with the users finger(s) thereby producing a detectable electrical conduction signal [0104]-[0105].
However Takeuchi fails to disclose the first electrode is connected to a positive terminal of the battery, the second electrode is connected to a base terminal of the NPN transistor, an emitter terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the controller, a collector terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the resistive element, and the resistive element is connected to a negative terminal of the battery.
Liu (US20170143043A1) teaches an electronic cigarette having a battery voltage detection arrangement comprising resistive elements 31 and 32 wherein microcontroller 102 detects battery output voltage through the resistive arrangement and controls triode 1 and FET 2 to interrupt power supplied to the atomizer when the battery voltage exceeds a predetermined threshold [0075]-[0079].
However, Liu fails to disclose the first electrode is connected to a positive terminal of the battery, the second electrode is connected to a base terminal of the NPN transistor, an emitter terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the controller, a collector terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the resistive element, and the resistive element is connected to a negative terminal of the battery.
Xiang ‘117 (US20150043117A1) teaches a charger for an electronic cigarette device in the same field of endeavor that includes overvoltage and over current protection (see abstract) and teaches a voltage regulating transistor Q1 having its emitter connected to the VDD supply terminal of the microprocessor U1, its collector connected to the positive supply from USB interface J1, and resistor R8 connected between its base and collector [0068]-[0071].
Xiang also discloses a separate NPN transistor Q2 used in charging power switching in circuitry [0057]-[0058], see also FIG 3-4.
However, Xiang fails to disclose the combination of the claimed electrical connections involving the same NPN transistor. There is no motivation to modify the electrical connections of the first NPN transistor to share or change or otherwise modify the connections of the separate Q2 transistor.
Although Xiang teaches an emitter to microprocessor connection of its transistor, its transistor Q1 has its collector connected to the positive supply rather than connected to a resistive element having its opposite terminal connected to battery negative. [0068]-[0071].
The prior art teaches various individual electrical connections but fails to teach or suggest the combination including the limitations of the preceding claims and also requiring the combination of: the first electrode is connected to a positive terminal of the battery, the second electrode is connected to a base terminal of the NPN transistor, an emitter terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the controller, a collector terminal of the NPN transistor is connected to the resistive element, and the resistive element is connected to a negative terminal of the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Remarks and Claim amendments, filed 5-29-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 7-10 and 12-14 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lord in view of Takeuchi as set forth above. The arguments made are moot in view of the new rejection.
Conclusion
/M.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755