DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1is amended. Claim 12 is canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed 02/20/2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO 2018034949, WO’949 hereinafter translation provided , listed in IDS in view of Deseure US 20120064320 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018034949, WO’949 hereinafter translation provided , listed in IDS in view of Deseure US 20120064320 .
Regarding claim 1, WO’949 discloses method of making an article, the method comprising: placing at least a portion of a panel in an injection molding die; and overmolding at least one molded structure on a surface of the panel in the injection molding die ([0125]), thereby forming a material-to-material connection between the surface of the panel and the molded structure maintain the structural integrating of the panel ([0125], Figure 28B showing in the final product the structure is intact), wherein the panel comprises first and second layers each having first and second opposed major surfaces and a core disposed there between ([0004]), the second layer being free of any openings between the first and second major surfaces of the second layer ([0004]), wherein the core has a plurality of walls extending from the second surface of the first layer to the first surface of the second layer providing a series of connected cells, wherein some of the cell walls have openings providing fluid communication between a series of at least 3 cells ([0004]), wherein each cell wall has a plurality of sides, wherein each side of a cell wall has an area, and wherein the opening in a cell wall has an area that is at least 50 percent of the area of a side of that cell wall ([0004]), and wherein the first layer has at least a first opening extending between the first and second major surfaces of the first layer into at least one cell in the series ([0004]).
WO’ 949 discloses polypropylene thermoformed panels ([0121],[0127]) but didn’t explicitly disclose wherein the molded structure comprises a foam composition wherein the overmolding comprises injecting a curable composition comprising a blowing agent into a vacant cavity. In the same field of endeavor related to overmolding foam composition, Deseure discloses that the overmolding comprises injecting a curable composition comprising a blowing agent into a vacant cavity defined between at least a portion of the panel/substrate and the injection molding die and curing the curable composition to form the foam composition, (Figures 3-4, [0033], [0034], [0038] substrate-1, curable composition polyurethane with a blowing agent-4 is injected into a closed mold-11/12).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art prior to applicant’s invention combine the teaching of the panels in WO’949 with that of the semi rigid foam composition taught by Deseure for the purpose of improving the acoustic properties of the panel body .
Regarding claim 2 Deseure discloses the molded structure comprises a polyurethane foam [0038]).
13. Regarding claim 3, WO’949 discloses comprising preheating the panel to a softening temperature of the first layer of the panel prior to placing it within the injection molding die ([0121], didn’t explicitly disclose that first layer softening temperature, WO’949 disclose that the panels are made of certain polymer therefore when preheated it would have a definite processing/softening temperature before its inserted into the molding die).
14. Regarding claim 4 WO’989 discloses wherein the panel is supported in the injection molding die on at least a portion of the first layer ([0125], a portion of a panel is placed therefore a part is supported in the injection molding die).
15. Regarding claim 5, WO’989 discloses wherein the panel is unsupported in the injection molding die on each of the first layer and the second layer ([0125], a portion of a panel is placed therefore a part is unsupported in the injection molding die).
16. Regarding Claim 6, WO’989 discloses the molded structure is applied to at least one major surface of the panel ([0125]).
17. Regarding claim 7 WO’989 discloses the entire panel is inserted into the injection molding die ([0127]).
18. Regarding Claim 8, WO’989 discloses wherein the panel comprises a shape, and the method further comprises altering the shape of the panel in the injection molding die ([0128]).
19. Regarding claim 9 WO’989 discloses at least one cell is consolidated and folded over to form a reinforcement bead ([0128]).
10. Regarding claim 10, WO’989 discloses wherein the injection molding die is configured to reduce a thickness of at least a portion of the panel by 5% to 95% ([0126]) or to increase a thickness of at least a portion of the panel by 30% more ([0126], within the claimed range limitation).
Regarding Claim 11, WO 989 discloses comprising at least partially shaping the panel using thermoforming or compression molding prior to placing at least a portion of the panel within the injection molding die ([0125]).
Regarding Claim 13, WO 989 discloses the first layer of the panel comprises at least one opening between the first and second major surfaces of the first layer ([0063]), and wherein the method further comprises plugging the at least one opening prior to overmolding the at least one molded structure on a surface of the panel in the injection molding die (Figure 1, holes 190 are plugged in the extending between the first and second major surfaces 111, 112 of first layer 110 of panel-100 ).
Regarding Claim 15, WO’989/Deseure disclose all the method of forming the article, hence the claim limitation is met.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018034949, WO’949 hereinafter translation provided, listed in IDS in view of of Deseure US 20120064320 as applied in claim 1 further in view of Lewit US 5897818 .
Regarding Claim 14 WO’989 discloses method of making an article, the method comprising: placing at least a portion of a panel in an injection molding die; and overmolding at least one molded structure on a surface of the panel in the injection molding die ([00125]). WO’989 didn’t disclose that a molded structure is disposed between the panel and the substrate. In the same field related to composite structures, Lewit discloses comprising disposing a substrate facing into the injection molding die and a distance from the panel and attaching the substrate to the molded structure when the foam composition forms, wherein the molded structure is disposed between the panel and the substrate (Figure 2, col 6 line 49-55, substrate-13, panel/fabric layer-15 with foam composition, annotated below).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art prior to applicant’s invention to combine the teaching of the panel taught by WO’949 with that of substrate on the outer layer of the panel as taught by Lewit for the purpose of enhancing the structural properties of the product (col 5, line 65-67).
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741