DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, filed on December 29, 2025, with respect to objections to claims 28, 39, and 47 have been considered and are persuasive. Objections to claims 28, 39, and 47 have been withdrawn, with the exceptions noted below.
3. Applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of claims 28, 31-35, 39, 41-44, and 47, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Jiang ‘327 (US 2021/0219327) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 28, 31-35, 39, 41-44, and 47.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 47 (line 10) recites “CDM” and it should be - - code domain multiplexing (CDM) - -, for the term to be defined at its first use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 28, 33, 35, 39, 43, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka ‘759 (US 2022/0200759, “Yoshioka ‘759”), in view of Noh ‘734 (US 2021/0328734, “Noh ‘734”), and further in view of Jiang ‘327 (US 2021/0219327, “Jiang ‘327”).
Regarding claims 28 and 47, Yoshioka ‘759 discloses a terminal device (FIG. 11; item 20) comprising:
a processor (FIG. 14, para 214-219; processor 1001) configured to cause the terminal device to:
receive, from a network device, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling a physical shared channel (FIG. 11, para 153; terminal receives DCI from a base station on a downlink channel PDCCH, where the DCI includes scheduling information for PUSCH);
determine whether the DCI indicates an allocation which contains a repetition number; determining a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) table from a plurality of DMRS tables (para 58-60, 69-71, 79-80, and 153; DCI includes indication of whether PUSCH is transmitted with or without repetition, by indicating a number of repetitions; in response to the number of repetition equal to 2 or more, as indicated by the DCI, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B);
in response to determining that the DCI does not indicate the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining, based on the DCI and the DMRS table, first information for DMRS communication over the physical shared channel (para 132; in response to a one-time transmission indicated by the DCI – repetitions disabled, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B),
in response to determining that the DCI indicates the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining a number of repetition based on the DCI and determining second information for DMRS communication over the repetition of the physical shared channel based on the DCI and the DMRS table (FIGS. 4A-4B, para 58-60, 69-71, and 79-80; DCI includes indication of whether PUSCH is transmitted with or without repetition, by indicating a number of repetitions; in response to the number of repetition equal to 2 or more – repetitions enabled, as indicated by the DCI, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B; as seen in FIGS. 4A-4B, DMRS is transmitted over the repetitions of PUSCH).
However, Yoshioka ‘759 does not specifically disclose wherein the first information indicates one or more code domain multiplexing (CDM) groups; and wherein the second information indicates one CDM group.
Noh ‘734 teaches wherein the first information indicates one or more code domain multiplexing (CDM) groups (para 8; DMRS configuration information includes a CDM group identifier; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); and
wherein the second information indicates one CDM group (para 8; DMRS configuration information includes a CDM group identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoshioka ‘759’s terminal device that receives DCI for a physical shared channel, to include Noh ‘734’s DMRS configuration information that includes a CDM group identifier. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an apparatus and method capable of effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (Noh ‘734, para 7).
However, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 does not specifically disclose wherein the DMRS table indicates at least one of DMRS ports, a number of DMRS CDM group(s) without data, a number of front-loaded DMRS symbols, and indices for the DMRS ports.
Jiang ‘327 teaches wherein the DMRS table indicates at least one of DMRS ports (para 84; DMRS table includes DMRS port indicators; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art), a number of DMRS CDM group(s) without data, a number of front-loaded DMRS symbols, and indices for the DMRS ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal device of Yoshioka ‘759 and Noh ‘734, to include Jiang ‘327’s DMRS table that includes DMRS port indicators. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure transmission reliability for ultra-high reliability ultra-low latency communication (uRLLC) service (Jiang ‘327, para 3).
Regarding claim 39, Yoshioka ‘759 discloses a method of communication performed by a network device, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal device, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling a physical shared channel based on a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) table (FIGS. 4A-4B and 11, para 58-60, 69-71, 79-80, and 153; terminal receives DCI from a base station on a downlink channel PDCCH, where the DCI includes scheduling information for PUSCH; DCI includes indication of whether PUSCH is transmitted with or without repetition, by indicating a number of repetitions; in response to the number of repetition equal to 2 or more – repetitions enabled, as indicated by the DCI, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B; thus, PUSCH is scheduled based on the DMRS configuration); wherein:
in response to determining that the DCI does not indicate an allocation which contains a repetition number, the DCI indicates first information for DMRS communication over the physical shared channel (para 132; in response to a one-time transmission indicated by the DCI – repetitions disabled, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B), and
in response to determining that the DCI indicates the allocation which contains the repetition number, the DCI indicates a number of repetition and determining second information for DMRS communication over the repetition of the physical shared channel (FIGS. 4A-4B, para 58-60, 69-71, and 79-80; DCI includes indication of whether PUSCH is transmitted with or without repetition, by indicating a number of repetitions; in response to the number of repetition equal to 2 or more – repetitions enabled, as indicated by the DCI, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B; as seen in FIGS. 4A-4B, DMRS is transmitted over the repetitions of PUSCH).
However, Yoshioka ‘759 does not specifically disclose wherein the first information indicates one or more code domain multiplexing (CDM) groups; and wherein the second information indicates one CDM group.
Noh ‘734 teaches wherein the first information indicates one or more code domain multiplexing (CDM) groups (para 8; DMRS configuration information includes a CDM group identifier; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); and
wherein the second information indicates one CDM group (para 8; DMRS configuration information includes a CDM group identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoshioka ‘759’s method of a network device that transmits DCI for scheduling a physical shared channel, to include Noh ‘734’s DMRS configuration information that includes a CDM group identifier. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an apparatus and method capable of effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (Noh ‘734, para 7).
However, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 does not specifically disclose wherein the DMRS table indicates at least one of DMRS ports, a number of DMRS code domain multiplexing (CDM) group(s) without data, a number of front-loaded DMRS symbols, and indices for the DMRS ports.
Jiang ‘327 teaches wherein the DMRS table indicates at least one of DMRS ports (para 84; DMRS table includes DMRS port indicators; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art), a number of DMRS code domain multiplexing (CDM) group(s) without data, a number of front-loaded DMRS symbols, and indices for the DMRS ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759 and Noh ‘734, to include Jiang ‘327’s DMRS table that includes DMRS port indicators. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure transmission reliability for ultra-high reliability ultra-low latency communication (uRLLC) service (Jiang ‘327, para 3).
Regarding claim 33, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 28, as outlined above.
Further, Yoshioka ‘759 teaches wherein the DMRS table comprises a plurality of informations for the DMRS communication (para 69-71; predefined DMRS configurations include DMRS type A and DMRS type B), and
wherein determining the first information comprises:
in response to determining that the DCI does not indicate the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining, from the DCI, a field for indicating one of the plurality of informations; and determining, from the plurality of informations, the first information (para 132; in response to a one-time transmission indicated by the DCI as a field N=1 – repetitions disabled, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B; thus, the DMRS configuration is indicated by the field N).
Regarding claim 35, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 28, as outlined above.
Further, Yoshioka ‘759 teaches wherein the DMRS table comprises a plurality of informations for the DMRS communication (para 58-60, 69-71, and 79-80; predefined DMRS configurations include DMRS type A and DMRS type B), and
wherein the determining the number of the repetition and the second information comprises:
in response to determining that the DCI indicates the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining, from the DCI, a field for indicating one of the plurality of informations; determining, from the plurality of informations, the second information indicated by the field; and determining the number of the repetition associated with the second information (para 58-60, 69-71, and 79-80; DCI includes indication of whether PUSCH is transmitted with or without repetition, by indicating a number of repetitions; in response to the number of repetition equal to 2 or more – repetitions enabled, as indicated by the DCI, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations; thus, the number of repetitions is determined, and the DMRS configuration is determined based on the number of repetitions, where the number of repetitions reads on a field for indicating one of the plurality of informations, and the DMRS configuration reads on the second information).
Regarding claim 43, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 39, as outlined above.
Further, Yoshioka ‘759 teaches wherein the DMRS table comprises a plurality of informations for the DMRS communication (para 69-71; predefined DMRS configurations include DMRS type A and DMRS type B) and
the DCI comprises a field for indicating one of the plurality of informations (para 58-60; DCI includes indication of the number of repetitions N; DMRS configuration is determined based on the number of repetitions N; thus, DCI includes a field N for indicating the DMRS configuration), and
wherein, in response to determining that the DCI does not indicate the allocation which contains the repetition number, the first information from the plurality of informations is indicated in the field of the DCI (para 132; in response to a one-time transmission indicated by the DCI as a field N=1 – repetitions disabled, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B; thus, the DMRS configuration is indicated by the field N).
Furthermore, Noh ‘734 teaches the first information indicates one or more CDM groups (para 8; DMRS configuration information includes a CDM group identifier; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759, Noh ‘734, and Jiang ‘327, to further include Noh ‘734’s DMRS configuration information the includes a CDM group identifier. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an apparatus and method capable of effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (Noh ‘734, para 7).
7. Claims 31 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka ‘759, in view of Noh ‘734, further in view of Jiang ‘327, and further in view of Cao ‘888 (US 2021/0376888, “Cao ‘888”).
Regarding claim 31, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 28, as outlined above.
However, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 does not specifically disclose wherein the DCI indicates one or more transmission control indication (TCI) states to be used for the physical shared channel, and wherein determining the DMRS table comprises: determining, based on a number of the TCI states indicated in the DCI, the DMRS table from the plurality of DMRS tables.
Cao ‘888 teaches wherein the DCI indicates one or more transmission control indication (TCI) states to be used for the physical shared channel, and wherein determining the DMRS table comprises: determining, based on a number of the TCI states indicated in the DCI, the DMRS table from the plurality of DMRS tables (para 218; DCI indicates a number of TCI states; UE reads TCI states based on the indicated number, and determines a DMRS configuration that corresponds to the read TCI states).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759, Noh ‘734, and Jiang ‘327, to include Cao ‘888’s DCI that indicates a number of TCI states. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a problem of UE-specific PDCCHs of different user equipment superposed on the same transmission resource for transmission, resulting in reducing of utilization of the time-frequency resource (Cao ‘888, para 6).
Regarding claim 41, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 39, as outlined above.
However, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 does not specifically disclose further comprising: determining one or more transmission control indication (TCI) states to be used for the physical shared channel; and determining, based on a number of TCI states indicated in the DCI, a DMRS table from a plurality of DMRS tables.
Cao ‘888 teaches further comprising: determining one or more transmission control indication (TCI) states to be used for the physical shared channel; and determining, based on a number of TCI states indicated in the DCI, a DMRS table from a plurality of DMRS tables (para 218; DCI indicates a number of TCI states; UE reads TCI states based on the indicated number, and determines a DMRS configuration that corresponds to the read TCI states).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759, Noh ‘734, and Jiang ‘327, to include Cao ‘888’s DCI that indicates a number of TCI states. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a problem of UE-specific PDCCHs of different user equipment superposed on the same transmission resource for transmission, resulting in reducing of utilization of the time-frequency resource (Cao ‘888, para 6).
8. Claims 32 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka ‘759, in view of Noh ‘734, further in view of Jiang ‘327, further in view of Cao ‘888, and further in view of Kim ‘433 (US 2022/0239433, “Kim ‘433”).
Regarding claims 32 and 42, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734, Jiang ‘327, and Cao ‘888 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 31 and 41, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Yoshioka ‘759 teaches wherein the plurality of DMRS tables comprise at least a first DMRS table and a second DMRS table (para 69-71; DMRS configurations including at least four types), and
wherein determining the DMRS table comprises:
in response to determining that the DCI does not indicate the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining the first DMRS table as the DMRS table (para 132; in response to a one-time transmission indicated by the DCI – repetitions disabled, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B); and
in response to determining that the DCI does not indicate the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining the second DMRS table as the DMRS table (para 132; in response to a one-time transmission indicated by the DCI – repetitions disabled, a specific DMRS configuration is used from a plurality of predefined DMRS configurations including type A and type B);
Furthermore, Cao ‘888 teaches in response to the one or more TCI states including more than one TCI state, determining the second DMRS table as the DMRS table (para 218; DCI indicates a number of TCI states; UE reads TCI states based on the indicated number, and determines a DMRS configuration that corresponds to the read TCI states).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759, Noh ‘734, Jiang ‘327, and Cao ‘888, to further include Cao ‘888’s DCI that indicates a number of TCI states. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a problem of UE-specific PDCCHs of different user equipment superposed on the same transmission resource for transmission, resulting in reducing of utilization of the time-frequency resource (Cao ‘888, para 6).
Although Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734, Jiang ‘327, and Cao ‘888 discloses in response to determining that the DCI does not indicate the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining the first DMRS table as the DMRS table, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734, Jiang ‘327, and Cao ‘888 does not specifically disclose in response to the one or more TCI states including a single TCI state, determining the first DMRS table as the DMRS table.
Kim ‘433 teaches in response to the one or more TCI states including a single TCI state, determining the first DMRS table as the DMRS table (para 316 and 322; a DMRS table is configurable according to an indication of a single TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759, Noh ‘734, Jiang ‘327, and Cao ‘888, to include Kim ‘433’s DMRS table that is configurable according to the indication of a single TCI state. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting and receiving a Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS) performed by a User Equipment (UE) supported by multiple Transmission Reception Points (TRPs) in a wireless communication system (Kim ‘433, para 4).
9. Claims 34 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka ‘759, in view of Noh ‘734, further in view of Jiang ‘327, and further in view of Tang ‘905 (US 2020/0059905, “Tang ‘905”).
Regarding claim 34, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 28, as outlined above.
Further, Yoshioka ‘759 teaches wherein the DMRS table comprises a plurality of informations for the DMRS communication (para 69-71; predefined DMRS configurations include DMRS type A and DMRS type B), and
wherein determining the number of the repetition and the second information comprises:
in response to determining that the DCI indicates the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining, from the DCI, a first field for indicating the number of the repetition; determining, based on the first field, the number of the repetition (para 58-60; DCI indicates whether PUSCH is transmitted with or without repetition, by including a number of transmissions N; N reads on a first field for indicating the number of the repetitions).
Although Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses in response to determining that the DCI indicates the allocation which contains the repetition number, determining, from the DCI, a first field for indicating the number of the repetition; determining, based on the first field, the number of the repetition, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 does not specifically disclose wherein determining the second information comprises: determining, from the DCI, a second field for indicating one of the plurality of informations; and determining, from the plurality of informations, the second information.
Tang ‘905 teaches wherein determining the second information comprises: determining, from the DCI, a second field for indicating one of the plurality of informations; and determining, from the plurality of informations, the second information (para 51; DCI includes DMRS configuration information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759, Noh ‘734, and Jiang ‘327, to include Tang ‘905’s DCI that includes DMRS configuration information. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a problem of how to notify, by a network-side device, of a terminal device an uplink multiple access manner adopted for the terminal device (Tang ‘905, para 2).
Regarding claim 44, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 39, as outlined above.
Further, Yoshioka ‘759 teaches wherein the DMRS table comprises a plurality of informations for the DMRS communication (para 69-71; predefined DMRS configurations include DMRS type A and DMRS type B),
the DCI comprises a first field for indicating the number of the repetition, wherein, in response to determining that the DCI indicates the allocation which contains the repetition number, the number of the repetition is indicated in the first field (para 58-60; DCI indicates whether PUSCH is transmitted with or without repetition, by including a number of transmissions N; N reads on a first field for indicating the number of the repetitions).
Although Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 discloses the DCI comprises a first field for indicating the number of the repetition, wherein, in response to determining that the DCI indicates the allocation which contains the repetition number, the number of the repetition is indicated in the first field, Yoshioka ‘759 in combination with Noh ‘734 and Jiang ‘327 does not specifically disclose the DCI comprises a second field for indicating one of the plurality of informations and the second information from the plurality of information is indicated in the second field.
Tang ‘905 teaches the DCI comprises a second field for indicating one of the plurality of informations and the second information from the plurality of information is indicated in the second field (para 51; DCI includes DMRS configuration information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Yoshioka ‘759, Noh ‘734, and Jiang ‘327, to include Tang ‘905’s DCI that includes DMRS configuration information. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a problem of how to notify, by a network-side device, of a terminal device an uplink multiple access manner adopted for the terminal device (Tang ‘905, para 2).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474