DETAILED ACTION
Applicants Claim amendments/arguments in the response filed 10/23/2025 are acknowledged and entered into the record.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-17, 20, 22, 24-29, and 31-36 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
New Grounds of Rejection
(necessitated by amendment)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Newly added Claims 32, 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “or fragment thereof” which reads on amino acid fragments as small as 2-3 amino acids. Applicant is invited to amend the claims to recite “or antigen binding fragment thereof” to obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-14, 16-17, 20, 22, 24-29, and 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US Patent 11,447,551) as evidenced by the instant specification.
The claims are drawn to a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a patient an anti-CLDN18.2 antibody and an immune checkpoint inhibitor. The claims are further drawn to the anti-CLDN18.2 antibody having specific sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 17, 24, 32, 39) and wherein the checkpoint inhibitor is an anti-PD-1 antibody, anti-PD-L1 antibody, or anti-CTLA4 antibody and wherein the anti-CLDN18.2 antibody is not conjugated to interleukin-2.
Zhu et al. teach “compositions and methods of making isolated binding molecules (e.g. an antibodies) or antigen-binding fragment thereof useful as therapeutics for treating and/or preventing diseases associated with cells expressing claudin18.2” (see Abstract). Zhu et al. further teaches “pharmaceutical formulations comprising the described compositions for the treatment of diseases either as single agent (e.g., naked antibodies) or as adjuvant therapy with other antigen-binding anticancer agents such as immune checkpoint inhibitors (e.g., anti-CTLA-4 and anti-PD-1/PD-L1 monoclonal antibodies), and/or by combination therapies where the anti-claudin18.2 antibodies are administered before, after, or concurrently with chemotherapy” (see Abstract). Zhu et al. discloses the anti-CLDN18.2 antibody “IMAB362 (Claudiximab, Zolbetuximab)”, which the instant specification discloses comprises a VH having instant SEQ ID NO: 51 and VL having instant SEQ ID NO: 24 (see instant specification p.2). Zhu et al. further disloses anti-PD-1 antibodies pembrolizumab and nivolumab and anti-CTLA4 antibody ipilimumab. Zhu et al. discloses IMAB362 can be administering at single doses up to 1000 mg/m2. Zhu et al. disclose the combined therapies comprise administration of an anti-CLDN18.2 binding molecule in combination with administration of another therapeutic agent (e.g., an anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1, or anti-CTLA4 antibody), the methods disclosed herein encompass co-administration, using separate formulations or a single pharmaceutical formulation, and consecutive administration in either order. Zhu et al. teach each and every limitation of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10-17, 20, 22, 24-29, 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al. (US Patent 10,093,736, referred to as Sahin A) in view of Sahin et al. (US Patent 10,813,996, referred to as Sahin B) and Liu (US Patent 11,912,763).
The claims are drawn to a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a patient an anti-CLDN18.2 antibody and an immune checkpoint inhibitor. The claims are further drawn to the anti-CLDN18.2 antibody having specific sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 17, 24, 32, 39) or previously deposited and wherein the checkpoint inhibitor is an anti-PD-1 antibody, anti-PD-L1 antibody, or anti-CTLA4 antibody and wherein the anti-CLDN18.2 antibody is not conjugated to interleukin-2.
Sahin A teach treatment of cancer comprising administering to a patient a binding agent targeting claudin and CD3. Sahin A discloses said claudin (CLDN) is CLDN18.2 and a binding agent comprising an antibody targeting CLDN18.2 an CD3. Sahin A discloses treatment of cancer represents a combination of strategies such that the methods and pharmaceutical compositions of the present invention may be effectively combined with various other drugs and/or methods (see column 60). Sahin A disclose additional antibodies which target PD-1 (nivolumab) and CTLA-4 (tremelimumab) can be used in combination with the anti-CLDN antibodies (see columns 62-63). Sahin A discloses anti-CLDN18.2 antibodies having CDRs and variable regions with 100% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 17, 24, and variable regions having 100% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 32 and 39, however does not disclose anti-CLDN18.2 antibodies produced or obtained from clones deposited under accession numbers recited in instant claim 15. This deficiency is made up for by Sahin B.
Sahin B teaches combination therapy for effectively treating diseases associated with cells expressing CLDN18.2 comprising administering to a patient an antibody binding to CLDN18.2. Sahin B discloses an anti-CLDN18.2 antibody which binds to the first extracellular loop of CLDN18.2 and antibodies produced by and/or obtainable from the same deposited clones as recited in instant claim 15 (see column 4).
Liu teach antibodies targeting CLDN18.2 and bispecific antibodies targeting an additionally non-CLDN18.2 antigen. Liu further discloses “methods of the present disclosure includes the administration of the anti-CLDN18.2 antibody molecule of the present disclosure to a subject in the amount effective for treatment or prevention of diseases (e.g., cancers), optionally, in combination with one or more inhibitors of PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, CTLA-4, Tim-3 antibody (immunotherapy) or other tumor therapeutic antibodies, Her-2, EGFR, VEGF, VEGFR antibody, etc., as well as ADC (antibody drug conjugate, such as T-DM1), bispecific antibody, chemotherapy drug, etc. Liu disclose the bispecific antibodies targeting CLDN18.2 and an immune checkpoint antigen including PD-1, PD-L1, showed synergistic effects (see table 38a).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific "CLDN18.2” antibodies taught by Sahin B in a method of treating cancer by administering a combination of anti-CLDN18.2 antibody and checkpoint inhibitor as taught by Sahin A. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Sahin A & B and the specific anti-CLDN18.2, antibodies shown to successfully target tumors and slow tumor growth. It would have been obvious to extend the teachings of Sahin A to use the specific claudin18.2 antibodies taught by Sahin B in the method of combination therapy with a checkpoint inhibitor as taught by Sahin A for additional cancer treatment strategies. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the anti-CLDN18.2 antibodies taught by Sahin A and Sahin B with immune checkpoint inhibitors such as anti-PD-1 and anti-CTLA4 antibodies to enhance current cancer tumor treatment therapies. The instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that if two modes of treatment, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to make a protocol that is to be used for the very same purpose since the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argue in the response filed 10/232025 that Sahin A provides no experimental evidence for the combination and its disclosure is purely speculative with respect to the recited combination therapy and the cited references amount to no more than a “hope” that the claimed combination would be useful to treat cancer. These arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
An person having ordinary skill in the art would have known at the time of filing and based on the teachings of Sahin A, that combining therapeutic agents known in the art to treat cancer is a common practice to achieve greater therapeutic benefit. Immune checkpoint inhibitors, specifically anti-PD-1 and anti-CTLA-4 antibodies, were well known in the art to be used for treatment of cancer alone or in combination with other anti-cancer therapeutics. For example Liu (US Patent 11,912,763) teach treatment approaches for several cancer types, comprising macromolecular targeting drugs such as new monoclonal antibodies, as well as the combination of these monoclonal antibodies and existing tumor immunotherapy approaches, such as antibodies against immune checkpoint inhibitor PD-1 and PD-L1, provide new possibilities and options for the huge unmet clinical treatment needs. Liu goes on to disclose a bispecific antibody targeting CLDN18.2 and PD-1 showed a synergistic effect (see table 38a). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the anti-CLDN18.2 antibodies taught by Sahin A and Sahin B with immune checkpoint inhibitors such as anti-PD-1 and anti-CTLA4 antibodies to enhance current cancer tumor treatment therapies based on the teachings in the prior art.
All other previous rejections are hereby withdrawn in view of applicants claim amendments and arguments in the response filed 10/23/2025.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-17, 20, 22, 24-29, 31-36 are rejected.
No Claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Meera Natarajan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643