DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 amended
Claims 10-14 canceled
Claims 1-9, 14-17 pending
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gayden (PG Pub 2018/0277849 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Gayden teaches the process of forming an anode component, as a conductive track for a lithium-ion battery, as an electronic module (abstract). Gayden the process of using atmospheric plasma for forming plurality of anode material layer as multiple successive passes of the plasma nozzle over the substrate to build a plurality of anode material layers [0036] where the anode material comprises conductive particles plasma sprayed onto a substrate, where the anode materials include a combination of Copper and Tin particles [0044]. Gayden teaches the process of coating electrode material (128) using plasma generator nozzle (120) onto current collector foil (124) as surface (figure 4, [0045]-[0046]).
Therefore, Gayden teaches the process of applying plurality of layers for forming anode materials [0036], where each layer comprises both Copper (first material) and Tin (second material). Leading to spraying a first layer comprising second material/Tin on the surface, then spraying a second layer comprising first material/Copper onto the second material/Tin.
Gayden teaches in the process of applying using plasma process, an atmospheric plasma process for spraying material at a temperature of less than 2000°C [0012], encompassing for examples 500°C to 1000°C. Where at this temperature range (500°C to 1000°C) the second material of Tin would be melted into a liquid form (with a melting point of 232°C), and the copper would remain in a solid form (with a melting point of 1085°C). Therefore, the liquid would consist of melted Tin, while the solid would consist of Copper only. Moreover, the spraying of the first layer consisting of liquid second material (liquid Tin) on the surface, then spraying a second layer consisting of solid first material (solid Copper) onto the liquid second material (liquid Tin).
Gayden does not explicitly teach the resulting of interdiffusion by combining the solid first material and the liquid second metallic material.
However, Gayden teaches each and every process step and limitation of the applicant’s claims, including the “heating first and second material; the process of applying the liquid second material particles as an electrical and conductive track layer having a lower melting point that the first material particles, and spraying the solid first martial onto the liquid second material”. Since the “the solid first material and the liquid second metallic material combine by interdiffusion” by the applicant’s claimed process is simply a function of the “heating first and second material; the process of applying the liquid second material particles as an electrical and conductive track layer having a lower melting point that the first material particles, and spraying the solid first martial onto the liquid second material”, and Gayden teaches the claimed process steps. The process of Gayden would have naturally flow or inherently produced “the solid first material and the liquid second metallic material combine by interdiffusion” unless essential process steps and/or limitations are missing from the applicant’s claims.
Additionally, Gayden teaches the process of application using a plasma spray coating an anode layer as a conductive track comprises a combination of the first metallic and electrically conductive material Copper particles combined with the second metallic material Tin particles for forming the conductive track/anode layer. Where copper have melting point of 1085℃, and Tin have melting point of 232℃. Leading to having a second metallic particles (Tin) with lower melting point than the first metallic particles (Copper). Gayden teaches the battery (as an electronic module) is assembled, outwardly from each side of the anode material layer (conductive track), of porous polymeric separator layer, and cathode material layer and cathode current collector [0049], where the anode material layer and cathode current collector on both sides of the anode layer are electrical components that are electrically connected by anode material layer (conductive components). Gayden teaches in the process of applying using plasma process, the atmospheric plasma process meets the sprayed material to a temperature of less than 2000°C [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for skilled person in art that the plasma spraying process to heat the first material and the second material to a temperature in the range of for example 500°C to 1000°C, maintaining the first material (with a melting point of 1085°C) at a solid state during the heating process, where the second material (with a melting point of 232°C) would melt, with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Consider Claims 2-4, Gayden teaches the process of plasma spray coating a first layer (of the plurality of anode material) as a conductive track comprises copper particles, followed by plasma spray coating a second layer onto the first layer/conductive track which comprises Tin particles. Where copper have melting point of 1085℃, and Tin have melting point of 232℃. Leading to having a second metallic particles (Tin) with lower melting point than the first metallic particles (Copper).
Consider Claim 6, Gayden teaches the process of plasma spraying using include copper particle as first material, and second material of Tin particles (per claim 1) as copper have melting point of 1050 Celsius degree, and Tin have melting point of 232℃. Gayden teaches the plasma spray process of the temperature of less than 2000°C [0012], leading to at least melting point of either material.
Gayden does not explicitly teach the resulting of forming splatter-like of the first material particles and/or the second material particles.
However, Gayden teaches each and every process step and limitation of the applicant’s claims, including the “process of applying the first material particles as an electrical and conductive track layer and spraying second material particles having lower melting point that the first material particles, onto the first material particles”. Since the “forming splatter-like of the first material particles and/or the second material particles” by the applicant’s claimed process is simply a function of the “process of applying the first material particles as an electrical and conductive track layer and spraying second material particles having lower melting point that the first material particles, onto the first material particles”, and Gayden teaches the claimed process steps. The process of Gayden would have naturally flow or inherently produced “forming splatter-like of the first material particles and/or the second material particles” unless essential process steps and/or limitations are missing from the applicant’s claims.
Consider Claims 7-8, Gayden teaches the process of multilayer deposition process [0036], and the sequential plasma deposition of the next layer comprising copper or Tin [0035], as the alternating and sequential plasma deposition of plurality of layer including having Tin layer (as second material layer) over copper layer (as first material layer), over another Tin layer (as second material layer).
Consider Claim 9, Gayden teaches the process of coating uniform layer/adhered network up to about 150 micron, and the plasma spraying with a temperature of less than 2000 degree [0012] for plurality of layer [0036]. Leading to heat treatment using (for example) third layer while under 200 degree, the below layered structure having the first material layer (of Copper) with a second material layer (of Tin).
Consider Claim 15, Gayden teaches the process of coating uniform layer/adhered network up to about 150 micron, and the plasma spraying with a temperature of less than 2000 degree [0012] for plurality of layer [0036].
Gayden does not explicitly teach the first material and the second material are interdiffused with one another.
However, Gayden teaches each and every process step and limitation of the applicant’s claims, including the “process of applying the first material as an electrical and conductive track layer, and spray coating a second material with laser melting point than the first material”. Since the “the first material and the second material are interdiffused with one another” by the applicant’s claimed process is simply a function of the “process of applying the first material as an electrical and conductive track layer, and spray coating a second material with laser melting point than the first material”, and Gayden teaches the claimed process steps. The process of Gayden would have naturally flow or inherently produced “the first material and the second material are interdiffused with one another” unless essential process steps and/or limitations are missing from the applicant’s claims.
Consider Claim 16, Gayden teaches the process of coating uniform layer/adhered network up to about 150 micron, and the plasma spraying with a temperature of less than 2000°C [0012] for plurality of layer [0036].
Gayden does not explicitly teach the resulting of forming a conductor track comprises islands formed by the first material.
However, Gayden teaches each and every process step and limitation of the applicant’s claims, including the “process of applying the first material as an electrical and conductive track layer”. Since the “forming a conductor track comprises islands formed by the first material” by the applicant’s claimed process is simply a function of the “process of applying the first material as an electrical and conductive track layer”, and Gayden teaches the claimed process steps. The process of Gayden would have naturally flow or inherently produced “forming a conductor track comprises islands formed by the first material” unless essential process steps and/or limitations are missing from the applicant’s claims.
Consider Claim 17, Gayden teaches the process of forming an anode component, as a conductive track for a lithium-ion battery, as a power component (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5;
None of the prior arts disclose or suggest the claimed process of forming a conductive track comprising; heating plurality of particles to a temperature, applying the heated particle to a substrate, the particles are comprises first material as a core and coated with the second material, where the second material has a lower melting point than the first material, and melts during the heating, while the first material remain in a solid state, as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 15-17 under 103a have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gayden.
The previously applied 112 claims rejection, in light of the amended claim are now withdrawn.
The applicant argued on the ground that the newly amended claim, discloses that the first material is solid spray and the second material is liquid spray, forming interdiffusion upon impact of the solid spray onto the liquid material.
However, Gayden discloses that the process includes using plasma process for spraying material at a temperature of less than 2000°C [0012], encompassing for examples 500°C to 1000°C. Where at this temperature range (500°C to 1000°C) the second material of Tin would be melted into a liquid form (with a melting point of 232°C), and the copper would remain in a solid form (with a melting point of 1085°C). Therefore, the liquid would consist of melted Tin, while the solid would consist of Copper only. Moreover, the spraying of the first layer consisting of liquid second material (liquid Tin) on the surface, then spraying a second layer consisting of solid first material (solid Copper) onto the liquid second material (liquid Tin).
All other applicant arguments not specifically addressed above are deemed unpersuasive as either not commensurate in scope with the broadly drafted claims or are unsupported by factual evidence and are deemed mere attorney speculation.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718