Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 4/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3 -5, 17-20, 22-28, 30-36 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jokic, Kawamura, Thielemans, and Golub.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 17, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 30, have been amended. Claims 2, 6-16, 21, 29, and 33 are canceled. Claims 37 have been added Claims 1, 3 -5, 17-20, 22-28, 30-32, 34-37 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 18, 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic (Pub 20190015992) in view of Kawamura (Pub 20120069180) in view of Thielemans (Pub 20150377606) in view of Golub (Pub 20100177253).
Regarding claim 1, Jokic discloses:
at least one light projecting device that comprises a laser, (18 fig 1 and Para. [0059]);
at least one sensing device that is configured to generate location data that is indicative of at least one of position, orientation, and movement of the system, (14a fig 1 and/or 14b fig 1 and Para. [0012])
the least one sensing device including a scanning device that is configured to generate topographical data of surfaces within the projection zone, (sensor and/or cameras to generate 3D model of the environment, Para. [0055-0056]);
and at least one computing device, said computing device being in operative communication with said at least one light projecting device for transmitting control signals to said at least one light projecting device, said computing device being in operative communication with said at least one sensing device, said computing device including one or more computer processors, (CPU Para. [0050] and note processing unit configured to control projection elements to cast desired instructional displays on different surfaces)
and one or more computer-readable storage media having stored thereon computer-processor executable instructions, and data representative of computer aided design (CAD) geometry that includes spatial reference data that is tied to the projection zone, said instruction comprising instructions for generating control signals for use in controlling said at least one light projecting device via the transmitted control signals to project one or more images into the projection zone, the images being based on projection image data and wherein generating control signals involves applying a first adjustment to the projection image data on the basis of the generated location data, and instruction for receiving generated topographical data from the scanning device, (see storage and system memory fig 4; also note determining location/orientation of projection system Para. [0012]. In Para. [0055-0056], generating topographical data via environment scanning is disclosed. The BIM 3D model is construed as CAD geometry which may be loaded/accessed, Para [0054]. The robot-projector system may receive sensor data for generating images related to a construction plan “BIM 3D model” Par. [0050] where the projector orientation may be adjusted thereby adjusting the projection image to a desired surface upon determining location/orientation Para. [0059] and Para[0071]), and instructions for receiving generated topographical data from the scanning device, (Para. [0050] [0054] see CPU 24 interpretating the BIM 3D model which includes spatial reference data that is tied to the projection zone).
However, adjusting the combination of non-perpendicular projection angles and non-flat surfaces by applying a second adjustment are not explicitly disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kawamura discloses:
applying a second adjustment to the projection image data on the basis of the generated topographical data to thereby adjust for the combination of non-perpendicular projection angles, and non-flat topography in the generated topographical data, such that images according to the projection image data, when projected onto said projection surface, are geometrically accurate, (see three-dimensional shape scan Para. [0160] where correcting unit 11a corrects image distortion related to non-flat surface and non-perpendicular projection angles, see non-flat surface and a projection angle of field in Para [00160]. One of ordinary skill in the art would include the limiations of Kawamura into Jokic’s image projection device in order to project images according to different projection and/or surface parameters so that images can be correctly displayed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jokic by incorporating Kawamura for the common purpose of correcting projected images according to environmental/surrounding data so that an image may be projected on a predetermined area.
The combination does not disclose the third adjustment limitation.
In a similar field of endeavor, Thielemans discloses comparing the generated topographical data with the data representative of CAD geometry, and applying a third adjustment to the projection image data on the basis of the comparison of the generated topographical data with the data representative of CAD geometry, (see generating topographical data using DAD 140, Para. [0014], and adjusting projected images based on generated topographical data and CAD data Para. [0045-0047]). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination by including the technique of Thielemans regarding projection image adjustment so that the projection images are suitable for display on intended surfaces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Thielemans for the benefit of correctly displaying projected images based on reference data such as CAD data thereby improving the user’s enjoyment.
The combination does not disclose beam shaping optics, whereby light generated by the laser is directed to pass through the beam shaping optics and controlling actuation of the beam shaping optics to modulate the geometry and focus of a beam of light passing therethrough.
In a similar field of endeavor, Golub discloses beam shaping optics, whereby light generated by the laser is directed to pass through the beam shaping optics and controlling actuation of the beam shaping optics to modulate the geometry and focus of a beam of light passing therethrough, (see modulating focus and geometry by SLM 506. The beam is focused by Focusing Microlens L1 and shaped by Micro-beam-shaper 504 before modulation fig 3A and Para. [0041] [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Golub for the benefit of controlling non coherent laser illumination into controlled illumination so that projection into intended positions/areas can be achieved.
Regarding claim 3, Jokic discloses identifying one or more elements within the generated topographical data and defining those elements as reference points, (identifying visible structural components, wall, floors… etc. Para. [0056] wherein the generated location data is indicative of at least one of position, and orientation, and movement of the system based on the identified elements, (projecting guidance onto surrounding structures Para. [0058] and moving robot to desired position, orientation using servos Para. [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Jokic discloses wherein said at least one scanning device includes an imaging device comprising at least one of a light detecting and ranging (LIDAR) device and a camera, (Para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Jokic discloses wherein the at least one sensing device includes one or more of: a Global Positioning System ("GPS") receiver, an inertial sensor, and a gravity sensor, (GPS Para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 22, Jokic discloses wherein the spatial reference data that is included in the data representative of CAD geometry includes georeferenced coordinates, (Para. [0071] see alignment elements).
Regarding claim 26, Jokic discloses wherein the system is mounted or otherwise affixed to one or more vehicles, including any of: land craft, watercraft, aircraft, robots, and space craft, and wherein the projection zone is an environment adjacent to the vehicle, (robot where projection is next to robot. Here robot is construed as a vehicle fig 8).
Claim(s) 5 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Kurtz (Pub 20100177929).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses claim 3. However, data indicating
presence/movement of an object or determining protected object zones are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kurtz discloses wherein said received
generated topographical data indicates the presence and movement of at least one object in the projection zone, (Para. [0056] receiving data from monitored area of a projection environment to identify and localized animate objects and analyze motion to look for moving objects), wherein said instructions further comprise instructions for determining from said received generated topographical data, at least one protected object zone for the at least one object in the projection zone, (head regions Para. [0058]; and wherein generation of the control signals further involves applying an adjustment to the projected image data based on said at least one protected object zone, (blanking of head regions Para. [0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Kurtz for the common purpose of selectively projecting images on predetermined areas.
Regarding claim 27, the combination discloses claim 3. However, a protected object zone is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kurtz discloses wherein the computer- processor executable instructions include analysis of the generated topographical data, and execution of object detection and/or recognition algorithms to thereby identify at least one of a presence, movement, and importance of at least one object in the projection zone, (Para. [0070] topographical data such as position, 3D shape, surface properties of object) wherein said instructions further comprise instructions for: determining, from the generated topographical data, at least one protected object zone for the at least one identified object within the projection zone, (“person in box Para. [0088]); and wherein the generating the control signals includes disallowing light projection of hazardous intensity into the at least one protected object zone, (blanking of head regions Para. [0090]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Kurtz for the common purpose of selectively projecting images on predetermined areas.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic in view of
Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Fukuda (Pub 20180373291).
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses claim 1. However, fixing a
projection image on a predetermined area while a projection device is moving is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fukuda discloses wherein the effect of
applying the first adjustment to the projection image data is that the projected images remain in a pre- determined location within the projection zone even if the at least one light projecting device is moving, (Para. [0149]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Fukuda for the common purpose of allowing accurate positioning of projected images irrespective of projection device movement thereby allowing projected images to be aligned with predetermined projection areas/surfaces.
8. Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Raskar (Pub 20040201823).
Regarding claim 19, the combination discloses claim 3. However, reference
objects are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Raskar discloses further comprising at least
one reference object for placement in the projection zone at a pre-determined location, wherein instructions comprise instructions for identifying the reference object as one of the elements within the generated topographical data, and for establishing position and/or orientation of an origin and/or axes of a coordinate system, (see scene captured with a camera i.e. generating topographic data wherein the scene includes markers at predetermined positions Para. [0036-0037]. And, see establishing coordinate system based on markers i.e., reference object Para. [0038 which includes positions of markers in a coordinate frame of the surface of interest]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Raskar for the common purpose of providing markers so that the robot/projector is accurately positioned.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses claim 19. Raskar further discloses wherein the reference object has predetermined geometric, reflective, or emissive properties to facilitate identification of the respective reference object within the generated topographical data, (reference object i.e. markers having geometric features Para. [0038] (reflective targets Para. [0068]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Raskar for the common purpose of providing markers so that the robot/projector is accurately positioned.
Claim(s) 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Ottnad (Pub 20170115656).
Regarding claim 23, the combination discloses claim 22. However, color coded
active reference grid is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ottnad further discloses wherein the third
adjustment to the projection image data provides for indication within the images projected into the projection zone of deviation between the generated topographical data with the data representative of CAD geometry by one or more of: a color-coded active reference grid in which color within the projection image data is adjusted on the basis of the comparison of the generated topographical data with the data representative of CAD geometry; various line types or thicknesses; and numbers and symbols, (Para. [0051] at least a single line representation for comparing CAD representation with live image). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Ottnad for the common purpose of allowing accurate positioning of projected images irrespective of projection device movement thereby allowing projected images to be aligned with predetermined projection areas/surfaces.
Regarding claim 24, the combination discloses claim 22. However, providing
guidance is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ottnad further discloses wherein the projected
image data includes: active reference geometry for use in providing guidance in mining operations, earth work, masonry work, woodwork, sheetrock work, siding work, shingling work carpet work, painting work, other aspects of construction work, or combinations thereof; and/or dots, lines, arrays, contours and grids for use in aligning blocks, bricks, mortar, wood beams, wood sheets, metal beams, metal, sheets, siding, shingles, nails, screws, fasteners wood rails, metal rails, ties, earth, gravel, sand, concrete, asphalt, stone, bricks, or tiles, (alignment as guidance Par. [0019] of machine work of flat workpieces abstract; which uses reference points Par. [0020][0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Ottnad for the common purpose of allowing accurate positioning of projected images irrespective of projection device movement thereby allowing projected images to be aligned with predetermined projection areas/surfaces.
Regarding claim 25, the combination discloses claim 22. However, laser power
control is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ottnad further discloses wherein the at least one
light projecting device is laser, and the instructions for generating the control signals include controlling the power of the laser to: scorch-mark reference geometry in the projection zone, or laser cut construction and finishing materials, (laser cutting of contours of workpieces abstract and Para. [0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Ottnad for the common purpose of allowing accurate positioning of projected images irrespective of projection device movement thereby allowing projected images to be aligned with predetermined projection areas/surfaces.
Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Kurtz in view of Lish (US 9160993).
Regarding claim 28, the combination discloses claim 27. However, modifying a
projection image and generating an illuminated graphic around protected object zone to indicate presence, movement, importance of an object is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lish discloses wherein generating the control
signals further involve modifying the projection image data such that the images projected into the projection zone include generating an illuminated graphic around said at least one protected object zone to visually indicate at least one of a presence, movement, and importance of the respective object, (COL. 1 Lines 61-67 – COL. 2 Line 1-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Lish for the common purpose of allowing certain objects/regions to be emphasized thereby increasing user convenience.
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Kurtz in view of Lish in view of Tamura (Pub 20050068500).
Regarding claim 30, the combination discloses claim 28. However, a safety
margin is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tamura discloses wherein the protected
object zone is larger than the respective object by a pre-defined margin of safety, (note para. [0002] in which a mask is produced which has a larger region than the region of a detected obstacle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Tamura for the common purpose of allowing images to be projected on desired areas not to include eyes for workers.
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Kurtz in view of Lish in view of Nilsson (Pub 20190104377).
Regarding claim 31, the combination discloses claim 28. However, applying
correction factors based on the identity of the identified object is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses generating control signal include
applying correction factors based on identify of identified objects, (Para. [0096]). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination by Nilsson so that projection images are correctly displayed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to achieve such benefit.
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Mizuuchi (Pub 20090207322).
Regarding claim 32, the combination discloses claim 1. However, a stream of
topographical data is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Mizuuchi discloses operating communication of a
computing device with at least one sensing device is such that the computing device is configured to receive a stream of generated topographical data from the scanning device, (Para. [0036]). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination so that images are corrected based on collected environment/surrounding information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to achieve such benefit thereby improving the correction of images.
Claim(s) 34-36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of Roberts (Pub 20200174356).
Regarding claim 34, the combination discloses claim 33. However, wherein the
beam shaping optics is configured to independently vary each of the X dimension and the Y dimension of the beam geometry and focus.
In a similar field of endeavor, Roberts discloses wherein the beam shaping optics
is configured to independently vary each of the X dimension and the Y dimension of the beam geometry and focus, (abstract and Para. [0039][0084]). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination by incorporating Robert’s projection optics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Robert so that laser projected images are enhanced thereby improving a user’s experience.
Regarding claim 35, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein at
least one light projecting device further comprises beam steering optics and the system is configured such that light generated by the laser is directed to pass through the beam steering optics wherein the beam steering optics is actuated by control signals from the computing device to modulate the path of a beam of light passing therethrough is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Robert discloses wherein at least one light
projecting device further comprises beam steering optics and the system is configured such that light generated by the laser is directed to pass through the beam steering optics wherein the beam steering optics is actuated by control signals from the computing device to modulate the path of a beam of light passing therethrough, (Para. [0032-0033] see dichroic mirrors 13 for steering beams towards MEMS mirror 14). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination by incorporating Robert’s projection optics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Robert so that laser projected images are enhanced thereby improving a user’s experience.
Regarding claim 36, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the
system is configured to selectively modulate an optical power output of the laser, and wherein the optical power output of the laser is modulated by control signals from the computing device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Roberts discloses wherein the system is configured
to selectively modulate an optical power output of the laser, and wherein the optical power output of the laser is modulated by control signals from the computing device, (see controlling on/off states of light sources Para. [0034]). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination by incorporating Robert’s projection optics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Robert so that laser projected images are enhanced thereby improving a user’s experience.
Claim(s) 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jokic in view of Kawamura in view of Thielemans in view of Golub in view of in view of Roberts in view of Fukuda (Pub 20140092307).
Regarding claim 37, the combination discloses claim 36. However, wherein the at least one sensing device is configured to generate scan data that contains reflective properties of scanned surfaces within the projection zone and values of ambient light conditions is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fukuda discloses wherein the at least one sensing device is configured to generate scan data that contains reflective properties of scanned surfaces within the projection zone and values of ambient light conditions, (see reflected light detector 150 fig 2 and fig 3 for detecting reflective properties of scanned surfaces using diffuse filter 153 fig 3 and values of ambient light values using ambient filter 155 fig 3 and Para. [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Fukuda for the benefit of generating high contrast images.
The combination does not disclose generating the control signal for use in controlling said at least one light projecting device to modulate beam power and the beam shaping optics on the basis of the generated scan data.
In a similar field of endeavor, Golub discloses wherein generating the control signal for use in controlling said at least one light projecting device to modulate beam power and the beam shaping optics on the basis of the generated scan data, (see SLM controlled by digital data. The beam is focused by focusing microlens L fig 3A and it shape adjusted by micro-beam shaper 504 before modulation by SLM 506. fig 3A and Para. [0041][0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Golub for the benefit of controlling non coherent laser illumination into controlled illumination so that projection into intended positions/areas can be achieved.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422