Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,8,13-15,19 and 25,29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BABAEI et al (US 20240007888 A1), priority to provisional app 62/615287 dated Jan 9, 2018) hereinafter as BABAEI in view of WANG et al (US 20210234583 A1) hereinafter as WANG.
Regarding claim(s) 1,15, BABAEI discloses a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (See Fig(s). 1 with UE 110b), comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration comprising one or more CSI reporting settings (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ ..451, 492… a gNB may transmit one or more RRC message comprising one or more CSI configuration parameters comprising at least: one or more CSI-RS resource settings; one or more CSI reporting settings, and one CSI measurement setting…one of skill in the arts will appreciate that a geNB transmitting is interpreted that a UE within a network is receiving the RRC message),
wherein each CSI reporting setting is associated with one or more subbands for CSI and each subband for CSI comprises a frequency domain (FD) unit for channel quality information (CQI) feedback and one or more FD units for precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback (See ¶ .. 522-526… CSI reporting setting configuration defines a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the bandwidth part, where the ReportFreqConfiguration indicates: [0524] the CSI-ReportingBand as a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part for which CSI may be reported…further See ¶ .. 556… In the frequency domain, the CSI reference resource is defined by the group of downlink physical resource blocks corresponding to the band to which the derived CQI value relates.).
BABAEI fails to disclose - determining, for each of the CSI reporting settings, at least one of an amount of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources occupation or an amount of CSI-RS ports occupation, based at least in part on (i) a how many FD units for PMI feedback within a single FD unit for CQI feedback or (ii) a how many FD units for PMI feedback within all of the subbands for CSI; and sending an indication of a CSI processing capability of the UE, the CSI processing capability comprising an indication of at least one of a number of CSI-RS resources supported by the UE or a number of CSI-RS ports supported by the UE.
WANG discloses - determining, for each of the CSI reporting settings, at least one of an amount of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources occupation or an amount of CSI-RS ports occupation, based at least in part on based at least in part on (i) a how many FD units for PMI feedback within a single FD unit for CQI feedback or (ii) a how many FD units for PMI feedback within all of the subbands for CSI. (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 92,110, 522, the frequency domain vector is determined based on the quantity of frequency domain units included in the frequency domain occupation bandwidth of the CSI measurement resource);
sending an indication of a CSI processing capability of the UE, the CSI processing capability comprising an indication of at least one of a number of CSI-RS resources supported by the UE or a number of CSI-RS ports supported by the UE (See ¶ 116-117, the quantity of to-be-reported frequency domain units may be indicated by using the foregoing signaling of reporting band. The quantity of to-be-reported frequency domain units may be all or some of frequency domain units in the frequency domain occupation bandwidth of the CSI measurement resource.).
UE feedback within FD units and PMI provides a gNB to estimate the downlink channel quality by the CSI report from UE (e.g, PMI / RI report) and select the best codebook matrix best fit for the downlink signal transmission.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of WANG within BABAEI, so as to have a UE feedback with CQI and PMI providing a gNB node to estimate the downlink channel quality by the CSI report from UE (e.g, PMI / RI report) and select the best codebook matrix best fit for the downlink signal transmission.
Further with regards to claim 15, BABAEI discloses a network entity performing mirrored method of claim 1 (See Fig(s). 4A-4D).
Regarding claim(s) 3, BABAEI discloses wherein the CSI reporting configuration comprises a CSI request triggering one or more of the CSI reporting settings (See Fig(s). 31. example Triggering/Activation of CSI Reporting for the possible CSI-RS Configurations).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 19, WANG discloses wherein determining at least one of the amount of CSI- RS resources occupation or the amount of CSI-RS ports occupation is based on the number of the FD units for PMI feedback within a single FD unit for CQI feedback (See ¶ .92, 110, 522, the frequency domain vector is determined based on the quantity of frequency domain units included in the frequency domain occupation bandwidth of the CSI measurement resource). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 8, 23, WANG discloses wherein determining at least one of the amount of CSI- RS resource occupation or the amount of CSI-RS ports occupation is based on the number of the FD units for PMI feedback within all of the subbands for CSI. ((See ¶ 92, 110, 522, the frequency domain vector is determined based on the quantity of frequency domain units included in the frequency domain occupation bandwidth of the CSI measurement resource). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 13, 29, BABAEI discloses wherein determining at least one of the amount of CSI- RS resource occupation or the amount of CSI-RS ports occupation is further based on a type of the codebook associated with the CSI reporting setting (See ¶ .. 499, 506. one or more CSI Type (I or II); one or more codebook configuration parameters; a report quantity indicator indicating CSI-related or L1-RSRP-related quantities to report;
Regarding claim(s) 14 and 30, BABAEI discloses each CSI reporting setting comprises one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (See ¶ .. 492; and each CSI-RS resource comprises one or more CSI-RS ports (See ¶ .. 508,535).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2,4,6-7,9-12,16-18,20-22,24-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 15, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,5,8,13-15,19 and 25,29-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made for Applicant’s consideration.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411