DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed 20NOV2025 has been entered. No new matter has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 103 rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 21AUG2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 20NOV2025 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. See new rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). See MPEP 6083.01(m). Appropriate correction is required. For example:
1. (Currently Amended) A phyto-mediated wastewater treatment bioreactor (PWBR) (100) comprising:
a growing medium (140);
a serpentine flow path (135) comprising a plurality of U-turns, disposed in the growing medium (140);
an influent port (120) fluidly coupled to the serpentine flow path (135);
an effluent port (125) fluidly coupled to the serpentine flow path (135), disposed opposite to the influent port (120) at an equal height to the influent port (120); and
a plurality of plant units (150) planted in the growing medium (140);
wherein wastewater containing a first concentration of dissolved contaminants is introduced into the serpentine flow path (135) via the influent port (120);
wherein as the wastewater flows through the serpentine flow path (135), the plant units (150), microorganisms, or a combination thereof adhering to surfaces of the plant roots and growing medium assimilate, bioaccumulate and/or break the contaminants such that the wastewater exits through the effluent port (125) with a reduced concentration of contaminants;
wherein the growing medium (140) comprises a solid material.
Note the last paragraph of claim 2 is not indented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-5,7-8,13,15-17,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (WO 2004087584).
Regarding claim 1, KUMAR teaches system and method for the treatment of wastewater using plants (title, Figs.) including a phyto-mediated wastewater treatment bioreactor (PWBR) comprising:
a solid growing medium (e.g. sand; P4/L23-25);
a serpentine flow path (see flow arrows of Fig. 2; P5/L21-22) comprising a plurality of U-turns, disposed in the growing medium (Fig. 1 #1-3);
an influent port (Fig. 1 #12) fluidly coupled to the flow path;
an effluent port (Fig. 1 #14) fluidly coupled to the flow path and disposed opposite to the influent port; and,
a plurality of plants (Fig. 1 #4; P9/L28-P10/L1) planted in the growing medium;
wherein the device is capable of breaking down the contaminants via microorganisms and plant roots (P5/L33-34; P7/L23-27; P9/L5-8).
While KUMAR does not teach the effluent port is disposed at an equal height to the influent port, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the height of the effluent port is an obvious engineering design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Further, the inlet/outlet height has not been established to provide any criticality or to provide any unexpected result/benefit over the prior art of record. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USP 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claims 2,15, KUMAR teaches system and method for the treatment of wastewater using plants (title, Figs.) including a phyto-mediated wastewater treatment bioreactor (PWBR) comprising:
a) a container (side walls constructed out of concrete or brick work with plaster; Fig. 1 #11; P9/L2-3) having an upstream end (near Fig. 1 #12) and a downstream end (near Fig. 1 #14);
b) an influent port (Fig. 1 #12) fluidly coupled to the container at the upstream end;
c) an effluent port (Fig. 1 #14) fluidly coupled to the container at the downstream end opposite the influent port;
d) a plurality of flow guides (Fig. 1 #8) disposed in the container, the flow guides dividing the container into a plurality of fluidly connected container sections arranged in a serpentine flow path comprising a plurality of U-turns (see flow arrows of Fig. 2; P5/L5-7; 21-22; P9/L3);
e) a solid growing medium (e.g. sand; P4/L23-25) disposed in the container sections such that the serpentine flow path is defined in the growing medium (Fig. 1 #1-3); and
f) a plurality of plant units (Fig. 1 #4; P9/L28-P10/L1) planted in the growing medium;
wherein the device is capable of breaking down the contaminants via microorganisms and plant roots (P5/L33-34; P7/L23-27; P9/L5-8).
While KUMAR does not teach the effluent port is disposed at an equal height to the influent port, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the height of the effluent port is an obvious engineering design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Further, the inlet/outlet height has not been established to provide any criticality or to provide any unexpected result/benefit over the prior art of record. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USP 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 4, KUMAR teaches the flow guides are parallel to each other (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claims 5,7, KUMAR teaches the flow guides are e.g. straight baffles. (P5/L6; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, KUMAR teaches the flow guides are oriented radially relative to an axis (see e.g. dashed line of Fig. 2) extending from the upstream end to the downstream end (the baffles are perpendicular to the axis; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, KUMAR teaches the flow guides are e.g. solid. (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, KUMAR teaches the container is e.g. rectangular cubic, (Fig. 1; P12/L2).
Regarding claim 17, KUMAR teaches the wastewater is capable of making a single-pass through the PWBR (Fig. 1; P5/L10-11).
Regarding claim 20, KUMAR teaches e.g. flow rate is capable of being controlled (P8/L9-10).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (WO 2004087584) in view of LASSOVSKY (US 8889006).
Regarding claim 9, KUMAR does not teach the flow guides are oriented axially relative to an axis extending from the upstream end to the downstream end. However, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the orientation of the baffles is an obvious engineering design choice and would be obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed structure was significant.
This is especially obvious in view of LASSOVSKY, which teaches a system for wastewater treatment using aquatic plants (title, Figs.) including flow guides (Fig. 4 #110) are oriented axially relative to an axis (e.g. running left to right; Fig. 4) extending from the upstream end to the downstream end thus providing a zigzag flow (C10/L6-10).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (WO 2004087584) in view of ROONEY (US 4282102).
Regarding claim 12, KUMAR does not teach the flow guides comprise a polymer or metal material. However, ROONEY teaches activated sludge wastewater treatment having suspended inert media for biota growth (title, Figs.) comprising a metal baffle (Fig. 1 #36) that provides an erosion and corrosion resistant surface (C5/L50-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flow guides of KUMAR to be made of metal to provide an erosion and corrosion resistant surface as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of wastewater treatment. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (WO 2004087584) in view of BUSSARD (US 3873445).
Regarding claim 14, KUMAR does not teach the flow guides comprise wire netting. However, BUSSARD teaches apparatus for reducing toilet effluents to useable liquids (title, Figs.) comprising a mesh filter baffle (e.g. Figs. 2,4 #19) to permit the free flow of liquids therethrough but generally confining growth solids within until sufficiently digested (C3/L2-4; C4/L48-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the flow guides of KUMAR with a mesh filter to allow liquid to flow but not solids until sufficiently digested as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of wastewater treatment. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (WO 2004087584) in view of AUSTIN (US 20050218071).
Regarding claims 18-19, KUMAR does not teach the wastewater is capable of being recirculated through the PWBR. However, AUSTIN teaches an integrated tidal wastewater treatment system and method (title, Figs.) including a phyto-mediated wastewater treatment bioreactor (PWBR) comprising:
a) container (Fig. 4 #10’) having an upstream end (at Fig. 4 #11a) and a downstream end (at Fig. 4 #11e);
b) an influent port (Fig. 1 #14 of Fig. 4 #11a) fluidly coupled to the container at the upstream end;
c) an effluent port (Fig. 1 #31 of Fig. 4 #11e) fluidly coupled to the container at the downstream end opposite the influent port;
d) a plurality of flow guides (walls defining 11a-e and 12a-d of Fig. 4) disposed in the container, the flow guides dividing the container into a plurality of fluidly connected container sections;
e) a growing medium (Fig. 1 #90) disposed in the container sections; and
f) a plurality of plant units (Fig. 1 #19) planted in the growing medium;
wherein the device is capable of breaking down the contaminants (via e.g. bioremediation; par. [0003]); and,
the wastewater is capable of being recirculated through the PWBR (Fig. 4 “Q recycle”) via a pump (Fig. 4 “P”), which provides for a more effective removal of contaminants (par. [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of KUMAR to include recycle streams as taught by AUSTIN for the purpose of providing for a more effective removal of contaminants. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of wastewater treatment. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Telephonic Inquiries
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777