DETAILED ACTION
Note: Change in Examiner and SPE
The Examiner of record is now Genevieve Alley, Art Unit 1617. Therefore, future correspondence should reflect such changes. Also, at the end of the Action is the information regarding the SPE and the Art Unit.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Claim Objection/Rejections
All rejections pertaining to claim 34 are moot because the claim was cancelled in view of the amendments filed on 12/22/25.
The rejection of claims 22, 23 and 34 under U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention is hereby withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed on 12/22/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Applicant' s claim amendments have necessitated the following new grounds of rejection.
Claims 23 and 35 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 23 is unclear. Claim 23 recites: “…wherein the total concentration of the at least one is from 15 wt%...”. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner is assuming that this is still related to the claimed polyols for prior art analysis. The Examiner suggests amending to “…wherein the total concentration of the at least one polyol is from 15 wt%...” in order to obviate the instant rejection.
Claim 35 is unclear because it depends directly from canceled claim 34. It is therefore, unclear what is encompassed by the composition of claim 35. It is noted, that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification (See MPEP §2111) and therefore, for purposes of compact prosecution, the abovementioned claims are being interpreted as dependent from claim 19. It is suggested to amend “The composition of claim 34…” in claim 35 to “The composition of claim 19…” in order to obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21-33 and 36-38 remain rejected and claim 40 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR101869976B1; published 22 June 2018; cited in the IDS filed 18 October 2022) in view of Schmaus et al. (US20180353392A1; published 13 December 2018; cited on PTO-892 mailed 11/19/2024).
The passages cited below which indicate the teachings of KR101869976B1 are based on its English translation, of record 11/19/2024.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Kim teaches a pack (mask) cosmetic composition [0001] that comprises sodium or potassium alginate at 1-30 wt% [0023], calcium sulphate at 1-50 wt% [0024], oils at 10-70 wt% [0026], a delaying agent, sodium pyrophosphate, at 0.1-20 wt% [0025] (i.e., complexing agent), emulsifiers at 0.1-30 wt% [0027] and polyglycerol-4 isostearate [0017]. Kim teaches “a composition consisting of a mixture containing no water” [0042] (i.e., anhydrous, limitation of claim 19) and can be used by mixing the composition with water in a volume ratio of 1:1 to 1:3 [0029] (limitations of claims 37-38 and 40). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(1).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Kim does not teach “at least one polyol”, “wherein the one or more polyol comprises one or more of propylene glycol, butylene glycol, glycerin, or sorbitol”, “wherein the one or more polyol comprises glycerin”, “wherein the total concentration of the at least one [polyol] is from 15 wt% to 50 wt %, based on the total weight of the composition”, “wherein the at least one oil comprises at least one of” a Markush grouping of oils, and wherein the composition further comprises licochalcone A as required by instant claims 19, 21-23, 30 and 36. However, these deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Schmaus et al.
Schmaus et al. teaches a cosmetic delivery system for actives in the form of a face mask [Abstract]. Schmaus et al. discloses a composition where the carrier is selected from a group containing the alginate salts: sodium alginate, potassium alginate, ammonium alginate, and calcium alginate [0013]. Schmaus et al. further discloses the use of polyol carriers including glycerol (glycerin), sorbitol, propylene glycol, and butylene glycol as skin moisturizing agents [0213], where the carriers are present at 5-50 wt% [0020, limitation of claims 20-23]. In addition, Schmaus et al. discloses the use of caprylic/capric triglyceride oil, as a glycosaminoglycan stimulator at 10 wt% [Table 3, limitation of claim 30] and the use of licochalcone A, as a skin pigment modulator [0201, limitation of claim 36] in a face mask formulation.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cosmetic composition of Kim and with the polyols, caprylic/capric triglyceride oil, and licochalcone A of Schmaus et al. and arrive at the compositions of these instant claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do to create face mask with skin moisturizing agents, glycosaminoglycan stimulators to retain moisture in the skin, and skin pigment modulators. Therefore, the combination of known prior art elements is expected to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A).
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 34-35 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR101869976B1; published 22 June 2018; cited in the IDS filed 18 October 2022) in view of Schmaus et al. (US20180353392A1; published 13 December 2018; cited on PTO-892 mailed 11/19/2024) as applied to claims 19, 21-33, 36-38 and 40 above, and further in view of O’Neill et al. (WO 2013/153358A1, published 10/17/2013; of record) and Whitfill (US 2019/0298780, priority to 9/5/2017; of record).
The teachings of Kim and Schmaus as applied to claims 19, 21-33 an d36-38 above has been described supra. Kim and Schmaus od not further teach wherein the cosmetic composition comprises at least one probiotically active bacterial strain from the genus Staphylococcus or Cutibacterium, which has a positive effect on skin health, or wherein the composition further comprises at least one protector strain of the genus Lactobacillus, which promotes colonization of the probiotically active bacterial strain. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of O’Neill et al. and Whitfill.
O’Neill et al. teaches probiotic bacterium and lysates thereof for medical and cosmetic applications, wherein the probiotic bacterium is Lactobacillus rhamnosus, Lactobacillus reuteri and/or Bifidobacterium longum, wherein cosmetic applications include cosmetic compositions for improving hydration of the skin and/or improving the appearance of skin comprising one or more probiotic bacterium or lysate thereof of Lactobacillus rhamnosus, Lactobacillus reuteri and Bifidobacterium longum, wherein the cosmetic composition is topically applied to the skin in various forms including gels, pastes, ointments, creams, lotions, oils and patches (see entire document, particularly pages 4-6, 10-11, 18-25 and 27-28).
Whitfill teaches methods of treating various skin diseases or disorders comprising topically administering a living biotherapeutic composition comprising at least one recombinant probiotic microorganism that secretes therapeutic proteins such as filaggrin due its role in the skin barrier and ability to reduce transepidermal water loss and improve skin hydration (see entire document, particularly, pars [0004] [0006-0010], [0035], [0050]-[0055], [0106], 01110]-[0111]). Whitfill teaches that engineered probiotics leverage the skin microbiome for therapeutic purposes and an engineered probiotic has important advantages over other methods of drug delivery, as it will establish residence on the patient's skin and continuously and stably deliver therapeutic proteins in situ, par [0004]. Whitfill teaches the engineered probiotic microorganism is Staphylococcus epidermidis, but can also include various additional engineered probiotic microorganisms including Lactobacillus, pars, [0007], [0052]. Whitfill teaches the topical formulation includes any form suitable for administration to the body surface including a cream, lotion, spray, solution, gel ointment, or paste and may be nonaqueous, pars [0010]-[0011].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anhydrous cosmetic composition/gel of Kim and Schmaus et al, which comprises 1-30 wt% sodium or potassium alginate, 1-50 wt% calcium sulphate, 10-70 wt% oils, a delaying agent, 0.1-20 wt% sodium pyrophosphate (complexing agent), 0.1-30 wt% emulsifiers, polyglycerol-4 isostearate, polyols, caprylic/capric triglyceride oil, and licochalcone A (Kim and Schmaus et al, supra), to further include engineered probiotic bacteria including Staphylococcus epidermidis and Lactobacillus rhamnosus and/or Lactobacillus reuteri that secrete therapeutic proteins such as filaggrin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include engineered probiotic bacteria including Staphylococcus epidermidis and Lactobacillus rhamnosus and/or Lactobacillus reuteri that secrete filaggrin in order reduce transepidermal water loss and improve hydration of the skin, and/or improving the appearance of skin because O'Neill et al teach that topical application of Lactobacillus rhamnosus and/or Lactobacillus reuteri cometic improve hydration of the skin and improve the appearance of skin, and Whitfill teaches topical application of engineered probiotics Staphylococcus epidermidis and Lactobacillus that secrete filaggrin reduce transepidermal water loss, improve skin hydration, and offer the advantages of establishing residence on the patient's skin to continuously and stably deliver therapeutic proteins (e.g., "when colonized on skin, has a positive effect on skin health", claim 34). The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the above modifications because both O'Neill et al and Whitfill both teach topical application of probiotic bacterium in the form a gel that can be nonaqueous (anhydrous) according to Whitfill.
With respect to claim 35 and the recitation "at least one protector strain of genus Lactobacillus which promotes a colonization of the probiotically active bacteria strain.", while the prior art does not expressly use that exact language, Lactobacillus rhamnosus and Lactobacillus reuteri taught by O'Neill et al are identical to the Lactobacillus rhamnosus and Lactobacillus reuteri that serve as protector strains and therefore Lactobacillus rhamnosus and Lactobacillus reuteri of O'Neill et al would necessarily function as a 'protector strain, which 'promotes a colonization of the probiotically active bacteria strain'. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
Applicants argue that neither Kim nor Schmaus teaches or suggests that the specific emulsifiers recited in instant claim 19 prevent phase separation of the composition when water is added thereto (Remarks: ¶ bridging p. 7-8).
This is not found persuasive. It is first noted that instant independent claim 19 and its dependent claims are directed to a composition claim; a composition that is claimed to be anhydrous and there is no functional language directed to specific polyols being capable in preventing phase separation when water is added later. Therefore, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., prevention of phase separation upon addition of water) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Secondly, in response to Applicants’ argument of unexpected results, the Examiner responds with the following statements:
(a) It is noted that Kim teach that its anhydrous composition can be added to water prior to use [0067] and is assumed to be stable because Kim does not address stability issues upon addition of water. Furthermore, the instant specification states that “for use in the process according to the invention, the composition according to the invention is mixed with water in a weight ratio to water of from 10:90 to 60:40, preferably from 15:85 to 40:60, and in particular preferably from 20:80 to 35:65. During mixing, a homogeneous composition is obtained. The mask composition obtained in this way is advantageously applied to the skin within 10 minutes after mixing.” Such suggests that the stability might not be for very long since the application of the final product (post addition of water) needs to be within 10 minutes of addition of water. However, the data presented merely indicates “The examples which are not in accordance with the invention and the mixtures containing the composition which are not in accordance with the invention (1, 3, 6) showed immediate phase separation. Consequently, these mixtures were unstable. Mixtures of the compositions according to the invention (2, 4, 5) with water were significantly more stable.“
(b) Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims (See MPEP § 716.02(b)-III). In the instant case, the instant specification does not provide any side-by-side comparable data.
(c) Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range (see MPEP § 716.02(d)). See note (a) for what the specification discloses. It is not clear from the data, how long the stability lasts. Of the claimed emulsifiers, data is only presented for polyglyceryl-4 isostearate and polyglyceryl-10 caprylate/caprate and therefore it is not clear if the stability occurs when the emulsifier is the other claimed emulsifiers that are structurally different. Furthermore, does the amount of the emulsifier affect the stability upon addition of water? Such is not clear from the data presented in the specification. In the instant case, the claims are directed to a broad range of components and unlimited concentration ranges whereas the compositions compared in the specification are much more limited (e.g., one data point (concentration) per studied emulsifier).
Applicants argue that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have combined the disclosures of Kim and Schmaus as Kim is directed to a pack cosmetic composition, which may be mixed with water and Schmaus is directed to a delivery system comprising a base and two separate compositions (i. an active-substance preparation, and ii. A separate wetting liquid), which are not mixed yet (Remarks: p. 9). Applicants state that the Examiner relies [0213] which describes some polyols being used as skin moisturizing agents and argue that one of ordinary skill in the art would primarily consider the characteristics described in [0251] which discloses that the polyols are used to improve flow behavior (Remarks: p. 10).
This is not found persuasive. The Examiner disputes that one of ordinary skill in the art would only rely on part of the prior art. Prior art "must be read, not in isolation, but for what it fairly teaches in combination with the prior art as a whole." In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/GENEVIEVE S ALLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617