DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 1/26/2026. Claims 1, 4-5, 10, 12, 15-20, 22, and 24 are pending in the application.
Status of Objections and Rejections
All rejections from the previous office action are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9-10, filed 1/26/2026, with respect to the 101 rejections of Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 12, 14-20, 22, and 24 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The 101 rejection of 8/28/2025 is maintained in the action below.
Regarding the 101 rejection, the Applicant asserts that the present claimed invention therefore integrates the "calibration data" into the practical application of controlling the aspirating / dispensing of a specific volume of primary fluid AND provides real-world, technical advantages.
In response to this argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the determination step of the invention, specifically the determination of the specific volume of primary fluid being aspirated or dispensed, but for the recitation of the controller, is a limitation that can be done in the mind. The determination of the difference between the expected vs. actual values is done by observation of flow rate values, which is a mental process, and is therefore an abstract idea, and not a practical application of the judicial exception. The current claims are not analogous to example in the October 2019 101 Guidance as the flow meter and controller of the current invention are not used to determine whether the flow rate falls within a specified threshold, which is done in Claim 2 of the Example. The Applicant is advised to show a technical advantage of the application and tie this to the scope of the claim to overcome the 101. In determining an improvement to the technical field, the claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification. The full scope of the claim under the BRI should be considered to determine if the claim reflects an improvement in technology (e.g., the improvement described in the specification).
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, filed 1/26/2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of 8/28/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 on Pages 10-12 regarding the 102 rejections of claims 1, 4-8, 10, 12, 14-16, and 24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 11, the Applicant specifically remarks that Van der Schoot only discloses that the flow rate is determined, and not the actual volume.
In response to this argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the measurement of a flow rate would necessarily include the measurement of the amount of displaced fluid as the flow rate is a measurement of the volume displaced from an area divided by the time period observed. Additionally, US6898981, (Incorporated by reference as EP1364188) teaches that not only are the pressure difference and temperature measured, the flow rate is measured, too (see Col. 3, Lines 43-55). While the current prior art of van der Schoot et al. improves the determination of a deviation in flow rate measurements, independent of volume, the total volume dispensed is obtained based on flow rate measurements and compared using pressure differential values, (see [0066] and [0068] – [0071]).
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 on Pages 10-12 regarding the 102 rejections of claims 1, 4-8, 10, 12, 14-16, and 24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the invention of Van der Schoot is used to generate curves based on the flow rate where integration takes place to determine a dispersed volume of fluid, can der Schoot teaches generating calibration data by controlling the pump and valve to dispense a known volume of fluid and using the flow rate to determine if the rate of change in fluid operations is equal to the expected values, see [0066] -[0071]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the primary reference of van der Schoot with Churchill or Boillat et al. as the inventions are all related to the correction of fluid dispensing operations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-5, 10, 12, 14-20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims 1 and 24 recite “calibration data” which is considered math or a mental process as it is the correlation of a flow rate to a volume dispensed. The controller determining, using calibration data, a volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid based on the received measurement signaling is an abstract idea. This determination is an evaluation as it is using the calibration data as well as the measurement signaling. The limitation of “determine when the specific volume of a primary fluid has been aspirated or dispensed based on the displaced volume of secondary fluid reaching a first predefined threshold” is also an evaluation and therefore a mental step and abstract idea. The newly amended limitation of “generat[ing] calibration data defining a relationship between a volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid and the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid” is also considered an evaluation or mathematical correlation as it simply drawn to the monitoring of volumes used within a system and correlating the volume to the measured flow rate, which is just considered math as the volume is equal to the flow rate multiplied by the time period being monitored by the flow meter.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the controller only requires the determination of the calibration data and does not integrate the calibration data into a signal or another practical application. After obtaining the calibration data, then a fluid is dispensed or aspirated, but it does not integrate the calibration data. Therefore, there is no particular practical application. Additionally, performing the abstract idea on a general-purpose computer is not enough to integrate the exception into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(b)I.). Based on the determinations there is a control of the flow of the primary or secondary fluid and a termination of the flow of the primary or secondary flow. The determination of the difference between the expected vs. actual values is done by observation of flow rate values, which is a mental process, and is therefore an abstract idea, and not a practical application of the judicial exception. Further, merely terminating flow and the receiving measurement signaling (considered data gathering) are also considered insignificant extra solution activities.
Therefore, this is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use 2106.05(h) and adding an insignificant extra-solution activity 2106.05(g) and therefore does not amount to a particular practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because while the claim recites the additional elements of the aspirate-dispense apparatus in addition to the primary and secondary fluids, they appear to be routine as the prior art of van der Schoot et al. (US 2016/0273951, cited by the Applicant) teaches a controller configured to control one or more of aspiration and dispensing of a primary fluid by an aspirate-dispense apparatus (system including electronic circuit 18 and computer 19 for controlling the pipetting of a fluid, see [0013]- [0014]), the aspirate-dispense apparatus comprising a pressure regulator configured to regulate the pressure of the secondary fluid (pressure system 15 for controlling pressure of carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0028], and a valve (22) configured to limit the flow of primary or secondary fluid (valve 22 controls pipetting operation, see [0068] and [0034]), and a secondary fluid in working communication with the primary fluid (pressure source 15 provides carrier fluid to move pipetted liquid, see [0028]), where flow is terminated based on received measurement values (see [0066] and [0070]) and measurement signaling is received by the controller (see [0071]),. Therefore, the additional elements are routine and conventional in the art would not amount to significantly more.
Further, it is unclear how the generation of calibration data explicitly allows for greater accuracy and leads to less waste of primary fluid as the generation of the calibration data does not lead to greater accuracy and less waste, instead that is the function of the pressure regulator of the valve. While the claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification, the full scope of the claim under the BRI is considered to determine if the claim reflects an improvement in technology.
The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 4-5 do not require the calibration data of claim 1 and recite further details of the abstract idea, i.e., computing, comparing, determining.
Claim 10 does not further clarify or use the calibration data of claim 1 and are therefore not deemed patent eligible.
Claim 12 refers to the calibration data, however, they refer to gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result which does not incorporate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 15-20 and 22 do not further clarify or use the calibration data of claim 1 and are therefore not deemed patent eligible because they do not incorporate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 12, 14-16, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van der Schoot et al. (US 2016/0273951, cited by the Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Van der Schoot et al. teaches a controller configured to control one or more of aspiration and dispensing of a primary fluid by an aspirate-dispense apparatus (system including electronic circuit 18 and computer 19 for controlling the pipetting of a fluid, see [0013]- [0014]), the aspirate-dispense apparatus comprising a secondary fluid in working communication with the primary fluid (pressure source 15 provides carrier fluid to move pipetted liquid, see [0028]), a flow meter (20) configured to measure the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid (flow rate sensor 20 for measuring carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0029]), a pressure regulator configured to regulate the pressure of the secondary fluid (pressure system 15 for controlling pressure of carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0028], and a valve (22) configured to limit the flow of primary or secondary fluid (valve 22 controls pipetting operation, see [0068] and [0034]), and wherein the controller is configured to:
generate calibration data defining a relationship between a volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid and the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid (computer 19 calculates calibration data by comparing monitored flow rate vs. suctioned or dispensed liquid , see [0028] – [0035]) by:
controlling the pressure regulator and valve to aspirate or dispense one or more known volumes of primary fluid (the valve 22 and pressure system 15 are controlled by the computer 18 based on the obtained liquid and fluid measurements, see [0068]);
receiving, from the flow meter, respective measurements of the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid corresponding to the one or more known volumes of primary fluid (sensor 20 relays measurements of the flow rate to the computer to correlate values to volumes of the liquid suctioned or dispensed, see [0029] and [0034] – [0035]);
and associating the one or more known volumes of primary fluid with the respective measurements of the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid computer 19 and circuit 18 receive flow rate signal for carrier fluid to determine a volume of pipetted liquid, see [0034] – [0035]).
receive, from the flow meter, measurement signaling for a monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid (computer 19 and circuit 18 receive flow rate signal for carrier fluid, see [0034] – [0035]);
determine, using the generated calibration data, a volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid based on the received measurement signaling (calibration data is obtained to determine the relationship between the flow rate of the carrier fluid and the volume of dispensed/aspirated fluid, see [0030] – [0035]); and
control, using the pressure regulator and the valve, the flow of primary or secondary fluid according to the volume determined using the generated calibration data to aspirate or dispense a specific volume of primary fluid (the desired volume is controlled based on the obtained flow rate values, see [0026] and [0034] – [0035], where the pressure regulator and valve execute control of fluid volumes, see [0068]),
wherein the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid comprises a displaced volume of secondary fluid (the flow rate of the carrier fluid inherently includes displaced volume measurement, see [0028] – [0029] and [0071]), and wherein the controller is configured to: determine when the specific volume of primary fluid has been aspirated or dispensed based on the displaced volume of secondary fluid reaching a first predefined threshold (the computer determines when a defined volume of pipetted liquid has been reached based on the carrier fluid measurement, see [0028] – [0035]); and terminate the flow of primary or secondary fluid based on said determination of when the specific volume of primary fluid has been aspirated or dispensed (flow is stopped when the desired volume is reached, see [0066] – [0071]).
Regarding claim 4, van der Schoot teaches the controller of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine a sudden change in the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid, or a measurement of the monitored flow parameter which is above or below a second predefined threshold, based on the received measurement signaling (see [0045-0047]); and terminate the flow of primary or secondary fluid based on said determination (the controller stops the flow of either the carrier fluid or pipetted liquid based on a flow rate determination, see [0066] – [0068]).
Regarding claim 5, van der Schoot teaches the controller of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to generate a notification indicative of the detected sudden change or measurement above/below the second predefined threshold (the controller sends an error message in response to the too high or too low expected flow rate threshold, see [0061] - [0062] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, van der Schoot teaches the controller of claim 1, wherein the aspirate- dispense apparatus comprises a flow meter (20) configured to measure the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid (flow rate sensor 20 for measuring carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0029]), a pressure regulator configured to regulate the pressure of the secondary fluid (pressure system 15 for controlling pressure of carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0028], and a valve (22) configured to limit the flow of primary or secondary fluid (valve 22 controls pipetting operation, see [0068] and [0034]), and wherein the controller is configured to: receive the measurement signalling for the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid from the flow meter to enable determination of the volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid (computer 19 and circuit 18 receive flow rate signal for carrier fluid to determine a volume of pipetted liquid, see [0034] – [0035]); and control the pressure regulator and valve based on the determined volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid to control the flow of primary or secondary fluid (the valve 22 and pressure system 15 are controlled by the computer 18 based on the obtained liquid and fluid measurements, see [0068]).
Regarding claim 7, van der Schoot teaches the controller of claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to generate the calibration data defining the relationship between the volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid and the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid (computer 19 calculates calibration data by comparing monitored flow rate vs. suctioned or dispensed liquid see [0030] – [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, van der Schoot teaches the controller of claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to generate the calibration data by: controlling the pressure regulator and valve to aspirate or dispense one or more known volumes of primary fluid (the valve 22 and pressure system 15 are controlled by the computer 18 based on the obtained liquid and fluid measurements, see [0068]); receiving, from the flow meter, respective measurements of the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid corresponding to the one or more known volumes of primary fluid (sensor 20 relays measurements of the flow rate to the computer to correlate values to volumes of the liquid suctioned or dispensed, see [0029] and [0034] – [0035]); and associating the one or more known volumes of primary fluid with the respective measurements of the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid computer 19 and circuit 18 receive flow rate signal for carrier fluid to determine a volume of pipetted liquid, see [0034] – [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, van der Schoot teaches the controller of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the flow of primary or secondary fluid based on the determined volume to aspirate a specific volume of primary fluid (the controller is used to control the flow of primary fluid in response to the amount of carrier fluid, see [0028] and [0068]), and wherein the controller (18&19) is further configured to control the flow of primary or secondary fluid to dispense the specific volume of primary fluid by: controlling the pressure regulator and valve to aspirate a known volume of primary fluid (the valve 22 and pressure system 15 are controlled to suction a volume of fluid, see [0035]); controlling the pressure regulator and valve to incrementally dispense the aspirated primary fluid over a recorded number of dispense cycles (the pipetted liquid is dispensed over a period of time, or dispense cycles, see [0068]); and determining a cycle volume based on the known volume of primary fluid and recorded number of dispense cycles (the volume of fluid is determined based on the completion of dispensing by the pipette, see [0068] and [0070]).
wherein each dispense cycle has a known duration, and wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a dispense duration required to dispense the specific volume of primary fluid based on the cycle duration and cycle volume (each dispense cycle is a set period of time required to dispense the pipetted fluid, see [0066]- [0068]); and control the pressure regulator and valve to dispense the primary fluid for the determined dispense duration (the pressure source 15 and valve 22 are controlled for the set period of time, see [0068]).
Regarding claim 12, van der Schoot teaches the controller of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to control the flow of primary or secondary fluid based on the determined volume to aspirate a specific volume of primary fluid (the controller is used to control the flow of primary fluid in response to the amount of carrier fluid, see [0028] and [0068]), and wherein the controller is further configured to:
control the flow of primary or secondary fluid to dispense the specific volume of primary fluid (the controller is used to control the flow of primary fluid in response to the amount of carrier fluid, see [0028] and [0068]) by:
controlling the pressure regulator and valve to aspirate a known volume of primary fluid (the pressure system 15 and valve 22 are actuated to aspirate a certain volume, see [0068]);
controlling the pressure regulator and valve to incrementally dispense the aspirated primary fluid over a recorded number of dispense cycles (the pressure system and valve are used to incrementally dispense the aspirated volume over a recorded amount of time, corresponding to dispense cycles, see [0065]-[0068]); and
determining a cycle volume based on the known volume of primary fluid and recorded number of dispense cycles (a maximum flow rate is set based on the known amount of fluid and the flow rate/input pressure ratio, see [0066]);
wherein the controller is further configured to: repeat the steps for a plurality of different cycle durations; and associate the cycle volume with each cycle duration to generate further calibration data (the controller repeats the cycle of operation until an error is reached, see [0069] – [0070]);
determine, using the further calibration data, the cycle duration required to dispense the specific volume of primary fluid (the calibration curves obtained are used to determine how much time is needed to dispense an amount of fluid, see [0063]); and
control the pressure regulator and valve to dispense the specific volume of primary fluid for the determined cycle duration (the pressure system 15 and valve 22 are controlled to dispense the amount of fluid required, see [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, van der Schoot teaches an aspirate-dispense apparatus comprising the controller of claim 1, the aspirate-dispense apparatus comprising, in use, a secondary fluid in working communication with a primary fluid (pipetting device 10, see Fig. 1 and [0026], where the pressure source 15 provides carrier fluid to move pipetted liquid, see [0028]), wherein the aspirate-dispense apparatus further comprises a flow meter configured to measure the monitored flow parameter of a secondary fluid, (flow rate sensor 20 for measuring carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0029]), a pressure regulator configured to regulate the pressure of the secondary fluid (pressure system 15 for controlling pressure of carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0028], and a valve (22) configured to limit the flow of primary or secondary fluid (valve 22 controls pipetting operation, see [0068] and [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, van der Schoot teaches the aspirate-dispense apparatus of claim 15, wherein the aspirate- dispense apparatus further comprises flow meter circuitry configured to convert an output signal from the flow meter to the received measurement signaling, and valve circuitry configured to interface the valve with the controller (the flow sensor 20, valve 22, and pressure source 15 relay signals to the controller which is necessarily done by circuitry 18, see Fig. 1 and [0026] – [0035]).
Regarding claim 24, van der Schoot et al. teaches a method of controlling one or more of aspiration and dispensing of a primary fluid by an aspirate-dispense apparatus (system including electronic circuit 18 and computer 19 for controlling the pipetting of a fluid, see [0013]- [0014]), the aspirate-dispense apparatus comprising a secondary fluid in working communication with the primary fluid (pressure source 15 provides carrier fluid to move pipetted liquid, see [0028]), , (flow rate sensor 20 for measuring carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0029]), a pressure regulator configured to regulate the pressure of the secondary fluid (pressure system 15 for controlling pressure of carrier fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0028], and a valve (22) configured to limit the flow of primary or secondary fluid (valve 22 controls pipetting operation, see [0068] and [0034]).
wherein the method comprises:
generating calibration data defining a relationship between a volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid and the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid (computer 19 calculates calibration data by comparing monitored flow rate vs. suctioned or dispensed liquid , see [0028] – [0035]) by:
controlling the pressure regulator and valve to aspirate or dispense one or more known volumes of primary fluid (the valve 22 and pressure system 15 are controlled by the computer 18 based on the obtained liquid and fluid measurements, see [0068]);
receiving, from the flow meter, respective measurements of the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid corresponding to the one or more known volumes of primary fluid (sensor 20 relays measurements of the flow rate to the computer to correlate values to volumes of the liquid suctioned or dispensed, see [0029] and [0034] – [0035]);
and associating the one or more known volumes of primary fluid with the respective measurements of the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid computer 19 and circuit 18 receive flow rate signal for carrier fluid to determine a volume of pipetted liquid, see [0034] – [0035]).
receiving, from the flow meter, measurement signalling for the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid; (computer 19 and circuit 18 receive flow rate signal for carrier fluid, see [0034] – [0035]);
determining, using calibration data, a volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid based on the received measurement signaling, the calibration data defining a relationship between the volume of aspirated or dispensed primary fluid and the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid (calibration data is obtained to determine the relationship between the flow rate of the carrier fluid and the volume of dispensed/aspirated fluid, see [0030] – [0035]); and
controlling, using the pressure regulator and valve, the flow of primary or secondary fluid based on according to the determined volume determined using the generated calibration data to aspirate or dispense a specific volume of primary fluid, (the desired volume is controlled based on the obtained flow rate values, see [0026] and [0034] – [0035]),
wherein the monitored flow parameter of the secondary fluid comprises a displaced volume of secondary fluid(the flow rate of the carrier fluid inherently includes displaced volume measurement, see [0028] – [0029] and [0071]), and wherein the controller is configured to: determine when the specific volume of primary fluid has been aspirated or dispensed based on the displaced volume of secondary fluid reaching a first predefined threshold (the computer determines when a defined volume of pipetted liquid has been reached based on the carrier fluid measurement, see [0028] – [0035]); and terminate the flow of primary or secondary fluid based on said determination of when the specific volume of primary fluid has been aspirated or dispensed (flow is stopped when the desired volume is reached, see [0066] – [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Schoot et al. (US 2016/0273951, cited by the Applicant and US 2004/0020938, incorporated by reference within van der Schoot et al. as EP 1327152) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Churchill et al. (US 20020159919, cited by the Applicant).
Regarding claim 17, van der Schoot teaches the aspirate-dispense apparatus of claim 16, wherein the aspirate-dispense apparatus comprises a primary fluid channel (12) through which the primary fluid can flow into or out of the aspirate-dispense apparatus, and a plurality of corresponding secondary fluid channel connected to the respective primary fluid channels to provide the working communication between the primary and secondary fluids (one or more channels 14 provide fluid communication between the carrier fluid and the pipetted liquid from the tip 12, see Fig. 1 and [0026] – [0030]).
However, van der Schoot does not teach that the apparatus comprises a plurality of primary fluid channels with a plurality of corresponding secondary channels.
In the analogous art of aspirating and dispensing devices, Churchill et al. teaches a device comprising a plurality of primary channels (128) and a plurality of corresponding secondary channels (115) wherein the modification of aspirating and dispensing devices to include multiple dispensing heads with primary liquid channels and secondary fluid channels was known in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, see Fig. 2A-C and [0062] in Churchill et al.
It would have been obvious to a person possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the aspirating and dispensing device of van der Schoot et al. to include the multiple dispensing heads with a primary and secondary channel as exemplified by Churchill for the benefit of supplying a reagent to multiple different regions on a target or substrate. Additionally, the modification of the apparatus of van der Schoot to include the plurality of primary and secondary channel of Churchill would have yielded the reasonable expectation of successfully facilitating fluid communication between multiple different heads for aspirating and/or dispensing a fluid.
Regarding claim 18, modified van der Schoot teaches the aspirate-dispense apparatus of claim 17, wherein each primary or secondary fluid channel comprises a filter configured to prevent the primary fluid from contacting the flow meter (valve 38 to prevent fluid from reaching flow meter 46, see Fig. 2 of US 2004/0020938, Boillat et al.).
Regarding claim 19, modified van der Schoot teaches the aspirate-dispense apparatus of claim 17, wherein the plurality of primary fluid channels are connected to a common primary manifold configured to receive and contain the primary fluid aspirated via the plurality of primary fluid channels (support 34 for holding tip 12 and contains liquid within tubes 42/44, see Fig. 2 and [0046] in US 2004/0020938, Boillat et al.).
Regarding claim 20, van der Schoot teaches the aspirate-dispense apparatus of claim 17, wherein each primary fluid channel comprises a tip configured to receive and contain the primary fluid aspirated via the respective primary fluid channel (tip 12 receives pipetted fluid, see Fig. 1 and [0026] in van der Schoot).
Regarding claim 22, van der Schoot teaches the aspirate-dispense apparatus of claim 17, wherein the plurality of secondary fluid channels are connected to a common secondary manifold configured to interface the plurality of secondary fluid channels with the pressure regulator (multiple channels connected to pressure source 15, see [0030] in van der Schoot).
Conclusion
/A.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758