Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because on line 2, “said body” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
As explained in the action mailed 05/24/2024, the phrases “fastener means” and “holder means” are interpreted as invoking 112(f). In particular and in regard to claim 1, “fastener means” is interpreted as requiring a first plate and a second plate rotatably connected to the first plate, or a slider housing having a wedge, or a cylindrical ring with an opening angle associated with closure means as defined in paragraphs 5-8 of the present specification. The phrase “holder means” is interpreted as requiring a lace or tape. See [0059].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108683028 (“Yao”).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses an electrical connector (1) comprising fastener means (housing with wedge means, see 4/5/6, 8, 13/14/18/19, see Figs. 1 and 4) for temporarily fastening a cable (3) to which the electrical connector is attached (see Figs. 1 and 3); wherein said fastener means comprises a housing (8/9/13/14/18/19) fastened on said connector, the housing comprises a first notch (the semi-circular shaped notch within 13, see Fig. 4) defining a through opening configured to receive a portion of the cable such that the cable extends out of the through opening from both sides of the through opening (See Fig. 1), a slider (the opposed 13/14) is arranged in the housing (14 telescopes within a housing portion, see Fig. 4 and the abstract), said slider configured to wedge said portion of the cable in the through opening (see Figs. 1 and 4) by a spring (15).
Regarding claim 14, Yao discloses the fastener means is an integral part of the connector (the fastener means is an integral part of the housing of the connector, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Yao discloses the fastening means is configured to unfasten the cable when the electrical connector is in use (with the cable and connector engaged, the fastening means are capable of being manipulated to unfasten the cable, see Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 20, Yao discloses said slider comprises a second notch (see Fig. 4) and each of said first notch and said second notch comprises an arcuate portion configured to engage and wedge the portion of the cable (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of U.S. Pat. No. 6,327,139 (“Champion”).
Regarding claim 10, Yao does not disclose holder means that are fastened to said body of the connector. However, Champion teaches an electrical connector (see connection to 102, Fig. 2), with a body (101, 104, 105) and holder means (115, Velcro tape), are fastened to the body (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to provide the body and holder means of Champion, because this helps organize and route numerous wires on route through the body to the connectors held within the body, as seen in Figure 3.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of U.S. Pat. No. 7,168,973 (“Wascow”).
Regarding claim 12, Yao does not disclose wherein the cable is for recharging batteries of electric vehicles. However, Wascow teaches an electrical connector (20/44) which includes fastener means (1) 52 which has plate portion 22 and second rotating plate 62 which is connected to 22 and (2) 246 along with 226/236/240 which slide and wedge 70 within the housing, for temporarily fastening the cable to which the electrical connector is attached. Furthermore, the cable connection type is shown by the receptacle configuration in Figure 2 and this configuration is capable of being used to charge batteries in electric vehicles.
It would have been obvious to modify the connector of Yao in view of Wascow, so that the connector was an assembly which utilized a cable connector capable of recharging batteries of electric vehicles, because this makes the connector and fastener means structure of Yao more useful to a wider variety of users because this increases the variety of cables utilizing the connector with fastener means structure of Yao.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not applicable to the current rejections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 – 19 are allowed. The reasons for allowance for then pending claim 2 found in the action mailed 05/24/2024 are applicable to claim 16.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2833