DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/17/2026. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 14 were amended.
Reply to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-11 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 03/17/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Examiner engaged in hindsight reasoning because the cited references could not be combined. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that Kim was not utilized to teach a LIDAR mounted on a walking stick; however, explains that a sensor could be mounted on a walking stick, other references such as Yang teach the positioning of a LIDAR sensor on a walking stick. Examiner reiterates that the independent claims do not specify which illuminator attached to the walking cane must illuminate the environment based on the detection of the obstacle. Owing to the broadest reasonable interpretation, or BRI, of the claim language, any light projector facing a direction 180 degrees from where a LIDAR could be positioned on a walking stick would cover the previous and current version of this limitation as this 180 degree location would allow it to project light into the vast environment around the walking stick because the LIDAR sends photons into every other direction in a fan shaped arc; therefore, since it is the rear light 21_1, which is facing in the opposite direction to the front of the walking stick, that is illuminating, Kim teaches the limitation in question. Examiner reasons that as the cited references are directed towards placing sensors and servos on a walking stick to assist a person to navigate their environment that therefore the cited references can be combined for the previously cited reasons for combination. Further, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further, since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the LIDAR in Yang with the sensor and lighting combination in Kim into Ishizuka’s waking stick. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another produces a predictable result. Further, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant, see MPEP 2144 IV. for details. In summary then, the cited references are appropriate for and cover the limitations of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka, JP-2017042251-A, in view of Yang, US-20180261055-A1, Kim et al., KR 20180093753 A, Han et al., KR-20110020566-A, and Ota et al., US-20120029696-A1, hereinafter referred to as Ishizuka, Yang, Kim, Han, and Ota (Translations by Espacenet and PE2E).
As per claim 1
Ishizuka discloses [a]n apparatus, comprising (body having a grasping portion at the upper end gripped by a hand of the visually handicapped person – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7):
a wheel (a cane body 11, a wheel 12, a guidance index section 13, a surrounding area A camera 14 and a distance sensor 15 as information acquisition means – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶10);
an axle extending from at least one side of the wheel (The wheel 12 is formed in a spherical or disk shape (a spherical shape in the present embodiment), is rotatably supported by the axle 23, and rolls when it contacts the ground or the floor 1. Both ends of the axle 23 are supported by the wheel steering actuator 27, and the wheel steering actuator 27 is attached to the lower surface of the support plate 22 of the cane body 11. The wheel 12 is configured to be able to steer in the left-right direction (arrow P in FIG. 2) by the wheel steering actuator 27 via the axle 23. – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶12);
a walking cane connected to the axle at a proximal end, the walking cane extending away from the axle toward a handle positioned at a distal end of the walking cane, the handle configured to be gripped by an operator (a cane body 11, a wheel 12, a guidance index section 13, a surrounding area A camera 14 and a distance sensor 15 as information acquisition means – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶10);
an optical flow sensor affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting a pattern of apparent motion associated with the environment in the path of the apparatus caused by the motion of the optical flow sensor and generating optical flow data (the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶14);
a computing device affixed to the walking cane, engage the motor to cause the apparatus to proceed along the path; receive, the optical flow data; determine, based on one or more of the LIDAR data, the ultrasonic data, or the optical flow data, one or more objects in the path of the apparatus; [based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus] and engage the motor to cause the apparatus to avoid the one or more objects (The robot determines the direction to walk by avoiding the obstacle and steers the wheel in the direction to be walked, The braille information transmission unit 16 is installed in a portion where the finger of the visually handicapped person is located in the grip portion 21 of the cane body 11. The braille information transmission unit 16 displays information on obstacles and targets (marks) in braille and transmits the information. Information concerning obstacles and targets (landmarks) are names of obstacles, targets (landmarks), distances and directions to the obstacles, targets (marks), and the like., Based on the accurate position of the obstacle determined by the obstacle / target position determination unit 32, the wand direction determination unit 34 determines a direction to avoid walking with obstacles – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7 & ¶17 & ¶24).
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) sensor, affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting an environment in a path of the apparatus and generating LIDAR data, the LIDAR data.
However, Yang teaches a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) sensor, affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting an environment in a path of the apparatus and generating LIDAR data, the LIDAR data (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose an ultrasonic sensor affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting the environment in the path of the apparatus and generating ultrasonic data, the ultrasonic data; a light source affixed to the walking cane and positioned on a side of the walking cane opposite the LIDAR sensor so as to project light into the environment detected by the LIDAR sensor, wherein the light source is configured to emit, based on detection of an object by the LIDAR sensor, light to illuminate a forward environment in which the object is detected, based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus, cause the light source to emit a light.
However, Kim teaches an ultrasonic sensor affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting the environment in the path of the apparatus and generating ultrasonic data, the ultrasonic data; a light source affixed to the walking cane and positioned opposite the [the front of the walking stick where there could be a LIDAR sensor] so as to project light into the environment detected by the [LIDAR sensor introduced by Yang], wherein the light source is configured to emit, based on detection of an object by the [LIDAR sensor introduced by Yang], light to illuminate a forward environment in which the object is detected, based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus, cause the light source to emit a light (obstacle detecting sensor 11 may be an ultrasonic sensor, when it is determined that the obstacle is detected in the first area…may generate a control signal for controlling the first illuminating device 21_1 – Kim Fig 1 (1) & 6 (21_1) ¶37 & ¶73- – Examiner reasons that because the claim does not specify which illuminator attached to the walking cane must illuminate based on the detection of the obstacle, that it is the rear light 21_1, which is facing in the opposite direction to the front of the walking stick, that is illuminated).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Kim teaches a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation for success for obstacle detection for the visually impaired, see Kim ¶5 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the computing device comprises a computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program instructions and one or more processors is configured to execute the computer- readable program instructions to; determine the path of the apparatus.
However, Han teaches wherein the computing device comprises a computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program instructions and one or more processors is configured to execute the computer- readable program instructions to; determine the path of the apparatus (calculate an optimal path by receiving current location information and destination information, calculate obstacle information by receiving the electric image signal, and output a walking guidance vibration control signal and the walking guidance audio signal suitable for a current situation…To calculate the current tilt and the moving distance of the output., a storage unit for storing a program for driving the cane using the terrain data, the optimum path, and the data processed by the main controller – Han Page 3 Lines 1-11 & Page 3 Lines 25-26).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Han teaches a walking guide system for the blind.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking guide system for the blind, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine the correct information on the direction to move by grasping the current destination and the current precise location to move the visually impaired based on the location of the GPS outside the building, see Han Page 3 Lines 32-34 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose a motor configured to rotate the wheel about the axle.
However, Ota teaches a motor configured to rotate the wheel about the axle (a robotic cane may include a grip handle, a cane body…a motorized omni-directional wheel coupled to a second end of the cane body, a balance control sensor, and a controller module, wheel 139 may be rotated in an angular direction depicted by arrow A by the application of one or more drive signals 163 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) to a drive motor (not shown). The rotation of the wheel 139 in the angular direction A causes the robotic cane 100 to travel in directions 140 and 142 as shown in FIG. 1, each roller element 138 is mechanically coupled to an individual roller element motor - Ota Fig 1 + ¶4 & ¶20 & ¶21).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Ota teaches user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position, as taught by Ota, with a reasonable expectation of success to follow the user in a manner that may be advantageous in physical therapy or rehabilitation sessions where the user is trying to walk on his or her own but still requires a cane nearby in case he or she falters and needs to grab onto the cane for assistance, see Ota ¶40 for details.
As per claim 5
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose further comprising a tactile feedback device embedded in the handle.
However, Yang teaches further comprising a tactile feedback device embedded in the handle (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24 - Examiner reasons that device 100 is located at the top of a walking stick that the person grabs onto).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
As per claim 6
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose determine turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and output, via the tactile feedback device, a vibration output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path.
However, Yang teaches determine turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and output, via the tactile feedback device, a vibration output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24 - Examiner reasons that device 100 is located at the top of a walking stick that the person grabs onto).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the computing device comprises a GPS component configured to.
However, Han teaches wherein the computing device comprises a GPS component configured to (visually impaired walking guidance system…GPS satellite 400, wireless terminal 200 receives and analyzes the destination information to which the visually impaired person wants to move and the image data received through the wireless communication means from the wireless headset 100…cane 300…transmits it to the wireless terminal 200 and receives an appropriate walking guidance vibration control signal for the current situation from the wireless terminal 200…The GPS satellite 400 measures the current accurate time and distance of the wireless terminal 200 – Han Page 5 Lines 3-4 & Page 5 Lines 17-29).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Han teaches a walking guide system for the blind.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking guide system for the blind, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine the correct information on the direction to move by grasping the current destination and the current precise location to move the visually impaired based on the location of the GPS outside the building, see Han Page 3 Lines 32-34 for details.
As per claim 7
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the computing device comprises a GPS component configured to: determine turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and output, via a speaker, voice output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path.
However, Han teaches wherein the computing device comprises a GPS component configured to: determine turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and output, via a speaker, voice output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path (calculate an optimal path by receiving current location information and destination information, visually impaired walking guidance system…GPS satellite 400, terminal 200 receives a walking guidance voice signal suitable for the current situation, wireless terminal 200 receives and analyzes the destination information to which the visually impaired person wants to move and the image data received through the wireless communication means from the wireless headset 100…cane 300…transmits it to the wireless terminal 200 and receives an appropriate walking guidance vibration control signal for the current situation from the wireless terminal 200…The GPS satellite 400 measures the current accurate time and distance of the wireless terminal 200, wireless terminal 200 in the visually impaired walking guidance system…A speaker 290 is provided, outputs…a voice signal for the current situation – Han Page 3 Lines 1-11 & Page 5 Lines 3-4 & Page 5 Lines 17-29 & Page 5 Lines 34-36 & Page 6 Line 14).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Han teaches a walking guide system for the blind.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking guide system for the blind, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine the correct information on the direction to move by grasping the current destination and the current precise location to move the visually impaired based on the location of the GPS outside the building, see Han Page 3 Lines 32-34 for details.
As per claim 11
Ishizuka further discloses wherein to determine the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus, the computing device is configured to: confirm, based on the optical flow data, the position of the object (The robot determines the direction to walk by avoiding the obstacle and steers the wheel in the direction to be walked, the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized, The braille information transmission unit 16 is installed in a portion where the finger of the visually handicapped person is located in the grip portion 21 of the cane body 11. The braille information transmission unit 16 displays information on obstacles and targets (marks) in braille and transmits the information. Information concerning obstacles and targets (landmarks) are names of obstacles, targets (landmarks), distances and directions to the obstacles, targets (marks), and the like., the obstacle / target position determination unit 32 accurately determines the distance and direction of the obstacle, that is, the position of the obstacle judge, Based on the accurate position of the obstacle determined by the obstacle / target position determination unit 32, the wand direction determination unit 34 determines a direction to avoid walking with obstacles – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7 & ¶14 & ¶17 & ¶23 & ¶24).
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose determine, based on the LIDAR data, a position of an object.
However, Yang teaches determine, based on the LIDAR data, a position of an object (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose confirm, based on the ultrasonic data, the position of the object.
However, Kim teaches confirm, based on the ultrasonic data, the position of the object (If it is confirmed that the obstacle is moving, when it is confirmed that the obstacle is detected, when it is determined that the obstacle is detected in the first area…may generate a control signal for controlling the first illuminating device 21_1 – Kim Fig 1 (1) & 6 (21_1) ¶11 & ¶39 & ¶73-).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Kim teaches a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation for success for obstacle detection for the visually impaired, see Kim ¶5 for details.
As per claim 12
Ishizuka further discloses wherein the computing device is configured to determine directional data based on the determination of the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus (The robot determines the direction to walk by avoiding the obstacle and steers the wheel in the direction to be walked, the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized, The braille information transmission unit 16 is installed in a portion where the finger of the visually handicapped person is located in the grip portion 21 of the cane body 11. The braille information transmission unit 16 displays information on obstacles and targets (marks) in braille and transmits the information. Information concerning obstacles and targets (landmarks) are names of obstacles, targets (landmarks), distances and directions to the obstacles, targets (marks), and the like., the obstacle / target position determination unit 32 accurately determines the distance and direction of the obstacle, that is, the position of the obstacle judge, Based on the accurate position of the obstacle determined by the obstacle / target position determination unit 32, the wand direction determination unit 34 determines a direction to avoid walking with obstacles – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7 & ¶14 & ¶17 & ¶23 & ¶24).
As per claim 13
Ishizuka further discloses further comprising a second computing device, in communication with the computing device, wherein the second computing device: receive, from the computing device, the directional data; and engage, based on the directional data, the motor (The robot determines the direction to walk by avoiding the obstacle and steers the wheel in the direction to be walked, the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized, The braille information transmission unit 16 is installed in a portion where the finger of the visually handicapped person is located in the grip portion 21 of the cane body 11. The braille information transmission unit 16 displays information on obstacles and targets (marks) in braille and transmits the information. Information concerning obstacles and targets (landmarks) are names of obstacles, targets (landmarks), distances and directions to the obstacles, targets (marks), and the like., The control unit 18 is built in an arbitrary position of the cane body 11, for example, at least one of the upper part of the cane body 11…wheel steering direction determination Section 35, the obstacle / target position determination unit 32 accurately determines the distance and direction of the obstacle, that is, the position of the obstacle judge, Based on the accurate position of the obstacle determined by the obstacle / target position determination unit 32, the wand direction determination unit 34 determines a direction to avoid walking with obstacles, the wheel steering direction determination unit 35 determines the direction of the wheel to be walked through the wheel steering actuator 27 to the wheel 12 to the right – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7 & ¶14 & ¶17 & ¶20 & ¶23 & ¶24 & ¶34).
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose comprises a computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the computer- readable program instructions to.
However, Han teaches comprises a computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the computer- readable program instructions to (calculate an optimal path by receiving current location information and destination information, calculate obstacle information by receiving the electric image signal, and output a walking guidance vibration control signal and the walking guidance audio signal suitable for a current situation…To calculate the current tilt and the moving distance of the output., a storage unit for storing a program for driving the cane using the terrain data, the optimum path, and the data processed by the main controller – Han Page 3 Lines 1-11 & Page 3 Lines 25-26).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Han teaches a walking guide system for the blind.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking guide system for the blind, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine the correct information on the direction to move by grasping the current destination and the current precise location to move the visually impaired based on the location of the GPS outside the building, see Han Page 3 Lines 32-34 for details.
As per claim 14
Ishizuka discloses [a] method comprising: receiving one or more of optical flow data; determining, based on one or more of the LIDAR data, the ultrasonic data, or the optical flow data, one or more objects in the path of the apparatus; and [based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus] engaging the motor to cause the apparatus to avoid the one or more objects (The robot determines the direction to walk by avoiding the obstacle and steers the wheel in the direction to be walked, the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized, The braille information transmission unit 16 is installed in a portion where the finger of the visually handicapped person is located in the grip portion 21 of the cane body 11. The braille information transmission unit 16 displays information on obstacles and targets (marks) in braille and transmits the information. Information concerning obstacles and targets (landmarks) are names of obstacles, targets (landmarks), distances and directions to the obstacles, targets (marks), and the like., the obstacle / target position determination unit 32 accurately determines the distance and direction of the obstacle, that is, the position of the obstacle judge, Based on the accurate position of the obstacle determined by the obstacle / target position determination unit 32, the wand direction determination unit 34 determines a direction to avoid walking with obstacles – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7 & ¶14 & ¶17 & ¶23 & ¶24).
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose LIDAR data, LIDAR sensor.
However, Yang teaches LIDAR data, LIDAR sensor (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose ultrasonic data; based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus, causing a light source affixed to the walking cane and positioned on a side of the walking cane opposite a LIDAR sensor, the light source to emit light into an environment in the path of the apparatus detected by the LIDAR sensor, wherein the light source is configured to emit, based on detection of an object by the LIDAR sensor, light to illuminate a forward environment in which the object is detected.
However, Kim teaches ultrasonic data; based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus, causing a light source affixed to the walking cane and positioned on a side of the walking cane opposite [the front of the walking stick where there could be a LIDAR sensor], the light source to emit light into an environment in the path of the apparatus detected by the [LIDAR sensor introduced by Yang], wherein the light source is configured to emit, based on detection of an object by the [LIDAR sensor introduced by Yang], light to illuminate a forward environment in which the object is detected (obstacle detecting sensor 11 may be an ultrasonic sensor, when it is determined that the obstacle is detected in the first area…may generate a control signal for controlling the first illuminating device 21_1 – Kim Fig 1 (1) & 6 (21_1) ¶37 & ¶73- – Examiner reasons that because the claim does not specify which illuminator attached to the walking cane must illuminate based on the detection of the obstacle, that it is the rear light 21_1, which is facing in the opposite direction to the front of the walking stick, that is illuminated).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Kim teaches a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation for success for obstacle detection for the visually impaired, see Kim ¶5 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose determining a path of an apparatus.
However, Han teaches determining a path of an apparatus (calculate an optimal path by receiving current location information and destination information, calculate obstacle information by receiving the electric image signal, and output a walking guidance vibration control signal and the walking guidance audio signal suitable for a current situation…To calculate the current tilt and the moving distance of the output. – Han Page 3 Lines 1-11).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Han teaches a walking guide system for the blind.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking guide system for the blind, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine the correct information on the direction to move by grasping the current destination and the current precise location to move the visually impaired based on the location of the GPS outside the building, see Han Page 3 Lines 32-34 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose engaging a motor to rotate a wheel about an axle to cause the apparatus to proceed along the path.
However, Ota teaches engaging a motor to rotate a wheel about an axle to cause the apparatus to proceed along the path (a robotic cane may include a grip handle, a cane body…a motorized omni-directional wheel coupled to a second end of the cane body, a balance control sensor, and a controller module, wheel 139 may be rotated in an angular direction depicted by arrow A by the application of one or more drive signals 163 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) to a drive motor (not shown). The rotation of the wheel 139 in the angular direction A causes the robotic cane 100 to travel in directions 140 and 142 as shown in FIG. 1, each roller element 138 is mechanically coupled to an individual roller element motor - Ota Fig 1 + ¶4 & ¶20 & ¶21).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Ota teaches user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position, as taught by Ota, with a reasonable expectation of success to follow the user in a manner that may be advantageous in physical therapy or rehabilitation sessions where the user is trying to walk on his or her own but still requires a cane nearby in case he or she falters and needs to grab onto the cane for assistance, see Ota ¶40 for details.
As per claim 15
Ishizuka further discloses wherein the apparatus comprises: the wheel (a cane body 11, a wheel 12, a guidance index section 13, a surrounding area A camera 14 and a distance sensor 15 as information acquisition means – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶10);
the axle extending from at least one side of the wheel (The wheel 12 is formed in a spherical or disk shape (a spherical shape in the present embodiment), is rotatably supported by the axle 23, and rolls when it contacts the ground or the floor 1. Both ends of the axle 23 are supported by the wheel steering actuator 27, and the wheel steering actuator 27 is attached to the lower surface of the support plate 22 of the cane body 11. The wheel 12 is configured to be able to steer in the left-right direction (arrow P in FIG. 2) by the wheel steering actuator 27 via the axle 23. – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶12);
a walking cane connected to the axle at a proximal end, the walking cane extending away from the axle toward a handle positioned at a distal end of the walking cane, the handle configured to be gripped by an operator (a cane body 11, a wheel 12, a guidance index section 13, a surrounding area A camera 14 and a distance sensor 15 as information acquisition means – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶10);
an optical flow sensor affixed to the walking cane, affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting a pattern of apparent motion associated with the environment in the path of the apparatus caused by the motion of the optical flow sensor and generating the optical flow data (the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶14).
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) sensor, affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting an environment in a path of the apparatus and generating LIDAR data.
However, Yang teaches a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) sensor, affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting an environment in a path of the apparatus and generating LIDAR data (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose an ultrasonic sensor affixed to the walking cane, affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting the environment in the path of the apparatus and generating the ultrasonic data.
However, Kim teaches an ultrasonic sensor affixed to the walking cane, affixed to the walking cane, configured for detecting the environment in the path of the apparatus and generating the ultrasonic data (obstacle detecting sensor 11 may be an ultrasonic sensor, when it is determined that the obstacle is detected in the first area…may generate a control signal for controlling the first illuminating device 21_1 – Kim Fig 1 (1) & 6 (21_1) ¶37 & ¶73-).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Kim teaches a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation for success for obstacle detection for the visually impaired, see Kim ¶5 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose the motor configured to rotate the wheel about the axle.
However, Ota teaches the motor configured to rotate the wheel about the axle (a robotic cane may include a grip handle, a cane body…a motorized omni-directional wheel coupled to a second end of the cane body, a balance control sensor, and a controller module, wheel 139 may be rotated in an angular direction depicted by arrow A by the application of one or more drive signals 163 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) to a drive motor (not shown). The rotation of the wheel 139 in the angular direction A causes the robotic cane 100 to travel in directions 140 and 142 as shown in FIG. 1, each roller element 138 is mechanically coupled to an individual roller element motor - Ota Fig 1 + ¶4 & ¶20 & ¶21).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Ota teaches user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position, as taught by Ota, with a reasonable expectation of success to follow the user in a manner that may be advantageous in physical therapy or rehabilitation sessions where the user is trying to walk on his or her own but still requires a cane nearby in case he or she falters and needs to grab onto the cane for assistance, see Ota ¶40 for details.
As per claim 17
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose determining turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and outputting, via the tactile feedback device, a vibration output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path.
However, Yang teaches determining turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and outputting, via the tactile feedback device, a vibration output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24 - Examiner reasons that device 100 is located at the top of a walking stick that the person grabs onto).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
As per claim 18
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose determining turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and outputting, via a speaker, voice output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path.
However, Han teaches determining turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path; and outputting, via a speaker, voice output associated with the turn-by-turn guidance associated with the path (calculate an optimal path by receiving current location information and destination information, visually impaired walking guidance system…GPS satellite 400, terminal 200 receives a walking guidance voice signal suitable for the current situation, wireless terminal 200 receives and analyzes the destination information to which the visually impaired person wants to move and the image data received through the wireless communication means from the wireless headset 100…cane 300…transmits it to the wireless terminal 200 and receives an appropriate walking guidance vibration control signal for the current situation from the wireless terminal 200…The GPS satellite 400 measures the current accurate time and distance of the wireless terminal 200, wireless terminal 200 in the visually impaired walking guidance system…A speaker 290 is provided, outputs…a voice signal for the current situation – Han Page 3 Lines 1-11 & Page 5 Lines 3-4 & Page 5 Lines 17-29 & Page 5 Lines 34-36 & Page 6 Line 14).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Han teaches a walking guide system for the blind.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking guide system for the blind, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine the correct information on the direction to move by grasping the current destination and the current precise location to move the visually impaired based on the location of the GPS outside the building, see Han Page 3 Lines 32-34 for details.
As per claim 19
Ishizuka further discloses wherein to determining the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus comprises: confirming, based on the optical flow data, the position of the object (The robot determines the direction to walk by avoiding the obstacle and steers the wheel in the direction to be walked, the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized, The braille information transmission unit 16 is installed in a portion where the finger of the visually handicapped person is located in the grip portion 21 of the cane body 11. The braille information transmission unit 16 displays information on obstacles and targets (marks) in braille and transmits the information. Information concerning obstacles and targets (landmarks) are names of obstacles, targets (landmarks), distances and directions to the obstacles, targets (marks), and the like., the obstacle / target position determination unit 32 accurately determines the distance and direction of the obstacle, that is, the position of the obstacle judge, Based on the accurate position of the obstacle determined by the obstacle / target position determination unit 32, the wand direction determination unit 34 determines a direction to avoid walking with obstacles – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7 & ¶14 & ¶17 & ¶23 & ¶24).
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose determining, based on the LIDAR data, a position of an object.
However, Yang teaches determining, based on the LIDAR data, a position of an object (assisting an impaired vision individual through use of a tactile feedback walking stick or walking wand. Those identified obstacles are identified by the device and the device responds to such obstacles by providing various tactile responses based on the type of object, size of the object, and location of the object received. The device makes use of one or more sensors to identify objects and obstacles in the range of the walking stick… one or more servo motors in a logical configuration…a controller, and a Light Detection and Ranging (“LIDAR”) assembly, The controller 108 would then send signals to the servo motors 106, or to a single server motor to control the rotation, duration, and strength of the tactile feedback to the user…a large object, such as a wall, is identified to the left the walking stick would then provide a tactile response which directs the user's hand to the right pulling the user away from the wall that the user is close to on the user's left and the left of the walking device 100. – Yang ¶15 & ¶24).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Yang teaches a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a tactile or haptic guidance device that incorporates a LIDAR assembly and servo motor assembly or linear actuators to provide tactile feedback to its user, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success to assist an impaired vision user through use of a tactile feedback walking wand, see Yang ¶4 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose confirming, based on the ultrasonic data, the position of the object.
However, Kim teaches confirming, based on the ultrasonic data, the position of the object (If it is confirmed that the obstacle is moving, when it is confirmed that the obstacle is detected, when it is determined that the obstacle is detected in the first area…may generate a control signal for controlling the first illuminating device 21_1 – Kim Fig 1 (1) & 6 (21_1) ¶11 & ¶39 & ¶73-).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Kim teaches a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation for success for obstacle detection for the visually impaired, see Kim ¶5 for details.
As per claim 20
Ishizuka further discloses further comprising: determining, based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus, directional data; transmitting, to computing device, the directional data; and engaging, by the computing device and based on the directional data, the motor (The robot determines the direction to walk by avoiding the obstacle and steers the wheel in the direction to be walked, the two cameras 14 acquire the visual image of the surroundings of the front side of the main body 11 of the cane, whereby the presence / absence of an object such as an obstacle or a target (mark) and the distance (approximate value) And the direction are recognized, The braille information transmission unit 16 is installed in a portion where the finger of the visually handicapped person is located in the grip portion 21 of the cane body 11. The braille information transmission unit 16 displays information on obstacles and targets (marks) in braille and transmits the information. Information concerning obstacles and targets (landmarks) are names of obstacles, targets (landmarks), distances and directions to the obstacles, targets (marks), and the like., The control unit 18 is built in an arbitrary position of the cane body 11, for example, at least one of the upper part of the cane body 11…wheel steering direction determination Section 35, the obstacle / target position determination unit 32 accurately determines the distance and direction of the obstacle, that is, the position of the obstacle judge, Based on the accurate position of the obstacle determined by the obstacle / target position determination unit 32, the wand direction determination unit 34 determines a direction to avoid walking with obstacles, the wheel steering direction determination unit 35 determines the direction of the wheel to be walked through the wheel steering actuator 27 to the wheel 12 to the right – Ishizuka Fig 2 + ¶7 & ¶14 & ¶17 & ¶20 & ¶23 & ¶24 & ¶34).
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka, Yang, Kim, Han, and Ota, as per claim 1, and further in view of Ye, CN-202476635-U, hereinafter referred to as Ye (Translation by Espacenet).
As per claim 2
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose further comprising a mount configured to receive the computing device.
However, Ye teaches further comprising a mount configured to receive the computing device (A cane that can charge mobile phones, including a cane body 1, a power generation device D, a charging device K, a reset piece, and a receiving cavity R; the cane body 1…the accommodation cavity R is used to accommodate the mobile phone V – Ye Fig 1 + ¶23).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Ye teaches a walking stick capable of charging a mobile phone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking stick capable of charging a mobile phone, as taught by Ye, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a walking stick with a simple and reasonable structure, convenient manufacturing and installation, and convenient charging of mobile phones, and stable and efficient power generation in view of the current situation of the existing technology, see Ye ¶6 & ¶14 for details.
As per claim 8
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the computing device is a smartphone, a smart watch, a smart glass, a tablet, or a laptop.
However, Ye teaches wherein the computing device is a smartphone, a smart watch, a smart glass, a tablet, or a laptop (A cane that can charge mobile phones, including a cane body 1, a power generation device D, a charging device K, a reset piece, and a receiving cavity R; the cane body 1… the accommodation cavity R is used to accommodate the mobile phone V – Ye Fig 1 + ¶23).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Ye teaches a walking stick capable of charging a mobile phone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking stick capable of charging a mobile phone, as taught by Ye, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a walking stick with a simple and reasonable structure, convenient manufacturing and installation, and convenient charging of mobile phones, and stable and efficient power generation in view of the current situation of the existing technology, see Ye ¶6 & ¶14 for details.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka, Yang, Kim, Han, and Ota, as per claims 1, and 14, respectively, and further in view of Chamberlain, US-20180333052-A1, hereinafter referred to as Chamberlain.
As per claim 3
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the computing device is further configured to transmit the one or more of the LIDAR data, the ultrasonic data, or the optical flow data to a server.
However, Chamberlain teaches wherein the computing device is further configured to transmit the one or more of the LIDAR data, the ultrasonic data, or the optical flow data to a server (The communication node may relay data received from the monitoring device and…associated signal strength measurements, to the server communication node, 102 is a device that attaches to a mobility aid 120 and measures motion of the mobility aid 120, communication node 104 is a device that communicates with the monitoring device 102…The communication node 104 may also communicate with the server computing device 106 over a network such as the Internet, the server computing device 106 may receive data generated by the monitoring device 102 that is relayed by the communication node 104., The motion sensor 152 is a device that is configured sense motion of the monitoring device 102…an optical sensor., receiving data from the monitoring device 102 and transmitting data to the server computing device 106. - Chamberlain ¶31 & ¶36 & ¶37 & ¶39 & ¶44 & ¶59).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Chamberlain teaches systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods for monitoring mobility aids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods for monitoring mobility aids, as taught by Chamberlain, with a reasonable expectation of success to help patients get around independently, see Chamberlain ¶2 for details.
As per claim 16
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose further comprising transmitting one or more of the LIDAR data, the ultrasonic data, or the optical flow data to a server.
However, Chamberlain teaches further comprising transmitting one or more of the LIDAR data, the ultrasonic data, or the optical flow data to a server (The communication node may relay data received from the monitoring device and…associated signal strength measurements, to the server communication node, 102 is a device that attaches to a mobility aid 120 and measures motion of the mobility aid 120, communication node 104 is a device that communicates with the monitoring device 102…The communication node 104 may also communicate with the server computing device 106 over a network such as the Internet, the server computing device 106 may receive data generated by the monitoring device 102 that is relayed by the communication node 104., The motion sensor 152 is a device that is configured sense motion of the monitoring device 102…an optical sensor., receiving data from the monitoring device 102 and transmitting data to the server computing device 106. - Chamberlain ¶31 & ¶36 & ¶37 & ¶39 & ¶44 & ¶59).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Chamberlain teaches systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods for monitoring mobility aids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods for monitoring mobility aids, as taught by Chamberlain, with a reasonable expectation of success to help patients get around independently, see Chamberlain ¶2 for details.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka, Yang, Kim, Han, and Ota, as per claim 1, and further in view of Mizuta et al., JP-2002119315-A, hereinafter referred to as Mizuta.
As per claim 4
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the computer readable program instructions.
However, Ota teaches wherein the computer readable program instructions (controller module 160 may also be programmed to cause – Ota ¶36).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Ota teaches user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with user assistive devices for physically assisting persons and, more specifically, robotic canes for assisting users to walk and stand in an upright position, as taught by Ota, with a reasonable expectation of success to follow the user in a manner that may be advantageous in physical therapy or rehabilitation sessions where the user is trying to walk on his or her own but still requires a cane nearby in case he or she falters and needs to grab onto the cane for assistance, see Ota ¶40 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose cause the light source to emit a light having a red hue.
However, Mizuta teaches cause the light source to emit a light having a red hue (a cane main body…a red light source is provided on a rear side thereof - Mizuta ¶4).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Mizuta teaches a walking stick which is excellent for safe walking and for prevention of danger, especially when walking at night by an elderly person or a disabled person.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a walking stick which is excellent for safe walking and for prevention of danger, especially when walking at night by an elderly person or a disabled person, as taught by Mizuta, with a reasonable expectation of success to effectively illuminate the area around the feet, and the red light source on the rear side is effective for cyclists or cars traveling from a distance, especially when the elderly or handicapped people walk at night, see Mizuta ¶11 for details.
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose [activate an illumination device] based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus.
However, Kim teaches [activate an illumination device] based on the one or more objects in the path of the apparatus (when it is determined that the obstacle is detected in the first area…may generate a control signal for controlling the first illuminating device 21_1 – Kim Fig 1 (1) & 6 (21_1) ¶73-).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Kim teaches a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a cane for a visually impaired person that detects an obstacle by using a cane and informs the user of the detected obstacle, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation for success for obstacle detection for the visually impaired, see Kim ¶5 for details.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka, Yang, Kim, Han, and Ota, as per claim 1, and further in view of, Amazon.com: Shepherd Hardware 9195 3-Inch Stem Caster, Soft Rubber Wheel, 3/8-Inch Stem Diameter, 90-lb Load Capacity, hereinafter referred to as Amazon.
As per claim 9
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the wheel comprises a three-inch diameter rubber wheel.
However, Amazon teaches wherein the wheel comprises a three-inch diameter rubber wheel (3-Inch Stem Caster, Soft Rubber Wheel – Amazon Page 1 Lines 1-2).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Amazon teaches a three-inch rubber wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a three-inch rubber wheel, as taught by Amazon, with a reasonable expectation of success to fit onto a walking cane with a 16 mm diameter.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka, Yang, Kim, Han, and Ota, as per claim 1, and further in view of Ito et al., JP-2005091466-A, hereinafter referred to as Ito.
As per claim 10
Ishizuka does not specifically disclose wherein the walking cane has a diameter of about 5/8 inches.
However, Ito teaches wherein the walking cane has a diameter of about 5/8 inches (The cane (A) has a cane body (20) having an outer diameter of 16 mm to 17 mm - Ito Fig 3 + ¶52).
Ishizuka discloses a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person. Ito teaches a luminous safety marking tool attached to a cane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ishizuka, a walking stick for assisting a visually handicapped person, with a luminous safety marking tool attached to a cane, as taught by Ito, with a reasonable expectation of success to help a user locate a cane and help avoid an unexpected accident, see Ito ¶3 for details.
Conclusion
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Thomas Ingram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668