DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered. Claim 43 has been added. Claims 12 and 40-41 have been canceled. Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-17, 19-20, 22-23, 26, 34-39, and 42-43 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/14/2026 and 8/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14-17, and 39 were objected to for various informalities. In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted 7/7/2026, these objections have been withdrawn. However, see new grounds of objection below.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claims 1, 4-5, 11-12, 14-17, 19-20, 22-23, 26, and 34-42 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate et al. (US 2018/0216160 A1) in view of Khurana et al. (WO 2019/028047 A1). In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted 7/7/2026, these rejections have been withdrawn for all currently pending claims, but see new grounds of rejection and “Response to Applicant’s Arguments” below. Claims 12 and 40-41 have been canceled, and so these rejections have been rendered moot.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 14, 19-20, 35-37, 40, and 42 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 15-16, 20, 23, 26, 30-32, 34, 42, and 47 of copending Application No. 18/860,539 in view of Khurana et al. (WO 2019/028047 A1). In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted 7/7/2026, these rejections have been withdrawn for all currently pending claims, but see new grounds of rejection below. Claim 40 has been canceled, so this rejection has been rendered moot.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 103 Rejections presented in the Final Rejection, Applicant argues in the Remarks submitted 1/7/2026 that the cited references fail to teach every element of instant claim 1. Applicant argues that Abate teaches the use of a blocked oligo, rather than an irreversible terminator as described in the instant claims (Remarks, pages 5-6). Khurana allegedly does not remedy this deficiency, as the reference allegedly does not teach the newly added portion of (ii) of claim 1, specifically in that the reference does not disclose terminators that also inhibit 3’-5’ exonuclease activity of a terminated amplification product (Remarks, pages 7-8). On pages 8-9 of their Remarks, Applicant further states that as Khurana is directed to sequence-by-synthesis, the claimed method (which involves use of dATP, dTTP, dCTP, and dGTP) could not be performed by the reference in combination with Abate, as it would render the sequencing methods of Khurana inoperable. Applicant has also argued that their amendments to the claims now place the claims commensurate in scope with the allegedly unexpected results presented in the Remarks dated 10/7/2025.
Firstly, to Applicant’s arguments that Abate does not teach terminator nucleotides as claimed, in the Final Rejection, the Examiner states that Abate does not teach the use of terminator nucleotides as claimed, and simply notes that Abate is aware of modified oligonucleotides that block DNA synthesis (paras. 1174 of Abate and para. 30 of the Final Rejection). It is not suggested by the Examiner that this is sufficient to read on the limitations of the instant claims.
Secondly, regarding Applicant’s arguments against the use of Khurana, after further search and consideration of the amended claims, new prior art that is considered closer to Applicant’s claimed invention has been found and is cited herein. Thus, Applicant’s arguments against Khurana and its combination with Abate are considered moot.
Regarding Applicant’s unexpected results originally presented in the Remarks dated 10/7/2025, Applicant points to Figure 1G, para. 106, Figures 3A-3B and 5A-5I, and Examples 1-2 of the instant specification. Figures 3A and 3B (which concern Example 1) compare an irreversible alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminator to a dideoxynucleotide reversible terminator. It is noted that this specific irreversible terminator is not presented in claim 1 (though it is in newly added claim 43). This same irreversible terminator is used in Example 2 (para. 169). In Example 1, the irreversible terminator does appear to provide an improvement over the use of a reversible terminator. Similarly, in Example 2 (which corresponds with Figure 5), PTA appears to have improvements over other amplification methods in terms of genome coverage (Figures 5A-5C), higher uniformity (Figure 5D), and variant detection (Figure 5E). Para. 106 and Figure 1G also described the PTA method. However, it appears that not all required aspects of the PTA method are currently claimed. According to Figure 1G, PTA requires the use of a random primer, and this is also stated in paras. 28, 40, 83 (and corresponding Figure1B), and 85-87, for example. Para. 116 states that, “In the case of whole genome PTA, it is preferred that a set of primers having random or partially random nucleotide sequences be used,” and para. 121 states that PTA primers can be sequence-specific (and not include a random portion). However, in both Example 1 and Example 2, random primers were used (para. 155 for Example 1 and para. 169 for Example 2). Thus, the results shown by Applicant are used in conjunction with a particular terminator and particular primer type that are not yet required in claim 1, and both of these details are also not present in instant claim 43 (i.e. instant claim 43 does not require a particular primer type, and also does not limit the irreversible terminator to only containing an alpha-phosphorothioate group, as noted by the use of comprises). It is noted that Applicant teaches that alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminators are exonuclease resistant (e.g. para. 162 of the instant specification), but by adding an exonuclease resistant requirement to the terminators of claim 1, this does not limit the claim to only alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminators. It is also noted that as written, claim 1 currently encompasses using a single primer and a single polymerase to eventually produce a single terminated amplification product. This is much more general than the PTA examples of the instant specification, which provide more than one of each of these elements, and so if Applicant wishes for their results to be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, it is recommended that these features of claim 1 also be amended. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments concerning unexpected results are not currently persuasive. Applicant is directed to MPEP 716.02.
Overall, new grounds of rejection are provided below to address Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Relevant portions of the rejections presented in the Final Rejection mailed 11/7/2025 are reiterated below, namely those teachings of Abate that describe a multiomics approach. It is noted that Applicant did not provide substantive arguments against these teachings.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 23 requires that at least one mutation occur in less than 1% of the population of cells, but does not specify if the mutation must originate from the genome or from the mRNA in the single cell. Thus, either scenario (or both scenarios) will be considered to read on the instant claim. If Applicant wishes to limit this mutation to the genome, as is done in claim 22, the language used in claim 22 (i.e. “at least one mutation is identified in the genome of the cell”), or similar language, should be used.
Claim 26 is being interpreted similarly to claim 23, as the location of the at least one mutation is not specified. If Applicant wishes to limit this mutation to the genome, as is done in claim 22, the language used in claim 22 (i.e. “at least one mutation is identified in the genome of the cell”), or similar language, should be used.
Regarding claim 43, the specific term “alpha-phosphorothioate group” is not used in the instant specification. However, in para. 111 of the instant specification, it states, “For example, dideoxynucleotides are modified with an alpha-thio group that creates a phosphorothioate linkage which makes these nucleotides resistant to the 3'->5' proofreading exonuclease activity of nucleic acid polymerases,” and similar wording is used in paras. 138 and 141. In the working examples of the instant specification, alpha-thiol dideoxynucleotide terminators are stated to be used (paras. 156, 163, 169, and 183). Thus, prior art which refers to the use of an alpha-thio modification to a dideoxynucleotide will be considered to read on an “alpha-phosphorothioate group.”
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: in lines 3-4 of step (c)(ii), “the irreversible terminator nucleotide” should read “the at least one irreversible terminator nucleotide.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informality: there appears to be an erroneous line break between “one” and “terminated” in lines 2-3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informality: in line 2, “genome of the cell” should read “genome of the single cell” to match the language used in similar phrases throughout the claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informality: in lines 1-2, “the irreversible terminator” should read “the at least one irreversible terminator nucleotide” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 43 is objected to because of the following informality: in line 1, “the irreversible terminator” should read “the at least one irreversible terminator nucleotide” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-17, 19-20, 22-23, 26, 34-39, and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because “the replication proceeds by strand displacement replication” in line 3 of step (c)(ii) lacks antecedent basis, as “replication” generally is not used earlier in the claim. It is recommended to amend this language to read “replication proceeds by strand displacement replication” or “the amplification proceeds by strand displacement replication.”
Claim 1 is also rejected because the metes and bounds of lines 5-6 of step (c)(ii) are unclear. Specifically, the phrase “inhibits 3’-5’ exonuclease activity of the at least one terminated amplification product” is unclear, as this phrase can be interpreted as the terminated amplification product having 3’-5’ exonuclease activity, and it is unknown how such activity could be generated. It is also unknown if Applicant’s intent was to recite 3’-5’ activity of the nucleic acid polymerase recited earlier in the claim, or to recite an additional exonuclease. Prior art will be considered to read on this limitation if it describes an irreversible terminator nucleotide capable of inhibiting 3’-5’ exonuclease activity of a DNA polymerase and/or an exonuclease.
Claims 4-5, 11, 14-17, 19-20, 22-23, 26, 34-39, and 42-43 are rejected due to their dependence on rejected claim 1.
Claim 42 is also rejected because the scope is generally unclear. The claim recites that the irreversible terminator “is selected from” a group of options, where the options are recited in non-alternative fashion (i.e. …and trans nucleic acids). It is unclear if Applicant was intending to recite a group of alternatively useable terminator types (i.e. a Markush group), in which case the language “is selected from the group consisting of” or acceptable alternatives should be used (see MPEP 2117). Applicant may also be intending to recite language similar to instant claim 43, where the at least one terminator comprises a particular modifying group, but may include others, including others not listed. For the purposes of applying prior art, art will be considered to read on the claim if said art teaches the use of one or more of the listed irreversible terminator types.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-17, 19-20, 22-23, 26, and 34-39, and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate et al. (US 2018/0216160 A1), in view of Gawad et al. (WO 2019/148119 A1; cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Abate teaches methods for genomic and transcriptomic analysis involving sequencing and barcoding methods (Abstract). Specifically, the reference teaches that -omics methods can be used in combination to analyze single cells (paras. 268-269). This can involve isolating single cells into droplets, lysing the cells, copying RNA to cDNA, and barcoding and amplifying it (para. 269; instant claim 5). Abate notes that mRNA can become cDNA through reverse transcription and amplification (e.g. paras. 103, 162, and 352). Single cell genomic data can be added by similarly amplifying the genomes of the single cells. Amplified sequences can be fragmented and adapter sequences may be added, barcodes can be used to distinguish between the genomic DNA and cDNA, and library preparation and sequencing can occur (para. 270).
Abate also teaches that strand displacement amplification can be used to amplify barcode sequences (para. 117) and that targets may be amplified via strand-displacement amplification (paras. 183 and 436), and thus the genomic DNA may be amplified via strand-displacement amplification. Abate also teaches use of a strand-displacing polymerase (para. 111), as well as use of polymerases for amplification in general (paras. 182-183). Abate also teaches that conditions for primer extension include the use of a polymerase along with the four dNTPs (para. 343). The reference also notes that adapters can be added to sequences via ligation (e.g. paras. 26, 135, and 218).
However, Abate does not teach the use of terminator nucleotides in association with these methods. Abate does generally teach the use of terminator nucleotides however. Specifically, Abate teaches modifying oligonucleotides by including 3’ modifications to block additional synthesis, such as dideoxy bases and 3’ spacers (e.g. para. 1174).
Gawad teaches a particular type of amplification called primary template-directed amplification (PTA; Abstract). Gawad indicates that this amplification method can be used with single cells (e.g. paras. 7-8 and 17-20) and particularly with single cell genomes/genome amplification (e.g. paras. 54, 61, and 68). Para. 99 specifically describes amplifying a genome, where a genomic sample comes into contact with amplification primers, a nucleic acid polymerase, and a mixture of nucleotides that include one or more terminators that terminate nucleic acid replication by the polymerase. Strand-displacement replication can then occur, adaptors can be ligated to products, and sequencing can then occur. The terminators used by Gawad can be irreversible (paras. 69 and 75). Several examples of the invention include irreversible terminators (paras. 11-14 and Figure 1), and para. 118 specifically states such an irreversible terminator can be an exonuclease-resistant alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminator. Paras. 3-5 and 73 also mention alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminators, with para. 73 mentioning that these terminators are 3’-5’ exonuclease resistant. This resistance is helpful in ensuring the terminator is not removed by a polymerase during amplification. The reference teaches that this amplification method is highly accurate, scalable, and efficient, and improves existing limitations in single cell genome amplification and sequencing by “increasing sequence representation, uniformity and accuracy in a reproducible manner.” PTA also increases accuracy and sensitivity of downstream sequencing methods.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the PTA taught by Gawad to amplify the genomic DNA described by Abate. Gawad teaches that their method can be used to amplify genomic DNA from single cells specifically, and notes many benefits of their method over other amplification methods that would be motivating to the ordinary artisan, as described in the paragraph above. Both references teach the same general context for amplification – where strand displacement replication is used, amplification products are ligated with adaptors, and downstream sequencing is performed. As the results of the amplification of Abate and Gawad would generally be the same (i.e. amplified and sequenced genomes), the ordinary artisan would be capable of using PTA as the genomic DNA amplification in Abate, and would expect more efficiency and accuracy compared to the amplification of Abate alone. Furthermore, the ordinary artisan would specifically be motivated to use the irreversible terminators described by Gawad, such as the alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminators, as these terminators show higher quality sequencing results compared to reversible terminators (see Gawad, Figures 3A-B; instant claims 42-43). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in using PTA as the amplification of Abate because PTA is taught to successfully amplify in the same context as that of Abate.
Thus, claims 1, 5, and 42-43 are prima facie obvious over Abate in view of Gawad.
Regarding claims 4 and 38, Abate teaches that template-switching primers and oligonucleotides may be utilized when performing RT-PCR on mRNA to synthesize cDNA (paras. 33, 1209, and 1456; instant claims 4 and 38).
Regarding claim 11, Abate teaches methods of using droplets, as described above in the rejection of claim 1, and in paras. 4 and 81, for example. Abate also generally teaches that individual cells can be isolated in droplets (para. 230). The reference also teaches that individual cells may be isolated via FACS, where they can then be subjected to barcoding and sequencing preparation (para. 259). FACS is a noted flow cytometry method in the instant specification (e.g. paras. 89, 153, and 167; instant claim 11).
Regarding claim 14, Gawad teaches that their amplification products, including the terminated products, are generally between 50-2000 nucleotides in length (para. 50) and teaches that PTA produces an average length of 50-2000 nucleotides for amplification products (para. 72). As Abate in view of Gawad utilizes PTA, the same nucleotide range for amplification products would occur. This range overlaps with the 250-1500 length range described in the claim. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” Thus, Abate in view of Gawad renders the range described by instant claim 14 prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 15, Gawad teaches coverage associated with sequence reads for PTA products. In particular, paras. 18 and 119 and Figure 2D show that nearly 100% (97.9 +/- 0.62) of reads could be mapped with PTA, indicating that the PTA products successfully amplified nearly 100% of the genome. Para. 118 and Figure 3B note that with irreversible terminators specifically, a mapping rate of 97.9 +/- 0.62 was achieved. As PTA with irreversible terminators is performed in the method of Abate in view of Gawad, specifically for whole genome amplification followed by sequencing, it would be prima facie obvious that approximately the same mapping results would be achieved, and thus the amplification products of PTA in Abate in view of Gawad would comprise approximately 97.9 +/- 0.62% of the genome of the single cell.
Regarding claim 16, Abate teaches that barcodes can be specific to particular cells (para. 90). As noted above, Abate teaches that the genomic DNA can have barcodes incorporated, and this barcoding can be done before amplification occurs (before library preparation, see para. 270). Thus, the barcodes would be present on the genomic DNA before the PTA methods of Gawad were performed, and so the amplification product would contain said barcodes. It is noted that Gawad also teaches the use of cell barcodes (e.g. paras. 3-5, 82, and 97).
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Abate teaches that cell lysis methods, particularly in droplets, can involve reagents that cause cells to burst (para. 339). This bursting is also specifically noted to release genomic DNA, and would thus encompass cytosolic and nuclear lysis (instant claim 20). As noted above, Abate also teaches reverse transcription methods related to mRNA and cDNA (paras. 103, 162, and 352; instant claim 17).
Regarding claim 19, Abate teaches that their transcriptome methods can involve whole transcriptome amplification (paras. 17, 33, 1209, and 1344). Para. 269 also notes that single cell methods can provide highly detailed transcriptome information. Because the entire transcriptome is amplified, the resulting library would comprise much more than 500 genes (instant claim 19).
Regarding claims 22-23 and 26, it is noted that to accomplish the limitations of claims 23 and 26, a specific ratio of non-mutant to mutant cells or amplification products is required (e.g. a mutation in the genome of one cell in a population of 100 cells). Abate teaches that genetic modifications can be made to some cells in a population of cells to insert sequences into a genome and analyze them. The genetically modified genomes would thus contain an insertion relative to the unmodified cells, which would act as a reference (paras. 266-267; instant claim 22). These genetic modifications can affect as little as one cell (para. 267). While Abate is not specific about how many cells are in their populations of cells, para. 259 notes that “large populations” may be used, paras. 266-267 do not place limits on how many cells may be in a “plurality of cells,” and the use of tissue and blood samples for analyzing cells is noted (paras. 304-305). These provide evidence that a population of cells can easily be over 100 cells. If only a single cell is modified, than the insertion mutation would affect less than 1% of the population of cells (instant claim 23). Furthermore, if the genetic modification is a single insertion, and the entire modified genome is amplified (as is suggested in para. 270), the mutation would be present in less than 1% of the resulting amplified product (instant claim 26).
Regarding claim 34, Abate generally teaches pooling of molecules before sequencing (paras. 31, 218, 226). Para. 270, which contains many of the teachings used in the rejection of instant claim 1, states that resulting material from simultaneously analyzing the genome and transcriptome can be sequenced after library preparation, where all reads can be aggregated.
Regarding claims 35-37, Abate teaches that their methods can be used to analyze cells associated with tissues, particularly organ tissues such as the liver and kidney, or blood cells (para. 304). Tumor tissues or liquid tumors can also be examined, and analysis of cancer cells is specifically mentioned (paras. 304-305; instant claims 35-37).
Regarding claim 39, Abate does teach methods in which multiple PCR protocols are used (para. 27 and Figure 22, further explained in para. 1351). In one such method, the target sequences of interest are first amplified within droplets, adaptors are ligated, and then barcoding PCR is later used to incorporate barcodes into the target sequences (para. 27). Though this method involves additional steps than in the method of Abate presented above in the rejection of claim 1 (such as tagmentation), it would still be prima facie obvious to use an additional PCR step in the methods of Abate in view of Gawad, as described above in the rejection of claim 1. This is because this combination of references involves amplification followed by sequencing methods in which ligation of adapters occurs, and so is similar to the amplification followed by tagmentation described by Abate. By amplifying the sequences ligated to the adapters in Abate Abate in view of Gawad, this would allow for additional copies of sequences to be present in the genomic DNA library, which would allow for more DNA to be available for downstream analysis. As Abate also teaches secondary barcoding PCR, such amplification can be used to mark particular subsets of the library with certain barcodes so they may be tracked and categorized for particular downstream methods. This would overall provide more flexibility and versatility to the existing methods of Abate in view of Gawad. As amplification methods are well-known in the art, there would be a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating this addition into the method of Abate in view of Gawad, particularly as Gawad also teaches that additional amplification of PTA products can occur (e.g. paras. 8 and 75-76).
Thus, claim 39 is prima facie obvious over Abate in view of Gawad.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 42-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15, 42, and 47 of copending Application No. 18/860,539 in view of Gawad et al. (WO 2019/148119 A1; cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Claim 1 of the ‘539 application is drawn to a multiomic sample preparation involving sequencing a cDNA and a genomic DNA library. This claim includes many of the limitations of instant claim 1, except for explicitly stating that the genomic DNA must be amplified and have adaptors ligated to the amplicons before sequencing, as well as stating the specific mixture of nucleotides used and the irreversible terminator requirements of instant claim 1. These limitations are taught by Gawad.
Gawad teaches a particular type of amplification called primary template-directed amplification (PTA; Abstract). This amplification can be used for single-cell genome amplification (e.g. paras. 54, 61, and 68). Para. 99 specifically describes amplifying a genome, where a genomic sample comes into contact with amplification primers, a nucleic acid polymerase, and a mixture of nucleotides that include one or more terminators that terminate nucleic acid replication by the polymerase. Strand-displacement replication can then occur, adaptors can be ligated to products, and sequencing can then occur. The terminators used by Gawad can be irreversible (paras. 69 and 75). Several examples of the invention include irreversible terminators (paras. 11-14 and Figure 1), and para. 118 specifically states such a terminator can be an exonuclease-resistant alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminator. Paras. 3-5 and 73 also mention alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminators, with para. 73 mentioning that these terminators are 3’-5’ exonuclease resistant. This resistance is helpful in ensuring the terminator is not removed by a polymerase during amplification. Gawad also indicates that this amplification method can be used with single cells (e.g. paras. 7-8 and 17-20) and particularly with single cell genomes (e.g. para. 68). The reference teaches that this amplification method is highly accurate, scalable, and efficient, and improves existing limitations in single cell genome amplification and sequencing by “increasing sequence representation, uniformity and accuracy in a reproducible manner.” PTA also increases accuracy and sensitivity of downstream sequencing methods.
Gawad teaches that their method can be used to amplify genomic DNA from single cells specifically, and notes many benefits of their method over other amplification methods that would be motivating to the ordinary artisan, as described in the paragraph above. Both Gawad and the ‘539 application teach the same general context for potential amplification – namely genomic DNA amplification from a single cell, where downstream sequencing is performed. As the results of the amplification of the ‘539 application and Gawad would generally be the same (i.e. amplified and sequenced genomes), the ordinary artisan would be capable of using PTA as the genomic DNA amplification in the ‘539 application, and would expect high efficiency and accuracy. Furthermore, the ordinary artisan would specifically be motivated to use the irreversible terminators described by Gawad, such as the alpha-thio dideoxynucleotide terminators, as these terminators show higher quality sequencing results compared to reversible terminators (see Gawad, Figures 3A-B).
Thus, claim 1 of the ‘539 application reads on instant claims 1 and 42-43 in view of Gawad.
Claim 15 of the ‘539 application discusses the addition of adapters to the cDNA and genomic DNA libraries. As noted above, instant claim 1 requires adapter addition in relation to the genomic DNA library, and does not preclude adding adapters to the cDNA library. Therefore, this claim also reads on instant claim 1.
Claim 42 of the ‘539 application requires that the terminator comprise an irreversible terminator, and so also reads on instant claim 1.
Claim 47 of the ‘539 application lists several potential types of terminator nucleotides, where the group is identical to the group presented in instant claim 42. The “modification to the alpha group” option also encompasses the alpha-phosphorothioate described in instant claim 43.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
/FRANCESCA FILIPPA GIAMMONA/Examiner, Art Unit 1681