DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 10/22/25.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-13, 17, 53-54, 56-65 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-13, 17, 53-54, 58-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0168849 Al in view of Tiirola, US 2025/0031248 A1, and Wu, US 2021/0385862 A1, and further in view of Agiwal, US 2020/0296759 A1.
As to claim 1, Oh teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a signaling configuring a first time resource for transmitting uplink data (Oh, page 6, paragraph 73; page 7, paragraph 94; i.e., [0094] Hereinafter, in the present disclosure, higher layer signaling or a higher layer signal may be a method of transmitting a signal from the base station to the terminal by using a downlink data channel of a physical layer, or transmitting a signal from the terminal to the base station by using an uplink data channel of a physical layer, and may include a method of transmitting a signal through radio resource control (RRC) signaling);
performing a channel access procedure to obtain a channel occupancy time comprising the first time resource (Oh, page 9, paragraph 112; i.e., [0112] a reference slot during a downlink signal transmission interval (or a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT)) in which the base station most recently transmits a signal through the unlicensed band at a time point at which the base station starts the channel access procedure);
transmitting, to the base station and based at least in part on obtaining the channel occupancy time, the uplink data using the first time resource (Oh, page 9, paragraph 112; i.e., [0112] a reference slot during a downlink signal transmission interval (or a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT)) in which the base station most recently transmits a signal through the unlicensed band at a time point at which the base station starts the channel access procedure);
But Oh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein performing a channel access procedure to obtain a UE-initiated channel occupancy time; transmitting, to the base station and using the first time resource, uplink control information comprising at least one parameter indicating a second time resource within the UE-initiated channel occupancy time is reserved for a downlink transmission, wherein the second time resource comprises a plurality of consecutive slots subsequent to the first time resource, wherein the uplink control information indicates a numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots and a starting index of the plurality of consecutive slots.
However, Tiirola teaches the limitation wherein transmitting, to the base station and using the first time resource, uplink control information comprising at least one parameter indicating a second time resource within the UE-initiated channel occupancy time is reserved for a downlink transmission, wherein the second time resource comprises a plurality of consecutive slots subsequent to the first time resource (Tiirola, page 7, paragraph 100-102 & 110-111; i.e., [0100] N consecutive slots/mini-slots corresponding to N HARQ processes. [0102] The second opportunity for the PUSCH transmission may be located after the COT. a time for UE LBT from a cell or group common Downlink Control Information; [0110] UL control channel 440 may correspond to UL control channel 340 and DL data transmission 450 may correspond to DL data transmission 350. next COT (third slot), wherein the second period reserved for first transmission opportunities is subsequent to the first period reserved for first transmission opportunities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh to substitute opportunistic resource from Tiirola for resource domain from Oh to enabling efficient operation of cellular communication networks on unlicensed frequency bands (Tiirola, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Wu teaches the limitation wherein performing a channel access procedure to obtain a UE-initiated channel occupancy time (Wu, page 4, paragraph 47-51; i.e., [0049] Channel Occupancy Time of a network device (gNB-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the network device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the network device after LBT succeeds. In addition to downlink transmission, within the channel occupancy time of the network device, it may also be used for uplink transmission by a terminal device under a certain condition; [0050] Channel Occupancy Time of a terminal device (VE-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the terminal device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the terminal device after LBT succeeds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh to substitute CWS from Wu for transmission slot from Oh to achieve friendly coexistence among various systems on an unlicensed spectrum (Wu, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Agiwal teaches the limitation wherein the uplink control information indicates a numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots and a starting index of the plurality of consecutive slots (Agiwal, page 7, paragraph 86-98; page 8, paragraph 110-123; i.e., [0086] numberOfSlotsPerFrame and numberOfSymbolsPerSlot
refer to the number of consecutive slots per frame and the number of consecutive symbols per slot respectively; [0089] slot number is the starting slot of configured UL grant; [0090] symbol number is the starting symbol of configured UL grant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh to substitute CWS from Agiwal for transmission slot from Oh to achieve friendly coexistence among various systems on an unlicensed spectrum (Agiwal, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 4, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein starting index is defined relative to a first slot of the channel occupancy time (Oh, page 9, paragraph 112; i.e., [0112] value of the contention window (CW p) may be changed based on a reception result of a downlink data channel in a reference subframe or a reference slot during a downlink signal transmission interval (or a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT)) in which the base station most recently transmits a signal through the unlicensed band at a time point at which the base station starts the channel access procedure).
As to claim 10, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a slot offset between a slot in which the uplink control information is transmitted and a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots is configured by radio resource control signaling (Oh, page 11, paragraph 136-137; i.e., [0137] That is, the terminal receiving the DCI may determine a PUSCH transmission resource domain in N consecutive slots from the slot i+K 405 by applying the obtained slot offset information K. In some embodiments, the N consecutive slots may be N consecutive slots regardless of whether the N consecutive slots are capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission, or may be N slots determined to be capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission).
As to claim 11, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the numerical quantity the plurality of consecutive slots is configured by radio resource control signaling, and wherein the uplink control information indicates a slot offset between a slot in which the uplink control information is transmitted and a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots (Oh, page 11, paragraph 136-137; i.e., [0136] For the terminal configured to transmit the PUSCH through one PDCCH in N 470 slots, offset information K for the N 470 slots and information on a plurality of PUSCH transmission time-frequency resource domains may be included in the DCI; [0137] In some embodiments, the N consecutive slots may be N consecutive slots regardless of whether the N consecutive slots are capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission, or may be N slots determined to be capable of scheduled uplink PUSCH transmission).
As to claim 12, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a plurality of time domain resource allocation patterns are configured by radio resource control signaling, and wherein the uplink control information indicates a time domain resource allocation pattern of the plurality of time domain resource allocation patterns, the time domain resource allocation pattern corresponding to the plurality of consecutive slots (Oh, page 24, paragraph 263; i.e., [0263] Also, the base station may transmit a configuration for PDSCH/PUSCH transmission/reception including offset information between a PDCCH reception slot and a PDSCH reception slot or a PUSCH transmission slot, and information on the number of times a PDSCH or a PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted to the terminal through a higher layer signal. In operation 1210, the base station may additionally transmit slot format indicator-related configuration information such as slot format indicator format information and a slot format indicator transmission period).
As to claim 13, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the method as recited in claim 12, wherein each time domain resource allocation pattern of the plurality of time domain resource allocation patterns indicates a slot offset between a slot in which the uplink control information is transmitted and a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots and indicates the numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots (Oh, page 24, paragraph 263; i.e., [0263] Also, the base station may transmit a configuration for PDSCH/PUSCH transmission/reception including offset information between a PDCCH reception slot and a PDSCH reception slot or a PUSCH transmission slot, and information on the number of times a PDSCH or a PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted to the terminal through a higher layer signal. In operation 1210, the base station may additionally transmit slot format indicator-related configuration information such as slot format indicator format information and a slot format indicator transmission period).
As to claim 17, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a table of time domain resource allocation patterns is preconfigured, and wherein the uplink control information indicates an index in the table corresponding to the plurality of consecutive slots (Oh, page 10, paragraph 129; page 11, paragraph 135-137; page 24, paragraph 263; i.e., [0137] That is, the terminal receiving the DCI may determine a PUSCH transmission resource domain in N consecutive slots from the slot i+K 405 by applying the obtained slot offset information K and the information on the PUSCH transmission time-frequency resource domain as shown in a or b of FIG. 4).
As to claim 64, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the VE as recited in claim 53. But Oh-Tiirola-Agiwal failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the starting index is defined relative to a first slot of the UE-initiated channel occupancy time.
However, Wu teaches the limitation wherein the starting index is defined relative to a first slot of the UE-initiated channel occupancy time (Wu, page 4, paragraph 47-51; i.e., [0049] Channel Occupancy Time of a network device (gNB-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the network device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the network device after LBT succeeds. In addition to downlink transmission, within the channel occupancy time of the network device, it may also be used for uplink transmission by a terminal device under a certain condition; [0050] Channel Occupancy Time of a terminal device (VE-initiated COT): it is also called COT initiated by the terminal device, and refers to one channel occupancy time obtained by the terminal device after LBT succeeds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Agiwal to substitute CWS from Wu for transmission slot from Oh-Tiirola-Agiwal to achieve friendly coexistence among various systems on an unlicensed spectrum (Wu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 65, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the UE as recited in claim 53. But Oh-Tiirola-Wu failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to receive, based at least in part on the starting index and the numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots, the downlink transmission in the second time resource.
However, Agiwal teaches the limitation wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to receive, based at least in part on the starting index and the numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots, the downlink transmission in the second time resource (Agiwal, page 7, paragraph 86-98; page 8, paragraph 110-123; i.e., [0086] numberOfSlotsPerFrame and numberOfSymbolsPerSlot
refer to the number of consecutive slots per frame and the number of consecutive symbols per slot respectively; [0089] slot number is the starting slot of configured UL grant; [0090] symbol number is the starting symbol of configured UL grant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Wu to substitute CWS from Agiwal for transmission slot from Oh-Tiirola-Wu to achieve friendly coexistence among various systems on an unlicensed spectrum (Agiwal, page 1, paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 53, 54 & 63 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 53, 54 & 63 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 58-62 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 10-17. Therefore, claim(s) 58-62 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 10-17.
Claim(s) 9 & 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0168849 Al in view of Tiirola, US 2025/0031248 A1, and Wu, US 2021/0385862 A1, and Agiwal, US 2020/0296759 A1, and further in view of Harada, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2021/0392505 A1.
As to claim 9, Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal failed to teach the claim limitation wherein at least one last symbol of a slot preceding a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots is blanked.
However, Harada teaches the limitation wherein at least one last symbol of a slot preceding a first slot of the plurality of consecutive slots is blanked (Harada, page 4, paragraph 79; i.e., [0079] As illustrated in FIG. 3A, when the search space configuration index is 0, 0 is 0, the number of search space sets per slot is 1, M is 1, and the head symbol index is 0. It is assumed that a type0-PDCCH common search space for RMSI #0 corresponding to SSB #0 in slot #0 spans two consecutive slots #0 and # 1 and PDCCH and PDSCH for RMSI #0 are scheduled in slot #0 of the two consecutive slots #0 and #1. Since the number of search space sets per slot is 1, it is assumed that a type0-PDCCH common search space for RMSI #1 corresponding to SSB #1 in slot #0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal to substitute frequency band from Harada for unlicensed band from Oh-Tiirola-Wu-Agiwal to use of LAA will be considered also in dual connectivity (DC) between the licensed band and the unlicensed band or stand-alone (SA) of the unlicensed band (Harada, page 1, paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 56-57 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 8-9. Therefore, claim(s) 56-57 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 8-9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 9-13, 17, 53-54, 56-65 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “the uplink control information indicates a numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots and a starting index of the plurality of consecutive slots” (see Applicant’s response, 11/18/25, page 8-9). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Agiwal disclosed this functionality (see Agiwal, page 7, paragraph 86-98; page 8, paragraph 110-123). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “the uplink control information indicates a numerical quantity of the plurality of consecutive slots and a starting index of the plurality of consecutive slots” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Tang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210160867 A1 discloses consecutive n time.
Wu, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 12185329 B2 discloses consecutive downlink resources within channel occupancy time.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416