DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 8/15/25, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 17, 18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade (US 2017/0274564 A1) in view of Tabeya et al (US 2012/0282424 A1).
Wade teaches an encapsulation comprising a substrate having an outside surface; a cured reaction injection molding (RIM) (e.g., a reactive coating composition injected in a mold) coating located on the outside surface of the assembly, wherein the reaction injection molding (RIM) coating composition comprises (i) a first polymeric component including a polymer comprising isocyanate-reactive group(s) (e.g., polyol and/or polycarbonate polyols) and (ii) a second polymeric component including a polyisocyanate e.g., diisocyanates), wherein at least the substrate comprises polycarbonate; wherein the first polymeric component is a polyether polyol or a polycarbonate polyol; wherein the second polymeric component comprises one selected from the group consisting of a diisocyanate, polyisocyanurates, and biuret groups; wherein the reaction injection molding (RIM) coating composition further comprises an internal mold release agent (abstract; para 4, 6, 8, 22, 27, 36, 45).
Regarding the limitations “wherein the reaction injection molding (RIM) coating flows 360° around the outside surface of the assembly, such that when the coated assembly is rotated 360° about an axis, the reaction injection molding (RIM) coating may be seen as applied to a portion of the outside surface of the assembly at any degree about that axis;” and “wherein the outside surface of the assembly comprises one or more portions that are not coated and one or more other portions that are coated;” Wade teaches the coating has high quality finish exhibiting good physical properties, such as scratch resistance, stain resistance, and chemical resistance (para 6); so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the location of the coating on the molded assembly to provide any of these properties as necessary per the required application.
Wade fails to teach the substrate comprises a first plastic molded part; a second plastic molded part, wherein the first molded part and the second molded part fit together to form an assembly; wherein the first plastic molded part and the second plastic molded part comprise one or more notches.
However, Wade teaches the use of its coating in applications such as housings of electrical equipment (para 67).
Tabeya teaches injection molded articles for use in the housings of electric or electronic devices (para 2-3); wherein the molded articles comprise polycarbonate; and further comprise a first plastic molded part; a second plastic molded part, wherein the first molded part and the second molded part fit together to form an assembly; wherein the first plastic molded part and the second plastic molded part comprise one or more notches (para ; 56-63, 89-90; figs 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the molded article of Tabeya for the substrate of Wade, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). Furthermore, motivation is given by the fact that the electronic housing of the combination of Wade and Tabeya would have a high quality finish exhibiting good physical properties, such as scratch resistance, stain resistance, and chemical resistance.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the first plastic molded part and the second plastic molded part are held together solely by the cured coating, and not any other adhesives or structures;” Tabeya teaches it molded part comprises only two parts (para 56-63; figs 1-3); and Wade teaches coating the substrate(s) (i.e., the two parts of Tabeya) (para 2-6); wherein the coating comprises a binder and becomes part of the substrate surface itself (para 24); so the combination of Wade and Tabeya would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the coating that acts as a binder and is part of the surface of the molded parts holding the two parts together (i.e., wherein the first plastic molded part and the second plastic molded part are held together solely by the cured coating, and not any other adhesives or structures), or the coatings form and act as the integral bond between the two molded parts. In addition, Wade suggests the use of multi-cavity molds (para 4-6) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention a multi-state mold for forming the parts, coating the parts, and adjoining the parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the first plastic molded part and the second plastic molded part are held together solely by the cured coating, and not any other adhesives or structures;” Tabeya teaches it molded part comprises only two parts (para 56-63; figs 1-3); and Wade teaches coating the substrate (i.e., the two parts of Tabeya) (para 2-6); wherein the coating comprises a binder and becomes part of the substrate surface itself (para 24); so the combination of Wade and Tabeya would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the coating that acts as a binder and is part of the surface of the molded parts holding the two parts together (i.e., wherein the first plastic molded part and the second plastic molded part are held together solely by the cured coating, and not any other adhesives or structures), or the coatings form and act as the integral bond between the two molded parts. In addition, Wade suggests the use of multi-cavity molds (para 4-6) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention a multi-state mold for forming the parts, coating the parts, and adjoining the parts.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783