DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda [US 2022/0216972] in view of Yi [US 2020/0337029].
As claims 1 and 3, Takeda discloses a method by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter corresponding to a configuration of a specific search space (SS) set [Par. 0024-0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049 disclose UE receives, from base station, a RRC parameter “searchspace” which indicates USS set information], the first RRC parameter including both a second RRC parameter and a third RRC parameter [Par. 0027 discloses the first parameter “USS searchspace” includes second parameter “USS Set # 1 has searchspace id = 1” and third parameter “USS Set # 3 has search space id = 3”, Par. 0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049, IE (8) discloses USS set information], the second RRC parameter indicating a first pair of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats to be monitored in a UE-specific search space (USS) set [Par. 0030-0031 discloses USS set # 1 for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair, Par. 0027, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair], the third RRC parameter indicating a second pair of DCI formats to be monitored in a USS set [Par. 0031, 0048-0049 discloses USS set # 3 for monitoring DCI formats, Second pair, Par. 0027, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair], and the second RRC parameter being different from the third RRC parameter [Fig 2, 4 and 8-9 discloses the second parameter “searchspaceid = 1” which indicates first pair is different from third parameter “searchspaceid = 3” which indicates second pair wherein first pair 0_0, 1_0 is different from second pair 0_2, 1_2], wherein the first pair of DCI formats indicated by a fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a common search space (CSS) set [Par. 0028 discloses CSS “four parameter” for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair, Par. 0027-0028, IE (7) discloses CSS set information, DCI formats 0_0, 1_0], the second pair of DCI formats not indicated by the fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a CSS set [Par. 0028 discloses “four parameter” DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2 not configured for monitoring in CSS], and each of the first pair of DCI formats and the second pair of DCI formats includes a DCI format for scheduling of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a DCI format for scheduling of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Par. 0032, 0041-0042, 0048-0049 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH and 0_2, 1_2 “second pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH]; the first pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0 0 and DCI format 1_0 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair”], and the second pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0_2 and DCI format 1_2 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_2, 1_2 “second pair”]. However, Takeda fails to fully disclose the first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter and the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID. In the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID [Par. 0346 discloses SS #1 “search space ID” which includes the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter and first parameter “search space ID” which includes second parameter “source” and third parameter “target”, Fig 27 discloses SS2 “search space ID # 2 “first parameter” which includes USS for 0_2, 1_2 and 0_0, 1_0].
Since, a method and system for using bits to indicate first and second value etc… are well known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a search space ID for the first, second and third parameter as disclosed by Yi into the teaching of Taketa. The motivation would have been to increase the capacity of monitoring the control channel.
As claim 4, Takeda discloses a base station, comprising: transmitting, by transmission circuit, to a user equipment (UE), a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter corresponding to a configuration of a specific search space (SS) set [Par. 0024-0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049 disclose UE receives, from base station, a RRC parameter which indicates USS search space set], the first RRC parameter including both of a second RRC parameter and a third RRC parameter [Par. 0027 discloses the first parameter “USS searchspace” includes second parameter “USS Set # 1 has searchspace id = 1” and third parameter “USS Set # 3 has search space id = 3”, Par. 0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049, IE (8) discloses USS set information] the second RRC parameter indicating a first pair of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats to be monitored in a UE-specific search space (USS) set [Par. 0030-0031 discloses USS set # 1 for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, first pair, Par. 0027, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_1, 1_0, first pair], the third RRC parameter indicating a second pair of DCI formats to be monitored in a USS set [Par. 0030-0031, 0048-0049 discloses USS set # 3 for monitoring DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair, Par. 0027, 0048-0049, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair] and the second RRC parameter being different from the third RRC parameter [Fig 2, 4 and 8-9 discloses the second parameter “searchspaceid = 1” which indicates first pair is different from third parameter “searchspaceid = 3” which indicates second pair wherein first pair is different from second pair], wherein the first pair of DCI formats indicated by a fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a common search space (CSS) set [Par. 0028 discloses CSS “four parameter” for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair], the second pair of DCI formats not indicated by the fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a CSS set [Par. 0028 discloses CSS “four parameter” DCI formats 0_1 and 1_0, first pair and DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair not configured for monitoring in CSS], and each of the first pair of DCI formats and the second pair of DCI formats includes a DCI format for scheduling of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a DCI format for scheduling of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Par. 0032, 0048-0049 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH and DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, “second pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH]; the first pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0 0 and DCI format 1 0 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair”], and the second pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0_2 and DCI format 1_2 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_2, 1_2 “second pair”]. However, Takeda fails to fully disclose the first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter and the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID. In the same field of endeavor, Chatterjee discloses first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter [Par. 0055, 0227, 0228-0229, 0266, 0278, 0281 discloses a field with two bits to indicate second parameter and third parameter for DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair = first bit = 1, for USS” and 0_2, 1_2 “second pair = second bit = 1, for USS” and for CSS “ first bit = 1 for first pair and second bit = 0 for second pair, zero for not configured]. However, Takeda fails to fully disclose the first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter and the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID. In the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID [Par. 0346 discloses SS #1 “search space ID” which includes the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter and first parameter “search space ID” which includes second parameter “source” and third parameter “target”, Fig 27 discloses SS2 “search space ID # 2 “first parameter” which includes USS for 0_2, 1_2 and 0_0, 1_0].
Since, a method and system for using bits to indicate first and second value etc… are well known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a search space ID for the first, second and third parameter as disclosed by Yi into the teaching of Taketa. The motivation would have been to increase the capacity of monitoring the control channel.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda [US 2022/0216972] in view of Chatterjee [US 2019/0274032] and Yi [US 2020/0337029].
As claims 1 and 3, Takeda discloses a method by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter corresponding to a configuration of a specific search space (SS) set [Par. 0024-0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049 disclose UE receives, from base station, a RRC parameter “searchspace” which indicates USS set information], the first RRC parameter including both a second RRC parameter and a third RRC parameter [Par. 0027 discloses the first parameter “USS searchspace” includes second parameter “USS Set # 1 has searchspace id = 1” and third parameter “USS Set # 3 has search space id = 3”, Par. 0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049, IE (8) discloses USS set information], the second RRC parameter indicating a first pair of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats to be monitored in a UE-specific search space (USS) set [Par. 0030-0031 discloses USS set # 1 for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair, Par. 0027, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair], the third RRC parameter indicating a second pair of DCI formats to be monitored in a USS set [Par. 0031, 0048-0049 discloses USS set # 3 for monitoring DCI formats, Second pair, Par. 0027, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair], and the second RRC parameter being different from the third RRC parameter [Fig 2, 4 and 8-9 discloses the second parameter “searchspaceid = 1” which indicates first pair is different from third parameter “searchspaceid = 3” which indicates second pair wherein first pair 0_0, 1_0 is different from second pair 0_2, 1_2], wherein the first pair of DCI formats indicated by a fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a common search space (CSS) set [Par. 0028 discloses CSS “four parameter” for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair, Par. 0027-0028, IE (7) discloses CSS set information, DCI formats 0_0, 1_0], the second pair of DCI formats not indicated by the fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a CSS set [Par. 0028 discloses “four parameter” DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2 not configured for monitoring in CSS], and each of the first pair of DCI formats and the second pair of DCI formats includes a DCI format for scheduling of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a DCI format for scheduling of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Par. 0032, 0041-0042, 0048-0049 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH and 0_2, 1_2 “second pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH]; the first pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0 0 and DCI format 1_0 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair”], and the second pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0_2 and DCI format 1_2 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_2, 1_2 “second pair”]. However, Takeda fails to fully disclose the first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter and the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID. In the same field of endeavor, Chatterjee discloses first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter [Par. 0055, 0227, 0228-0229, 0266, 0278, 0281 discloses a field with two bits to indicate second parameter and third parameter for DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair = first bit = 1, for USS” and 0_2, 1_2 “second pair = second bit = 1, for USS” and for CSS “ first bit = 1 for first pair and second bit = 0 for second pair, zero for not configured]. However, Takeda and Chatterjee fail to fully disclose the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID. In the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID [Par. 0346 discloses SS #1 “search space ID” which includes the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter, Fig 27 discloses SS2 “search space ID # 2 “first parameter” which includes USS for 0_2, 1_2 and 0_0, 1_0].
Since, a method and system for using bits to indicate first and second value etc… are well known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a search space ID for the first, second and third parameter as disclosed by Yi into the teaching of Chatterjee comprising bitmap for indicating the DCI format the UE into the teaching of Taketa. The motivation would have been to increase the capacity of monitoring the control channel.
As claim 4, Takeda discloses a base station, comprising: transmitting, by transmission circuit, to a user equipment (UE), a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter corresponding to a configuration of a specific search space (SS) set [Par. 0024-0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049 disclose UE receives, from base station, a RRC parameter which indicates USS search space set], the first RRC parameter including both of a second RRC parameter and a third RRC parameter [Par. 0027 discloses the first parameter “USS searchspace” includes second parameter “USS Set # 1 has searchspace id = 1” and third parameter “USS Set # 3 has search space id = 3”, Par. 0027, 0030-0031, 0048-0049, IE (8) discloses USS set information] the second RRC parameter indicating a first pair of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats to be monitored in a UE-specific search space (USS) set [Par. 0030-0031 discloses USS set # 1 for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, first pair, Par. 0027, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_1, 1_0, first pair], the third RRC parameter indicating a second pair of DCI formats to be monitored in a USS set [Par. 0030-0031, 0048-0049 discloses USS set # 3 for monitoring DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair, Par. 0027, 0048-0049, IE (8) discloses USS set information, DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair] and the second RRC parameter being different from the third RRC parameter [Fig 2, 4 and 8-9 discloses the second parameter “searchspaceid = 1” which indicates first pair is different from third parameter “searchspaceid = 3” which indicates second pair wherein first pair is different from second pair], wherein the first pair of DCI formats indicated by a fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a common search space (CSS) set [Par. 0028 discloses CSS “four parameter” for monitoring DCI formats 0_0, 1_0, First pair], the second pair of DCI formats not indicated by the fourth RRC parameter to be monitored in a CSS set [Par. 0028 discloses CSS “four parameter” DCI formats 0_1 and 1_0, first pair and DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, Second pair not configured for monitoring in CSS], and each of the first pair of DCI formats and the second pair of DCI formats includes a DCI format for scheduling of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a DCI format for scheduling of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Par. 0032, 0048-0049 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH and DCI formats 0_2, 1_2, “second pair” for PDSCH and PUSCH]; the first pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0 0 and DCI format 1 0 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair”], and the second pair of DCI formats is DCI format 0_2 and DCI format 1_2 [Par. 0032, 0041-0042 discloses DCI formats 0_2, 1_2 “second pair”]. However, Takeda fails to fully disclose the first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter and the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID. In the same field of endeavor, Chatterjee discloses first parameter which includes second parameter and third parameter [Par. 0055, 0227, 0228-0229, 0266, 0278, 0281 discloses a field with two bits to indicate second parameter and third parameter for DCI formats 0_0, 1_0 “first pair = first bit = 1, for USS” and 0_2, 1_2 “second pair = second bit = 1, for USS” and for CSS “ first bit = 1 for first pair and second bit = 0 for second pair, zero for not configured]. However, Takeda and Chatterjee fail to fully disclose the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID. In the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter correspond to a same search space ID [Par. 0346 discloses SS #1 “search space ID” which includes the first RRC parameter, the second RRC parameter, and the third parameter, Fig 27 discloses SS2 “search space ID # 2 “first parameter” which includes USS for 0-2, 1_2 and 0_0, 1_0].
Since, a method and system for using bits to indicate first and second value etc… are well known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a search space ID for the first, second and third parameter as disclosed by Yi into the teaching of Chatterjee comprising bitmap for indicating the DCI format the UE into the teaching of Taketa. The motivation would have been to increase the capacity of monitoring the control channel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414