DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 02/26/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 14 and 18 have thereby been amended.
Claims 1-8, 10-14 and 16-18 are being examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 20190111238) in view of Akerfeldt (US 6090052) in further view of Chong (US 20130282007) in further view of Tsai (US 20160372850).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz discloses a catheter comprising: a catheter shaft (14) with an outer surface extending from a proximal end portion to a distal end portion of the catheter shaft, and a connector (Fig. 9: 76; connector for connecting catheter to handle: page 5, para. [0048], sentence 6) connected to the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft (Fig. 9: 76 at proximal end of 14), the connector comprising a material surround the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft (Fig. 9: 76 surrounding proximal end of 14; 76 overmolded around 14 proximal end: page 5, para. [0048], sentence 6), a printed circuit board (Fig. 9: printed circuit board 78), the printed circuit board embedded in the material of the connector (printed circuit board is incorporated into overmolded connector 76: page 5, para. [0048], second-to-last sentence). However, Schultz fails to explicitly disclose details of the printed circuit board such as conductor tracks, and fails to disclose electrical conductors printed on the outer surface of the catheter shaft or the plug-in connector.
Akerfeldt teaches an analogous medical device shaft with an integrated circuit board, wherein the printed circuit board (Fig. 10: 6) having a conductor track (Fig. 10: 26), at least one electrical conductor printed on the outer surface (Fig. 11: electrical conductors 8a-c on outer surface of shaft 4) the at least one electrical conductor contacting a conductor track so that the at least one electrical conductor and the at least one conductor track are electrically conductively connected (Fig. 10: electrical conductors 8a-c contacting conductor tracks 26). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter of Schultz by incorporating the electrical conductors on the outer surface and their connection to the tracks of the circuit board taught by Akerfeldt, in order to lower the manufacturing difficulty and costs while reducing risks of short-circuiting in manufacturing associated with soldering and/or embedding lead wires within the catheter as taught by Schultz, by placing them as a separate outer sheet as taught by Akerfeldt (Akerfeldt: col. 1, lines 23-34). However, the Schultz-Akerfeldt device fails to disclose a plug-in connector connected to the circuit board.
Chong teaches an analogous electrically conductive catheter, wherein the printed circuit board (70) is connected to a plug-in connector (Fig. 4b: 41 + 40) configured to permit the conductor track to be conductively contacted by another device (page 2, para. [0023], last two sentences). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Schultz-Akerfeldt device to include the plug-in connector taught by Chong on the circuit board, in order to allow for the connection to an outside device such as a monitor or other medical devices (Chong: page 2, para. [0023], last two sentences). However, the plug-in connector of Chong and the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong device fails to teach the configuration of the plug-in connector being transverse to the axial direction of the catheter.
Tsai teaches an analogous plug-in connector with conductor tracks, wherein the plug-in connector (Fig. 5: 22) is arranged transversely or an at angle to an axial direction of the catheter (Fig. 5: upon combination catheter would run transversely to 22, at 31/41). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plug-in connector of the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong device with the right-angled arrangement of the electrical connector taught by Tsai, in order to allow for another electronic device to be connected to the side of the catheter, leaving the back of the catheter along its axis free for connection to fluid administration, device deliver, or other medical needs of the catheter itself.
Regarding claim 3, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, wherein the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft is overmoulded with the material (page 5, para. [0048], sentence 6).
Regarding claim 5, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, wherein the at least one electrical conductor and the conductor track overlap (Akerfeldt: Fig. 10, conductors 8a-c overlap with tracks 26).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, wherein the conductor track is arranged on a surface of the printed circuit board in a region of the conductor track that overlaps with the at least one electrical conductor (Akerfeldt: Fig. 10) and the surface of the printed circuit board faces the outer surface (Akerfeldt: Fig. 10: surface of circuit board with tracks 26 face outward).
Regarding claim 7, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, wherein the printed circuit board has a first portion and a second portion (see annotated Akerfeldt Fig. below, the first portion being replaced with the right-angled section portion 22 of the Tsai connector) arranged at an angle to each other (Tsai: Fig. 5, right angle of first portion 22 with 31/41 that connect to the second portion of Akerfeldt).
Regarding claim 8, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 7 as described above, wherein the region of the conductor track is situated at an end of the first portion of the printed circuit board (see annotated Akerfeldt Fig. below, conductor tracks 27 at first portion).
Annotated Akerfeldt Fig. 10
Annotated Akerfeldt Fig. 10 with the addition of the Tsai connector from Fig. 5
Regarding claim 10, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, wherein the plug-in connector is connected to an end portion of the printed circuit board (Chong: Fig. 4b: 41 + 40 connected to end of circuit board 70).
Regarding claim 11, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 6 as described above, the conductor track in said region (see annotated Akerfeldt Fig. above: 26 in first portion) has a width greater than a width of the at least one electrical conductor (see annotated Akerfeldt Fig. above: conductors 8a-c extending form 28, are narrower than 26).
Regarding claim 18, Schultz discloses a catheter comprising: a catheter shaft (14) with an outer surface extending from a proximal end portion to a distal end portion of the catheter shaft, and a connector (Fig. 9: 76; connector for connecting catheter to handle: page 5, para. [0048], sentence 6) connected to the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft (Fig. 9: 76 at proximal end of 14), the connector comprising a material surround the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft (Fig. 9: 76 surrounding proximal end of 14; 76 overmolded around 14 proximal end: page 5, para. [0048], sentence 6), a printed circuit board (Fig. 9: printed circuit board 78), the printed circuit board embedded in the material of the connector (printed circuit board is incorporated into overmolded connector 76: page 5, para. [0048], second-to-last sentence). However, Schultz fails to explicitly disclose details of the printed circuit board such as conductor tracks, and fails to disclose electrical conductors printed on the outer surface of the catheter shaft or the plug-in connector.
Akerfeldt teaches an analogous medical device shaft with an integrated circuit board, wherein the printed circuit board (Fig. 10: 6) comprising a plurality of conductor tracks (Fig. 10: 26), a plurality of electrical conductor printed on the outer surface (Fig. 11: electrical conductors 8a-c on outer surface of shaft 4) the plurality of electrical conductors contacting respective ones of the plurality of conductor tracks so that each respective one of the plurality of electrical conductors and respective one of the plurality of conductor tracks are electrically conductively connected (Fig. 10: electrical conductors 8a-c contacting conductor tracks 26) wherein the plurality of conductor tracks is arranged on a surface of the printed circuit board (Akerfeldt: Fig. 10: surface of circuit board with tracks 26 face outward) and overlaps there with the plurality of electrical conductors of the connector (Akerfeldt: Fig. 10) to make electrically conductive contact between the each respective one of the plurality of conductor tracks and the each respective one of the plurality of electrical conductors (Fig. 10: electrical conductors 8a-c contacting conductor tracks 26), the printed circuit board comprises an angular shape (see annotated Akerfeldt Fig. above, having right angle configurations), defining a first portion and a second portion (see annotated Akerfeldt Fig. above), wherein the plurality of conductor tracks extends on the first portion in a direction parallel to an axial direction of the catheter (Fig. 10: extending along the long axis of the catheter). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter of Schultz by incorporating the electrical conductors on the outer surface and their connection to the tracks of the circuit board taught by Akerfeldt, in order to lower the manufacturing difficulty and costs while reducing risks of short-circuiting in manufacturing associated with soldering and/or embedding lead wires within the catheter as taught by Schultz, by placing them as a separate outer sheet as taught by Akerfeldt (Akerfeldt: col. 1, lines 23-34). However, the Schultz-Akerfeldt device fails to disclose a plug-in connector to connect the catheter to another device.
Chong teaches an analogous electrically conductive catheter with a plug-in connector (Fig. 4b: 41 + 40) configured to permit the conductor track to be conductively contacted by another device (page 2, para. [0023], last two sentences). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Schultz-Akerfeldt device to include the plug-in connector taught by Chong on the circuit board, in order to allow for the connection to an outside device such as a monitor or other medical devices (Chong: page 2, para. [0023], last two sentences). However, the plug-in connector of Chong and the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong device fails to teach the configuration of the plug-in connector being transverse to the axial direction of the catheter.
Tsai teaches an analogous plug-in connector with conductor tracks wherein the plurality of conductor tracks extends on the second portion in a direction transversely or at an angle to the axial direction of the catheter (Fig. 5: second portion 22, at a right angle to the conductor tracks 31/41). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plug-in connector of the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong device with the right-angled arrangement of the electrical connector taught by Tsai, in order to allow for another electronic device to be connected to the side of the catheter, leaving the back of the catheter along its axis free for connection to fluid administration, device deliver, or other medical needs of the catheter itself, such that upon the combination the second portion extends away from the first portion in the direction transversely or at an angle to the axial direction of the catheter.
Claims 2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 20190111238) in view of Akerfeldt (US 6090052) in further view of Chong (US 20130282007) in further view of Tsai (US 20160372850) in further view of Bowman (US 20150173773).
Regarding claim 2, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, but fails to teach the electrical conductors comprising cured electrically conductive ink.
Bowman teaches an analogous catheter with electrical conductors arrange on a sheath around the outer surface of the catheter shaft, wherein the at least one electrical conductor comprises a cured electrically conductive ink (Bowman: page 2, paragraph [0038], first two sentences). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong-Tsai device with the Bowman teaching of printing the electrical conductors with conductive ink, rather than the etching method of Akerfeldt (col. 2, lines 56-58), in order to reduce potential damage from aggressive etching solutions (Akerfeldt: col. 3, lines 64-66).
Regarding claim 12, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, but fails to teach the specific material of the circuit board being formed from polyimide.
Bowman teaches an analogous catheter with electrical conductors arrange on a sheath around the outer surface of the catheter shaft, wherein the printed circuit board is formed from polyimide (Bowman: page 2, paragraph [0038], third sentence stating the general category of polymer binders of which polyimides are a commonly used type for printed circuitry). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board of the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong-Tsai device with the Bowman teaching of the circuit board being made of polyamide, as polyimides are a commonly used type for printed circuitry, and printing the circuitry reduces potential damage from aggressive etching solutions used in the Schultz-Akerfeldt device (Akerfeldt: col. 3, lines 64-66).
Regarding claim 13, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, but fails to teach the catheter shaft being a ballon catheter.
Bowman teaches an analogous catheter with electrical conductors arrange on a sheath around the outer surface of the catheter shaft, wherein the catheter shaft is an outer shaft of a balloon catheter and the connector is configured to establish a fluid-conducting flow connection to another connector (Bowman: pages 6-7, paragraph [0097], first two sentences). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter of the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong-Tsai device with the Bowman teaching of the balloon catheter in order to use the device for procedures necessitating a balloon, or to stabilize the placement of the catheter withing a cavity in the body when in use.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 20190111238) in view of Akerfeldt (US 6090052) in further view of Chong (US 20130282007) in further view of Tsai (US 20160372850) in further view of Westerfeld (US 20150223908).
Regarding claim 4, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, but fails to teach the connector is made of a thermoplastic material.
Westerfeld teaches an analogous overmolded connector hub surrounding the proximal end of the catheter, wherein the material is a thermoplastic material (page 6, paragraph [0049], wherein all the listed examples for suitable materials to use—HDPE, Nylon, Polycarbonate, Urethane, and ABS—are all thermoplastics). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the overmolded connector of the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong-Tsai device with the teaching of Westerfeld that specifies the overmolded catheter hub/connector made of a thermoplastic, because the process of injection molding is frequently done with thermoplastics in the art (Westerfeld: page 6, paragraph [0049] lists suitable materials, all thermoplastics).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 20190111238) in view of Akerfeldt (US 6090052) in further view of Chong (US 20130282007) in further view of Tsai (US 20160372850) in further view of Kalistaja (US 20150375246).
Regarding claim 17, Schultz in view of Akerfeldt in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the catheter according to claim 1 as described above, but fails to explicitly teach a thickness of the circuit board.
Kalistaja teaches an analogous electrical connector with printed electrical circuitry, wherein the printed circuit board has a thickness in the range of from 0.03 mm to 0.1 mm (Kalistaja: page 6, paragraph [0089], last sentence wherein 100um is equal to 0.1mm and 50um is equal to 0.05mm). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the printed circuit board of Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong-Tsai with the disclosed dimensions of the printed board of Kalistaja, as this change in dimension would allow for the proper fit and function of the catheter, and because differences in only the scaling of dimensions alone is considered obvious (see MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akerfeldt (US 6090052) in view of Schultz (US 20190111238) in further view of Bowman (US 20150173773) in further view of Chong (US 20130282007) in further view of Tsai (US 20160372850).
Regarding claim 14, Akerfeldt discloses a method for producing a device comprising the steps of: placing at least one electrical conductor (electrical conductors 8a-c on flexible sheet 14) on an outer surface of a shaft (col. 1, lines 46-55: sheet 14 with electrical conductors is wrapped around outside of shaft), arranging printed circuit board (circuit board 6 mounted: col. 2, lines 16-18) comprising at least one conductor track (Fig. 11: conductor tracks 34) on the outer surface of the shaft in the region of a proximal end portion of the shaft so that the conductor track contacts the at least one electrical conductor (Fig. 11: conductor tracks 34 overlapping on shaft, contact electrical conductors 8a-c). Akerfeldt discloses the production of an analogous guidewire system, but fails to disclose the production of a catheter. Akerfeldt also fails to disclose the electrical conductors on the outer surface of the shaft being printed with electrically conductive ink, and the plug-in connector. Additionally, Akerfeldt fails to disclose the overmolding of the printed circuit board.
Schultz teaches an analogous medical device shaft with an integrated circuit board, wherein the shaft of the medical device is a catheter (14), and the integrated circuit board (78) is connected via overmolding the printed circuit board and the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft with a material to form a connector connected to the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft (Fig. 9: 76 surrounding proximal end of 14; 76 overmolded around 14 proximal end: page 5, para. [0048], sentence 6; printed circuit board is incorporated into overmolded connector 76: page 5, para. [0048], second-to-last sentence). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Akerfeldt by applying it to a catheter instead of a guidewire, as taught by Schultz, in order to use the device with additional actions by the catheter including fluid transfer. Additionally, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Akerfeldt by incorporating the method of overmolding a connector with the printed circuit board, as taught by Schultz, in order to create a proximal connector on the device to allow for connection to other devices such as a steering handle (Schultz: page 5, para. [0048], sentence 6). The Akerfeldt-Schultz method, however, fails to explicitly teach the electrical conductors on the outer surface of the shaft being printed with electrically conductive ink.
Bowman teaches an analogous catheter with electrical conductors arrange on a sheath around the outer surface of the catheter shaft, wherein the electrical conductors of the catheter are printed using an electrically conductive ink (page 2, paragraph [0038], sentences 1-3). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Akerfeldt-Schultz method with the Bowman teaching of printing the electrical conductors with conductive ink, rather than the etching method of Akerfeldt (col. 2, lines 56-58), in order to reduce potential damage from aggressive etching solutions (Akerfeldt: col. 3, lines 64-66). However, the Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman method fails to teach the plug-in connector as claimed.
Chong teaches an analogous electrically conductive catheter, wherein a plug-in connector (Fig. 4b: 41 + 40) is connected to the printed circuit board so that the conductor track can be electrically contacted via the plug-in connector (70; page 2, para. [0023], last two sentences, showing electrical connection and conduction). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman device to include the plug-in connector taught by Chong on the circuit board, in order to allow for the connection to an outside device such as a monitor or other medical devices (Chong: page 2, para. [0023], last two sentences). Although Chong or this combination does not disclose the order of the plug-in connector being connected before the printed circuit board is arranged, it has been held that the order of performing process steps holds no criticality in the absence of new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04 IV.C.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have carried out the method of claim 14 as described above, wherein the plug-in connector is connected to the printed circuit board before the printed circuit board is arranged on the outer surface of the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft, as no new or unexpected results would occur from the order of this process. However, the Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman-Chong device fails to teach the configuration of the plug-in connector being transverse to the axial direction of the catheter.
Tsai teaches an analogous plug-in connector with conductor tracks, wherein the plug-in connector (Fig. 5: 22) is arranged transversely or an at angle to an axial direction of the catheter (Fig. 5: upon combination catheter would run transversely to 22, at 31/41). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plug-in connector of the Schultz-Akerfeldt-Chong device with the right-angled arrangement of the electrical connector taught by Tsai, in order to allow for another electronic device to be connected to the side of the catheter, leaving the back of the catheter along its axis free for connection to fluid administration, device deliver, or other medical needs of the catheter itself.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akerfeldt (US 6090052) in view of Schultz (US 20190111238) in further view of Bowman (US 20150173773) in further view of Chong (US 20130282007) in further view of Tsai (US 20160372850) in further view of Medina (US 20190245310) in further view of Saroha (WO 2018060411).
Regarding claim 16, Akerfeldt in view of Schultz in further view of Bowman in further view of Chong in further view of Tsai teaches the method according to claim 14 as described above, but does not disclose a method for molding the surrounding material.
Medina teaches a catheter assembly with electrically conductive connectors, wherein the surrounding comprising arranging the printed circuit board (130) in an injection mould and overmoulding with the material in the injection mould (page 6, paragraph [0084], last two sentences). Medina does not explicitly teach that the proximal end of the catheter or cable shaft is also inserted into the mold before the injection molding. However, in the combination of Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman with the connector molding method of Medina, the proximal end portion of the catheter shaft in an injection mould and overmoulding with the material in the injection mould because the printed circuit board of Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman is printed on the proximal end of the catheter shaft itself (printed circuitry elements 9, 16, and 34). Therefore, in applying the method taught by Median of forming the material over the printed circuit board of Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman-Chong-Tsai, the proximal end of the catheter shaft would also be overmolded with the material. Incorporating the methods of Medina of manufacturing the catheter connector using injection molding over the catheter shaft and printed circuit board would not change the overall function or arrangement of the Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman-Chong-Tsai catheter system, only the method of manufacturing and the strength of the embedded bonds of the elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Akerfeldt-Schultz-Bowman-Chong-Tsai catheter connector with the teachings of the overmolding method of the Medina connector, a stronger bond between the catheter and hub and a smoother transition between them can be created, as evidenced by Saroha (page 17, paragraph [0062], second to last sentence), which is analogous and applicable to the method taught in Median as it is in the same field of catheters with overmolded connectors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/26/2026 regarding the prior art rejections has been fully considered and are considered moot in light of the amendments to the claims. The amended claims now rely upon Tsai to teach a transverse plug-in connector relative to the axial direction of the catheter and the conductor tracks. As described above, a transverse arrangement of the plug-in connector, provided by the right-angled electrical connector taught by Tsai, would be obvious for an electrically conductive catheter, as the end of the catheter must provide access to the catheter and its lumen.
For these reasons, the amended claims remain rejected, as recited above, in further view of Tsai.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783