DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment and request for continued examination filed 01/14/2026. Claims 24-45 are currently pending in this application. Of the above claims, claims 26, 39, and 42 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24-25, 27-32, 40-41, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2016/0303698 A1).
Claim 24, Takahashi teaches:
A sensor system (Takahashi, Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a base comprising a first cutting tool (Takahashi, Fig. 2: 200, The cutting tool 200 represents a base to which the plurality of measurement units 101 are attached.);
a first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 101) attached to the base (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0039], [0043], and [0047],The AD converter 103, the processing section 104, the wireless communication section 105, and the antenna 106 are mounted on the circuit board 206, which is attached to cutting tool 200. The distortion sensors 102X, 102Y, and 102Z are attached to each blade portion 202, which are also attached to cutting tool 200. The distortion sensors are then connected to circuit board 206 via respective cables (see Takahashi, Paragraphs [0044-0046]). Each temperature sensor 102T is attached to a surface of each blade portion 202.); and
a wireless communication apparatus (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 120) configured to perform first wireless communication between the wireless communication apparatus and the first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], The monitor device 120 receives real time data from the plurality of sensors 102X, 102Y, 102Z, and 102T of each measurement unit 101.), wherein the first wireless communicator comprises
a first sensor (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 102X, 102Y, 102Z, 102T) configured to detect information for identifying a position of the first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W.),
a first wireless communication module (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 105) configured to perform the first wireless communication (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], Each wireless communication section 105 modulates the acquired transmission data and outputs the modulated transmission data to antenna 106 to be transmitted to monitor device 120.), and
a first controller (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 104) configured to control the first wireless communication module (Takahashi, Paragraph [0023], The processing section 104 receives the digital measurement value resulting from the AD conversion and adds identification information to be transmitted by the wireless communication section 105.),
the first controller is configured to change a status of the first wireless communication from a first state to a second state, in response to the identified position of the first wireless communicator satisfying a first predetermined condition (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting, which increases its power consumption, i.e. a first state to a second state. An example of a position of the measurement unit 101 satisfies a predetermined condition includes when the distortion sensors sense that the blade portion engages with a workpiece, which is represented by a peak in amplitude (see Takahashi, Fig. 6).),
the first cutting tool is positioned at a location at which the first cutting tool is used for cutting in the second state (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When the tool 200 is operational, data from the sensors 102X to 102Z, indicative of the operation of corresponding blade portions 202 (see Takahashi, Paragraph [0020]), are AD converted and output by wireless communication section 105. For example, when the tool 200 engages with a workpiece W, the generated data can be represented by Fig. 6.), and
an electric power consumption of the first wireless communication module in the second state is greater than in the first state (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting, which increases its power consumption, i.e. a first state to a second state.).
Takahashi does not explicitly teach:
The first cutting tool is positioned at a location at which the first cutting tool is not used for cutting in the first state.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the wireless communication section 105 to refrain from transmitting when the tool 200 is not operational, e.g. when the tool 200 is off and located away from workpiece W. Therefore, the processing section 104 would not acquire data to be AD converted, which subsequently would not require the need for wireless communication section 105 to transmit (see Takahashi, Paragraph [0023]). Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results, e.g. power saving when the tool 200 is not operational.
Claim 25, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 24, wherein
the first sensor to detect the information for identifying the position of the first wireless communicator at intervals of a first period (Takahashi, Paragraph [0022], The sensors provide measurement values at specific sampling rates, i.e. intervals.).
Takahashi does not specifically teach:
The first controller is configured to cause the first sensor.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the processing section 104 to control the plurality of sensors 102X-1027 and 102T. Such a modification would not change the principal operation and would ensure that the system functions according to its intended function. For example, values are received from the sensors at a predetermined sampling rate, however, a plurality of sampling rates are disclosed (see Takahashi, Paragraph [0022]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the processing section 104 to be capable of communicating with the sensors 102X-102Z and 102T in order to receive and process values at a different sampling rate.
Claim 27, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 24.
Takahashi does not specifically teach:
Wherein the first controller is configured to stop detection of the information for identifying the position of the first wireless communicator in response to the status of the first wireless communication changing from the first state to the second state.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the processing section 104 to temporarily stop or pause reception of data during periods in which data cannot be transmitted due to the plurality of data from the plurality of other measurement units 101 (see Takahashi, Paragraph [0027]). Such a modification would ensure the reduction of data collisions and would also yield the benefit of energy saving.
Claim 28, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 25, wherein
the first wireless communicator further comprises a state sensor (Takahashi, Paragraph [0020], The distortion sensors may be piezo-type, which are functionally equivalent to acceleration sensors, which is equivalent to a state sensor.), and
the first controller is configured to cause the state sensor to detect a state of the base at intervals of a second period different from the first period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0022], The distortion gauge and/or piezo-type sensors are capable of detecting a vibration state, and the values received may be received at a second sampling rate different than the first sampling rate, i.e. at different time periods.).
Claim 29, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 28, wherein
the state sensor comprises a sensor selected from the group consisting of an acceleration sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, an angular velocity sensor, an acoustic emission sensor, a temperature sensor, a stress strain sensor and combinations thereof (Takahashi, Paragraph [0020], The distortion sensors may be piezo-type, which are functionally equivalent to acceleration sensors.).
Claim 30, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 24, wherein
in the first state, the first wireless communication is inactive, and
in the second state, the first wireless communication is active (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting, i.e. inactive to active.).
Claim 31, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 24, wherein
in the first state, communication traffic per unit time is lower than in the second state (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting.).
Claim 32, Takahashi teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 24, further comprising:
a second wireless communicator (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 101) attached to the base (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0039], [0043], and [0047],The AD converter 103, the processing section 104, the wireless communication section 105, and the antenna 106 are mounted on the circuit board 206, which is attached to cutting tool 200. The distortion sensors 102X, 102Y, and 102Z are attached to each blade portion 202, which are also attached to cutting tool 200. The distortion sensors are then connected to circuit board 206 via respective cables (see Takahashi, Paragraphs [0044-0046]). Each temperature sensor 102T is attached to a surface of each blade portion 202. As can be seen in Fig. 1, there are a plurality of measurement units 101 implemented, i.e. a first and second.), and configured to perform second wireless communication between the wireless communication apparatus and the second wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], The monitor device 120 receives real time data from the plurality of sensors 102X, 102Y, 102Z, and 102T of each measurement unit 101.), wherein
the second wireless communicator comprises:
a second sensor (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 102X, 102Y, 102Z, 102T) configured to detect information for identifying a position of the second wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W.),
a second wireless communication module (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 105) configured to perform the second wireless communication (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], Each wireless communication section 105 modulates the acquired transmission data and outputs the modulated transmission data to antenna 106 to be transmitted to monitor device 120.), and
a second controller (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 104) configured to control the second wireless communication module (Takahashi, Paragraph [0023], The processing section 104 receives the digital measurement value resulting from the AD conversion and adds identification information to be transmitted by the wireless communication section 105.), the second controller is configured to change a status of the second wireless communication from a third state to a fourth state, in response to the identified position of the second wireless communicator satisfying a second predetermined condition (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting, which increases its power consumption, i.e. a third state to a fourth state, wherein the third state and the fourth state only occur for a subsequent measurement unit 101. An example of a position of the measurement unit 101 satisfies a predetermined condition includes when the distortion sensors sense that the blade portion engages with a workpiece, which is represented by a peak in amplitude (see Takahashi, Fig. 6).), and
an electric power consumption of the second wireless communication module in the fourth state is greater than in the third state (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting, which increases its power consumption, i.e. a first state to a second state.).
Claim 40, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 24.
Takahashi does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the first controller is configured to start detection of the information for identifying the position of the first wireless communicator by the first sensor, in response to the status of the first wireless communication changing from the second state to the first state.
However, Takashi teaches the sensors provide measurement values at specific sampling rates, i.e. intervals (see Takahashi, Paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the measurement units 101 to collect data during periods in which the wireless communication section 105 is not transmitting, i.e. in a first state. The second time would be the time between last transmission and the time to receive additional data.
Claim 41, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 25, wherein
the first wireless communicator further comprises a state sensor (Takahashi, Paragraph [0020], The distortion sensors may be piezo-type, which are functionally equivalent to acceleration sensors, which is equivalent to a state sensor.),
the first controller is configured to cause the state sensor to detect a value of a physical quantity of the base (Takahashi, Paragraph [0020], An example of a physical quantity is the distortion of the blades attached to the base. Additionally, the distortion is used to determine the location of the base relative to a workpiece, which is also a value of a physical quantity of the base.), and the first controller is configured to change the status of the first wireless communication from the second state to the first state (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], One example end condition is the end of the gathered data to be transmitted during a period of time.), in response to the value of a physical quantity of the base being lower than or equal to a predetermined value for a fourth predetermined period longer than the first period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. Thus, a predetermined value may be set at a distortion level at the midpoint or higher (see Takahashi, Fig. 6), wherein the fourth period may be a period of time, following the initial measurement, where the amplitudes fall below the midpoint or higher, wherein the length of the period of time is longer than the measurement period, i.e. the first period.).
Claim 43, Takahashi teaches:
A wireless terminal (Takahashi, Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a base (Takahashi, Fig. 2: 200, The cutting tool 200 represents a base to which the plurality of measurement units 101 are attached.); and
a first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 101) attached to the base (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0039], [0043], and [0047],The AD converter 103, the processing section 104, the wireless communication section 105, and the antenna 106 are mounted on the circuit board 206, which is attached to cutting tool 200. The distortion sensors 102X, 102Y, and 102Z are attached to each blade portion 202, which are also attached to cutting tool 200. The distortion sensors are then connected to circuit board 206 via respective cables (see Takahashi, Paragraphs [0044-0046]). Each temperature sensor 102T is attached to a surface of each blade portion 202.);
wherein the first wireless communicator comprises a first sensor (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 102X, 102Y, 102Z, 102T) configured to detect information for identifying a position of the first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W.),
a first wireless communication module (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 105) configured to perform first wireless communication between an external apparatus and the first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], Each wireless communication section 105 modulates the acquired transmission data and outputs the modulated transmission data to antenna 106 to be transmitted to monitor device 120.), and
a first controller (Takahashi, Fig. 1: 104) configured to control the first wireless communication module (Takahashi, Paragraph [0023], The processing section 104 receives the digital measurement value resulting from the AD conversion and adds identification information to be transmitted by the wireless communication section 105.),
the first controller is configured to change a status of the first wireless communication from a first state to a second state, in response to the identified position of the first wireless communicator satisfying a first predetermined condition (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting, which increases its power consumption, i.e. a first state to a second state. An example of a position of the measurement unit 101 satisfies a predetermined condition includes when the distortion sensors sense that the blade portion engages with a workpiece, which is represented by a peak in amplitude (see Takahashi, Fig. 6).), and
an electric power consumption of the first wireless communication module in the second state is greater than in the first state (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], When data is given to the wireless communication section 105 to be transmitted, the wireless communication section 105 effectively changes its status from not transmitting to transmitting, which increases its power consumption, i.e. a first state to a second state.).
Claim 44, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 24, wherein the first wireless communicator is configured to perform computation to identify the position of the first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. The relative location of the blade portion(s) to the workpiece W is one example of a position.).
Claim 45, Takahashi further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 44, wherein the first wireless communicator is configured to repeat the computation to identify the position of the first wireless communicator in response to the identified position of the first wireless communicator not satisfying the first predetermined condition (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0023] and [0026], As shown in Fig. 6, when the blade portion is moved away from workpiece W, i.e. the position of the first wireless communicator not satisfying the first predetermined condition, the next time the blade portion generates a peak amplitude is measured, and the process is repeated for each peak, represented in Fig. 6 as 601, 602, and 603.).
Claims 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2016/0303698 A1) in view of McKenna et al. (U.S. 2011/0213216 A1).
Claim 33, Takahashi teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 32, wherein the status of the first wireless communication is the second state (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], The monitor device 120 receives values from the plurality of measurement units 101 when the measurement units 101 are in a transmitting, i.e. a second, state.).
Takahashi does not specifically teach:
Wherein the wireless communication apparatus is configured to send first data to the first wireless communicator of which the status of the first wireless communication is the second state, in response to the status of the second wireless communication changing from the third state to the fourth state, and the first data comprises data including an instruction to change the status of the first wireless communication from the second state to the first state.
McKenna teaches:
A monitor (McKenna, Fig. 1: 12, Paragraph [0025]) instructs sensors to stop transmitting in response to all sensors transmitting (McKenna, Paragraph [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Takahashi by integrating the teaching of instructions to stop sensor transmissions, as taught by McKenna. Thus, in the combination of Takahashi in view of McKenna, a first sensor would be in a second state, and another sensor would be in a fourth state, i.e. both the first and second sensors would be transmitting.
The motivation would be to reduce the likelihood of wireless interference (see McKenna, Paragraph [0077]).
Claim 34, Takahashi in view of McKenna further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 33, wherein
the first wireless communicator further comprises a state sensor (Takahashi, Paragraph [0020], The distortion sensors may be piezo-type, which are functionally equivalent to acceleration sensors, which is equivalent to a state sensor.),
the first controller is configured to cause the first sensor to detect the information for identifying the position of the first wireless communicator at intervals of a first period (Takahashi, Paragraph [0022], The sensors provide measurement values at specific sampling rates, i.e. intervals.), and cause the state sensor to detect a state of the base at intervals of a second period different from the first period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0022], The distortion gauge and/or piezo-type sensors are capable of detecting a vibration state, and the values received may be received at a second sampling rate different than the first sampling rate, i.e. at different time periods.),
the first controller is configured to cause the first wireless communication module to send data including a detection result on the state of the base before the status of the first wireless communication becomes the first state (Takahashi, Paragraph [0026], The values are transmitted prior to the measurement units 101 stopping transmission, i.e. the first state.), in response to the first wireless communicator receiving the first data from the wireless communication apparatus (McKenna, Paragraph [0077], Instructions are provided to the sensors to control different aspects of the data collection, e.g. a particular data update rate level (see McKenna, Paragraph [0073]).).
Claim 35, Takahashi in view of McKenna further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 33, wherein
the first controller is configured to start detection of the information for identifying the position of the first wireless communicator by the first sensor, in response to the status of the first wireless communication changing from the second state to the first state (Takahashi, Paragraph [0022], The sensors provide measurement values at specific sampling rates, i.e. intervals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the measurement units 101 to collect data during periods in which the wireless communication section 105 is not transmitting, i.e. in a first state. The second time would be the time between last transmission and the time to receive additional data.).
Claim 36, Takahashi in view of McKenna further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 33, wherein
the first controller is configured to start detection of the information for identifying the position of the first wireless communicator by the first sensor at intervals of a first period (Takahashi, Paragraph [0022], The sensors provide measurement values at specific sampling rates, i.e. intervals.),
in response to:
the status of the first wireless communication becoming the first state (Takahashi, Paragraph [0022], The sensors provide measurement values at specific sampling rates, i.e. intervals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the measurement units 101 to collect data during periods in which the wireless communication section 105 is not transmitting, i.e. in a first state.), and
(ii) a second predetermined period elapsing after the first wireless communication becomes the first state, wherein the first period is less than the second predetermined period (Takahashi, Paragraph [0022], The sensors provide measurement values at specific sampling rates, i.e. intervals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the first period to be less than a second period, or for the second period to be less than a first period, as a matter of engineering choice. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04.).
Claim 37, Takahashi in view of McKenna further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 33, wherein the first controller is configured to:
identify a first position of the first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W.);
identify a second position of the first wireless communicator after a second predetermined period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. As can be seen in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are measured over time, thus each subsequent measurement is at least a second predetermined period after a first measurement.);
determine whether the first position is equal to the second position (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. Based on the amplitude values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the positions to potentially be equal when the corresponding amplitudes are the same or similar.); and
repeatedly identify the position of the first wireless communicator at intervals of a first period in response to the first position being different from the second position, wherein the first period is less than the second predetermined period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. For example, if a second period is the time between each successive peak, a first period may be a period of time between a high peak and a low peak, wherein the first period is less than the second period. Thus, each successive change in amplitude represents a change in positioning of each of the distortion sensors and the measurement units 101 relative to a workpiece.).
Claim 38, Takahashi in view of McKenna further teaches:
The sensor system according to Claim 33, wherein the first controller is configured to:
identify a first position of the first wireless communicator (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W.);
identify a second position of the first wireless communicator after a second predetermined period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. As can be seen in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are measured over time, thus each subsequent measurement is at least a second predetermined period after a first measurement.);
determine whether the first position is equal to the second position (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. Based on the amplitude values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the positions to potentially be equal when the corresponding amplitudes are the same or similar.); and
repeatedly identify the position of the first wireless communicator at intervals of a first period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W.) in response to:
the first position being different from the second position (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. The amplitudes represent moments when the distortion sensors are engaged with or disengaged with a workpiece, which represents different positions of the distortion sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the amplitudes to change as the measurement units 101 are brought closer to the workpiece or brought away from the workpiece.), and
a third predetermined period elapsing after identifying the first position as being different from the second position, wherein the first period is less than both the second predetermined period and the third predetermined period (Takahashi, Paragraphs [0020] and [0043], The distortion sensors 102X-102Z detect the distortion of each blade portion in the respective axes. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 6, the amplitudes are indicative of when a blade portion comes into contact with a workpiece W, wherein the decreases in amplitude are indicative of when the blade portion moves away from the workpiece W. For example, if a second period is the time between each successive peak, a first period may be a period of time between a high peak and a low peak, wherein the first period is less than the second period. Thus, each successive change in amplitude represents a change in positioning of each of the distortion sensors and the measurement units 101 relative to a workpiece. Additionally, a third period may contain multiple first and/or second periods, therefore, the first period is less than the third period. Finally, as the measurement unit 101 is brought closer into or pulled further away from the workpiece, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the amplitude measurements to change, which is functionally equivalent to the positions of the measurement unit 101 being different over different periods of time.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “position of the measurement unit 101”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It appears that the Applicant intends for a the “position” to be interpreted as, for example, a spatial position. The claims, however, include a “relative position” of the measurement unit 101 to be equivalent to Applicant’s claimed “position”. Thus, because the system in Takahashi is capable of knowing when the tool 200 is engaged with a workpiece W, the engagement with the workpiece W is indicative of a relative position at the workpiece W (see Takahashi, Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686