DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 2/17/2026. Claim 1 is amended, claim 8 is canceled, claim 19 is new, and claims 1-7 and 9-19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-11, 13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 9,968,487 to Chou (hereinafter Chou) in view of US PG Pub. 2014/0168598 to Spitzer (hereinafter Spitzer).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses a comfort attachment assembly (Figs. 1-4) for securement to existing metal eyewear comprising: a support frame (frame body 21, Fig. 1) configured for coupling to the frame of existing eyewear (Figs. 1-4); and a flexible portion (“pad 25 is attached at the inner surface of the frame body 21 and comprises an upper contact portion 251 and a central contact portion 252”, Fig. 1) coupled to said support frame; said support frame comprising a top support (portion of clip 26, Fig. 1-3) comprising two brow portions (portions or frame body 21 near lenses 11, Fig. 1) coupled by a bridge portion (portion of frame body 21 near notch 26, Fig. 1-3) located intermediately between said two brow portions; said flexible portion having a brow cushion (pad 25, Fig. 1) extending rearwardly and cantilevered from said top support of the support frame (Fig. 1-4); said brow portions of said support frame having a top wall for engaging a top surface of a lens retainer of eyewear (within first clip 26, Fig. 1-3), a rear wall (of frame body 31 near first clip 26, Figs. 1-3) for engaging a rear surface of said lens retainer of said eyewear; said rear wall coupled to and perpendicular to said top wall (Figs. 1 & 3); said brow portions having at lateral portions thereof, an anterior support (of clip 26, Figs. 1-3) to engage a front surface of the lens retainer of the eyewear; said anterior support extending downwardly from said top wall to create a channel or pocket for receiving a lateral portion of the lens retainer of the eyewear (Figs. 1 & 3); and wherein the support frame is formed of a rigid material (sufficiently rigid to be fastened by clip structure 26 and mount pad 25, Figs. 1-4); and wherein the flexible portion is made from a compressible material (“nose pieces 253 and the upper contact portion 251 are contacted with the user's nose and forehead to be the supporting point when the glasses are worn, so it avoids the pain that is caused by the directly contact of the lens 11 of the hard main body 1 with the user's nose and forehead, increasing the comfort of the glasses structure of the present invention in use”; col. 3, ll. 56-63), a pair of nose pad supports downwardly extending from said bridge portion, each supporting a nose pad formed from said compressible material (“central contact portion 252 is formed with two nose pieces 253, which nose pieces 253 are respectively corresponded to the both sides of the notch 22 of the frame body 21”, Fig. 1; col. 2, ln. 37-col. 4, ln. 3).
Chou discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose each of said brow portions having an anterior support to engage a front surface of the lens retainer of the eyewear.
Spitzer discloses each of said brow portions having an anterior support to engage a front surface of the lens retainer of the eyewear (Figs. 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide plural supports as taught by Spitzer with the system as disclosed by Chou. The motivation would have been to conform and support an exact design and type of eyewear the frame ([0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Chou discloses said brow cushion is shaped to generally conform to the shape of a user's brow region (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Chou discloses a pair of nose pad supports and a pair of nose pads are separate from said top support and brow cushion (“central contact portion 252 is formed with two nose pieces 253, which nose pieces 253 are respectively corresponded to the both sides of the notch 22 of the frame body 21”, Fig. 1; col. 2, ln. 37-col. 4, ln. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Chou discloses a pair of nose pad supports and a pair of nose pads are formed together with said top support and brow cushion (“central contact portion 252 is formed with two nose pieces 253, which nose pieces 253 are respectively corresponded to the both sides of the notch 22 of the frame body 21”, Fig. 1; col. 2, ln. 37-col. 4, ln. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Chou discloses said top support includes a receiving channel on the bottom side thereof for receiving a top edge of an eyewear frame (Fig. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 13, Chou discloses said bridge portion and said brow portions of said support frame are monolithically formed (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Chou discloses the bridge portion of the support frame comprises a "J" type hook to facilitate coupling to a bridge section of the eyewear (Fig. 1). Further, Spitzer teaches J-type hooks (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Chou discloses the support frame further comprises support legs (unlabeled protrusions extending rearwardly from second clip 27, Fig. 1) extending rearwardly from the lateral edges of the rear wall of the brow portions of the support frame; said support legs having a surface to which a lateral edge of the brow cushion can be coupled (Fig. 1).
Claims 3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Spitzer, as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of US Pat. No. 7,267,434 to Lane et al. (hereinafter Lane).
Regarding claims 3 and 5-7, Chou discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose specific materials of the frame and pad.
Regarding claim 3, Lane discloses wherein said rigid material has a Shore D durometer in the range of 10 to 100 (nylon; col. 2, ln. 43-col. 3, ln. 25).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide claimed material characteristics as taught by Lane with the system as disclosed by Yang. The motivation would have been to rely on a material with known material processing techniques, ubiquity in the technological ecosystem, and material properties (such as density, rigidity, and resilience) known to persons having ordinary skill in the art as design considerations in eyewear.
Regarding claim 5, Lane discloses said compressible material has a Shore 00 durometer in the range of 10 to 90 (as the pliable coating is to be softer than the rib material, embodied as nylon, the unspecified “rubber” must necessarily have a Shore 00 value between 10-90; col. 2, ln. 43-col. 3, ln. 25).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide claimed material characteristics as taught by Lane with the system as disclosed by Yang. The motivation would have been to rely on a material with known material processing techniques, ubiquity in the technological ecosystem, and material properties (such as density, rigidity, and resilience) known to persons having ordinary skill in the art as design considerations in eyewear.
Regarding claim 6, Lane discloses wherein said compressible material is a material chosen from the group consisting of rubbers, silicones, elastomers, thermoplastic elastomers, and polyurethanes (rubber; col. 2, ln. 43-col. 3, ln. 25).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide claimed material characteristics as taught by Lane with the system as disclosed by Yang. The motivation would have been to rely on a material with known material processing techniques, ubiquity in the technological ecosystem, and material properties (such as density, rigidity, and resilience) known to persons having ordinary skill in the art as design considerations in eyewear.
Regarding claim 7, Lane discloses said support frame has a Shore D durometer in the range of 10 to 100 and said flexible portion has a Shore 00 durometer in the range of 10 to 90 (nylon rib and a pliable coating softer than the nylon rib; col. 2, ln. 43-col. 3, ln. 25).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide claimed material characteristics as taught by Lane with the system as disclosed by Yang. The motivation would have been to rely on a material with known material processing techniques, ubiquity in the technological ecosystem, and material properties (such as density, rigidity, and resilience) known to persons having ordinary skill in the art as design considerations in eyewear.
Claims 4 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Spitzer as applied to claim 2, and further in view of WO 2013/010799 to Taeuber.
Regarding claim 4, Chou discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: said rigid material is a material chosen from the group consisting of polycarbonate (PC), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polystyrene (PS), polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE) and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS).
Taeuber discloses said rigid material is a material chosen from the group consisting of polycarbonate (PC), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polystyrene (PS), polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE) and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) (“nose frame 10 is formed from a plastic material which may be identical to the synthetic material of the spectacle frame 1. It has a high rigidity, so it is essentially unyielding or hard“ and “the nose frame is made of polycarbonate (PC) and / or thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU)”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to manufacture a rigid structure of polycarbonate as taught by Taeuber with the system as disclosed by Chou. The motivation would have been to provide a rigid material, ubiquitous in the spectacle frame industry.
Regarding claim 14, Chou discloses said bridge portion, said brow portions and a pair of nose pad supports are monolithically formed (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Chou discloses a pair of nose pads are comprised of the rigid material and the flexible material; and wherein only the flexible material is in physical contact with the wearer (body 21 support nose pieces 253, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Chou discloses the pair of nose pads are adjustable (Fig. 1). The claim does not specify the manner of adjustment, and thus a repositioning on the wearer’s nose make the nose pad structure inherently capable of being adjustable.
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Spitzer as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. No. 7,543,929 to Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 12, Chou discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the claimed second leg.
Yang discloses said two brow portions are generally shaped such that when engaged with an eyewear frame a first leg (portion including hook 234, Figs. 1-4) extends downwardly on a rear side of said eyewear frame and a second leg (first member 237, Figs. 1-4) would extend forwardly on top of the eyewear frame; said top support further comprising two anterior portions located on a lateral end of each of said brow portions and extending downwardly to engage a front side of the eyewear frame (buckles 236, Figs. 1-4).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to first and second legs as taught by Yang with the system as disclosed by Chou. The motivation would have been to conform and secure the padding to a particular design of eyewear.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Spitzer as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. No. 6,938,277 to Lindahl (hereinafter Lindahl).
Regarding claim 19, Chou discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose a screw or saw-tooth attachment system.
Chou discloses the comfort attachment assembly is adapted for fixation to the support frame by a screw or a saw-tooth attachment system (set screw, Figs. 34-35 & 42).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to affix by screw as taught by Lindahl with the system as disclosed by Chou. The motivation would have been to fasten the padding to an eyewear frame in a fashion removable only by a tool.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872