Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2-3-22. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2-3-22. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended)
A method comprising:
transmitting a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to a base station in a network based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi- Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state {Ly: s910-Fig.9 ¶0328 wherein “Step S910: UE notifies PLMN1 that it needs to perform a “SIM Switch” procedure to PLMN2; or SIM switch procedure are also proposed in which the multi-SIM UE may notify the network to suspend the registration state of one SIM so the UE can communicate with another SIM”; see also s1606-Fig.16 & ¶0436 wherein “Step 1606: the UE performs a SIM Switch Request procedure in which the Registration Type is set to SIM Switch or a SIM Switch indicator is included in the request. This request is to inform PLMN1 that the UE would like to suspend its registration state” and ¶0371-¶0395 wherein “when a UE is in RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states”, and ¶0483 wherein “suspense state is similar to RRC-INACTIVE state”; In other words, it is inherent that, in the vice versa situation of “when a UE in RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states” or SUSPENSE state, when a UE is in RM-ACTIVE state, it must also in CM-CONNECTED & RRC-CONNECTED or RRC-ACTIVE states, emphasis added. Since the UE is in “ RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states”, thus, the communication of UE with RAN/PLMN is also inherently in RRC message, emphasis added, e.g. s1604-Fig.16 wherein “If UE is in CM-IDLE (also in RRC-INACTIVE, emphasis added), the UE establishes RRC connection with RAN1 for SIM1”, see also s912-Fig.9, s2008-Fig.20, and ¶0153-¶0160}, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state {Ly: ¶0156-¶0159 wherein “the UE also maintains RRC states with the RAN node (e.g. base station 103/104/105 -Fig.1A) and is described in TS 38.300 [4] as follows: RRC_IDLE (¶0157), RRC_INACTIVE (¶0158), and RRC_CONNECTED (¶0159) or RRC_ACTIVE (emphasis added)”; in other words, the RRC states (e.g. RRC_IDLE-¶0157, RRC_INACTIVE-¶0158, and RRC_CONNECTED-¶0159 or RRC_ACTIVE (emphasis added)) are the preferred RRC states as claimed}; and
receiving a second RRC message from the base station in the network, wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state {Ly: s1610-Fig.16 & ¶0436 wherein “Step S1610: AMF1 returns a Registration Suspend message to the UE with an indication that the UE's RM state for SIM1 has been changed to RM-INACTIVE”}; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive state {Ly: s1610-Fig.16 & ¶0436 wherein “Step S1612: UE transitions its RM state from RM-REGISTERED to RM-INACTIVE for SIM1”.
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended)
-Claim 10 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in Claim 1; and further as following:
A chipset {Ly: UE 102-Fig.1F & ¶0120-¶0129} comprising:
at least one processor {Ly: processor 118-Fig.1F}; and
at least one memory {Ly: memory 130 & 132 in Fig.1F & ¶0120-¶0125 & ¶0494} for storing instructions and operably electrically connectable to the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause a User Equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising:
generating a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state;
obtaining a second RRC message,
wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive.
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended)
-Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in Claims 1 & 10; and further as following:
A User Equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one transceiver {LY: transceiver 120-Fig.1F};
at least one processor; and
at least one memory for storing instructions and operably electrically connectable to the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising:
transmitting, via the at least one transceiver, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to a base station in a network based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state;
receiving, via the at least one transceiver, a second RRC message from the base station in the network;
wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive state.
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: transmitting a third RRC message including resume information to the base station in the first network; and receiving a fourth RRC message from the base station in the first network in response to the third RRC message.
-Claim 3 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 10 & 12.
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises, based on reception of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in the first network.
-Claim 4 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 10 & 13.
Regarding Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein one or more Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions are to be suspended in the RRC inactive state. suspended {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): s904-Fig.9 wherein “the UE may perform Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 through PLMN1 to establish registration state with PLMN2”, and “Indirect Registration may be initiated as part of General Registration or standalone as a separate registration step (i.e. similar to steps S900 and S902a but for Indirect Registration)”, e.g. S900-Fig.9 wherein UE registers to PLMN1 with SIM1 and establishes PDU sessions on PLMN1, ¶0328; In other words, when the UE performs Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 to register to PLMN2 and to establish one or more PDU sessions on PLMN2, the UE also requests to suspend its registration with PLMN1 for SIM1 and the established one or more PDU sessions on PLMN1 is suspended in the RRC inactive state, emphasis added, ¶0327 & ¶436}.
Regarding Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises receiving a paging message from a base station in a second network {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): s906-Fig.9 wherein “UE receives a paging request for SIM2 from PLMN1. The paging request originated from PLMN2, which forwarded the request to PLMN1”, ¶0328}.
Regarding Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the first RRC message includes one or more of: one or more QoS Flow IDs (QFIs); information requesting suspension or inactivation of active communications; information requesting suspension or inactivation of a service; or information requesting suspension or inactivation of a connection {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): s904-Fig.9 wherein “the UE may perform Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 through PLMN1 to establish registration state with PLMN2”, and “Indirect Registration may be initiated as part of General Registration or standalone as a separate registration step (i.e. similar to steps S900 and S902a but for Indirect Registration)”, e.g. S900-Fig.9 wherein UE registers to PLMN1 with SIM1 and establishes PDU sessions on PLMN1, ¶0328; In other words, when the UE performs Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 to register to PLMN2 and to establish one or more PDU sessions on PLMN2, the UE also requests to suspend its registration with PLMN1 for SIM1 and the established one or more PDU sessions on PLMN1, emphasis added, ¶0327; see also ¶0328 wherein s904-Fig.9 wherein “This registration procedure (e.g. Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2) puts the UE in RM-INACTIVE state (e.g. with PLMN1 for SIM1)”}.
Regarding Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed by a User Equipment (UE),wherein the UE is configured to comprise a first USIM and a second USIM, and wherein the first USIM is registered in a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), and the second USIM is registered in a second PLMN {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): UE comprise SIM1 and SIM2 for registering to PLMN1 and SIM2, respectively, also step s900 & s904 in Fig.9 and s1502-Fig.15 wherein “SIM1 and SIM2 are linked both PLMN1 and PLMN2”}.
Regarding Claim 12. The chipset of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
generating a third RRC message including resume information; and obtaining a fourth RRC message in response to the third RRC message {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): ¶0192 & ¶0328 wherein “the SIM switch procedure are also proposed in which the multi-SIM UE may notify the network to suspend the registration state of one SIM so the UE can communicate with another SIM…With the saved context (e.g. SIM switch from PLMN1 to PLMN2, emphasis added), the UE is able to switch back to PLMN1 (e.g. from PLMN2, emphasis) and quickly resume operations”, steps 914a & 914b in Fig.9}.
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The chipset of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise, based on obtaining of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): ¶0192 & ¶0328 wherein steps 914a & 914b in Fig.9 wherein “the UE may suspend the registration state for SIM2 as shown in step S914a by performing a SIM Switch procedure and then reactivate the registration state for SIM1 as shown in step S914b”}.
Regarding Claim 14. The chipset of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise obtaining a paging message from a second network {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): ¶0192 & ¶0328 wherein step 906-Fig.9 wherein “UE receives a paging request for SIM2 from PLMN1 The paging request originated from PLMN2, which forwarded the request to PLMN1”}
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 10, 12-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by He (US 2020/0413476 A1).
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) A User Equipment (UE) {He (US 2020/0413476 A1): UE 600-Fig.6, see also Figs.4-5} comprising:
at least one transceiver {He: Cellular RF transceiver 622-Fig.6};
at least one processor {He: Cellular processor 604-Fig.6}; and
at least one memory {He: not shown in Fig.6 but inherent therein, ¶0077 wherein “The cellular baseband processor 604 may include a computer-readable medium/memory. The computer-readable medium/memory may be non-transitory. The cellular baseband processor 604 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory. The software, when executed by the cellular baseband processor 604, causes the cellular baseband processor 604 to perform the various functions described supra. The computer-readable medium/memory may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the cellular baseband processor 604 when executing software;” and also “The cellular baseband processor 604 may be a component of the UE 350 and may include the memory 360-Fig.3 and/or at least one of the TX processor 368, the RX processor 356-Fig.3, and the controller/processor 359-Fig.3”; see also ¶0021} for storing instructions and operably electrically connectable to the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising:
transmitting, via the at least one transceiver, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to a base station in a network based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation {He: step 410-Fig.4 & ¶0060 wherein “The UE may send an RRC state preference indication 410 to a base station 404. The RRC state preference indication may indicate the preference for transitioning upon release of the RRC connection from the RRC connected state to one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (the claimed MUSIM operation); and s414-Fig.4 & ¶0063 wherein “the UE 402 may be configured to send RRC release signaling 414 to the base station 404. The RRC release signaling sent to the base station may indicate a request, from the UE, to release the RRC connection”; see also ¶0061 & ¶0063, ¶0070-¶0071, ¶0078 & ¶0080, ¶0082, ¶0084-¶0085 and Figs.5-7},
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state;
receiving, via the at least one transceiver, a second RRC message from the base station in the network {He: step 418-Fig.4 & ¶0065; step 510-Fig.5 & ¶0072; and 632-Fig.6, ¶0078 & ¶0080 wherein the UE includes “means for receiving, from the base station in response to the RRC release signaling, an RRC release message based on the sent RRC state preference indication. The RRC release message based on the sent RRC state preference indication”};
wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive state {He: step 420-Fig.4 & ¶0066; step 512-Fig.5 & ¶0073; and 632-Fig.6, ¶0078 & ¶0080 wherein the UE “includes means for moving, based on the received RRC release message, from the RRC connected state to one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state”}.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended)
-Claim 1 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 15.
A method comprising:
transmitting a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to a base station in a network based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi- Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state; and
receiving a second RRC message from the base station in the network, wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive state; AND
wherein the method is performed by a User Equipment (UE), wherein the UE is configured to comprise a first USIM and a second USIM, and wherein the first USIM is registered in a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), and the second USIM is registered in a second PLMN.
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended)
-Claim 10 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in Claims 1 & 15; and further as following:
A chipset {He: ¶0077 wherein “the apparatus 602 may be a modem chip”; see also ¶0021} comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory for storing instructions and operably electrically connectable to the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause a User Equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising:
generating a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state;
obtaining a second RRC message,
wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive.
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting a third RRC message including resume information to the base station in the network {He: step 514-Fig.5 & ¶0074}; and
receiving a fourth RRC message from the base station in the network in response to the third RRC message {He: step 516-Fig.5 & ¶0075}.
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises, based on reception of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in the network {He: step 518-Fig.5 & ¶0076}.
Regarding Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the first RRC message includes one or more of: one or more QoS Flow IDs (QFIs); information requesting suspension or inactivation of active communications; information requesting suspension or inactivation of a service; or information requesting suspension or inactivation of a connection {He: 410-Fig.4 & ¶0060 wherein “The UE may send an RRC state preference indication 410 to a base station 404. The RRC state preference indication may indicate the preference for transitioning upon release of the RRC connection from the RRC connected state to one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state”}
Regarding Claim 12. The chipset of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
generating a third RRC message including resume information; and obtaining a fourth RRC message in response to the third RRC message.
-Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The chipset of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise, based on obtaining of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state.
-Claim 13 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1) in view of He (US 2020/0413476 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended)
A method comprising:
transmitting a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to a base station in a network based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi- Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state {Ly: s910-Fig.9 ¶0328 wherein “Step S910: UE notifies PLMN1 that it needs to perform a “SIM Switch” procedure to PLMN2; or SIM switch procedure are also proposed in which the multi-SIM UE may notify the network to suspend the registration state of one SIM so the UE can communicate with another SIM”; see also s1606-Fig.16 & ¶0436 wherein “Step 1606: the UE performs a SIM Switch Request procedure in which the Registration Type is set to SIM Switch or a SIM Switch indicator is included in the request. This request is to inform PLMN1 that the UE would like to suspend its registration state” and ¶0371-¶0395 wherein “when a UE is in RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states”, and ¶0483 wherein “suspense state is similar to RRC-INACTIVE state”; In other words, it is inherent that, in the vice versa situation of “when a UE in RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states” or SUSPENSE state, when a UE is in RM-ACTIVE state, it must also in CM-CONNECTED & RRC-CONNECTED or RRC-ACTIVE states, emphasis added. Since the UE is in “ RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states”, thus, the communication of UE with RAN/PLMN is also inherently in RRC message, emphasis added, e.g. s1604-Fig.16 wherein “If UE is in CM-IDLE (also in RRC-INACTIVE, emphasis added), the UE establishes RRC connection with RAN1 for SIM1”, see also s912-Fig.9, s2008-Fig.20, and ¶0153-¶0160}, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state {Ly: ¶0156-¶0159 wherein “the UE also maintains RRC states with the RAN node (e.g. base station 103/104/105 -Fig.1A) and is described in TS 38.300 [4] as follows: RRC_IDLE (¶0157), RRC_INACTIVE (¶0158), and RRC_CONNECTED (¶0159) or RRC_ACTIVE (emphasis added)”; in other words, the RRC states are the preferred RRC states as claimed}; and
receiving a second RRC message from the base station in the network, wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state {Ly: s1610-Fig.16 & ¶0436 wherein “Step S1610: AMF1 returns a Registration Suspend message to the UE with an indication that the UE's RM state for SIM1 has been changed to RM-INACTIVE”}; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive state {Ly: s1610-Fig.16 & ¶0436 wherein “Step S1612: UE transitions its RM state from RM-REGISTERED to RM-INACTIVE for SIM1”.
Ly does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state, wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, He (US 2020/0413476 A1) discloses wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state, wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state {He: 410-Fig.4 & ¶0060wherein “The UE may send an RRC state preference indication 410 to a base station 404. The RRC state preference indication may indicate the preference for transitioning upon release of the RRC connection from the RRC connected state to one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state”; ¶0061 wherein “the RRC state preference indication 410 may provide the base station with an indication for a transition from an RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state or to an RRC idle state when the RRC connection is released.” And 414-Fig.4 & ¶0063 wherein “the UE 402 may be configured to send RRC release signaling 414 to the base station 404. The RRC release signaling sent to the base station may indicate a request, from the UE, to release the RRC connection”}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to He’s teaching to Ly’s system with the motivation being for “allowing the UE to increase the rate at which it transitions to RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may allow the UE to reduce power consumption, as well as reduce signaling resources”{He: Abstract, lines 4-7}; “to improve the overall communication system information, as well as to improve the access and control of each device within the wireless system”{He: ¶0006}; and to “allow a UE to assist in its transition to a different RRC state when the RRC connection is released, such that the UE may optimize their transition from RRC connected to either the RRC idle state or RRC inactive state, which may reduce the amount of resources that the base station needs to release the RRC connection. The UE may indicate to the base station its preferred RRC state to transition to when releasing the RRC connection, which may reduce the power consumption of the UE”{He: ¶0007}.
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended)
-Claim 10 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in Claim 1; and further as following:
A chipset {Ly: UE 102-Fig.1F & ¶0120-¶0129} comprising:
at least one processor {Ly: processor 118-Fig.1F}; and
at least one memory {Ly: memory 130 & 132 in Fig.1F & ¶0120-¶0125 & ¶0494} for storing instructions and operably electrically connectable to the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause a User Equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising:
generating a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state;
obtaining a second RRC message,
wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive.
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended)
-Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in Claims 1 & 10; and further as following:
A User Equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one transceiver {LY: transceiver 120-Fig.1F};
at least one processor; and
at least one memory for storing instructions and operably electrically connectable to the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising:
transmitting, via the at least one transceiver, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to a base station in a network based on determining to leave an RRC connected state for a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation,
wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state, and
wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state;
receiving, via the at least one transceiver, a second RRC message from the base station in the network;
wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration related to the RRC inactive state; and
transitioning to the RRC inactive state from the RRC connected state based on the configuration related to the RRC inactive state.
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: transmitting a third RRC message including resume information to the base station in the network {He: step 514-Fig.5 & ¶0074}; and receiving a fourth RRC message from the base station in the first network in response to the third RRC message {He: step 516-Fig.5 & ¶0075}.
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises, based on reception of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in the network {He: step 518-Fig.5 & ¶0076}.
Regarding Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein one or more Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions are to be suspended in the RRC inactive state {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): s904-Fig.9 wherein “the UE may perform Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 through PLMN1 to establish registration state with PLMN2”, and “Indirect Registration may be initiated as part of General Registration or standalone as a separate registration step (i.e. similar to steps S900 and S902a but for Indirect Registration)”, e.g. S900-Fig.9 wherein UE registers to PLMN1 with SIM1 and establishes PDU sessions on PLMN1, ¶0328; In other words, when the UE performs Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 to register to PLMN2 and to establish one or more PDU sessions on PLMN2, the UE also requests to suspend its registration with PLMN1 for SIM1 and the established one or more PDU sessions on PLMN1 is suspended in the RRC inactive state, emphasis added, ¶0327 & ¶436}.
Regarding Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises receiving a paging message from a base station in a second network {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): s906-Fig.9 wherein “UE receives a paging request for SIM2 from PLMN1. The paging request originated from PLMN2, which forwarded the request to PLMN1”, ¶0328}.
Regarding Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the first RRC message includes one or more of: one or more QoS Flow IDs (QFIs); information requesting suspension or inactivation of active communications; information requesting suspension or inactivation of a service; or information requesting suspension or inactivation of a connection {He: 410-Fig.4 & ¶0060 wherein “The UE may send an RRC state preference indication 410 to a base station 404. The RRC state preference indication may indicate the preference for transitioning upon release of the RRC connection from the RRC connected state to one of the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state”}; and
{Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): s904-Fig.9 wherein “the UE may perform Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 through PLMN1 to establish registration state with PLMN2”, and “Indirect Registration may be initiated as part of General Registration or standalone as a separate registration step (i.e. similar to steps S900 and S902a but for Indirect Registration)”, e.g. S900-Fig.9 wherein UE registers to PLMN1 with SIM1 and establishes PDU sessions on PLMN1, ¶0328; In other words, when the UE performs Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2 to register to PLMN2 and to establish one or more PDU sessions on PLMN2, the UE also requests to suspend its registration with PLMN1 for SIM1 and the established one or more PDU sessions on PLMN1, emphasis added, ¶0327; see also ¶0328 wherein s904-Fig.9 wherein “This registration procedure (e.g. Indirect Registration with PLMN2 for SIM2) puts the UE in RM-INACTIVE state (e.g. with PLMN1 for SIM1)”}.
Regarding Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed by a User Equipment (UE),wherein the UE is configured to comprise a first USIM and a second USIM, and wherein the first USIM is registered in a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), and the second USIM is registered in a second PLMN. {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): UE comprise SIM1 and SIM2 for registering to PLMN1 and SIM2, respectively, also step s900 & s904 in Fig.9 and s1502-Fig.15 wherein “SIM1 and SIM2 are linked both PLMN1 and PLMN2”}.
Regarding Claim 12. The chipset of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
generating a third RRC message including resume information {He: step 514-Fig.5 & ¶0074}; and obtaining a fourth RRC message in response to the third RRC message {He: step 516-Fig.5 & ¶0075} and {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): ¶0192 & ¶0328 wherein “the SIM switch procedure are also proposed in which the multi-SIM UE may notify the network to suspend the registration state of one SIM so the UE can communicate with another SIM…With the saved context (e.g. SIM switch from PLMN1 to PLMN2, emphasis added), the UE is able to switch back to PLMN1 (e.g. from PLMN2, emphasis) and quickly resume operations”, steps 914a & 914b in Fig.9}; and receiving a fourth RRC message from the base station in the first network in response to the third RRC message.
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The chipset of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise, based on obtaining of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state {He: step 518-Fig.5 & ¶0076}; and {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): ¶0192 & ¶0328 wherein steps 914a & 914b in Fig.9 wherein “the UE may suspend the registration state for SIM2 as shown in step S914a by performing a SIM Switch procedure and then reactivate the registration state for SIM1 as shown in step S914b”}.
Regarding Claim 14. The chipset of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise obtaining a paging message from a second network {Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1): ¶0192 & ¶0328 wherein step 906-Fig.9 wherein “UE receives a paging request for SIM2 from PLMN1 The paging request originated from PLMN2, which forwarded the request to PLMN1”}.
Claim(s) 3-4 & 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly (US 2022/0240213 A1) in view of Da Silva (US 2020/0314700 A1).
Regarding Claim 3. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
wherein the method further comprises: transmitting a third RRC message including resume information to the base station in the first network; {Ly: s914b-Fig.9 wherein UE activates Registration state for SIM1 with RAN1/PLMN1, ¶0328}; and
Ly does not explicitly disclose receiving a fourth RRC message from the base station in the first network in response to the third RRC message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Da Silva (US 2020/0314700 A1) disclose receiving a fourth RRC message from the base station in the first network in response to the third RRC message {Da Silva: Fig.4 & ¶0041 wherein “the UE issues a RRCResumeRequest (step 400). The gNB retrieves the UE context from the last serving gNB (steps 402 and 404), and sends an RRCResume instruction to the UE (step 406). The UE then enters the RRC_CONNECTED state”}. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to Guo’s teaching to Ly’s system with the motivation being to reduce the overall latency” {Da Silva: ¶0040}.
Regarding Claim 4. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises, based on reception of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in the first network {Da Silva: ¶0041 wherein “The UE then enters the RRC_CONNECTED state and issues a RRCResumeComplete message to the gNB (step 408)-Fig.4”}.
Regarding Claim 12. With the same reasons as set forth in the chipset of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
generating a third RRC message including resume information; and
obtaining a fourth RRC message in response to the third RRC message.
-Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 13. With the same reasons as set forth in the chipset of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise, based on obtaining of the fourth RRC message, transitioning to the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in the first network.
-Claim 13 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6-13-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
a/. Applicant argued that Ly fails to disclose that Ly’s SIM indicator indicates that SIM Switch is performed, but does not disclose any “preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state” for the MUSIM operation, “wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive and an RRC idle state” as recited in the present claim.
-In reply, applicant is directed to newly 102 & 103 rejections as set forth as above, wherein the first RRC message includes information related to a preferred RRC state when leaving the RRC connected state {Ly: s910-Fig.9 ¶0328 wherein “Step S910: UE notifies PLMN1 that it needs to perform a “SIM Switch” procedure to PLMN2; or SIM switch procedure are also proposed in which the multi-SIM UE may notify the network to suspend the registration state of one SIM so the UE can communicate with another SIM”; see also s1606-Fig.16 & ¶0436 wherein “Step 1606: the UE performs a SIM Switch Request procedure in which the Registration Type is set to SIM Switch or a SIM Switch indicator is included in the request. This request is to inform PLMN1 that the UE would like to suspend its registration state” and ¶0371-¶0395 wherein “when a UE is in RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states”, and ¶0483 wherein “suspense state is similar to RRC-INACTIVE state”; In other words, it is inherent that, in the vice versa situation of “when a UE in RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states” or SUSPENSE state, when a UE is in RM-ACTIVE state, it must also in CM-CONNECTED & RRC-CONNECTED or RRC-ACTIVE states, emphasis added. Since the UE is in “ RM-INACTIVE state, it must also in CM-IDLE & RRC-IDLE or RRC-INACTIVE states”, thus, the communication of UE with RAN/PLMN is also inherently in RRC message, emphasis added, e.g. s1604-Fig.16 wherein “If UE is in CM-IDLE (also in RRC-INACTIVE, emphasis added), the UE establishes RRC connection with RAN1 for SIM1”, see also s912-Fig.9, s2008-Fig.20, and ¶0153-¶0160}, and wherein the preferred RRC state is an RRC inactive state, from among the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state {Ly: ¶0156-¶0159 wherein “the UE also maintains RRC states with the RAN node (e.g. base station 103/104/105 -Fig.1A) and is described in TS 38.300 [4] as follows: RRC_IDLE (¶0157), RRC_INACTIVE (¶0158), and RRC_CONNECTED (¶0159) or RRC_ACTIVE (emphasis added)”; in other words, the RRC states are the preferred RRC states as claimed}.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun (US 12133281 B2) discloses a communication method and a wireless communications apparatus. The method includes sending, by the wireless communications apparatus, a first request message to a first cell, where the first request message is used to request to release a wireless connection between a first user and the first cell, receiving, by the wireless communications apparatus, a response message from the first cell, where the response message is used to respond to the first request message, and sending, by the wireless communications apparatus, a second request message to a second cell, where the second request message is used to request to establish a wireless connection between a second user and the second cell {Figs.3-5}.
Ryoo (US 10986655 B2) discloses a communication technique of merging, with IoT technology, a 5G communication system for supporting a data transmission rate higher than that of a 4G system, and a system therefor. The disclosure can be applied to intelligent services (for example, smart home, smart building, smart city, smart car or connected car, health care, digital education, retail, security and safety related services, and the like) on the basis of 5G communication technology and IoT related technology. According to one embodiment of the present invention, a communication method of a base station comprises the steps of: determining an RRC state transition condition of a terminal; and transmitting information on the RRC state transition condition to the terminal, wherein the RRC state transition condition can include at least one timer for the transition between RRC states and/or information indicating an RRC state to be changed {Figs.1-24}.
/PHUONGCHAU BA NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464