DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourne et al. (USPGPub 2015/0157501).
Re Claim 1, Bourne teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device 7. (600) (Bourne Fig. 6) comprising: a housing (615), a horn (616) placed inside the housing (615), an inner needle tube (610) having an inner wall and an outer wall (as seen in Bourne Fig. 6), and an outer needle sleeve (615-1) extending from a distal end of the housing (615) (Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 below), wherein the inner needle tube (610) extends through a bore of the outer needle sleeve (615-1) (as seen in Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 below), wherein an interior bore (621) of the inner needle tube (610) is part of an aspiration line (Bourne ¶ 0049), wherein a gap (617-1) between an inner wall of the outer needle sleeve (615-1) and the outer wall of the inner needle tube (610) is part of an irrigation line (Bourne ¶ 0047; Annotated Fig. 6), and wherein the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line relative to the housing (615) (Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 below - wherein fluid exiting irrigation line can be aspirated through aspiration line).
Re Claim 2, Bourne teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bourne teaches wherein the irrigation line includes an irrigation connector (614) and an irrigation tube (130) arranged on the housing (615) (Bourne Figs. 2 and 6; ¶ 0028, 0047), and wherein the irrigation tube (130) is configured as a tube attached to the housing or a channel placed in the housing (Bourne Figs. 2 and 6; ¶ 0028, 0047).
Re Claim 3, Bourne teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bourne teaches wherein the outer needle sleeve (615-1) comprises a closed flat distal end surface (610-2) located at a distal end (as seen in Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 above), and wherein an irrigation side port (618) and an aspiration side port (619-1) of the outer needle sleeve (615-1) are located on opposite ends of the outer needle sleeve (615-1) (as seen in Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 above).
Re Claim 5, Bourne teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bourne teaches wherein a proximal end of the inner needle tube (610) is provided with a connecting body (625), and
wherein the inner needle tube (610) is fixed to the horn (616) by the connecting body (625) (as
seen in Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (USPGPub 2018/0256396) in view of Bourne et al. (USPGPub 2015/0157501) above, and further in view of Banko (USPGPub 2014/0276369). It is noted here that Yan et al. has a Chinese
publication dated 02/10/2016 that comprises the same disclosure as USPGPub 2018/0256369.
For ease of communication, examiner will rely on the USPGPub.
Re Claim 1, Yan teaches an ophthalmic device (Yan Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a horn (201), an inner needle tube (60) having an inner wall and an outer wall (Yan Fig. 3; ¶ 0034), and an outer needle sleeve (70) (Yan ¶ 0031), wherein the inner needle tube (60) extends through a bore of the outer needle sleeve (70) (as seen in Yan Fig. 3), wherein an interior bore of the inner needle tube (60) is part of an aspiration line (Yan ¶ 0033), and a gap between an inner wall of the outer needle sleeve (70) and the outer wall of the inner needle tube (60) (as seen in a distal end near the side port 71 of Yan Fig. 3). However, Yan fails to teach wherein the gap between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve and the outer wall of the inner needle tube is part of an irrigation line, and wherein the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line relative to the housing.
Bourne teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device (600) (Bourne Fig. 6) comprising an inner needle tube (610) and an outer needle sleeve (615), wherein a gap (617-1) between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve (615) and the outer wall of the inner needle tube (610) is part of an irrigation line (Bourne ¶ 0047), and wherein the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line relative to the housing (615) (Bourne ¶ 0046-0048; Annotated Fig. 6 above - wherein fluid exiting irrigation line can be aspirated through aspiration line), wherein the irrigating fluid aids in aspirating emulsified tissue away from the anterior capsule of the eye and also aids in maintaining a constant pressure within the anterior capsule of the eye. It is also well-known in the art of phacoemulsification that irrigating fluid will prevent the vibrating needle from overheating during a phacoemulsification procedure (Bourne ¶ 0001-0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the inner needle tube and the outer needle sleeve of Yan wherein the gap between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve and the outer wall of the inner needle tube is part of an irrigation line, and wherein the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line relative to the housing, as disclosed by Bourne, wherein the irrigating fluid aids in aspirating emulsified tissue away from the anterior capsule of the eye and also aids in maintaining a constant pressure within the anterior capsule of the eye. It is also well-known in the art of phacoemulsification that irrigating fluid will prevent the vibrating needle from overheating during a phacoemulsification procedure (Bourne ¶ 0001-0006).
Yan also fails to teach a housing, the horn placed inside the housing, the outer needle sleeve extending from a distal end of the housing. Banko teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device (as seen in Banko Fig. 1) comprising a housing (108), a horn (104), and a working tip (130) comprised of an aspiration line (132) and an irrigation line (134), wherein the horn (104) is placed inside the housing (104) and the working tip (130) extends from a distal end of the housing (104), the housing for protecting the horn and for receiving irrigation fluid from an irrigation connector and for expelling aspiration fluid through an aspiration connector (Banko ¶ 0042-0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the ophthalmic device of Yan in view of Bourne include a housing, wherein the horn is placed inside the housing and the outer needle sleeve extends from a distal end of the housing, just such an embodiment as disclosed by Banko for protecting the horn and for receiving irrigation fluid from an irrigation connector and for expelling aspiration fluid through an aspiration connector (Banko ¶ 0042-0043).
Re Claim 2, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Yan fails to teach wherein the irrigation line includes an irrigation connector and an irrigation tube arranged on the housing, and wherein the irrigation tube is configured as a tube attached to the housing or a channel placed in the housing. Bourne teaches wherein the irrigation line includes an irrigation connector (614) and an irrigation tube (130) arranged on the housing (615) (Bourne Figs. 2 and 6; ¶ 0028, 0047), and wherein the irrigation tube (130) is configured as a tube attached to the housing and a channel placed in the housing, the configuration for connecting and disconnecting the ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device from an irrigation source (Bourne Figs. 2 and 6; ¶ 0028, 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the irrigation line of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko to include an irrigation connector and an irrigation tube arranged on the housing, and wherein the irrigation tube is configured as a tube attached to the housing or a channel placed in the housing as disclosed by Bourne, the configuration for connecting and disconnecting the ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device from an irrigation source (Bourne Figs. 2 and 6; ¶ 0028, 0047).
Re Claim 3, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Yan teaches wherein the outer needle sleeve (70) comprises a closed flat distal end surface (72) (Yan Figs. 2 and 3; ¶ 0028 - wherein the figures show a flat surface and Yan encourages non-sharp smooth surfaces), wherein an aspiration side port (71) of the outer needle sleeve (70) is located near an end of the outer needle sleeve (70) (Yan Fig. 3; ¶ 0027). However, Yan fails to teach wherein an irrigation side port is located near an end of the outer needle sleeve. Bourne teaches an irrigation side port (618) and an aspiration side port (619), both the irrigation side port (618) and the aspiration side port (619-1) located near an end of the outer needle sleeve (615), and wherein the irrigation side port (618) is located near a proximal end, while the aspiration side port (619-1) is located near a distal end (Bourne Annotated Fig. 6), where the outer needle sleeve (615) is configured to be inserted through an incision in the outer edge of the cornea during a phacoemulsification procedure and provide vacuum and irrigation fluid from the irrigation side port at a distal end of the outer needle sleeve to the interior of the cornea while the lens of the eye is emulsified (Bourne ¶ 0003-0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the irrigation line of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko comprise an irrigation side port located near an end of the outer needle sleeve, and wherein the irrigation side port is located near a proximal end, while the aspiration side port is located near a distal end as disclosed by Bourne where the outer needle sleeve is configured to be inserted through an incision in the outer edge of the cornea during a phacoemulsification procedure and provide vacuum and irrigation fluid from the irrigation side port at a distal end of the outer needle sleeve to the interior of the cornea while the lens of the eye is emulsified (Bourne ¶ 0003-0004). Furthermore, it is noted here that the modified Claim 1 device of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko would comprise the irrigation side port located near an end of the outer needle sleeve.
Re Claim 4, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 3. Yan teaches wherein a distal end surface of the inner needle tube (60) and an inner wall of the closed flat distal end surface (72) of the outer needle sleeve (70) are separated by a space (71-1) (as seen below in Yan Annotated Fig. 3), and wherein the space is in fluid communication with the aspiration side port (71) (as seen in Yan Fig. 3).
Re Claim 5, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Yan teaches wherein a proximal end of the inner needle tube (60) is provided with a connecting body (50), and wherein the inner needle tube (60) is fixed to the horn (201) by the connecting body (50) (Yan Fig. 1; ¶ 0033).
Re Claim 6, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 5. Yan further teaches wherein the connecting body (50) comprises a cone-shaped proximal segment (53) with a split (54), a middle segment (52) with an external thread structure (Yan ¶ 0032), and a distal segment (51) for applying a locking force (Yan ¶ 0031); wherein an outer diameter of the middle segment (52) is greater than a maximum outer diameter of the cone-shaped proximal segment (53) (as seen in Yan Figs. 2 and 4), and wherein the horn (201) has an internal thread that matches the external thread on the middle segment (52) (Yan ¶ 0032); wherein an interior of the connecting body (50) comprises a center bore (55), wherein the central bore (55) comprises a first diameter area (diameter area of counter bore 8 as seen in Yan Fig. 4) and a second diameter area (diameter area of center bore 8 as seen in Yan Fig. 4), the first diameter area being larger than the second diameter area; wherein the second diameter area is located in an interior of a cone-shaped proximal segment (53) and of the middle segment (52) (as seen in Yan Fig. 2), and has a diameter that is similar to an outer diameter of the inner needle tube (60) (as seen in Yan Fig. 4); and wherein the first diameter area is located in an interior of the distal segment (51) and has a diameter that is greater than an outer diameter of the outer needle sleeve (70) (as seen in Yan Fig. 4).
Re Claim 7, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 6. Yan teaches wherein the first diameter area has a step surface, and a proximal end of the outer needle sleeve (70) is inserted against the step surface (Yan Fig. 4; ¶ 0031).
Re Claim 8, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Yan fails to teach wherein an irrigation soft shoulder sleeve is attached at the distal end of the housing, wherein at a distal end of the soft shoulder sleeve is a needle sleeve holding hole, and wherein an internal diameter of the needle sleeve holding hole under natural condition is less than an outer diameter of the outer needle sleeve. Bourne teaches an irrigation soft shoulder sleeve (proximal end of irrigation sleeve 615 with threading) made using silicon or nitrile rubber (Bourne ¶ 0080), the sleeve being soft to prevent damage to the eye during an ophthalmic procedure. Banko teaches an irrigation shoulder sleeve (154) attached at the distal end of the housing (108) (as seen in Banko Fig. 1), wherein at a distal end of the shoulder sleeve (154) is a needle sleeve holding hole, and wherein an internal diameter of the needle sleeve holding hole under natural condition is less than an outer diameter of the working tip (130) for forming a fluid tight seal at the distal end of the housing (108) (Banko ¶ 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at the distal end of the housing of the Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device an irrigation soft shoulder sleeve is attached at the distal end of the housing, wherein at a distal end of the soft shoulder sleeve is a needle sleeve holding hole, and wherein an internal diameter of the needle sleeve holding hole under natural condition is less than an outer diameter of the outer needle sleeve as disclosed by Bourne and Banko, the sleeve being soft to prevent damage to the eye during an ophthalmic procedure (Banko ¶ 0080) and attached at the distal end of the housing, wherein at a distal end of the soft shoulder sleeve is a needle sleeve holding hole, and wherein an internal diameter of the needle sleeve holding hole under natural condition is less than an outer diameter of the outer needle sleeve for forming a fluid tight seal at the distal end of the housing (108) (Banko ¶ 0043).
Re Claim 9, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 8. Yan fails to teach a threaded connection between the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve and the housing. Banko teaches a threaded connection between the irrigation shoulder sleeve (154) and the housing (108) for forming a fluid tight seal at the distal end of the housing (108) (Banko ¶ 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further than Banko comprise a threaded connection to the housing as disclosed by Banko for forming a fluid tight seal at the distal end of the housing (108) (Banko ¶ 0043).
Re Claim 10, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 8. Yan fails to teach wherein the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve and the housing are attached together to form a sealed irrigation space; the irrigation space forming a part of the irrigation line; the irrigation space at one side is connected through the irrigation side port to the gap between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve and the outer wall of the inner needle tube, at the other side is connected to the irrigation connector and the irrigation tube on the housing.
Banko teaches wherein the irrigation shoulder sleeve (154) and the housing (108) are attached together to form a sealed irrigation space (158) (Banko ¶ 0043); the irrigation space (158) forming a part of the irrigation line for preventing leaking of irrigation fluid from the housing (as seen in Banko Fig. 1; ¶ 0043). Bourne teaches wherein the irrigation space (617) at one side is connected through the irrigation side port (618) to the gap between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve (615) and the outer wall of the inner needle tube (610), at the other side is connected to the irrigation connector (614) and the irrigation tube (130) on the housing (665), the configuration for providing a fluid path from a proximal end of the housing to the irrigation side port (Bourne ¶ 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko wherein the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve and the housing are attached together to form a sealed irrigation space; the irrigation space forming a part of the irrigation line; the irrigation space at one side is connected through the irrigation side port to the gap between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve and the outer wall of the inner needle tube, at the other side is connected to the irrigation connector and the irrigation tube on the housing as disclosed by Bourne and Banko for preventing leaking of irrigation fluid from the housing (as seen in Banko Fig. 1; ¶ 0043) and for providing a fluid path from a proximal end of the housing to the irrigation side port (Bourne ¶ 0047).
Re Claim 11, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 10. Yan fails to teach wherein the irrigation side port is located within the
irrigation space. However, in the modified Claim 1 ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation
integrated device of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko, the irrigation
side port would be located within the irrigation space.
Re Claim 12, Yan teaches an ophthalmic device (Yan Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a horn (201), an inner needle tube (60) (Yan Fig. 3; ¶ 0034) and an outer needle sleeve (70) (Yan ¶ 0031), wherein the inner needle tube (60) is received inside of the outer needle sleeve (70) and extends through an interior of the outer needle sleeve (70) (Yan Figs. 1-3); wherein a proximal end of the inner needle tube (60) is fixed at a distal end of the horn (201) by a connecting body (50) (Yan ¶ 0033); wherein the ophthalmic device comprises an aspiration line (Yan ¶ 0033); wherein the aspiration line comprises an interior bore of the inner needle tube (60), a central bore (55) of the connecting body (50), an inner bore of the horn (202) and the aspiration connector (as seen in Yan Figs. 1-4; ¶ 0032-0033), and wherein an outermost distal end of the inner needle tube (60) and an inner wall of a closed distal end of the outer needle sleeve (70) are separated by a space (71-1) (as seen above in Yan Annotated Fig. 3), and wherein the space is in fluid communication with an aspiration side port (71) of the outer needle sleeve (70) (as seen in Yan Fig. 3).
Yan fails to teach wherein the ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device comprises an irrigation line, wherein the irrigation line comprising a gap between an inner wall of the outer needle sleeve and an outer wall of the inner needle tube, and wherein a junction area is formed at the gap by the aspiration line and the irrigation line at the distal end. Bourne teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device (600) (Bourne Fig. 6) comprising an irrigation line, the irrigation line comprising a gap (617-1) between an inner wall of the outer needle sleeve (615-1) and an outer wall of the inner needle tube (610) (as seen in Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 above), and wherein a junction area is formed at the gap (617-1) by the aspiration line and the irrigation line at the distal end (as seen in Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 above; ¶ 0046-0048), wherein the irrigating fluid aids in aspirating emulsified tissue away from the anterior capsule of the eye and also aids in maintaining a constant pressure within the anterior capsule of the eye. It is also well-known in the art of phacoemulsification that irrigating fluid will prevent the vibrating needle from overheating during a phacoemulsification procedure (Bourne ¶ 0001-0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the inner needle tube and the
outer needle sleeve of Yan to comprise an irrigation line, wherein the irrigation line comprising
a gap between an inner wall of the outer needle sleeve and an outer wall of the inner needle
tube, and wherein a junction area is formed at the gap by the aspiration line and the irrigation
line at the distal end, wherein the irrigating fluid aids in aspirating emulsified tissue away from
the anterior capsule of the eye and also aids in maintaining a constant pressure within the
anterior capsule of the eye. It is also well-known in the art of phacoemulsification that irrigating
fluid will prevent the vibrating needle from overheating during a phacoemulsification
procedure (Bourne ¶ 0001-0006).
Yan also fails to teach a housing, the horn placed inside the housing, the outer needle sleeve extending from a distal end of the housing; and wherein a proximal end of the outer needle sleeve is attached at the distal end of the housing by an irrigation soft shoulder sleeve; an irrigation space between the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve and the housing, the irrigation connector, the irrigation tube. Banko teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device (as seen in Banko Fig. 1) comprising a housing (108), a horn (104), and a working tip (130) comprised of an aspiration line (132) and an irrigation line (134), wherein the horn (104) is placed inside the housing (104) and the working tip (130) extends from a distal end of the housing (104), an irrigation connector (154), an irrigation tube (tube of irrigation line 134), the housing for protecting the horn and for receiving irrigation fluid from an irrigation connector and for expelling aspiration fluid through an aspiration connector (Banko ¶ 0042-0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the ophthalmic device of Yan in view of Bourne include a housing, wherein the horn is placed inside the housing, the outer needle sleeve extending from a distal end of the housing; and wherein the proximal end of the outer needle sleeve is attached at the distal end of the housing by an irrigation soft shoulder sleeve; an irrigation space between the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve and the housing, the irrigation connector, the irrigation tube, just such an embodiment as disclosed by Banko for protecting the horn and for receiving irrigation fluid from an irrigation connector and for expelling aspiration fluid through an aspiration connector (Banko ¶ 0042-0043).
Re Claim 13, Yan in view of Bourne and Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 12. Yan further teaches a loose fit is provided between the proximal end of the outer needle sleeve (70) and the connecting body (50) (Yan ¶ 0032-0033; Fig. 4).
Re Claim 14, Yan in view of Bourne and Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 12. Yan further teaches wherein the outer needle sleeve (70) comprises an aspiration side port (71) in a distal end opening of the inner needle tube (60) (as seen in Yan Fig. 3), (as seen in Yan Fig. 3), and wherein an inlet of the aspiration line is an opening in the outermost distal end of the inner needle tube (60), and wherein the opening is located at a same end of the outer needle sleeve (70) as the aspiration side port (71) (Yan Annotated Fig. 3).However, Yan fails to teach an irrigation side port and the aspiration side port arranged at an end of the outer needle sleeve.
Bourne teaches an irrigation side port (618) and an aspiration side port (619-1) arranged at an end of the outer needle sleeve (615-1), where the outer needle sleeve is configured to be inserted through an incision in the outer edge of the cornea during a phacoemulsification procedure and provide vacuum and irrigation fluid from the irrigation side port at a distal end of the outer needle sleeve to the interior of the cornea while the lens of the eye is emulsified (Bourne ¶ 0003-0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included with the ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko, an irrigation side port and the aspiration side port arranged at an end of the outer needle sleeve as disclosed by Bourne, where the outer needle sleeve is configured to be inserted through an incision in the outer edge of the cornea during a phacoemulsification procedure and provide vacuum and irrigation fluid from the irrigation side port at a distal end of the outer needle sleeve to the interior of the cornea while the lens of the eye is emulsified (Bourne ¶ 0003-0004).
Re Claim 15, Yan in view of Bourne and Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 12. Yan teaches wherein the outer needle sleeve (70) comprises a closed flat end surface (72) located at the distal end (Yan Figs. 2 and 3; ¶ 0028 - wherein the figures show a flat surface and Yan encourages non-sharp smooth surfaces). However, Yan fails to disclose wherein the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line. Bourne teaches the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line (Bourne Annotated Fig. 6 below - wherein fluid exiting irrigation line can be aspirated through aspiration line), where the outer needle sleeve is configured to be inserted through an incision in the outer edge of the cornea during a phacoemulsification procedure and provide vacuum and irrigation fluid from the irrigation side port at a distal end of the outer needle sleeve to the interior of the cornea while the lens of the eye is emulsified and, along with irrigation fluid, is aspirated from the site of surgery (Bourne ¶ 0003-0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have configured the aspiration line and the irrigation line of Yan in view of Bourne above and further in view of Banko such that the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line as disclosed by Bourne where the outer needle sleeve is configured to be inserted through an incision in the outer edge of the cornea during a phacoemulsification procedure and provide vacuum and irrigation fluid from the irrigation side port at a distal end of the outer needle sleeve to the interior of the cornea while the lens of the eye is emulsified and, along with irrigation fluid, is aspirated from the site of surgery (Bourne ¶ 0003-0004).
Re Claim 16, Yan in view of Bourne and Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 14. Yan fails to teach wherein the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve is threaded with the housing and forms a sealed irrigation space, and wherein the irrigation side port is located within the irrigation space. Banko teaches wherein the irrigation shoulder sleeve (154) is threaded with the housing (108) and forms a sealed irrigation space (158), and wherein an irrigation side port (proximal end of second tube 134) is located within the irrigation space (158) for forming a fluid tight seal at the distal end of the housing (108) (Banko ¶ 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the irrigation soft shoulder sleeve of Yan in view of Bourne above, and further than Banko comprise a threaded connection with the housing and forming a sealed irrigation space, and wherein the irrigation side port is located within the irrigation space as disclosed by Banko for forming a fluid tight seal at the distal end of the housing (Banko ¶ 0043).
Re Claim 17, Yan in view of Bourne and Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 12. Yan further teaches wherein the connecting body (50) comprises a cone-shaped proximal segment (53) with a split (54), a middle segment (52) with an external threaded structure (Yan ¶ 0032), a distal segment (51) for applying a locking force (Yan ¶ 0030), wherein the outer diameter of the middle segment (52) is greater than a maximum outer diameter of the cone shaped proximal segment (53) (as seen in Yan Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the horn (201) has an internal thread that matches the external threaded structure of the middle segment (52) (Yan ¶ 0030 and 0032), wherein an interior of the connecting body (50) comprises a central bore (55) comprising a first diameter area (diameter area of counter bore 8 as seen in Yan Fig. 4) and a second diameter area (diameter area of center bore 8 as seen in Yan Fig. 4), the first diameter area being larger than the second diameter area (as seen in Yan Fig. 4), wherein the second diameter area is located at an interior of the cone-shaped proximal segment (53) and the middle segment (52) and has a diameter that is comparable to the outer diameter of the inner needle tube (60) (Yan Figs. 3-4), wherein the first diameter area is located in the interior of the distal segment (51) and its diameter is greater than an outer diameter of the outer needle sleeve (70) (Yan Figs. 3-4), wherein the first diameter area has a step surface and a proximal end of the outer needle sleeve (70) is inserted against the step surface (Yan Fig. 4; ¶ 0031).
Re Claim 18, Yan in view of Bourne and Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 17. Yan further teaches wherein the proximal end of the inner needle tube (60) is flush or protruded with the proximal end of the cone-shaped section (53) such that the protruding length does not exceed one eighth of the wavelength of the ultrasonic operating frequency of the instrument (Yan Figs. 1-3).
Re Claim 20, Yan teaches an ultrasonic device (Yan Figs. 1-3), comprising: a horn (201); a needle sleeve (70) having an internal bore (as seen in Yan Fig. 3); a needle tube (60) received in the internal bore of the needle sleeve (70), the needle tube (60) including an opening at an outermost distal end of the needle tube (60) and an internal lumen in communication with the opening (Yan ¶ 0033); a gap between an outer wall of the needle tube (60) and an internal wall of the needle sleeve (70), the gap extending along a length of the needle tube (60) and a length of the needle sleeve (70) (as seen in a distal end near the side port 71 of Yan Fig. 3); and a space (71-1) between the outermost distal end of the needle tube (60) and an inner wall of a closed distal end of the needle sleeve (70), and the opening and internal lumen of the needle tube (60) are part of an aspiration line of the ultrasonic device (Yan ¶ 0033).
However, Yan fails to disclose wherein the wherein the gap is part of an irrigation line of the ultrasonic device, and wherein the irrigation line and the aspiration line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line through the gap and the space. Bourne teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device (600) (Bourne Fig. 6) comprising an inner needle tube (610) and an outer needle sleeve (615), wherein a gap (617-1) between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve (615) and the outer wall of the inner needle tube (610) is part of an irrigation line (Bourne ¶ 0047), and wherein the aspiration line and the irrigation line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line through the gap (Bourne ¶ 0046-0048; Annotated Fig. 6 above - wherein fluid exiting irrigation line can be aspirated through aspiration line), wherein the irrigating fluid aids in aspirating emulsified tissue away from the anterior capsule of the eye and also aids in maintaining a constant pressure within the anterior capsule of the eye. It is also well-known in the art of phacoemulsification that irrigating fluid will prevent the vibrating needle from overheating during a phacoemulsification procedure (Bourne ¶ 0001-0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the inner needle tube and the outer needle sleeve of Yanwherein the wherein the gap is part of an irrigation line of the ultrasonic device, and wherein the irrigation line and the aspiration line are in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line through the gap, as disclosed by Bourne, wherein the irrigating fluid aids in aspirating emulsified tissue away from the anterior capsule of the eye and also aids in maintaining a constant pressure within the anterior capsule of the eye. It is also well-known in the art of phacoemulsification that irrigating fluid will prevent the vibrating needle from overheating during a phacoemulsification procedure (Bourne ¶ 0001-0006). Modifying Yan with the teachings of Bourne would further result in the irrigation line and the aspiration line being in fluid communication with each other at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line through not just the gap, but also the space.
Yan also fails to teach a housing, the horn placed inside the housing, the needle sleeve extending from a distal end of the housing. Banko teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device (as seen in Banko Fig. 1) comprising a housing (108), a horn (104), and a working tip (130) comprised of an aspiration line (132) and an irrigation line (134), wherein the horn (104) is placed inside the housing (104) and the working tip (130) extends from a distal end of the housing (104), the housing for protecting the horn and for receiving irrigation fluid from an irrigation connector and for expelling aspiration fluid through an aspiration connector (Banko ¶ 0042-0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the ophthalmic device of Yan include a housing, wherein the horn is placed inside the housing and the needle sleeve extends from a distal end of the housing, just such an embodiment as disclosed by Banko for protecting the horn and for receiving irrigation fluid from an irrigation connector and for expelling aspiration fluid through an aspiration connector (Banko ¶ 0042-0043).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (USPGPub 2018/0256396) in view of Bourne et al. (USPGPub 2015/0157501) above, and further in view of Banko (USPGPub 2014/0276369) as applied to Claim 17 above, and further in view of Pond (USPGPub 2007/0244425).
Re Claim 19, Yan in view of Bourne above, and further in view of Banko teach all of the limitations of Claim 17. Yan in view of Bourne and Banko fail to teach wherein the proximal end of the inner needle tube is attached through adhesive to the central bore of the cone-shaped proximal segment of the connecting body. Pond teaches an ultrasonic aspiration and irrigation integrated device comprising a connecting body and an inner needle tube (32), wherein the proximal end of the inner needle tube (32) is attached through adhesive to the central bore of the cone-shaped proximal segment of the connecting body for securely adhering the inner needle tube to the connecting member (Pond ¶ 0026; as seen in Pond Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connecting member of Yan in view of Bourne above and further in view of Banko comprise an adhesive wherein the proximal end of the inner needle tube is attached through the adhesive to the central bore of the cone-shaped proximal segment of the connecting body as disclosed by Pond for securely adhering the inner needle tube to the connecting member (Pond ¶ 0026; as seen in Pond Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/03/2025 with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Due to clarifying amendment, claim objection of Claims 6, 12 and 17 is hereinafter withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. At the top of Page 9 of the response, applicant argues the irrigation ports and aspiration ports of Bourne are nor in fluid communication with one another. The very purpose of the aspiration ports in Bourne is for vacuuming irrigation fluid delivered to the lens capsule, thus maintaining a constant pressure and avoiding rupture or collapse of the lens capsule. Thus, in any phacoemulsification device comprising both aspiration and irrigation, aspiration and irrigation ports will be in fluid communication with one another.
In the last full paragraph of Page 9 and first full paragraph of Page 10 of the response, applicant argues Bourne fails to teach “wherein the gap between the inner wall of the outer needle sleeve and the outer wall of the inner needle sleeve tube is part of an irrigation line, and wherein at distal ends of the aspiration line and the irrigation line, a junction area is formed at the gap." Bourne explicitly teaches said limitation at paragraphs 0046-0048 and furthermore, this limitation is clearly shown in applicant’s own figure of Bourne in Page 9 of the response. Applicant also argues primary reference Yan could not be modified as such where “Yan and Bourne have conflicting disclosures.” Applicant is reminded, prior art Yan is prior art of the applicant and has similar disclosure. Motivations provided for in Bourne are likely the same motivations applicant relied on to modify prior art Yan, namely, where irrigating fluid aids in aspirating emulsified tissue away from the anterior capsule of the eye, aids in maintaining a constant pressure within the anterior capsule of the eye, and prevents the vibrating needle from overheating during a phacoemulsification procedure (Bourne ¶ 0001-0006).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R FREHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783