DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11-20, 26, 28, 33-34, 37 and 39 are pending. Claims 8 and 33-34 are withdrawn. Claims 3, 5-7, 9-10, 21-25, 27, 29-32, 35-36 and 38 are canceled. Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1, 2, 4, 11-20, 26, 28, 37 and 39.
It is noted that the instant claim set is non-compliant with CFR 1.121(c)(1), CFR 1.121(c)(2), and/or CFR 1.121(c)(4). There is no status identifier, i.e., “(Withdrawn)” for the previously presented claim 8.
Maintained Rejections
The following rejections are maintained from the previous Office Action dated 01/02/2026 since the art that was previously cited continues to read on the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
1. Claims 1, 2, 4, 11-19, 28 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambasivam (US 2018/0338945 A1) in view of Klee (WO 2009/027005 A2).
Sambasivam discloses antimicrobial compositions wherein the antimicrobial may be in the form of an adhesive, a film, a foam, or dressing (abstract, [0002], [0007]). The invention encompasses an antimicrobial adhesive composition, including at least one antimicrobial agent and at least one adhesive wherein the adhesive may be suitable to secure medical devices to mammalian body, skin, tissue, mucosal tissue ([0010]). The composition may be an antimicrobial film layer on surfaces, articles, including medical devices e.g., implant, catheter, ostomy appliance ([0055]-[0056], [0088]). Sambasivam describes a method of applying said antimicrobial adhesive to a substrate, wherein the antimicrobial adhesive is deposited on the surface of the substrate and subsequently dried (i.e., made solid and substantially free of low boiling point solvents such as water) onto the substrate ([0051], [0137], [0185], [0217], [0217]).
Regarding the water-soluble plasticizer, glycerol (ELECTED) and claim 12 (i.e., glycerol), and claim 14 (i.e., 10 wt% to about 75 wt%), Sambasivam teaches glycerol as a plasticizing agent ([0050]) in an amount of about 0.5 to about 20% by weight ([0050], [0066]). Sambasivam teaches an aqueous anti-microbial composition comprising glycerol in an amount between about 0.1 to about 10% ([0245]). MPEP 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art.
Regarding the tricarboxylic acid chelator component, citric acid (ELECTED), claims 2, 4, and 13 (i.e., up to about 60 wt %), Sambasivam teaches that the composition can include a chelating agent which may be poly(citric acid) present at 0.01-10 wt % ([0101], [0236]). Citric acid is taught as a hydrophilic additive to allow the composition to dissolve and/or gel in an aqueous medium and/or physiological fluid ([0039], [0107], [0162]); as a delivery agent ([0068], [0198]); and as a pH buffering agent in an amount ranging between approximately 0.05 to 10.0% wt % ([0200]). MPEP 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art.
Regarding the water-soluble or water-dispersible polymer, polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), of claims 11 (i.e., polyvinylpyrrolidone) and claim 15 (i.e., 5 wt % to about 65 wt %), Sambasivam teaches that the at least one polymer can be PVP ([0202]). The antimicrobial composition may be in the form of an antimicrobial adhesive that comprises PVP ([0011]). PVP is also taught as a thickening agent present in an amount of 0.1-50.0 wt % ([0105]). PVP and citric acid are taught as hydrophilic additives present in the range of 1.0-40.0 wt % ([0161], claim 16). MPEP 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art.
Further with respect to the range amount limitations, MPEP 2144.05 states that differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding wherein the composition is a solution when in water and claim 37, the hydrophilic additives (i.e., citric acid, PVP) of Sambasivam may allow the composition to dissolve and/or disperse in aqueous medium and/or physiological fluid ([0039]). Sambasivam discloses that the antimicrobial composition may be present in the form selected from liquids ([0234]). Sambasivam discloses that in an aspect of the adhesive composition, the hydrophilic addition may be a liquid or solution and is suitable to lower the stiffness of the adhesive and to deliver any active which may be dissolved in the liquid phase ([0108]). Here the prior art teachings of an aqueous solution and the composition as a liquid render the limitation obvious.
Regarding claim 1, in lines 7-8 and in lines 16-17, Sambasivam does not disclose plasticizer boiling point and formula weight, polymer TG. However, the invention as claimed is not structurally distinguishable from the disclosure of Sambasivam. As such, the claimed physical properties are an inherent property of the invention taught by Sambasivam. Applicant has the burden to provide and show any and all unobvious distinction(s) between the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed physical properties and the physical properties of the prior art.
Regarding claim 1 and claim 37, Sambasivam does not teach a composition with a pH of 2.5-5.5 when mixed with deionized water at a 1:9 ratio.
However, Klee discloses a dental adhesive comprising an antimicrobial polymerizable monomers (abstract, pg. 6 last para. see Description of Embodiments). Klee teaches that by having a pH in the range of 1.5-4.5, storage stability is improved (pg. 2, line 1). The examiner notes that, upon mixing such a composition with deionized water at a 1:9 ratio, the resulting solution will have a pH that overlaps with the claimed range of 2.5-5.5.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sambasivam and Klee with expected results. One would have been motivated to do so for several reasons. Regarding the limitation of being solid and solvent free, Sambasivam teaches that drying (i.e. removing solvent from and making solid) the antimicrobial adhesive acts to effectively deposit or adhere the antimicrobial composition to a substrate. Thus, a person having ordinary skill would recognize that combining these teachings would yield the predictable results of enhancing the delivery of the antimicrobial agent, as well as the adhesion between the antimicrobial composition and substrate. It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to improve the composition of Sambasivam by modifying the pH of the composition as taught by Klee. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Klee teaches that maintaining a pH of 1.5-4.5 in an antimicrobial composition extend shelf-life (background art, paragraph 2). It is well within a skilled artisan’s purview to adjust pH buffer component taught by Sambasivam to obtain a composition at a pH value in range taught by Klee. Such modifications would yield the predictable result of improving the stability of the composition.
Regarding claim 16 (i.e., antimicrobial) and claim 17 (i.e., fatty acid monoester), Sambasivam teaches that the antimicrobial agent of the composition described can be selected from the group consisting of esters of glycerol and saturated and/or unsaturated fatty acids (C6-C20) and saturated and/or unsaturated alcohols (C6-C20) ([0060], [0072]).
Regarding claim 18 (i.e., less than 2 wt %), The resulting coating can be dried ([0157]).
Regarding claim 19 (i.e., substrate foam), as mentioned above, Sambasivam teaches a foam substrate ([0030]) and discloses that the antimicrobial composition may be prepared as a liquid or semi-solid, which is then coated on a substrate such as a foam ([0157], [0229]). Sambasivam provides exemplary foam compositions ([0274], Example 3). Sambasivam teaches frothing the polyvinyl alcohol solution with antimicrobial agent followed by crosslinking, and drying to yield a foam structure with the antimicrobial agent incorporated within the foam structure ([0092]).
Regarding claim 28 (i.e., catheter), as cited above, Sambasivam teaches that the medical device can be a catheter ([0055]-[0056], [0088], [0229]).
Claim 20 and claim 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sambasivam in view of Klee as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 11-19, 28 and 37 above and further in view of Bellinger (US 2019/0254966 A1, priority to 05/26/2017).
The teachings of Sambasivam and Klee above are incorporated herein.
Sambasivam and Klee do not teach a composition wherein the active antimicrobial layer exhibits >5% transmittance of 550 µm light, nor wherein the active antimicrobial layer has a thickness between about 500-5000 µm.
Bellinger discloses a therapeutic agent delivery system to be administered to the gastrointestinal tract wherein this composition may comprise PVP ([0129], [0157], claim 9) and an antimicrobial agent ([0016], [0264], Embodiments 22, 32). Bellinger teaches that said delivery system may further comprise a reinforcing layer, wherein the reinforcing layer is structured to provide sufficient support to the composition as a whole. Bellinger teaches that the material of the reinforcing layer may comprise PVP, and that the thickness of the reinforcing material may vary between embodiments in order to provide the necessary amount of structural support within the entire composition ([0140]). Bellinger provides embodiments wherein the reinforcing layer is between 500-1000 µm in thickness ([0136], [0141]).
Sambasivam, Klee, and Bellinger are all directed to polymeric or polymerizable medical implants comprising one or more antimicrobial compounds. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the filing date of the instant invention to further incorporate the compositional thickness of the reinforcing layer taught by Bellinger into the antimicrobial adhesive composition described by Sambasivam in view of Klee to yield the predictable result of an antimicrobial layer which exhibits adequate structural integrity. Neither Sambasivam, Klee, nor Bellinger disclosed the transparency of their inventions. However, the invention as claimed is not structurally distinguishable from the disclosures of Sambasivam and Klee in view of Bellinger. The Examiner asserts that the transparency is an inherent property of the invention taught by Sambasivam and Klee in view of Bellinger. The burden of proof is upon the Applicants to provide and show an unobvious distinction between the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed transparency and the transparency of the prior art.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sambasivam in view of Klee as applied to claim 37 above, further in view of Modak (US 2016/0374352).
The teachings of Sambasivam and Klee above are incorporated herein.
Modak discloses antimicrobial compositions comprising essential oils, botanical extracts and synthetic antimicrobial agents which do not rely solely upon alcohol to produce anti-microbial effects; the compositions can further comprise alkanediol ([0002], [0005]). The compositions can be used in low concentrations, for example, after diluting with water ([0002]).
Modak teaches benzalkonium chloride (BAC) as microbial agent at a concentration of between about 0.01 and 30% w/w (claim 1) and from about 0.05 to 5% w/w (claim 6) and in certain embodiments BAC is at a concentration of between about 1.0 and 20% w/w, or between about 10 and 50% w/w ([0031]).
In addition, looking to Applicants’ specification, (C6-C12) 1,2-organic diol (e.g., 1,2-octanediol) is disclosed (see Spec., [0075]). Modak teaches 0.5 to 10% w/w of one or more alkanediol selected from the group consisting of octanediol where octanediol is regarded as including 1,2 octanediol ([0356], claim 6).
Modak teaches citric acid as the organic acid component of the composition embodiments ([0013]) at a concentration of between about 0.05 and about 0.5% w/w ([0026], [0076], claims 6-7). One or more organic acid at a concentration of between about 0.05 and about 0.5% w/w is selected from the group consisting of citric acid ([0026]). Modak teaches that the pH of the compositions described herein are at a pH of between about 3 and 6, or between about 3.5 and 5.5 or between about 4 and 5 ([0111]). Modak teaches wherein the water is present from 0.05% to 90 w/w ([0353]) and recites wherein the pH of the composition ranges from 3.5 to 5.5 ([0111]). Modak teaches glycerol as a solubilizing agent ([0135], claim 5), provides formulations that include water soluble polymers (e.g., U-care polymer JR-30M) ([0171]) while some embodiments are solidified (i.e., bar of soap) ([0417]). The antimicrobial efficacy of the compositions was tested at room temperature to include the temperature of 23⁰C ([0463]).
Here the prior art of Modak teaches the general conditions of claim 37 and discloses benzalkonium chloride. MPEP 2144.05 states that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Any differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability unless Applicant provides and shows evidence to indicate that such concentration or temperature is critical to the claimed invention.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the benzalkonium chloride taught by Modak in view of Sambasivam and Klee with expected results. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Modak provides a composition that is suited to water-soluble polymers by teaching embodiments using them but also by stating that the concentrations of the ingredients can be adjusted to provide for concentrated formulations that can be diluted prior to use ([0041]) suggesting an ease of use for the formulator and potential extension of shelf life. Modak focuses on antimicrobial compositions which has a sufficiently low amount of alcohol to avoid the skin damage, flammability, and abuse potential of alcohol-dependent formulations (or which lacks alcohol altogether) ([0003-0004]).
This comports with Sambasivan’s attention providing antimicrobial compositions suitable for medical applications, especially those devices in direct contact with healthy and or denuded skin ([0007], [0117]). Both references disclose synergistic effects. Modak found that benzalkonium chloride and chlorhexidine synergistically enhance the activity of a botanical blend comprising alkanediol (particularly octanediol) ([0138]). Similarly, Sambasivam teaches the employment of at least one additional antimicrobial agent with synergistic and/or enhanced antimicrobial activity to include quaternary ammonium compounds ([0158]) because the presence of at least one additional antimicrobial agent advantageously improves the spectrum of activity against various microbes and/or enhances the activity of the composition ([0158]) to suggest sustained positive clinical outcomes.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 USC 103 – claims 1 and 37
Applicants argue that the Examiner took Klee’s teaching of pH in a range of from 1.5 to 4.5 out of context citing MPEP 2141.VI. Applicants argue that the minimum value of the 1.5-4.5 range, i.e., 1.5, is considered strongly acidic and therefore means compositions with pH less than 1.5.
Applicants argue examples of Sambasivam use a 45% KOH solution for adjusting pH from 6.59 to 6.89, wherein Example 10 citric acid solution is used to lower the composition from 9.95-9.98 to 6.83-6.91.
Applicants cite paragraph [0153] in Sambasivam regarding arguments about LAE and pH sensitivity.
In response to the arguments, the Examiner respectfully notes that Sambasivam in the cited paragraph [0153] continues on to explain how the impairment of the catalyst is overcome with the addition of a non-ionic additive to the silicone gel with LAE thus overcoming the cure issue while antimicrobial properties remained unaffected. The Examiner respectfully asserts that the limitations of instant claims 16 (i.e., antimicrobial) and 17 (i.e., fatty acid monoester) are met by Sambasivam with the teaching that the antimicrobial agent can be esters of glycerol and saturated and/or unsaturated fatty acids (C6-C20), and saturated and/or unsaturated alcohols with C6-C20 carbon atoms ([0060], [0072]). To applicants’ indication of LAE and catalyst, Sambasivam discloses that “the invention includes an antimicrobial wound cleanser including at least one or more antimicrobial agent selected from: natural polypeptides, N-acylamino acid esters and/or their salts, esters of glycerol and saturated and/or unsaturated fatty acids (C6-C20), saturated and/or unsaturated alcohols with C6-C20 carbon atoms, and combinations thereof; and a non-ionic additive ([0112] surfactant [0208] thickener). Sambasivam discloses a non-ionic additive from 0.5 to about 5% with the Nα-lauroyl-arginine ester (LAE) of a salt thereof from 0.05 to about 5% by weight of the composition (claim 52) to suggest comparable amounts that one skilled in the art may optimize to readily achieve the desired antimicrobial activity.
With respect to the arguments concerning pH sensitivity, a definition for the term “about” is not disclosed in the specification and criticality of the recited “having a pH of about 2.5-5.5” has not been provided. Looking at paragraphs [0124]-[0127] of applicants’ specification, the measuring of pH values were questioned in paragraph [00126]. Comparative Examples 1-4 in Table 4 ([00127]) do not show pH values. While considering the 1:9 dilution (i.e., instant claim 1) and the 1.55 citric acid (wt%) in Table 4 for instance but without pH values provided, the pH value remains unclear. As such, the pH value of about 5.5 may read on examples with pH of 6. Applicants may consider conducting tests wherein citric acid is not present. Applicants may consider submitting a declaration to provide and show criticality.
For these reasons, Applicants’ arguments are found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
All claims under consideration remain rejected; no claims are allowed. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Karen A Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614