DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 5/22/26.
Claims 2-8, 13-16, 18-52 & 55 are canceled.
Claims 1, 53, 54 & 63 are amended. Claims 66-67 are added.
Claim(s) 1, 9-12, 17, 53-54, 56-67 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-12, 17, 53-54, 58-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0168849 Al in view of Tiirola, US 2025/0031248 A1, and Wu, US 2021/0385862 A1, and further in view of Zhao, US 2021/0185674 A1.
As to claim 1, Oh teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a signaling configuring a first time resource for transmitting uplink data (Oh, page 6, paragraph 73; page 7, paragraph 94; i.e., [0094] Hereinafter, in the present disclosure, higher layer signaling or a higher layer signal may be a method of transmitting a signal from the base station to the terminal by using a downlink data channel of a physical layer, or transmitting a signal from the terminal to the base station by using an uplink data channel of a physical layer, and may include a method of transmitting a signal through radio resource control (RRC) signaling);
transmitting, to the base station and based at least in part on obtaining the channel occupancy time, the uplink data using the first time resource (Oh, page 9, paragraph 112; i.e., [0112] a reference slot during a downlink signal transmission interval (or a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT)) in which the base station most recently transmits a signal through the unlicensed band at a time point at which the base station starts the channel access procedure);
But Oh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein performing a channel access procedure to obtain a UE-initiated channel occupancy time comprising first time resource; transmitting, to the base station and using the first time resource, uplink control information comprising at least one parameter indicating a second time resource within the UE-initiated channel occupancy time is reserved for a downlink transmission, wherein the second time resource comprises a plurality of consecutive slots subsequent to the first time resource, wherein the at least one parameter indicates a numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots that is reserved for the downlink transmission and a starting index corresponding to a starting slot of the plurality of consecutive slots that is reserved for the downlink transmission.
However, Wu teaches the limitation wherein performing a channel access procedure to obtain a UE-initiated channel occupancy time comprising first time resource (Wu, page 4, paragraph 47-51; i.e., [0049] Channel Occupancy Time of a network device (gNB-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the network device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the network device after LBT succeeds. In addition to downlink transmission, within the channel occupancy time of the network device, it may also be used for uplink transmission by a terminal device under a certain condition; [0050] Channel Occupancy Time of a terminal device (VE-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the terminal device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the terminal device after LBT succeeds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh to substitute CWS from Wu for transmission slot from Oh to achieve friendly coexistence among various systems on an unlicensed spectrum (Wu, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Tiirola teaches the limitation wherein transmitting, to the base station and using the first time resource, uplink control information comprising at least one parameter indicating a second time resource within the UE-initiated channel occupancy time is reserved for a downlink transmission, wherein the second time resource comprises a plurality of consecutive slots subsequent to the first time resource (Tiirola, page 7, paragraph 100-102 & 110-111; i.e., [0100] N consecutive slots/mini-slots corresponding to N HARQ processes. [0102] The second opportunity for the PUSCH transmission may be located after the COT. a time for UE LBT from a cell or group common Downlink Control Information; [0110] UL control channel 440 may correspond to UL control channel 340 and DL data transmission 450 may correspond to DL data transmission 350. next COT (third slot), wherein the second period reserved for first transmission opportunities is subsequent to the first period reserved for first transmission opportunities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh to substitute opportunistic resource from Tiirola for resource domain from Oh to enabling efficient operation of cellular communication networks on unlicensed frequency bands (Tiirola, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Zhao teaches the limitation wherein the wherein the at least one parameter indicates a numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots that is reserved for the downlink transmission and a starting index corresponding to a starting slot of the plurality of consecutive slots that is reserved for the downlink transmission (Zhao, page 7, paragraph 117 & 125; i.e., [ 0117] The number of the all-downlink slots in the period is the number of continuous all-downlink slots starting from
a starting position, in the period is the number of continuous downlink symbols starting from a starting position in a next slot of the last all-downlink slot; [0125] The number of the downlink symbols in the first slot is the number of continuous starting downlink symbols of the first slot. For example, when the index of the first slot is index 4, the downlink symbols in the first slot are six starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 4. Or, when the index of the first slot is index 5, the downlink symbols in the first slot are two starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh to substitute MME from Zhao for base station from Oh to improve data transmission performance between terminal devices (Zhao, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 10, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a slot offset between a slot in which the uplink control information is transmitted and a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots is configured by radio resource control signaling (Oh, page 11, paragraph 136-137; i.e., [0137] That is, the terminal receiving the DCI may determine a PUSCH transmission resource domain in N consecutive slots from the slot i+K 405 by applying the obtained slot offset information K. In some embodiments, the N consecutive slots may be N consecutive slots regardless of whether the N consecutive slots are capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission, or may be N slots determined to be capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission).
As to claim 11, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the numerical quantity the plurality of consecutive slots is configured by radio resource control signaling, and wherein the uplink control information indicates a slot offset between a slot in which the uplink control information is transmitted and a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots (Oh, page 11, paragraph 136-137; i.e., [0136] For the terminal configured to transmit the PUSCH through one PDCCH in N 470 slots, offset information K for the N 470 slots and information on a plurality of PUSCH transmission time-frequency resource domains may be included in the DCI; [0137] In some embodiments, the N consecutive slots may be N consecutive slots regardless of whether the N consecutive slots are capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission, or may be N slots determined to be capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission).
As to claim 12, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a plurality of time domain resource allocation patterns are configured by radio resource control signaling, and wherein the uplink control information indicates a time domain resource allocation pattern of the plurality of time domain resource allocation patterns, the time domain resource allocation pattern corresponding to the plurality of consecutive slots (Oh, page 24, paragraph 263; i.e., [0263] Also, the base station may transmit a configuration for PDSCH/PUSCH transmission/reception including offset information between a PDCCH reception slot and a PDSCH reception slot or a PUSCH transmission slot, and information on the number of times a PDSCH or a PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted to the terminal through a higher layer signal. In operation 1210, the base station may additionally transmit slot format indicator-related configuration information such as slot format indicator format information and a slot format indicator transmission period).
As to claim 17, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a table of time domain resource allocation patterns is preconfigured, and wherein the uplink control information indicates an index in the table corresponding to the plurality of consecutive slots (Oh, page 10, paragraph 129; page 11, paragraph 135-137; page 24, paragraph 263; i.e., [0137] That is, the terminal receiving the DCI may determine a PUSCH transmission resource domain in N consecutive slots from the slot i+K 405 by applying the obtained slot offset information K and the information on the PUSCH transmission time-frequency resource domain as shown in a or b of FIG. 4).
As to claim 64, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the VE as recited in claim 53. But Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the starting index is defined relative to a first slot of the UE-initiated channel occupancy time.
However, Wu teaches the limitation wherein the starting index is defined relative to a first slot of the UE-initiated channel occupancy time (Wu, page 4, paragraph 47-51; i.e., [0049] Channel Occupancy Time of a network device (gNB-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the network device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the network device after LBT succeeds. In addition to downlink transmission, within the channel occupancy time of the network device, it may also be used for uplink transmission by a terminal device under a certain condition; [0050] Channel Occupancy Time of a terminal device (VE-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the terminal device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the terminal device after LBT succeeds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao to substitute CWS from Wu for transmission slot from Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao to achieve friendly coexistence among various systems on an unlicensed spectrum (Wu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 65, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the UE as recited in claim 53. But Oh-Tiirola-Wu failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to receive, based at least in part on the starting index and the numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots, the downlink transmission in the second time resource.
However, Zhao teaches the limitation wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to receive, based at least in part on the starting index and the numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots, the downlink transmission in the second time resource (Zhao, page 7, paragraph 117 & 125; i.e., [ 0117] The number of the all-downlink slots in the period is the number of continuous all-downlink slots starting from a starting position, in the period is the number of continuous downlink symbols starting from a starting position in a next slot of the last all-downlink slot; [0125] The number of the downlink symbols in the first slot is the number of continuous starting downlink symbols of the first slot. For example, when the index of the first slot is index 4, the downlink symbols in the first slot are six starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 4. Or, when the index of the first slot is index 5, the downlink symbols in the first slot are two starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Wu to substitute MME from Zhao for base station from Oh-Tiirola-Wu to improve data transmission performance between terminal devices (Zhao, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 66, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the UE as recited in claim 53. But Oh-Tiirola-Wu failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one parameter jointly indicates the numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots and the starting index.
However, Zhao teaches the limitation wherein the at least one parameter jointly indicates the numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots and the starting index (Zhao, page 7, paragraph 117 & 125; i.e., [ 0117] The number of the all-downlink slots in the period is the number of continuous all-downlink slots starting from
a starting position, in the period is the number of continuous downlink symbols starting from a starting position in a next slot of the last all-downlink slot; [0125] The number of the downlink symbols in the first slot is the number of continuous starting downlink symbols of the first slot. For example, when the index of the first slot is index 4, the downlink symbols in the first slot are six starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 4. Or, when the index of the first slot is index 5, the downlink symbols in the first slot are two starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Wu to substitute MME from Zhao for base station from Oh-Tiirola-Wu to improve data transmission performance between terminal devices (Zhao, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 67, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the UE as recited in claim 53. But Oh-Tiirola-Wu failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to select the at least one parameter from a set comprising combinations of numerical quantities of the plurality of consecutive slots and starting indices corresponding to the starting slot of the plurality of consecutive slots, wherein the set is based at least in part on a total number of slots within the UE-initiated channel occupancy time.
However, Zhao teaches the limitation wherein the wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to select the at least one parameter from a set comprising combinations of numerical quantities of the plurality of consecutive slots and starting indices corresponding to the starting slot of the plurality of consecutive slots, wherein the set is based at least in part on a total number of slots within the UE-initiated channel occupancy time (Zhao, page 7, paragraph 117 & 125; i.e., [ 0117] The number of the all-downlink slots in the period is the number of continuous all-downlink slots starting from a starting position of each pattern, in the period is the number of continuous downlink symbols starting from a starting position in a next slot of the last all-downlink slot; [0125] The number of the downlink symbols in the first slot is the number of continuous starting downlink symbols of the first slot. For example, when the index of the first slot is index 4, the downlink symbols in the first slot are six starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 4. Or, when the index of the first slot is index 5, the downlink symbols in the first slot are two starting downlink symbols in a slot indicated by the index 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Wu to substitute MME from Zhao for base station from Oh-Tiirola-Wu to improve data transmission performance between terminal devices (Zhao, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 53, 54 & 63 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 53, 54 & 63 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 58-62 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 10-17. Therefore, claim(s) 58-62 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 10-17.
Claim(s) 9 & 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0168849 Al in view of Tiirola, US 2025/0031248 A1, and Wu, US 2021/0385862 A1, and Zhao, US 2021/0185674 A1, and further in view of Harada, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2021/0392505 A1.
As to claim 9, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao failed to teach the claim limitation wherein at least one last symbol of a slot preceding a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots is blanked.
However, Harada teaches the limitation wherein at least one last symbol of a slot preceding a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots is blanked (Harada, page 4, paragraph 79; i.e., [0079] As illustrated in FIG. 3A, when the search space configuration index is 0, 0 is 0, the number of search space sets per slot is 1, M is 1, and the head symbol index is 0. It is assumed that a type0-PDCCH common search space for RMSI #0 corresponding to SSB #0 in slot #0 spans two consecutive slots #0 and # 1 and PDCCH and PDSCH for RMSI #0 are scheduled in slot #0 of the two consecutive slots #0 and #1. Since the number of search space sets per slot is 1, it is assumed that a type0-PDCCH common search space for RMSI #1 corresponding to SSB #1 in slot #0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao to substitute frequency band from Harada for unlicensed band from Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Zhao to use of LAA will be considered also in dual connectivity (DC) between the licensed band and the unlicensed band or stand-alone (SA) of the unlicensed band (Harada, page 1, paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 56-57 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 8-9. Therefore, claim(s) 56-57 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 8-9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9-12, 17, 53-54, 56-67 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Wang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20200374077 A1 discloses consecutive slots and quantity of downlink.
Wu, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 12185329 B2 discloses consecutive downlink resources within channel occupancy time.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416