DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed April 9, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, and 31 have been amended, claims 5-7, 10-13, 15-30, 32, 34-35, and 37-45 are cancelled, and claims 46-52 have been added.
Applicant’s arguments filed April 9, 2026 were fully considered but they were not persuasive. Rejections and response to amendments as they currently apply are addressed below.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 14 ,31, 33, 36 and 46-52 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is 371 National Stage Application of PCT/US20/45566, filed August 10, 2020, which claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/884,464, filed August 8, 2019, and U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/951,753, filed December 20, 2019.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I claims and the following elected species:
in the reply filed on August 4, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
In the amendment filed April 9, 2026, Applicant amended the claims such that the elected species is no longer encompassed by the claims. In the response filed April 9, 2026, Applicant requested the search be extended to the following species:
wherein R1 and R2 are hydrogen and 2-hydroxyethyl (C2alkyl substituted with one hydroxy). Thus, the Examiner has expanded the search to this species.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 14 ,31, 33, 36 and 46-52 are encompassed by the election and are examined herein.
Based on the cited art, the search was further expanded to include
as well, which is encompassed by claims 1-4, 8-9, 14, 31, 33, and 36.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because The structures in Figures 1A and 2A are blurry rendering them illegible. Specifically in Figures 1A and 2A the stereo-bonds are unclear (
, figure 1A) (
, figure 2A). The table in Figure 22 has a blurry parameter subscript, rendering it illegible (
). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites inter alia “
”, in which the claim states R4 can be hydrogen twice, which redundant.
Claims 50-51 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being substantial duplicates of claims 49-50 respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 14 ,31, 33, 36 and 46-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tevyashova (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, 2013, IDS filed August 14, 2024) in view of Burke (US 9,738,677, IDS filed September 25, 2024).
Regarding claims 1-4, 8-9, 14 ,31, 33, 36 and 46-52: Tevyashova teaches structure-antifungal activity relationships for amphotericin B (AMB) and its semisynthetic derivatives (abstract, pg. 3816, figure 1). Tevyashova teaches the following compounds 1b and 1c of formula 1
and antifungal activity thereof (pg. 3818, figure 1, compounds 1b and 1c). The antifungal activity of these compounds was determined in liquid medium comprising water (i.e. a carrier, pg. 3816, col. 2, para. 3).
The compounds of Tevyashova differs from the elected compounds in the stereochemistry at the C2’ position of the mucosamine is opposite:
( Tevyashova)
(claimed) (i.e. epimer). Tevyashova does not explicitly teach administering to a subject for the treatment of a fungal infection.
However, Burke teaches an amphotericin B derivative with opposite stereochemistry at C2’ position of the mucosamine (abstract col. 2, lines 1-65). Burke teaches that opposite stereochemistry at this position has the added benefit of maintaining antifungal potency while having lower toxicity to human cells (abstract). Burke teaches the compounds can be utilized in pharmaceutical compositions with a carrier (col. 2, lines 45-67).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compounds of Tevyashova by switching the stereochemistry of the C2’ position of the mucosamine group as taught by Burke. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the AmB analogues by maintaining antifungal activity and lowering toxicity to subjects. It would also have been prima facie obvious to administer the compounds for the treatment of fungal infections in a subject as the compounds are established generally to have anti-fungal activity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 14 ,31, 36 and 46-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/877,792 (US 20250387422, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1-4, 8-9, 14 ,31, 33, 36 and 46-52: The copending claims teach a composition comprising a lipid polymer excipient and a compound of the following formula:
-
(copending claim 1). The copending claims specifically teach the compound may be the elected compounds
(copending claim 19). The copending claims teach wherein the compositions can be used to treat a fungal infection (copending claim 51).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 33 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/877,792 (US 20250387422, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-4, 8-9, 14 ,31, 33, 36 and 46-52 above in view of Burke (US 9,738,677, IDS filed September 25, 2024). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 33: As discussed above the elected compound is encompassed by the copending claims.
They do not teach formulation with a pharmaceutical carrier.
However, Burke teaches an amphotericin B derivative with opposite stereochemistry at C2’ position of the mucosamine (abstract col. 2, lines 1-65). Burke teaches that opposite stereochemistry at this position has the added benefit of maintaining antifungal potency while having lower toxicity to human cells (abstract). Burke teaches the compounds can be utilized in pharmaceutical compositions with a carrier (col. 2, lines 45-67).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of the copending application by including a pharmaceutical carrier as taught by Burke. A person of ordinary skill would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectations of success given that Burke establishes inclusion of a carrier is a routine practice in the art of anti-fungal therapeutics.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect the 103 rejections previously set forth in the Final office action mailed January 9, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s reply is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response. The 35 USC § 103 and double patenting rejections are maintained for reason of record and foregoing discussion.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/SAMUEL L GALSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1693