DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed August 12, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-9remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al (WO 2018/079611 A1, using US 2020/0048553 A1 as the English equivalent) in view of Nakamichi et al (JP 2019/027000 A, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Regarding Claim 1: Hu discloses a pellet (para. 0189) comprising a liquid crystal polyester (para. 0068) and pitch-based carbon fiber (para. 0164).
Not disclosed is the interfacial shear strength of the liquid crystal polyester. However, Hu teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification identifies a high molecular weight as a factor in achieving the claimed interfacial shear strength (para. 0048). Hu discloses that the liquid crystal polyester has a high molecular weight (para. 0096). Therefore, the claimed physical property, i.e. an interfacial shear strength of equal to or greater than 30 Mpa, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Hu is silent to the length-weighted average fiber length of the pitch-based carbon fibers.
Nakamichi teaches carbon fibers for use in polymer composites, including liquid crystal polyester composites (para. 0061), wherein the fibers have a length-average fiber length of 30-200 µm, stating that this length improves the dispersibility of the fibers (para. 0056). Nakamichi and Hu are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely polymer composites comprising carbon fibers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the length of the carbon fibers taught by Hu within the range taught by Nakamichi in order to ensure fiber dispersibility.
Regarding Claim 2: Hu teaches that the pitch-based carbon fibers are present at 10 to 150 parts by mass, or preferable 60 to 70 parts by mass, with respect to 100 parts by mass of the liquid crystal polyester (para. 0174).
Regarding Claims 3 and 9: Hu discloses a repeat unit with a 2,6-naphthylene group (para. 0080).
Regarding Claims 4-5: Hu discloses a repeat unit that reads on Formula (1) (para. 0071-0072, formula 1) and is present in an amount of 30 to 80 mol% (para. 0086), a repeat unit that reads on Formulas (2) and (3) (para. 0071-0072, formula 2) and is present in an amount of less than or equal to 35 mol% (para. 0089), and a repeat unit that reads on Formula (4) (para. 0071-0072, formula 3) and is present in an amount of less than or equal to 35 mol% (para. 0090).
Regarding Claim 6: Hu does not explicitly disclose that the weight-average molecular weight of the liquid crystal polyester is equal to or greater than 150,000. However, Hu teaches that the liquid crystal polyester has a high molecular weight (para. 0096) and that the flow starting temperature, which is an indicator of molecular weight, is from 280 to 380°C (para. 0097-0099). The instant specification cites a flow starting temperature of from 280 to 400°C (para. 0046). Given the similarity in the flow starting temperature values, it would be reasonable to infer that the molecular weight of the liquid crystal polyester disclosed by Hu would fall within the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 7: Hu discloses a melt-kneading step (para. 0184).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al (WO 2018/079611 A1, using US 2020/0048553 A1 as the English equivalent) in view of Nakamichi et al (JP 2019/027000 A, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Hu discloses a molded article (para. 0202) comprising a liquid crystal polyester (para. 0068) and pitch-based carbon fiber (para. 0164).
Not disclosed is the interfacial shear strength of the liquid crystal polyester. However, Hu teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification identifies a high molecular weight as a factor in achieving the claimed interfacial shear strength (para. 0048). Hu discloses that the liquid crystal polyester has a high molecular weight (para. 0096). Therefore, the claimed physical property, i.e. an interfacial shear strength of equal to or greater than 30 Mpa, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Hu is silent to the length-weighted average fiber length of the pitch-based carbon fibers.
Nakamichi teaches carbon fibers for use in polymer composites, including liquid crystal polyester composites (para. 0061), wherein the fibers have a length-average fiber length of 30-200 µm, stating that this length improves the dispersibility of the fibers (para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the length of the carbon fibers taught by Hu within the range taught by Nakamichi in order to ensure fiber dispersibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 12, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments are directed toward the amendments to independent claims 1 and 8, which have been overcome by the new grounds of rejection.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767