Claim Status
Currently, claims 1-10 are pending in the instant application. Claims 9-10 are withdrawn. This action is written in response to applicant' s correspondence submitted 9/10/2025. All the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but were found insufficient to place the instantly examined claims in condition for allowance. The following rejections are either newly presented, as necessitated by amendment, or are reiterated from the previous office action. Any rejections not reiterated in this action have been withdrawn as necessitated by applicant' s amendments to the claims. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. This action is FINAL.
Claims 1-8 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The objection to claim 1 and 7 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 1-7 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qi et al (WO 2018/226575) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 1, 3-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mekler (PNAS, 2017, vol 114, pp 5443-5448) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 7-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merkle (PNAS, 2017, vol 114, pp 5443-5448) in view of Ahern (The Scientist, 1995, 20, 22) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
New Grounds of Rejections – Necessitated by Amendment to the Claims
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites i) a second container and Cas protein located in the second container…ii) a first container and the n kinds of guide RNA-reporter nucleic acid complex probes. The claim should recite the first container first then the second container. For example the claim should recite i) a first container…ii) a second container. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church (WO2016/028843 A2) in view of GEN (Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology News, Aug 2018, pp. 1-7).
Church teaches a RNA-guided system for detecting target nucleic acid. Church teaches the DNA binding protein-guide RNA complex may be used to for a detectable complex to detect the presence of target DNA. Church teaches the complex comprises the presence of a detectable label and the detectable label is present on the guide RNA (see pg. 2 lines 12-22). Church teaches a plurality of target nucleic acid sequences with a plurality of corresponding guide RNA sequences (see pg. 3, lines 9-11). Church teaches a 3’ tail portion of a guide RNA may be complementary to a probe sequence (see pg. 3, lines 12-15). Church teaches the 3’ tail portion may be complementary or other bind to one or more multiple probe sequences (see pg. 3 line 18-20). Church teaches a guide RNA, tetraloop, with a barcode and labeled probe, including more than one label (see figure 4A and 4B). Church teaches the probe sequence includes a detectable label and the probe sequence is bound to the 3’ tail sequence (see pg. 3, lines 24-26). Church teaches a multiplex method comprising guide RNA/Cas9 protein complexes (n>2) (see pg. 5, line 20-21, pg 6, line 32-36 cont’d to pg 7, line 1-2). Church teaches detectable labels include FRET fluorophores (donor/acceptor pairs) (see pg. 16, lines 3-8). Church teaches probes with multiple gRNA/Cas9 complexes which are differentially labeled (See pg. 18, lines 16-18) (claim 4). Church teaches a single barcode RNA on 3’ tail (single stranded RNA) (see ex 1) (claim 5). Church teaches a kit comprising an ensemble of all Cas9-gRNA complexes (see pg. 47, lines 1-7) (claim 7). Church does not teach using a Cas12 protein.
However, other CRISPR enzymes were known in the art. GEN teaches Cas12a, another CRISPR enzyme is more effective and precise. GEN teaches Cas12a is more specific and Cas12a is better than Cas9 (see last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to replace Cas9 as taught by Church with a more effective and precise Cas protein, Cas12A, as taught by GEN in the Cas-gRNA complex of Church for the expected benefit of a more effective and precise Cas functioning protein, as known in the art.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church (WO2016/028843 A2) in view of GEN (Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology News, Aug 2018, pp. 1-7) and further in view of Ahern (The Scientist, 1995, 20, 22)
Church in view of GEN is set forth above. While Church teaches amplification using polymerases and dNTPs, Church in view of GEN does not teach a kit comprising container for a polymerase or a sixth container for dNTPs.
However Ahern teaches aspects of kits of reagents. Ahern teaches that a kit supplies all of the necessary reagents for a particular application and provides detailed instructions to follow (see pg. 20 – the kit concept). Ahern et al. teaches that packaging reagents in kit format is convenient, offering the scientist the opportunity to better manage their time. Ahern et al. teach that premade reagents and packaged kits saves researchers time (see page 4 and 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined Cas12, gRNA and detectable probe complex of Church in view of GEN and include polymerase and dNTPs into containers in a kit as taught by Ahern et al. Additionally it would have bene prima facie obvious to include additional containers with reagents, including dNTPs, polymerase and buffers in separate containers in a kit as taught by Ahern. One would have been motivated to do so based on the assertion of Ahern that kits of reagents are convenient and save time (see pg. 20).
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAE L BAUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699