DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10-13, 15, 20-21, 24, and 26 and 102-105 remain pending in the application. Claim 106 has been cancelled. Claims 102-105 remain withdrawn from consideration. New claim 107 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/20226 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Khairkhahan no longer discloses amended claim 1, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly interpreted “upper” and “lower” surfaces contact the atrial sides of both leaflets, and the surfaces 292 and 294 are disclosed to comprise a “covering” which can be considered a sheet. Regarding the argument that Khairkhahan does not disclose amended claim 7, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation “ventrical apical area” is being given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation, in that area is being interpreted to mean “the amount of space inside a shape, surface, region, room, etc.” (see Merriam Webster Online definition 4). The ventricle side of the leaflets can be considered to be apart of the “ventrical apical area,” as it is within an area around the apex of the heart on the ventricle side of the leaflets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10-13, 15, 20-21, 24, 26, and 107 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20150119981 A1 (hereafter --Khairkhahan--).
Regarding Claim 1, Khairkhahan discloses a leaflet coaptation-assist device (280) for promoting valve coaptation of leaflets of an atrioventricular valve of a heart of a patient (see paragraph [0084]), the leaflet coaptation-assist device comprising: a sheet having a lower surface (292) that provides a coaptation-assist surface (290) (see annotated coaptation-assist surface 290 in Figure 13 below, see also paragraph [0086] denoting that surfaces 292 and 294 provide a coaptation surface, see also paragraph [0088] can comprise of a “covering” which can be considered a “sheet”); and one or more tissue anchors (296) (see annotated tissue anchor 296 in Figure 13 below, see also paragraph [0090]), which are configured to anchor the leaflet coaptation- assist device in place within the heart of the patient (see paragraphs [0090] and [0091]), such that the coaptation-assist surface provided by the lower surface (292) (see paragraph [0086] denoting that surfaces 292 and 294 provide a coaptation surface, see also annotated lower surface in Figure 13 below, in which the lower surface includes both 292 and 294 and therefore contacts the atrial side of both leaflets) of the sheet is located at or below a leaflet hinge line and contacts an atrial side of the leaflets during ventricular systole (see paragraph [0086], see also Figure 14D below), thereby enhancing leaflet coaptation, the leaflets selected from the group consisting of: native leaflets and prosthetic leaflets (see paragraph [0086]), wherein the one or more tissue anchors comprise a non-tissue-piercing anchor (see paragraph [0090] denoting that clips, helixes or harpoons are options for anchors, see also tissue anchor 296 in Figures 13 and 14D below), which comprises one or more ventricular loops (see paragraphs [0085] and [0090] denoting that helixes are an option, which have loops, see also annotated loops in Figure 13 below), which are configured to couple the leaflet coaptation-assist device to a ventricular wall by radial force and friction (see paragraphs [0090] and [0091]).
Regarding Claim 2, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more ventricular loops are configured to contact one or more of the atrioventricular leaflets at the commissural level and clip the one or more leaflets within the one or more ventricular loops to stabilize anchoring of the leaflet coaptation-assist device (see paragraphs [0090] and [0091]).
Regarding Claim 4, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 7, wherein the non- tissue-piercing anchor comprises two or more ventricular loops (see paragraph [0090] denoting that the anchor can comprise of a plurality of helixes, in which a plurality of helixes have at least two loops, see also annotated loops in Figure 13 below).
Regarding Claim 6, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 4, wherein the two or more ventricular loops do not cross or touch one another (see annotated loops in Figure 13 above).
Regarding Claim 7, Khairkhahan discloses a leaflet coaptation-assist device (280) for promoting valve coaptation of leaflets of an atrioventricular valve of a heart of a patient (see paragraph [0084]), the leaflet coaptation-assist device comprising: a coaptation-assist surface (see annotated coaptation-assist surface 290 including surfaces 292 and 294 in Figure 13 above, see also paragraph [0086] denoting that surfaces 292 and 294 provide a coaptation surface, see also paragraph [0088] can comprise of a “covering” which can be considered a “sheet”); and one or more tissue anchors (296) (see annotated tissue anchor 296 in Figure 13 above, see also paragraph [0090]), which are configured to anchor the leaflet coaptation- assist device in place within the heart of the patient (see paragraphs [0090] and [0091]), such that the coaptation-assist surface is located at or below a leaflet hinge line and contacts an atrial side of the leaflets during ventricular systole (see paragraph [0086] denoting that surfaces 292 and 294 provide a coaptation surface, see also annotated lower surface in Figure 13 below, in which the lower surface includes both 292 and 294 and therefore contacts the atrial side of both leaflets, see also paragraph [0086], see also Figure 14D above), thereby enhancing leaflet coaptation, the leaflets selected from the group consisting of: native leaflets and prosthetic leaflets (see paragraph [0086]), wherein the one or more tissue anchors comprise a non-tissue-piercing anchor (see paragraph [0090] denoting that clips, helixes or harpoons are options for anchors, see also tissue anchor 296 in Figures 13 and 14D above), which comprises one or more ventricular loops (see paragraphs [0085] and [0090] denoting that helixes are an option, which have loops, see also annotated loops in Figure 13 above), which are configured to couple the leaflet coaptation-assist device to a ventricular wall by radial force and friction (see paragraphs [0090] and [0091]), wherein the one or more ventricular loops are configured to reach to a ventricular apical area (see paragraph [0090], see also annotated loops in Figure 14D above in which they are in contact with the ventricular side).
Regarding Claim 10, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more tissue anchors are configured to anchor the leaflet coaptation-assist device in place within the heart of the patient (see paragraphs [0090] and [0091]), such that the coaptation-assist surface is located at the leaflet hinge line and contacts the atrial side of the leaflets during ventricular systole (see Figure 14D above),
The limitation “thereby blocking motion of the leaflets into an atrium and preventing leaflet prolapse” is treated as functional language, that is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the leaflet coaptation-assist device being located on the atrial side of the valve at the leaflet hinge line (see Figure 14D above), the device is able to block motion of the leaflets into the atrium, therefore preventing leaflet prolapse, as the device itself is disclosed to have the purpose of preventing valve regurgitation (see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more tissue anchors are configured to anchor the leaflet coaptation-assist device in place within the heart of the patient (see paragraphs [0090] and [0091]), such that the coaptation-assist surface is located below the leaflet hinge line such that the leaflets partially coapt with the coaptation-assist surface during ventricular systole (see Figure 13 above, see also paragraph [0086]).
Regarding Claim 12, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 7, wherein the leaflet coaptation-assist device comprises a sheet having a lower surface that provides the coaptation-assist surface (see annotated sheet and lower surface in Figure 13 above, see also paragraphs [0086]-[0088] denoting that surfaces 292 and 294 can comprise of a covering).
Regarding Claim 13, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 1, wherein the sheet has four sides (see annotated four sides in Figure 13 above).
Regarding Claim 15, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 1, wherein the sheet is shaped so as to define three spokes extending radially outward from a central hub region (see annotated spokes and central hub in Figure 13 above).
Regarding Claim 20, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 1, wherein the sheet has two longer sides and two shorter sides (see annotated longer sides (first and second) and shorter sides (third and fourth) in Figure 13 above), and the shorter sides include respective stiffened portions (the shorter “sides” are stiffened as they directly have the nitinol wire under them, making them more stiff than the upper and lower surfaces, or other two sides (first and second)).
Regarding Claim 21, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 7, wherein the leaflet coaptation-assist device comprises a thick structure having a lower surface that provides the coaptation-assist surface (see annotated thick structure and lower surface in Figure 13 above, see also paragraphs [0086]-[0088] denoting that surfaces 292 and 294 can comprise of a covering, which can be considered a thick structure).
Regarding Claim 24, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 21, wherein the thick structure is curved on a ventricular side thereof (see annotated sheet and lower surface in Figure 14D above, see also paragraphs [0086]-[0088] denoting that surfaces 292 and 294 can comprise of a covering, see bottom side of anchor being curved on the ventricular side in Figures 13 and 14D above).
Regarding Claim 26, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 24, wherein the thick structure is flat on an atrial side thereof (see annotated flat portion in Figures 13 and 14 above).
Regarding Claim 107, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more ventricular loops are configured to reach to a ventricular apical area (see paragraph [0090], see also annotated loops in Figure 14D above in which they are in contact with the ventricular side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150119981 A1 (hereafter --Khairkhahan--).
Regarding Claim 5, Khairkhahan discloses the leaflet coaptation-assist device according to claim 4. This embodiment of Khairkhahan fails to disclose wherein the two or more ventricular loops cross one another.
Another embodiment of Khairkhahan teaches wherein the two or more ventricular loops cross one another (see annotated ventricular loops of tissue anchor 94 in Figures 5D and 6D below).
The Instant Application does not disclose having the two or more ventricular loops crossing one another solves any problem or is for any particular purpose, nor does it place criticality on the limitation. It appears that Khairkhahan’s outer frame would perform equally and function as intended with the two or more ventricular loops crossing one another, as the tissue anchor would still secure the leaflet coaptation-assist device to the leaflet and would sit on the ventricular side, regardless of specific shape. Finally, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification, since Khairkhahan discloses that this anchor resists movement of the coaptation assistance device 80, causing stability, and can do so without penetrating the myocardium as taught by Khairkhahan (see paragraph [0050]), as well as Khairkhahan discloses that combinations or subcombinations of the specific features and aspects of the embodiments disclosed above may be made and still fall within one or more of the inventions (see paragraph [0122]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the two or more ventricular loops cross one another as taught by Khairkhahan in the embodiment above, as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774