DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Comments
The Status of the Claims as of the Non-Final Rejection mailed March 12, 2026:
Claim(s) 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 32, 33, 34, and 35 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) in view of JIN (US 20220150783 A1).
Response to the Non-Final Rejection
In response to the Non-Final Rejection, Applicants have amended each of independent claim(s) 25, 29, 30 and 32. Referring to claim 25, Applicants have amended the claim, such that the step of selecting the first cell as the target is further based on UE capability information (…selecting a first cell as a target cell based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information and UE capability information…). Claim(s) 29, 30, and 32 each have been amended in a similar manner to that of claim 25. Further responsive to the Non-Final Rejection and in light of the amendments to the claims, Applicants argue that the amended claim(s) overcome the current 103 rejection.
In light of the amendments and arguments, the rejection(s) of claim(s) 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 32, 33, 34, and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) in view of JIN (US 20220150783 A1) are withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of ZHANG (US Patent No. 12, 610, 390), necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 32, 33, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) in view of JIN (US 20220150783 A1) in view of ZHANG (US Patent No. 12, 610, 390).
In regards to claim(s) 25 and 29, CHOI (US 20230156584 A1) teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a message comprising first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) and associated priority information, wherein the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information correspond to second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being transmitted by a user equipment (UE) to the AMF; and
selecting a first cell as a target cell based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information (CHOI [Par. 72 – Par. 73] teaches a UE sending a NAS Registration Request Message to an AMF, the NAS Registration Request Message comprising a S-NSSAI “[0073] In certain embodiments, PLMN selection and the cell selection and/or reselection may be carried out by a UE without any slice awareness. That means, upon selecting a suitable cell the UE sends an NAS registration request message which may be rejected by an AMF if the current area and/or cell does not support any of the S-NSSAIs the UE wants to register (e.g., using IE “Requested NSSAI” in a registration request message)., “[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
The handover feature of CHOI differs from the handover feature of claim 25 in the following:
(1) that with respect to the step of selecting the first cell, CHOI is silent on selecting the first cell as the target cell based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information and UE capability information and in that (2) with respect to the step of performing handover procedure to move the UE associated with the first S-NSSAI to the first cell selected as the target cell, in that CHOI is silent on performing handover procedure to move the UE maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI to the first cell selected as the target cell.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network. JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover feature of CHOI in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive at a step of performing handover procedure to move the UE maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI to the first cell selected as the target cell, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
The combined teachings of CHOI in view of JIN further differ from claim 25, in that the combined teachings are silent on (1) that with respect to the step of selecting the first cell, CHOI is silent on selecting the first cell as the target cell based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information and UE capability information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving cell reselection.
ZHANG (US Patent No. 12, 610, 390) teaches a cell reselection feature, where a handover procedure involves selecting a first cell as a target cell based on priority information and UE capability information (“3. The cell reselection method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the frequency priority to use in the cell reselection, based on the capability information of the UE or the capability information of the UE and the information sent by the network device, and one of the following: the frequency priority reason, or the information on whether to apply the frequency priority, or the information on the condition to apply the frequency priority…”)
Thus based upon the teachings of ZHANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection feature suggested by the combined teachings of CHOI in view of JIN, by taking into account UE capability when making a cell reselection decision as similarly seen in ZHANG, to thus arrive at claim 25, in order to take advantage of a well-known criteria, UE capability, used in order to make a cell reselection decision.
In regards to claim 26, CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG suggests the method according to claim 25, wherein the message comprises a N2 message (See CHOI where, “[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).”)
In regards to claim 27, CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG suggests the method according to Claim 25, CHOI is silent on feature wherein the active PDU session is associated with the first S-NSSAI that is supported by the first cell after the handover occurs, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 27. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network. JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the handover feature of CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive the method according to Claim 25, wherein the active PDU session is associated with the first S-NSSAI that is supported by the first cell after the handover occurs, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
In regards to claim 28, CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG suggest the method according to claim 25, wherein the base station comprises a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) (See CHOI, “[0069] In some embodiments, a network slice instance: may be a set of network function (“NF”) instances and may have required resources (e.g., compute, storage, and networking resources) which form a deployed network slice and may include CN C-plane and U-plane NFs and/or a next generation RAN (“NG-RAN”). Moreover, a network slice instance may be associated with one or more S-NSSAIs. Further, an S-NSSAI may be associated with one or more network slice instances. Multiple network slice instances may be associated with the same 5-NSSAI and may be deployed in the same or in different tracking areas.”).
In regards to claim(s) 30, CHOI a method performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) comprising:
setting first Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) and associated priority information that correspond to a second S-NSSAI comprised in a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message being received from a user equipment (UE), and
transmitting, to a base station, a message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE, (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
The handover feature of CHOI differs from the handover feature of claim 30, in that CHOI is silent on the following: (1) that with respect to the first cell being selected, CHOI is silent on the first cell being selected as the target cell based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information and UE capability information and in that (2) with respect to the step of transmitting, to the base station, the message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE to the first cell, the first cell being selected as a target cell based on the first-S-NSSAI and the associated priority information, in that CHOI is silent on transmitting, to the base station, the message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI, to the first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell based on the first-S-NSSAI and the associated priority information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network.
JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover feature of CHOI in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive at a step transmitting, to a base station, a message comprising the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information to perform a handover procedure to move the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI, to a first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell based on the first-S-NSSAI and the associated priority information, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
The combined teachings of CHOI in view of JIN further differ from claim 30, in that the combined teachings are silent on (1) that with respect to the first cell being selected, CHOI is silent on the first cell being selected as the target cell based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information and UE capability information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving cell reselection.
ZHANG (US Patent No. 12, 610, 390) teaches a cell reselection feature, where a handover procedure involves selecting a first cell as a target cell based on priority information and UE capability information (“3. The cell reselection method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the frequency priority to use in the cell reselection, based on the capability information of the UE or the capability information of the UE and the information sent by the network device, and one of the following: the frequency priority reason, or the information on whether to apply the frequency priority, or the information on the condition to apply the frequency priority…”)
Thus based upon the teachings of ZHANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection feature suggested by the combined teachings of CHOI in view of JIN, by taking into account UE capability when making a cell reselection decision as similarly seen in ZHANG, to thus arrive at claim 30, in order to take advantage of a well-known criteria, UE capability, used in order to make a cell reselection decision.
In regards to claim 31, CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG suggest the method according to claim 30, wherein the message comprises a N2 message (See CHOI, “[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).”)
In regards to claim 32, CHOI teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting, to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message comprising second Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI);
and
performing a handover procedure, initiated by the base station, to move to a first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell by the base station based on the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information and
the first S-NSSAI and the associated priority information being comprised in a message being received by the base station from the AMF, the first N-SSAI and the associated priority information corresponding to the first S-NSSAI (“[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
The handover feature of CHOI differs from the handover feature of claim 32, in the following:
(1) in that with respect to the step of performing the handover procedure, CHOI is silent on performing the handover, initiated by the base station, to move to the first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell by the base station based on the first S-NSSAI, the associated priority information, and UE capability information and (2) in that CHOI is silent on with respect to the method performed by the UE, CHOI is silent on the UE maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handover in a Next Generation (NG) network.
JIN (US 20220150783 A1) teaches performing a handover to move a UE maintain an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with a first S-NSSAI to a first cell selected as a target cell “…[0004] This application provides a handover method and apparatus, to improve session continuity… [0016] Alternatively, the core network device can directly determine the first S-NSSAI without based on the second S-NSSAI and the mapping relationship. For example, S-NSSAI of a network slice that is in the target access network device and that serves all the sessions that need to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. In this case, the core network device can learn, by only receiving the handover requirement message from the source access network device, that the session that is of the terminal device and that is to be handed over from the source access network device to the target access network device is to be served by the network slice whose S-NSSAI in the target access network device is the first S-NSSAI. This provides a flexible solution for the core network device to determine the first S-NSSAI. [0017] It should be understood that the target identifier may be an identifier of the target access network device, for example, the target identifier is a global network device identifier of the target access network device. Alternatively, the target identifier may be a cell identifier, for example, the target identifier is an identifier of a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over. The target access network device can also be determined based on the cell identifier…”[0421] Optionally, the session is a PDU session, and correspondingly, the identifier of the session may be a PDU session ID.”
Thus based upon the teachings of JIN it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover feature of CHOI in manner analogous to the handover feature of JIN to arrive at the UE, maintaining an active Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the first S-NSSAI, for the benefit of session continuity during a handover.
The combined teachings of CHOI in view of JIN further differ from claim 32, in that the combined teachings are silent on (1) in that with respect to the step of performing the handover procedure, CHOI is silent on performing the handover, initiated by the base station, to move to the first cell, the first cell being selected as the target cell by the base station based on the first S-NSSAI, the associated priority information, and UE capability information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving cell reselection.
ZHANG (US Patent No. 12, 610, 390) teaches a cell reselection feature, where a handover procedure involves selecting a first cell as a target cell based on priority information and UE capability information (“3. The cell reselection method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the frequency priority to use in the cell reselection, based on the capability information of the UE or the capability information of the UE and the information sent by the network device, and one of the following: the frequency priority reason, or the information on whether to apply the frequency priority, or the information on the condition to apply the frequency priority…”)
Thus based upon the teachings of ZHANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection feature suggested by the combined teachings of CHOI in view of JIN, by taking into account UE capability when making a cell reselection decision as similarly seen in ZHANG, to thus arrive at claim 32, in order to take advantage of a well-known criteria, UE capability, used in order to make a cell reselection decision.
In regards to claim 33, CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG suggest the method according to claim 25, wherein the message comprises a plurality of first S-NSSAI and a plurality of associated priority information, and the NAS message comprises a plurality of second S-NSSAIs (See CHOI, “[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages)… ).
In regards claim 34, CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG suggest the method according to claim 30, wherein the message comprises a plurality of first S-NSSAI and a plurality of associated priority information, and the NAS message comprises a plurality of second S-NSSAIs (See CHOI, “[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
In regards claim 35, CHOI in view of JIN in view of ZHANG suggest the method according to claim 32, wherein the message comprises a plurality of first S-NSSAI and a plurality of associated priority information, and the NAS message comprises a plurality of second S-NSSAIs (See CHOI, “[0077] In a first method, an IE “Rejected NSSAI” may be extended by the following options and for each signaled S-NSSAI value in IE “Rejected NSSAI” the AMF may associate: 1) target frequency information that may contain a list of target carrier frequencies supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a carrier frequency priority index may be associated as well—the carrier frequency priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between an AMF and a RAN node (e.g., as part of N2 downlink NAS transport or handover request messages), and between the RAN node and a UE (e.g., as part of the RRC release or RRC reconfiguration messages)—with this target frequency information: i) the RAN node may set the system information carrying cell reselection parameters or redirection information in the RRC release message or initiate handover to a target RAN node accordingly, ii) the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection or handover on concerned carrier frequencies; and/or 2) target frequency information may contain a list of target frequency bands supporting rejected S-NSSAI values—the list may contain one or more entries, and for each entry a frequency band priority index may be associated as well—the frequency band priority index may be in the range of an integer (e.g., 0 . . . 7) where a value of 0 means a lowest priority and a value of 7 means a highest priority—this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the UE (e.g., as part of the NAS registration reject or registration accept messages)—with this target frequency information, the UE may trigger priority-based cell reselection on concerned frequency bands—in addition, this signaling option may be used if IE “Rejected NSSAI” is signaled between the AMF and the RAN node over an N2 message—with this information, the RAN node may make decision on mobility for a UE (e.g., cell reselection and handover) (e.g., set system information carrying cell reselection parameters accordingly).” ).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476