DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/01/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1 corresponding to claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 10/01/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 04/24/2023 and 02/04/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim Objection: claim 1, a camera image in line 10 should read as “[[a]] the camera image” since in line 7 recites “a camera configured to capture an image”.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in an application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Regarding claim 1, claim includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: detecting unit and determining unit in claim 1, adjusting unit in claims 11-19. In particular, the claim limitation “unit” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “detecting”. “determining”, and “adjusting” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “unit” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In particular, detecting unit and determining unit in claim 1 are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents as disclosed in para 0050 “the controller 10 of the welding assistance device 1 functions as the acquiring unit 11, the detecting unit 12, and the determining unit 13. FIG. 9 is a diagram for explaining the inference phase”, AND adjusting unit in claims 11-19 is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents as disclosed in para 0066 “the controller 10 of the welding assistance device 1 may adjust the weaving angle or the weaving amplitude of the welding torch 31 on the basis of the width of the groove G (operation of an adjusting unit)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “accuracy” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “accuracy” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizuka (US 20050103766 A1) in view of Tsuji (US 20180117696 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iizuka discloses, an automatic welding system (see automatic groove-tracing welding system in Fig. 1) comprising:
a welding robot (see welding robot 4) configured to perform arc welding (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0049 “The very bright region M is an image of a highly luminous electric arc discharged from the tip P of a welding wire”) in a groove (see groove 51 in Fig. 1) while weaving a welding torch (see welding torch 1) in a front downward direction and a front upward direction in an alternating manner when a welding direction is a frontward direction (see Fig. 5 and disclosed in para 0064 “The height of the tip P of the welding wire is dependent on the position of the weld layer. The image processor 3 receives data on the height of the welding torch 1 from the robot controller 43, and calculates desired weaving end points T respectively for the heights of the welding torch 1”), the groove (51) extending in a horizontal direction (see annotated Fig. 1) between two workpieces (see two workpieces of workpiece 5 in Fig. 1) to be welded (see Fig. 1), the two workpieces (5) being aligned in a vertical direction (see annotated Fig. 1);
a camera (see camera head 2 in Fig. 1) configured to capture an image (see image 31 in Fig. 2) of an arc (see region M in Fig. 2) and a molten pool (see region W in Fig. 2) produced in the groove (51) by the arc welding (see Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0049 “The very bright region M is an image of a highly luminous electric arc discharged from the tip P of a welding wire at a substantially central position in the image determined by the positional relation between the camera head 2 and the welding torch 1, and of a melting zone around the electric arc. The bright region W is an image of a weld surface and the inclined walls of the groove 51 illuminated by the electric arc”);
a detecting unit (see image processing program 74 of the computer program 7 in Fig. 6, wherein the computer program 7 is stored in the image processor (personal computer) 3 in Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0070) configured to detect a position of a leading end (see Fig. 14) of the molten pool (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 5) in a camera image captured by the camera (see Fig. 14 and disclosed para 0064 “The image processor 3 receives data on the height of the welding torch 1 from the robot controller 43, and calculates desired weaving end points T respectively for the heights of the welding torch 1” and para 0078 “The image processing program 74 processes an image signal received from the camera head 2, displays an image based on the image signal on the display”); and
a determining unit (see a main program 71of the computer program 7 in Fig. 6, wherein the computer program 7 is stored in the image processor (personal computer) 3 in Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0070) configured to determine the amount of correction of welding speed on the basis of a distance between the arc and the leading end of the molten pool when the distance is in a predetermined range (see para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases” and para 0078 “when the position of the welding torch 1 needs to be corrected, calculates a correction and gives a correction signal representing the correction through the main program 71 to the main program 61 of the robot program 6”).
However, Iizuka does not explicitly disclose, the welding torch is weaving in a front downward direction and a rear upward direction in an alternating manner when a welding direction is a frontward direction.
Nonetheless, Tsuji teaches, the welding torch (see welding torch 11 in Fig. 1) is weaving (see the weaving operation in Fig. 4) in a front downward direction (see bottom-plate-side movement angle β in Fig. 4) and a rear upward direction (see standing-plate-side movement angle α) in an alternating manner when a welding direction is a frontward direction (see Fig. 4 and disclosed in para 0054 “the electrode moves rearward against the welding travel direction toward the standing-plate-side weaving edge will be defined as a standing-plate-side movement angle α. An angle (>180 degrees) formed between the trajectory of the electrode and the welding line (i.e., the opposite direction from the welding travel direction) when the electrode moves forward in the welding travel direction toward the bottom-plate-side weaving edge will be described as a bottom-plate-side movement angle β”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the automatic welding system of Iizuka so as the welding torch is weaving in a front downward direction and a rear upward direction in an alternating manner when a welding direction is a frontward direction in order to suppress dripping of the molten metal at the standing plate side due to gravitational force and to obtain more favorable bead appearance in accordance with a uniform leg length for the standing plate and the bottom plate (see para 0056 of Tsuji).
Regarding claim 2, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the detecting unit detects a position of the arc and the position of the leading end of the molten pool in the camera image (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0024 “shifts the tip of the welding wire toward one part of the molten pool on one side of the tip of the welding wire having a front end lying behind the front end of the other part of the molten pool when the welding is unbalanced to balance the respective conditions of the right and the left part of the molten pool” and para 0064 “The image processor 3 receives data on the height of the welding torch 1 from the robot controller 43, and calculates desired weaving end points T respectively for the heights of the welding torch 1” and para 0078 “The image processing program 74 processes an image signal received from the camera head 2, displays an image based on the image signal on the display”).
Regarding claim 3, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the position of the leading end of the molten pool is a position of a tip of an upper one of two protrusions appearing at the leading end of the molten pool, positioned one above the other, and protruding in the frontward direction (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0024 “shifts the tip of the welding wire toward one part of the molten pool on one side of the tip of the welding wire having a front end lying behind the front end of the other part of the molten pool when the welding is unbalanced to balance the respective conditions of the right and the left part of the molten pool”).
Regarding claim 4, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the position of the leading end of the molten pool is a position of a rear end of a recess between two protrusions appearing at the leading end of the molten pool, positioned one above the other, and protruding in the frontward direction (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0024 “shifts the tip of the welding wire toward one part of the molten pool on one side of the tip of the welding wire having a front end lying behind the front end of the other part of the molten pool when the welding is unbalanced to balance the respective conditions of the right and the left part of the molten pool”).
Regarding claim 5, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the determining unit (see a main program 71of the computer program 7 in Fig. 6, wherein the computer program 7 is stored in the image processor (personal computer) 3 in Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0070) determines the amount of correction on the basis of the distance between the arc and the leading end of the molten pool when the arc is in a closest range where the arc is closest to the leading end of the molten pool (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0064 “The image processor 3 receives data on the height of the welding torch 1 from the robot controller 43, and calculates desired weaving end points T respectively for the heights of the welding torch 1” and para 0078 “The image processing program 74 processes an image signal received from the camera head 2, displays an image based on the image signal on the display”).
Regarding claim 6, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the detecting unit (see image processing program 74 of the computer program 7 in Fig. 6, wherein the computer program 7 is stored in the image processor (personal computer) 3 in Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0070) detects a position of an upper end or a lower end of the molten pool in the camera image; and the determining unit determines the amount of correction on the basis of the distance between the arc and the leading end of the molten pool when a distance between the arc and the upper end or lower end of the molten pool is in a predetermined range (see Fig. 14 and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases” and para 0078 “when the position of the welding torch 1 needs to be corrected, calculates a correction and gives a correction signal representing the correction through the main program 71 to the main program 61 of the robot program 6”).
Regarding claim 7, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 6, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the determining unit (see a main program 71 of the computer program 7 in Fig. 6, wherein the computer program 7 is stored in the image processor (personal computer) 3 in Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0070) determines the amount of correction on the basis of the distance between the arc and the leading end of the molten pool when the arc is in a farthest range where the arc is farthest from the upper end of the molten pool or when the arc is in a closest range where the arc is closest to the lower end of the molten pool (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0064 “The image processor 3 receives data on the height of the welding torch 1 from the robot controller 43, and calculates desired weaving end points T respectively for the heights of the welding torch 1” and para 0078 “The image processing program 74 processes an image signal received from the camera head 2, displays an image based on the image signal on the display”).
Regarding claim 11, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, further comprising an adjusting unit (see processor 3 in Fig. 1) configured to adjust a weaving angle or a weaving amplitude of the welding torch on the basis of a width of the groove (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 12, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, further comprising an adjusting unit (3) configured to shift a weld line upward as a width of the groove increases (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0024 “shifts the tip of the welding wire toward one part of the molten pool on one side of the tip of the welding wire having a front end lying behind the front end of the other part of the molten pool when the welding is unbalanced to balance the respective conditions of the right and the left part of the molten pool” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 13, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 12, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the adjusting unit(3) brings a weaving angle of the welding torch closer to being vertical or increases a weaving amplitude of the welding torch as the width of the groove increases (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 14, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, further comprising an adjusting unit configured to increase a proportion of an upper part to a lower part of a weaving width of the welding torch as a width of the groove increases, the upper part and the lower part being above and below, respectively, of a weld line (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 15, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the detecting unit detects positions of an upper end and a lower end of the molten pool in the camera image; and the adjusting unit calculates a width of the groove on the basis of a gap between the upper end and the lower end of the molten pool (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 16, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses, further comprising an adjusting unit configured to cause a weld line to follow a center of the groove (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 17, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 16, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the adjusting unit shifts the weld line toward the center of the groove when a gap between the center of the groove and the weld line is greater than or equal to a threshold (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 18, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 16, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the detecting unit detects a position of a wire in the camera image; and the adjusting unit shifts the weld line toward the center of the groove when a gap between the center of the groove and the position of the wire in an up-down direction is greater than or equal to a threshold (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Regarding claim 19, Iizuka in view of Tsuji discloses, the automatic welding system according to claim 16, Iizuka further discloses, wherein the detecting unit detects positions of an upper end and a lower end of the molten pool in the camera image; and the adjusting unit calculates the center of the groove on the basis of the positions of the upper end and the lower end of the molten pool (see Fig. 14 and disclosed in para 0025 “calculating the positional relation between the groove and the tip of the welding wire on the basis of the welding torch tip position information; and achieving welding position control by sending a position correction signal to the welding torch guide device to adjust the welding path of the tip of the welding torch so that the welding path of tip of the welding torch may coincide with a predetermined middle position in the groove” and para 0064 and para 0065 “The desired weaving end points T are calculated with respect to the edges B, and the measured distance between an actual weaving end point corresponding to a traverse end position of the tip P of the welding wire with respect to the edge B is examined with comparing with the desired weaving end point T with respect to the edge B, and a correction is calculated […] The thickness of a weld layer differs from a design thickness if welding speed is not changed according to the change of the groove width and, consequently, a welded joint having a design strength cannot be formed. It is preferable to decrease welding speed to increase the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width increases beyond a design groove width, and increase welding speed to decrease the amount of deposited molten metal when the groove width decreases”).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizuka (US 20050103766 A1) in view of Tsuji (US 20180117696 A1).
Regarding claims 8-10, Iizuka in view of Tsuji disclose, the automatic welding system according to claim 1, Iizuka further discloses wherein the detecting unit estimates the position of the arc and the position of the leading end of the molten pool in the camera image by using welding instructions (claim 8) (see Figs. 2-6 and Fig. 14), estimates positions of an upper end and a lower end of the molten pool in the camera image (claim 9) (see Figs. 2-6 and Fig. 14), and estimates accuracy of the leading end of the molten pool in the camera image (claim 10) (see Figs. 2-6 and Fig. 14).
However, Iizuka, in view of Tsuji does not explicitly disclose, the learned model built in advance, the learned model has a learning image is used as teacher data as teacher data. Nonetheless Okizaki teaches, in Fig. 14 and para 0177, the skilled operator is caused to perform the welding work on the welded body 43 having the same shape a plurality of times, and the welding database including the standard motion range and the correction motion as the exemplary motion is constructed in the data accumulation unit 15. The welding database 70 constructed in the data accumulation unit 15 is copied to the database storage unit 65 in the automatic welding system 200.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the detecting unit of Iizuka wherein the detecting unit estimates the position of the arc and the position of the leading end of the molten pool in the camera image by using a learned model built in advance by machine learning, the learned model being built by using a position of an arc and a position of a leading end of a molten pool in a learning image as teacher data (claim 8), wherein the detecting unit further estimates positions of an upper end and a lower end of the molten pool in the camera image by using the learned model, the learned model being built by using positions of the upper end and the lower end of the molten pool in the learning image as teacher data (claim 9) and wherein the detecting unit further estimates accuracy of the leading end of the molten pool in the camera image by using the learned model, the learned model being built by using visibility of the leading end of the molten pool in the learning image as teacher data (claim 10) as taught/suggested by Okizaki in order copy the welding performance of an operator/teacher into the automatic welding system so as the robot is able to perform the welding process as the same as the operator/teacher (see Fig. 14 and para 0177 of Okizaki).
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761