DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This action is in response to the papers filed on 03/31/2025. Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, 14-27, and 29 are currently pending as per claims filed on 03/31/2025. Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-18 in the reply filed on 03/31/2025 was previously acknowledged.
Applicant's traversal arguments are “Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner's conclusions about the teachings of de Vries, Reinier Jet al. (Langmuir : the ACS journal of surfaces and colloids, 7354-7363).”
However, because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 19-27 and 29 were previously withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CPR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction is made final.
Therefore, claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-18 are currently under examination to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry under 35 USC 371 of PCT/US2019/064026 filed on 12/02/2019, which claims priority to PRO filed on 08/02/2019.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is 08/02/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/12/2023, 07/09/2024, and 11/15/2024 were filed before the mailing date of the current office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
Withdrawn objections/ Rejections in response to Applicants’ arguments or amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicants allege that de Vries does not qualify as prior art under qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(l). Applicants assert that Peony D. Banik, Sonal Nagpal, and Thomas M. van Gulik did not make any inventive contribution to the present invention. Additionally, the publication date (June 11, 2019) is less than one year before the earliest priority date of the instant Application (August 2, 2019). Therefore, a disclosure made 1 year or less before the effective filing date of a claimed invention shall not be prior art to the claimed invention under subsection (a)(l) if the disclosure was made by the inventor or joint inventor. As applicants argue, the de Vries et al. disclosure is a disclosure by the joint inventor within one year of the effective filing date of the priority application and as such does not qualify as prior art against the present application, Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11-12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by de Vries et al. (de Vries RJ, Langmuir. 2019, IDS; hereafter “de Vries”) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of Applicants declaration under 37 C.F.R. § 1.130, the rejection of claims 2, 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Vries et al. (de Vries RJ, Langmuir. 2019, IDS; hereafter “de Vries”) and Loretz et al. (Loretz LJ, Xenobiotica. 1989; hereafter “Loretz”).
New Grounds of rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention
Claim 1 and 2-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-18 (depend on claim 1) are indefinite in the recitation of “greater than about” for the following reason. “About” encompasses values above and below a reference point whereas “greater than” encompasses only values above the reference point. Therefore, the combination of both terms (greater than about) is confusing because one term is including values below the reference point whereas the other term is excluding values below the reference point.
Claim 2 is indefinite in the recitation of “less than about” for the following reason. “About” encompasses values above and below a reference point whereas “less than” encompasses only values below the reference point. Therefore, the combination of both terms (less than about) is confusing because one term is including values above the reference point whereas the other term is excluding values above the reference point.
Claim 9 recites a plurality of “and/or” conjunctions. While this may be a convenient means for Applicant, such legalese renders the claims indefinite because the claimed first solution or second solution cannot contain simultaneously each of the structurally different molecules recited. To put it another way, the first solution, or first and second solutions or the first or second solution cannot contain both a UW solution and not contain a UW solution and. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kader et al. (Kader A et al., Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2009) as evidenced by Balaban et al. (Balaban B et al., Hum Reprod. 2008).
Regarding Claim 1 and 5-6, Kader et al. teaches a two-step vitrification method. Specifically, Kader et al. teaches “The first step typically entails the use of relatively low concentrations of cryoprotectants—7.5% dimethylsulfide (DMSO) and 7.5% ethylene glycol (EG)—for 2–5 minutes, followed by an ultrashort (30–90 seconds') exposure to a second medium that contains a higher cryoprotectant concentration (usually double the initial concentration) as well as a dehydrating agent (commonly, a disaccharide, such as sucrose).The objective of this stepwise exposure is to avoid toxicity and osmotic shock.” (Pg. 2640, 3rd paragraph). Kader et al. teaches “Blastocysts were placed in a 20-mL droplet of equilibration solution (First CPA Solution) (7.5% DMSO, 7.5% EG, and 20% serum substitute supplement [SSS]) for either 4, 8, or 15 minutes. After equilibration, the blastocysts were propagated into three subsequent 20-mL droplets of vitrification solution (Second CPA Solution) (15% DMSO, 15% EG, and 20% SSS), …and immediately transferred to liquid nitrogen.” (Pg. 2641, Vitrification and Warming) The CPA concentrations anticipates the concentrations recited in instant claims 5-6. The vitrification process using liquid nitrogen would inherently result in a cooling rate significantly faster than .1 Celsius per second as evidenced by Balaban et al. who teaches “Vitrification is an ultra-rapid method of cryopreservation whereby the embryo is transitioned from 37°C to −196°C in <1 s, resulting in extremely fast rates of cooling (>10 000°C/min).” Regarding Claim 11, the droplet formation of less than 5 seconds would be an inherent effect method as taught by Kader et al. absent evidence to the contrary.
The discovery of a new use for an old structure based on unknown properties of the
structure might be patentable to the discoverer as a process of using. In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246,
248, 114 USPQ 161, 163 (CCPA 1957). However, when the claim recites using an old
composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or
structure, then the claim is anticipated. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607
(CCPA 1978) and In re Tomlinson, 363 F.2d 928, 150 USPQ 623 (CCPA 1966). See M.P.E.P. §
2112.02.
Regarding Claim 15-16, Kader et al. teaches that after the mixing of cells and the second CPA solution, cells are transferred to LN2 (Pg. 2, Vitrification of blastomeres). Liquid nitrogen temperature is inherent at -196 Celsius. Therefore, this anticipates claim 15-16.
Regarding Claim 17, Kader et al. teaches their methodology resulted in 100% cell survivability (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader et al. (Kader A et al., Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2009) as evidenced by Balaban et al. (Balaban B et al., Hum Reprod. 2008) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Loretz et al. (Loretz LJ, Xenobiotica. 1989; hereafter “Loretz”, of record filed 05/07/2025) and Mamprin et al. (Mamprin ME et al., World J Gastroenterol. 2005).
Kader et al. anticipates method of claim 1, as iterated above in the 102 rejection, the content of which is incorporated herein, in its entirety.
Regarding Claim 2, 4 and 9, Kader et al. teaches the first solution has exactly 15% of CPAs (Pg. 2640, 3rd paragraph). However, Kader et al. does not specifically disclose the concentration of the CPA of the first solution is less than about 15% (v/v) as recited in instant claim 2. Kader et al. does not teach the use of UW solution for the cryopreservation as in instant claim 9 or that the cells being preserved are hepatocytes as in instant claim 4.
Mamprin et al. teaches that the use of UW solution for successful cryopreservation of cells, including hepatocytes, was well known in the art the time of the instant application (Pg. 1957, Introduction, Paragraphs 1-2).
Loretz demonstrates an increased viability of recovered hepatocytes correlating with an increased concentration of CPA (e.g. DMSO to above 10%). At these concentrations, Loretz shows that both viability and metabolic activity increased with increasing concentrations of DMSO up to 10% following recovery of cryopreserved cells, with no adverse effects observed using 10%-20% DMSO (Pg. 492, 1st Paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instant application to start with the vitrification method of Kader et al. and then incorporated the UW solution as taught by Mamprin et al. and the teachings of Loretz with respect to CPA amounts resulting in a vitrification method capable of successfully preserving hepatocytes by increasing the combined CPA to above 10% (e.g. 5-10% of each, totaling 10-20% or 7.5% of each, totaling 15%) and including UW solution because this might increase the viability of the cells based on the teachings of the combined references. There would be reasonable expectation of success as it would have been a matter of combining known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and obvious to combine these methods as they seek to preserve the metabolic activity and produce a more viable cell population upon recovery.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader et al. (Kader A et al., Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2009) as evidenced by Balaban et al. (Balaban B et al., Hum Reprod. 2008) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shi et al. (Shi M et al., J Mech Behav Biomed Mater. 2018).
Kader et al. anticipates method of claim 1, as iterated above in the 102 rejection, the content of which is incorporated herein, in its entirety
Regarding Claim 3, Kader et al. does not teach the droplets are an average diameter of .05mm to 10mm.
Shi et al. teaches a droplet based vitrification for cell aggregates. The droplets formed by the method of Shi are 200uM, “We selected a fixed droplet diameter of 200 µm, which is within the size range of droplets generated by most systems such as microfluidics and cell printing system.” (Pg. 384, 2nd Column, 1st full paragraph). This is within the range of the instant application claim of between .05mm and about 10mm. While using this droplet size, Shi et al. taught “…upon vitrification, the maximum crystallization in cell aggregates (i.e., χ =1.9 ×10−4) was lower than the criterion of "innocuous intracellular ice formation (i.e., χ ≤10−3) proposed by Karlsson et al. (1994), which means the degree of ice formation in cell aggregates is not harmful for cell. These results indicate that vitrification has been successfully achieved in the current droplet-based vitrification of cell aggregates.” (Pg. 387, 2nd full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instant application to modify the vitrification method of Kader et al. and to incorporate a fixed droplet diameter known in the art to be successful in cryopreservation methods as taught by Shi et al. as this fixed droplet diameter was shown to produce ice formation that was not harmful to cells and further “results indicate that vitrification has been successfully achieved in the current droplet-based vitrification of cell aggregates.”. There would be reasonable expectation of success as it would have been a matter of combining known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader et al. (Kader A et al., Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2009) as evidenced by Balaban et al. (Balaban B et al., Hum Reprod. 2008) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Iussig et al. (Iussig B et al., Acta Obstet Gynecol Scand. 2019) as evidenced by Yong et al. (Yong KW et al., Cryobiology. 2020)
Kader et al. anticipates method of claim 1, as iterated above in the 102 rejection, the content of which is incorporated herein, in its entirety.
Regarding Claims 7 and 12, Kader et al. does not teach the use of sucrose combined with permeating CPAs for vitrification.
However, Iussig et al. teaches that two-step vitrification methods utilizing sucrose in combination with other CPAs was well known in the art at the time of the instant application, “Currently, the most used protocol for oocyte vitrification has been described by Kuwayama and colleagues: it consists of a two-step procedure involving the stepwise addition of CPAs in cryomedia. After a first equilibration phase (5-15 min) in a solution containing 7.5% v/v ethylene glycol and 7.5% v/v DMSO, the oocytes are then moved to a vitrification solution with 15% v/v ethylene glycol and 15% v/v DMSO, plus 0.5 mol/L sucrose. After a brief incubation (up to 1 min) in the vitrification medium, the sample is then transferred onto specifically designed devices and finally plunged in liquid nitrogen at −196°C, where it is stored until use.” (Pg. 555, Section 4.2: Vitrification).
Moreover, the use of sucrose as a non-permeating CPA (such as sucrose) in combination with permeating CPAs (such as ethylene glycol and DMSO) was well documented prior to the instant application as evidenced by a review of non-permeating CPAs by Yong et al (Pg. 2, 2nd full paragraph; Pg. 2 Non-permeating CPAs Section 2.1) . Yong et al. discloses “Non-permeating CPAs are large molecules that do not penetrate the plasma membrane and remain in the extracellular compartment during cooling to promote glass formation. Non-permeating CPAs include sugars (e.g., sucrose and trehalose) and high molecular weight (MW) polymers (e.g., polyvinyl pyrrolidone and Ficoll). Compared to permeating CPAs, they are relatively less cytotoxic. Their addition contributes to viscosity and tonicity, allowing lower concentrations of permeating CPAs to be used without compromising vitrification properties. Some studies reported that combining non-permeating and permeating CPAs further improved post-thaw viability and functionalities of vitrified embryos and ovarian tissues.” It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instant application to modify the vitrification method of Kader et al. and incorporate sucrose as taught by Iussig et al who demonstrates the addition of sucrose results in successful vitrification. Further, as it was well known in the art that the use of sucrose in combination with permeating CPAs would improve vitrification and subsequent recovery, there would be reasonable expectation of success as it would have been a matter of combining known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader et al. (Kader et al., Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2009) as evidenced by Balaban et al. (Balaban B et al., Hum Reprod. 2008) as applied to claim 1 above and as evidenced by Demirci et al. (Demirci U et al. Cell encapsulating droplet vitrification. Lab Chip. 2007, IDS filed on 05/12/23)
Kader et al. anticipates method of claim 1, as iterated above in the 102 rejection, the content of which is incorporated herein, in its entirety.
Regarding Claim 14, Kader et al. does not teach the specific cooling rate recited in instant claim 14, between 900°C/min and 1400°C/min.
However, it was well known in the art at the time of the instant application that vitrification is affected by cooling rate, viscosity, and droplet volume as evidenced by Demirci et al. Demirci et al. teaches “Three factors affect vitrification: cooling rate, viscosity, and droplet volume. Increasing the cooling rate increases the probability of vitrification. This can be achieved by either increasing the viscosity (i.e., CPA molarity) or by decreasing the droplet size. The rate of heat transfer per unit area in an object is proportional to the temperature gradient across the object boundary, (qx/A) ∝ (dT/dx). This gives Fourier's law of cooling, qx = −kA(dT/dx), where qx is the rate of heat transfer in the x direction by conduction; k is the thermal conductivity; A is the area normal to the heat flow direction qx; T is the temperature; x is the conduction length. Integrating Fourier's law for spherical shell geometry gives the heat resistance of a droplet as , where rdroplet is the droplet radius and rcell is the radius of the cell residing in the droplet, Fig. 1a. Assuming a 10 µm-radius cell located at the droplet center, we plot heat resistance as a function of droplet diameter (Fig. 1a). Large droplets exhibit large heat resistance (Fig. 1a), which results in low ‘cooling rate’. Therefore, vitrification requires higher CPA concentration for large droplets than for small droplets.” (Pg. 1428-1429, Theory section).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine an appropriate cooling rate through routine optimization within a vitrification method for cell cryopreservation, in order to effectively preserve cells in such a way that survivability would be minimally impacted.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") See MPEP 2144.05 II. A.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12 and 14-18 are rejected.
/KODYE LEE ABBOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634