DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 21, 23-24, 26, 33 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mead et al. in view of Shaabani et al.
Mead et al. teaches oral administration of S[+] apomorphine for treating ALS in mice (p. 444-446; Supplementary Table 3
The t1/2 is 0.78 hours, the Tmax is 0.25 hours, the Cmax is 168.24 ng/ml, the oral bioavailability is 13.46%, and the AUClast/Cmax ratio is 186.80/168.24 = 1.11.
Mead et al. does not teach wherein the half-life is at least about 2 hours after oral administration to a mammal or wherein the at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient is sodium carboxymethyl cellulose.
Shaabani et al. teaches CMC as capable of “controlled drug release” (abstract) and “CMC is most commonly used” (p. 21). Routine use of CMC in oral dosage forms is described at pp. 24-27. It is clear that CMC-Na is a routinely used excipient in oral dosage forms with predictable effects on pharmacokinetic parameters. Accordingly, given that Mead et al. teaches oral dosing of S-apomorphine, it would have been obvious to incorporate CMC-Na into an oral dosage form and an increased half-life as claimed would naturally flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, said increase would have been expected because it is known in controlled drug release systems and optimization of PK properties is routine and such can be done via methods known to one of skill in the art, i.e., modification of dosage forms. With respect to claims 1, 10, 21, 26 and 46, the values lie within those taught by Mead et al. The pharmacokinetic parameters recited in instant claims 23-24 and 33 not explicitly taught by the prior art would necessarily flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, there is nothing to suggest that the instantly claimed parameters are critical. Accordingly, claims 1, 10, 21, 23-24, 26, 33 and 46 are obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 21, 23-24, 26, 33 and 46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,459,301 in view of Shaabani et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 18 of the issued patent is drawn to a method of treating ALS with S-apomorphine and a pharmaceutical excipient. Claim 12 recites oral administration.
The issued claims do not teach wherein the half-life is at least about 2 hours after oral administration to a mammal or wherein the at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient is sodium carboxymethyl cellulose.
Shaabani et al. teaches CMC as capable of “controlled drug release” (abstract) and “CMC is most commonly used” (p. 21). Routine use of CMC in oral dosage forms is described at pp. 24-27. It is clear that CMC-Na is a routinely used excipient in oral dosage forms with predictable effects on pharmacokinetic parameters. Accordingly, given that the issued claims teach oral dosing of S-apomorphine, it would have been obvious to incorporate CMC-Na into an oral dosage form and an increased half-life as claimed would naturally flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, said increase would have been expected because it is known in controlled drug release systems and optimization of PK properties is routine and such can be done via methods known to one of skill in the art, i.e., modification of dosage forms. The pharmacokinetic parameters recited not explicitly taught by the prior art would necessarily flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, there is nothing to suggest that the instantly claimed parameters are critical. The utility of the product claims is disclosed by the specification therefore rendering the instant claims obvious. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
Claims 1, 10, 21, 23-24, 26, 33 and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 75 and 85-103 of copending Application No. 17/286,797 (reference application) in view of Shaabani et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are drawn to treatment of neurodegenerative diseases with S-apomorphine. Claim 87 is directed to oral administration. Claim 88 is directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising S-apomorphine and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Claim 91 is directed to a human subject.
The copending claims do not teach wherein the half-life is at least about 2 hours after oral administration to a mammal or wherein the at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient is sodium carboxymethyl cellulose.
Shaabani et al. teaches CMC as capable of “controlled drug release” (abstract) and “CMC is most commonly used” (p. 21). Routine use of CMC in oral dosage forms is described at pp. 24-27. It is clear that CMC-Na is a routinely used excipient in oral dosage forms with predictable effects on pharmacokinetic parameters. Accordingly, given that the copending claims teach oral dosing of S-apomorphine, it would have been obvious to incorporate CMC-Na into an oral dosage form and an increased half-life as claimed would naturally flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, said increase would have been expected because it is known in controlled drug release systems and optimization of PK properties is routine and such can be done via methods known to one of skill in the art, i.e., modification of dosage forms. The pharmacokinetic parameters recited not explicitly taught by the prior art would necessarily flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, there is nothing to suggest that the instantly claimed parameters are critical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 10, 21, 23-24, 26, 33 and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 8, 11-13, 16, 19-21 and 24 of copending Application No. 17/633,143 (reference application) in view of Shaabani et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising S-apomorphine and an excipient.
The copending claims do not teach wherein the half-life is at least about 2 hours after oral administration to a mammal or wherein the at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient is sodium carboxymethyl cellulose.
Shaabani et al. teaches CMC as capable of “controlled drug release” (abstract) and “CMC is most commonly used” (p. 21). Routine use of CMC in dosage forms is described at pp. 24-27. It is clear that CMC-Na is a routinely used excipient in dosage forms with predictable effects on pharmacokinetic parameters. Accordingly, given that the copending claims are drawn to dosage forms of S-apomorphine, it would have been obvious to incorporate CMC-Na into a dosage form and an increased half-life as claimed would naturally flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, said increase would have been expected because it is known in controlled drug release systems and optimization of PK properties is routine and such can be done via methods known to one of skill in the art, i.e., modification of dosage forms. The pharmacokinetic parameters recited not explicitly taught by the prior art would necessarily flow from the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, there is nothing to suggest that the instantly claimed parameters are critical. The utility of the product claims is disclosed by the specification therefore rendering the instant claims obvious. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 5-6, filed 12/23/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Amendments moot the rejection. The rejection of 11/24/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding half-life are not persuasive as they would naturally flow from the teachings of the prior art. The inclusion of CMC-Na in an oral dosage form is obvious. See modified rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 supra. With respect to the assertion that Mead teaches away from oral-dosing, oral PK parameters are taught and that various PK data are only taught for non-oral dosing cannot be considered to teach away from oral dosing when oral dosing is clearly taught. With respect to the double patenting rejections, modified rejections are presented supra.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 10, 21, 23-24, 26, 33 and 46 are rejected.
Claims 4, 7, 11, 18, 28-30, 40, 42, 44 and 48 are withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JED A KUCHARCZK/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623