DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks and/or Arguments
Prior Art Rejection(s)
In the Advisory Action mailed December 17, 2025, the status of the claim(s) in light of the prior art of record was as follow(s): Claim(s) 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, and 35 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) in view of JIN (US 20220150783 A1).
Responsive to the prior art rejection of said claim(s), applicants argue that the prior art of record, the combination of CHOI in view of JIN, fails to render obvious said claims (See 11/13/2025 Remarks, Page 7). The applicants provide three reasons to support said argument. The first of the reasons being that,
“Claim 25 recites "the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session
associated with the first S-NSSAI," which is different from "UE is neither registered in the
network nor reachable by the network by paging" in paragraph [0074] of CHOI. In other words, a state of the UE is different between Claim 25 and CHOI.”
The second reason being,
“Claim 25 recites "receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a message comprising first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) and associated priority information, wherein the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information correspond to second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being transmitted by a user equipment (UE) to the AMF" In contrast to claim 25, CHOI discloses "target frequency information" that is associated with S-NSSAI values included in an IE "Rejected NSSAI." The "target frequency information" in CHOI therefore corresponds to S-NSSAI values that have been rejected by the AMF, not to the second S-NSSAI included in the NAS message transmitted by the UE to the AMF.”
Finally, the third reason being
“Claim 25 recites "A method performed by a base station, the method comprising: (---) performing a handover procedure to move the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the target first S-NSSAI, to the first cell selected as the target cell." which is different from "the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands" in CHOI. In other words, the entity that triggers handover is different between Claim 25 and CHOI. In Claim 25, the entity that triggers handover is the base station, while in CHOI the entity that triggers handover is the UE.”.
The examiner disagrees with the arguments presented with respect to prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 25-35. The reasons supporting the arguments will be addressed below.
Applicants first argue that CHOI in view of JIN fails to render obvious claim 25, because
“Claim 25 recites "the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session
associated with the first S-NSSAI," which is different from "UE is neither registered in the
network nor reachable by the network by paging" in paragraph [0074] of CHOI. In other words, a state of the UE is different between Claim 25 and CHOI.”
In response to this argument, it is first noted that there is no mention or recitation of a “state” of a UE in claim 25. Applicants are reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Second, with respect to this argument, it appears that the Applicants conclude, based on CHOI’s recitation in [Par. 74] that the "UE is neither registered in the network nor reachable by the network by paging", that CHOI does not and/or maybe can’t support a feature of a (state of a) UE maintaining a PDU session. In regards to this conclusion is not exactly clear how this conclusion was reached solely based upon [CHOI, Par. 74] as Applicants provide no additional reasoning to support this conclusion. If there is some type of technical underpinning that provides support for this conclusion, it is suggested that it be provided in further correspondence, as it would be helpful in a future determination of the status of the claims in light of the prior art of record. The recitation in [CHOI, Par. 74] alone, does not appear to support a conclusion that CHOI does not and/or maybe can’t support a feature of a (state of a) UE maintaining a PDU session. Further with respect to [CHOI, Par. 74], the recitation in [Par. 74] seems to more generally directed to a problem that may be encountered when performing cell selection/reselection and not a permanent state where the UE of CHOI is unable to register, see where it also recites in [Par. 74].
“…In such a configuration, the UE may attempt to register from an area and/or a cell that supports S-NSSAI 2 which may take some time. But as long as the UE cannot register successfully with the indented slice, the UE is neither registered in the network nor reachable by the network by paging. Therefore, in various embodiments, a UE may perform cell selection to a cell operating in frequency bands for specific network slices.”
Thus, in a situation where the UE is unable to register with an intended network slice (identified by S-NSSAI), CHOI teaches performing cell selection in particular frequency bands in order to register with the intended network slice, in order for the UE to successfully accomplish the desired registration. This is further supported by [Choi, Par. 75] where it recites:
“[0075] In certain embodiments, frequency band specific configuration of network slices may be used if UE's subscribed S-NSSAIs contain both S-NSSAI 1 and S-NSSAI 2 if a UE can register successfully to any RAN Area. However, if the UE wants to initiate a URLLC service while camped on eMBB slice on RAN Area 1, then an NAS service request message sent by the UE may be rejected. As consequence, the UE may attempt to register from an area and/or a cell that supports a URLLC slice that may take some time. In some embodiments, a UE may be enabled to perform service-initiated cell selection to cells operating in frequency bands for specific network slices.”
Thus, based upon the additional citations, CHOI does indeed appear support a state where a UE is registered which may be a state where the UE is able to maintain a PDU session. Finally, with respect to argument, it is noted that CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) was further combined with JIN (US 20220150783 A1) in order to arrive at a feature of, "…the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session
associated with the first S-NSSAI…", as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 25 (See, the Final Rejection mailed August 13, 2025, page(s) 9-11). Applicants are reminded one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually (i.e. CHOI) where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Thus, for the reasons explained the argument that the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest "the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI,", as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 25, is not persuasive.
Next Applicants argue that CHOI in view of JIN fails to render obvious claim 25, because “Claim 25 recites "receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a message comprising first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) and associated priority information, wherein the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information correspond to second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being transmitted by a user equipment (UE) to the AMF" In contrast to claim 25, CHOI discloses "target frequency information" that is associated with S-NSSAI values included in an IE "Rejected NSSAI." The "target frequency information" in CHOI therefore corresponds to S-NSSAI values that have been rejected by the AMF, not to the second S-NSSAI included in the NAS message transmitted by the UE to the AMF.”
With respect to this argument the examiner disagrees with the conclusion that CHOI does not teach, "receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a message comprising first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) and associated priority information, wherein the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information correspond to second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being transmitted by a user equipment (UE) to the AMF". CHOI teaches a RAN Node receiving from an AMF a message comprising a first S-NSSAI, Rejected NSSAI, and associated priority information, with carrier frequency priority index, where the first S-NSSAI, Rejected NSSAI, corresponds to a second S-NSSAI, Rejected NSSAI, comprised in a NAS message transmitted by a UE to the AMF.
“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).”
Therefore, the argument that CHOI does not teach, "receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a message comprising first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) and associated priority information, wherein the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information correspond to second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being transmitted by a user equipment (UE) to the AMF" is not persuasive.
Finally, with respect to the argument that CHOI fails to teach claim 25, because in CHOI "the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands" which is different form claim 25, because, “In Claim 25, the entity that triggers handover is the base station...”, it is noted that CHOI also supports a base station, RAN Node, triggering the handover. See where in CHOI it recites,
“[0077]…i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly…”
Additionally, claim 25, does not require that the base station trigger a handover, only that a handover process be performed by the base station, “25. A method performed by a base station, the method comprising...performing a handover procedure to move the UE…”. Applicants are reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, the argument that CHOI fails to teach claim 25, because in CHOI "the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands" which is different form claim 25, because, “In Claim 25, the entity that triggers handover is the base station...”, is unpersuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) in view of JIN (US 20220150783 A1) is maintained. Furthermore, the rejection(s) of claim(s) 26-35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) in view of JIN (US 20220150783 A1) are also maintained as they were argued as being non-obvious in light of the prior art of record for substantially the same reasons provided with respect to claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 32, 33, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) in view of JIN (US 20220150783 A1).
In regards to claim(s) 25 and 29, CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a message comprising first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) and associated priority information, wherein the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information correspond to second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being transmitted by a user equipment (UE) to the AMF; and
selecting a first cell as a target cell based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information; and performing handover procedure to move the UE (CHOI [Par. 72 – Par. 73] teaches a UE sending a NAS Registration Request Message to an AMF, the NAS Registration Request Message comprising a S-NSSAI “[0073] In certain embodiments, PLMN selection and the cell selection and/or reselection may be carried out by a UE without any slice awareness. That means, upon selecting a suitable cell the UE sends an NAS registration request message which may be rejected by an AMF if the current area and/or cell does not support any of the S-NSSAIs the UE wants to register (e.g., using IE “Requested NSSAI” in a registration request message)., “[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ). The handover feature of CHOI differs from the handover feature of claim 25, in that CHOI is silent on with respect to the step of performing handover procedure to move the UE associated with the first S-NSSAI to the first cell selected as the target cell, in that CHOI is silent on of performing handover procedure to move the UE maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI to the first cell selected as the target cell.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network. JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover feature of CHOI in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive at a step of performing handover procedure to move the UE maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI to the first cell selected as the target cell, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
In regards to claim 26, CHOI teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the message comprises a N2 message (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).”)
In regards to claim 27, CHOI is silent on the method according to Claim 25, wherein the active PDU session is associated with the first S-NSSAI that is supported by the first cell after the handover occurs Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network. JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover feature of CHOI in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive the method according to Claim 25, wherein the active PDU session is associated with the first S-NSSAI that is supported by the first cell after the handover occurs, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
In regards to claim 28, CHOI teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the base station comprises a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) (“[0069] In some embodiments, a network slice instance: may be a set of network function (“NF”) instances and may have required resources (e.g., compute, storage, and networking resources) which form a deployed network slice and may include CN C-plane and U-plane NFs and/or a next generation RAN (“NG-RAN”). Moreover, a network slice instance may be associated with one or more S-NSSAIs. Further, an S-NSSAI may be associated with one or more network slice instances. Multiple network slice instances may be associated with the same 5-NSSAI and may be deployed in the same or in different tracking areas.”).
In regards to claim(s) 30, CHOI a method performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) comprising:
setting first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) and associated priority information that correspond to a second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being received from a user equipment (UE), and
transmitting, to a base station, a message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE, (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ). The handover feature of CHOI differs from the handover feature of claim 30, in that CHOI is silent on with respect to the step of transmitting, to the base station, the message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE to the first cell, the first cell being selected as a target cell based on the first-S-NSSAI and the associated priority information, in that CHOI is silent on transmitting, to the base station, the message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI, to the first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell based on the first-S-NSSAI and the associated priority information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network. JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover feature of CHOI in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive at a step transmitting, to a base station, a message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI, to a first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell based on the first-S-NSSAI and the associated priority information, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
In regards to claim 31, CHOI teaches the method according to claim 30, wherein the message comprises a N2 message (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).”)
In regards to claim 32, CHOI teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting, to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message comprising second Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI);
and
performing a handover procedure, initiated by the base station, to move to a first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell by the base station based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information;
the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information being comprised in a message being received by the base station from the AMF, the first N-SSAI and the associated priority information corresponding to the first S-NSSAI (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
The handover feature of CHOI differs from the handover feature of claim 32, in that CHOI is silent on with respect to UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network. JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover feature of CHOI in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive at the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
In regards to claim 33, CHOI teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the message comprises a plurality of first S-NSSAI and a plurality of associated priority information, and the NAS message comprises a plurality of second S-NSSAIs (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages)… ).
In regards claim 34, CHOI teaches the method according to claim 30, wherein the message comprises a plurality of first S-NSSAI and a plurality of associated priority information, and the NAS message comprises a plurality of second S-NSSAIs (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
In regards claim 35, CHOI teaches the method according to claim 32, wherein the message comprises a plurality of first S-NSSAI and a plurality of associated priority information, and the NAS message comprises a plurality of second S-NSSAIs (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476