DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments received 07-22-2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended.
Claims 8, 16, 23, and 25-27 have been cancelled.
There are no new claims.
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-22, 24, and 28-30 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is an after non-final on an RCE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17, and 23-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20170164179 A1) in view of Kawai (JP 2012053821 A) and in further view of Ahmed (US 20180105053 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Jeon discloses, performing an initiation of a charging session (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073] an EV charging system using a primary device (PD) discovery method according to an embodiment may prepare wireless charging through message exchanges between an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) 10 and a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) 20, perform power transfer) with an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) associated with the EV (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073] an EV charging system using a primary device (PD) discovery method ... prepare wireless charging through message exchanges between an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) 10 and a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) 20, perform power transfer; [0088] a primary device discovery method according to an embodiment may be performed based on exchange of messages and data between the EVCC of the EV and the SECC of the charging station); performing a pairing with the EVCC by exchanging pairing messages with the EVCC (Jeon: [0073] prepare wireless charging through message exchanges between an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) 10 and a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) 20), the pairing being performed to identify whether the first SECC is a correct SECC for the power transfer to the EV (Jeon: [0073] messages, such as a low layer protocol setup with SECC, an application layer association, a high level service discovery/compatibility, an EV off-board power transfer communication pairing, a potential setup with alternate SECC); wherein the pairing messages and the pairing response message are transmitted and received through wireless communication (Jeon: [0010-0011]).
In this case, a pairing is interpreted as a match between two things. Further, Jeon does not explicitly recite the terminology "pairing". However, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, Jeon discloses a service discovery or compatibility ([0073]) procedure. Which, is interpreted as a parallel teaching to pairing (a match between two things).
Jeon discloses generating information on at least one alternate SECC ([FIG. 2]). Jeon does not explicitly disclose teachings on alternative charging station, such as, generating information on at least one alternative SECC including at least one of other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs; and transmitting a pairing response message including the information on the at least one alternative SECC to the EV, and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawai discloses, generating information on at least one alternative SECC (Kawai: [0022] when the charging trouble information acquisition means acquires charging trouble information indicating that a charging trouble that causes the charging of the battery to fail when charging the battery at the charging facility ... it is possible to guide other passengers to an appropriate charging facility (examiner: implies that if a neighboring device was available, it would be on the list)) included in a list of a plurality of alternative SECCs (Kawai: [ABS] to send alternative charging stand information indicating the list of the charging stand to an on-vehicle navigation device; [0071] a list of alternative charging stations 40 is created in the order in which charging can be started substantially early ... a list of alternative charging stations 40 is created in the order of the shortest total time of the time required to reach the charging station 40 (distance from the host vehicle to the charging station 40 / estimated vehicle speed) and the waiting time required after arrival); and transmitting a pairing response message (Kawai: [0025] Alternative charging facility information providing means (218, S75) for providing information on the alternative charging facility to the vehicle. [0026] ... when a charging trouble occurs, the alternative charging facility extracting means extracts an alternative charging facility arranged at a position near the charging facility where the charging trouble has occurred ... the alternative charging facility information providing unit provides the extracted information on the alternative charging facility to the vehicle) including the information on the plurality of alternative SECCs to the EV (Kawai: [0025] Alternative charging facility information providing means (218, S75) for providing information on the alternative charging facility to the vehicle. [0026] ... when a charging trouble occurs, the alternative charging facility extracting means extracts an alternative charging facility arranged at a position near the charging facility where the charging trouble has occurred ... the alternative charging facility information providing unit provides the extracted information on the alternative charging facility to the vehicle ... a passenger who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility), and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC (Kawai: [0080] A map is displayed on the display screen, and the map display screen is displayed in a color-coded manner so that the power failure area can be distinguished from other normal areas ... change the display image so that the occupant knows that the display mark of the charging station 40 existing in the power outage failure occurrence area cannot be used with a cross mark; [0084] since the alternative charging stand 40 is listed in the order in which charging can be started earliest), and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (Kawai: [0080] A map is displayed on the display screen, and the map display screen is displayed in a color-coded manner so that the power failure area can be distinguished from other normal areas ... change the display image so that the occupant knows that the display mark of the charging station 40 existing in the power outage failure occurrence area cannot be used with a cross mark; [0084] since the alternative charging stand 40 is listed in the order in which charging can be started earliest), for the benefit of guiding a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by Jeon to include information on alternate charging stations taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to guide a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages (Ahmed: [0073] If the access point succeeds in establishing a connection 419, the process may continue, but if the access point cannot establish a connection (enabling direct communication), the access point may broadcast an error message 421. Until direct communication is established, by broadcasting error messages the access point can keep drivers appraised of the situation and availability of the particular pad associated with the access point … if the vehicle has already engaged or begun to engage the pad, the broadcast may also include a request for the vehicle to leave the pad, since a connection to facilitate charging cannot be established; [0074] The access point may also determine vehicle compatibility with the charging pad based on vehicle charging compatibility characteristics received by the access point), for the benefit of notifying a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include access point failures taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Jeon discloses, a processor (Jeon: [0030]); and a memory storing at least one instruction to be executed by the processor (Jeon: [0030]), wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: perform an initiation of a charging session with an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) associated with the EV (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073]); perform a pairing with the EVCC by exchanging pairing messages with the EV (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073]; [0077]; [0088]), the pairing being performed to identify whether the SECC is a correct SECC for the power transfer to the EV (Jeon: [0073]); wherein the pairing messages and the pairing response message are transmitted and received through wireless communication (Jeon: [0010-0011]).
Jeon discloses generating information on at least one alternate SECC ([FIG. 2]). Jeon does not explicitly disclose teachings on alternative charging station, such as, generating information on at least one alternative SECC including at least one of other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs; and transmitting a pairing response message including the information on the at least one alternative SECC to the EV, and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawai discloses, generate information on at least one alternative SECC (Kawai: [0022]) including at least one of other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs (Kawai: [ABS]; [0071]); and transmit a pairing response message (Kawai: [0025-0026]; [0103-0113]) including the information on the at least one alternative SECC to the EV (Kawai: [0025-0026]; [0103-0113]), and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), for the benefit of guiding a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by Jeon to include information on alternate charging stations taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to guide a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages (Ahmed: [0073-0074]), for the benefit of notifying a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include access point failures taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Jeon discloses, performing an initiation of a charging session with a first supply equipment communication controller (SECC) among a plurality of SECCs equipped in a charging station (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073]); performing a pairing with the first SECC by exchanging pairing messages with the SECC (Jeon: [0073]), the pairing being performed to identify whether the first SECC is a correct SECC for the power transfer to the EV (Jeon: [0073]); wherein the pairing messages and the pairing response message are transmitted and received through wireless communication (Jeon: [0010-0011]).
Jeon discloses generating information on at least one alternate SECC ([FIG. 2]). Jeon does not explicitly disclose teachings on alternative charging station, such as, generating information on at least one alternative SECC including at least one of other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs; and transmitting a pairing response message including the information on the at least one alternative SECC to the EV, and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawai discloses, extracting information on at least one alternative SECC (Kawai: [0022]) including at least one of other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs from the pairing response message (Kawai: [ABS]; [0071]); and attempting a pairing with another SECC by using the information on the at least one alternative SECC (Kawai: [ABS]; [0026]), and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), for the benefit of guiding a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by Jeon to include information on alternate charging stations taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to guide a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, receiving a pairing response message related to a pairing result from the first SECC; in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the first SECC based on at least one of the pairing messages.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses, receiving a pairing response message related to a pairing result from the first SECC; in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the first SECC based on at least one of the pairing messages (Ahmed: [0073-0074]), for the benefit of notifying a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include access point failures taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 23, and further, Kawai also discloses, the plurality of alternative SECCs are SECCs that the EVCC is recommended to connect to (Kawai: [0071]).
REGARDING CLAIM 28, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 25, and further, Kawai also discloses, the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC through a ListOfAlternativeSECCs parameter (Kawai: [0071] (supra)).
REGARDING CLAIM 29, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 25, and further, Kawai also discloses, the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC through a proxy SECC capable of communicating with the first SECC and the plurality of alternative SECCs (Kawai: [0025-0026]; ¶'s [0103-0113] discuss determining outages or malfunction, malfunction of a charge station of vehicle and providing solutions including, inter alia, providing a list of alternate charge stations).
REGARDING CLAIM 30, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 23, and further, Kawai also discloses, the information on the plurality of alternative SECCs comprises at least one of: a service set identifier, a basic service set identifier, an IP address, and a port number (Kawai: [0073]; [0078-0079]).
Claim(s) 2-7, 10-15, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20170164179 A1) in view of Kawai (JP 2012053821 A) and Ahmed (US 20180105053 A1) as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and further in view of Solomon (US 20120173292 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 1, and further Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the first SECC communicates with the at least one of the other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs using an Inter-Supply Equipment Protocol (ISEP).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Solomon discloses, “[0064]”, for the benefit of managing reservations, determining availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include intra-communications taught by Solomon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manage reservations, determine availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 2, and further Solomon also discloses, acquiring the information on the at least one alternative SECC by using the Inter-Supply Equipment Protocol (ISEP) (Solomon: [0064]).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 3, and further Solomon also discloses, examining SECC information included in an event announcement message that is broadcast by each of the at least one of the other SECCs (Solomon: [0031]; [0064]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 1, and further Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or a pair of IP address and port number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Solomon discloses, “[0027]”, for the benefit of managing reservations, determining availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include station identifiers taught by Solomon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manage reservations, determine availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 2, and further Kawai also discloses, a proactive type message, a reactive type message, or a triggering type message (Kawai: [0025-0026]).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 6, and further Kawai also discloses, the reactive type message is used when the proactive type message cannot fix a pairing failure (Kawai: [0025-0026]).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 9, and further Jeon, as modified, do not explicitly disclose, the SECC communicates with the at least one of the other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs using an Inter-Supply Equipment Protocol (ISEP).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Solomon discloses, “[0064]”, for the benefit of managing reservations, determining availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include intra-communications taught by Solomon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manage reservations, determine availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 10, and further Solomon also discloses, acquire the information on the at least one alternative SECC by using the Inter-Supply Equipment Protocol (ISEP) (Solomon: [0064]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 11, and further Solomon also discloses, generating the information on the at least one alternative SECC, the at least one instruction further causes the processor to examine SECC information included in an event announcement message that is broadcast by each of the at least one of the other SECCs (Solomon: [0031]; [0064]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 9, and further Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or a pair of IP address and port number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Solomon discloses, “[0027]”, for the benefit of managing reservations, determining availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include station identifiers taught by Solomon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manage reservations, determine availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 2, and further Kawai also discloses, a proactive type message, a reactive type message, or a triggering type message (Kawai: [0025-0026]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 14, and further Kawai also discloses, the reactive type message is used when the proactive type message cannot fix a pairing failure (Kawai: [0025-0026]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 17, and further Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or a pair of IP address and port number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Solomon discloses, “[0027]”, for the benefit of managing reservations, determining availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include station identifiers taught by Solomon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manage reservations, determine availability, and charge distribution in a charging group.
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 17, and further Solomon also discloses, the information on the at least one alternative SECC is acquired through communications between a the plurality of SECCs using an Inter-Supply Equipment Protocol (ISEP) (Solomon: [0064]).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 19, and further Kawai also discloses, a proactive type message, a reactive type message, or a triggering type message (Kawai: [0025-0026]).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Jeon, as modified, remains as applied above 20, and further Kawai also discloses, the reactive type message is used when the proactive type message cannot fix a pairing failure (Kawai: [0025-0026]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20170164179 A1) in view of Kawai (JP 2012053821 A), Ahmed (US 20180105053 A1), and Solomon (US 20120173292 A1) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Takayama (US 20200247262 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Jeon, as modified, remain as applied above 20, and further Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the triggering type message is used when a pairing signal is generated by an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takayama discloses, “[0054]; [FIG. 3(preparation stage)]”, for the benefit of confirming a link, communication protocol, transmits charger identification, request vehicle identification, etc., to prepare a vehicle for charging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include triggering messages taught by Takayama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to confirm a link, communication protocol, transmit charger identification, request vehicle identification, etc., to prepare a vehicle for charging.
Alternate Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20170164179 A1) in view of Kawai (JP 2012053821 A) and Ahmed (US 20180105053 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martin (US 20200376972 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Jeon discloses, performing an initiation of a charging session (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073]) with an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) associated with the EV (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073]; [0088]); performing a pairing with the EVCC by exchanging pairing messages with the EVCC (Jeon: [0073]), the pairing being performed to identify whether the first SECC is a correct SECC for the power transfer to the EV (Jeon: [0073]); wherein the pairing messages and the pairing response message are transmitted and received through wireless communication (Jeon: [0010-0011]).
In this case, a pairing is interpreted as a match between two things. Further, Jeon does not explicitly recite the terminology "pairing". However, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, Jeon discloses a service discovery or compatibility ([0073]) procedure. Which, is interpreted as a parallel teaching to pairing (a match between two things).
Jeon discloses generating information on at least one alternate SECC ([FIG. 2]). Jeon does not explicitly disclose teachings on alternative charging station, such as, generating information on at least one alternative SECC including at least one of other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs; and transmitting a pairing response message including the information on the at least one alternative SECC to the EV, and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawai discloses, generating information on at least one alternative SECC (Kawai: [0022]) included in a list of a plurality of alternative SECCs (Kawai: [ABS]; [0071]); and transmitting a pairing response message (Kawai: [0025-0026]) including the information on the plurality of alternative SECCs to the EV (Kawai: [0025-0026]), and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), for the benefit of guiding a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by Jeon to include information on alternate charging stations taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to guide a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages (Ahmed: [0073]), for the benefit of notifying a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include access point failures taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
The examiner respectfully submits, Jeon, as modified, discloses, wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (supra). However, in the alternatively, Martin discloses, wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (Martin: [0022] determine a lowest-cost-based ranked listing of matched charger and vehicle pairings for each of the plurality of customers based upon the optimization inputs related to the plurality of available chargers and the optimization inputs related to the plurality of the electrically powered vehicles), for the benefit of optimization of hydrogen fuel consumption by matching customers and vehicles to charge stations based on known, learned and estimated data.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include ranked stations taught by Martin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize of hydrogen fuel consumption by matching customers and vehicles to charge stations based on known, learned and estimated data.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20170164179 A1) in view of Kawai (JP 2012053821 A) in view of Ahmed (US 20180105053 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Prakash (US 20160196756 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Jeon discloses, performing an initiation of a charging session (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073]) with an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) associated with the EV (Jeon: [FIG. 2, 4, 5]; [0073]; [0088]); performing a pairing with the EVCC by exchanging pairing messages with the EVCC (Jeon: [0073]), the pairing being performed to identify whether the first SECC is a correct SECC for the power transfer to the EV (Jeon: [0073]); wherein the pairing messages and the pairing response message are transmitted and received through wireless communication (Jeon: [0010-0011]).
In this case, a pairing is interpreted as a match between two things. Further, Jeon does not explicitly recite the terminology "pairing". However, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, Jeon discloses a service discovery or compatibility ([0073]) procedure. Which, is interpreted as a parallel teaching to pairing (a match between two things).
Jeon discloses generating information on at least one alternate SECC ([FIG. 2]). Jeon does not explicitly disclose teachings on alternative charging station, such as, generating information on at least one alternative SECC including at least one of other SECCs among the plurality of SECCs; and transmitting a pairing response message including the information on the at least one alternative SECC to the EV, and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawai discloses, generating information on at least one alternative SECC (Kawai: [0022]) included in a list of a plurality of alternative SECCs (Kawai: [ABS]; [0071]); and transmitting a pairing response message (Kawai: [0025-0026]) including the information on the plurality of alternative SECCs to the EV (Kawai: [0025-0026]), and wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (Kawai: [0080]; [0084]), for the benefit of guiding a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by Jeon to include information on alternate charging stations taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to guide a user who has suffered a charging trouble can be guided to an appropriate charging facility.
Jeon, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses, in response to identifying a failure of the pairing with the EVCC based on at least one of the pairing messages (Ahmed: [0073]), for the benefit of notifying a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include access point failures taught by Kawai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify a vehicle operator of a vehicle connection is wrong or undesirable.
The examiner respectfully submits, Jeon, as modified, discloses, wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (supra). However, in the alternatively, Martin discloses, wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing (Prakash: [0136] once the UAV lists the candidate vehicles, the list may be ordered according to compatibility and the processor may select the first or next vehicle in the list), for the benefit of determining whether docking on the vehicle is most cost effective based on charge efficiency and the UAV destination.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus disclosed by a modified Jeon to include ranked docking stations taught by Prakash. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine whether docking on the vehicle is most cost effective based on charge efficiency and the UAV destination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, received 02-13-2026 and beginning on page 12, to the examiner’s best understanding, assert that the prior art of Kawai (JP 2012053821 A), Martin (US 20200376972 A1), and Prakash (US 20160196756 A1) all fails to disclose, “wherein the list of the plurality of alternative SECCs is transmitted to the EVCC, and the plurality of alternative SECCs are included in the list in order of probability of success in the pairing”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated above, Kawai (JP 2012053821 A) discloses, “[0080] the map display screen is displayed in a color-coded manner so that the power failure area can be distinguished from other normal areas ... change the display image so that the occupant knows that the display mark of the charging station 40 existing in the power outage failure occurrence area cannot be used with a cross mark; [0084] since the alternative charging stand 40 is listed in the order in which charging can be started earliest”. To the examiner’s best understanding, the contention limitation requires a list of alternative sites with an indication indicating a likelihood of pairing success. Kawai (JP 2012053821 A) discloses color-coding and special markings for indicating a likelihood of pairing. The instant claim requires a “list in order” as the indicator. However, to the examiner’s best understanding, the “list” is parallel in service and result to Kawai’s map, and is a routine customization within the prior art conditions. The examiner respectfully submits, transforming Kawai’s color-coded and special markings map into a list is not typically considered inventive, but routine customization for one of ordinary skill through routine experimentation for displaying data.
Further, Martin (US 20200376972 A1) discloses, “[0022] determine a lowest-cost-based ranked listing of matched charger and vehicle pairings for each of the plurality of customers based upon the optimization inputs related to the plurality of available chargers and the optimization inputs related to the plurality of the electrically powered vehicles”. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, discloses providing a rankings list for best pairing options for a vehicle.
Lastly, Prakash (US 20160196756 A1) discloses, “[0136] once the UAV lists the candidate vehicles, the list may be ordered according to compatibility and the processor may select the first or next vehicle in the list”. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, discloses providing a rankings list for best pairing options for a vehicle.
Because all the contested prior art discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Perumalla (US 11856622 B2)
Lowenthal (US 20100211643 A1)
Smullin (US 20140089016 A1)
Eger (US 20140084874 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ADAM D TISSOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663