DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claim 1, Higuchi discloses in Figs. 1-6 a rechargeable battery ([0008]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (10) in which a separator (3) is disposed between a first electrode (2) and a second electrode (1) ([0020], [0034]);
a case (13) including an opening at one side, and accommodating the electrode assembly (10) ([0031]); and
a cap assembly (15, 16, 17) that is coupled to the opening to close and seal the case (13) ([0033]-[0034]),
wherein the cap assembly (15, 16, 17) comprises:
a cap plate (15) coupled to the opening and having a terminal hole ([0033]);
a terminal plate (16) disposed in the terminal hole ([0033]); and
a sealing portion (17) that is formed of an insulating material, and seals between the cap plate (15) and the terminal plate (17) by covering a circumferential portion of a terminal hole side of the cap plate (15) and a circumferential portion of the terminal plate (17) (Fig. 5, [0033]), wherein
an upper surface of the sealing portion (17) is exposed to an exterior of the rechargeable battery and a lower surface of the sealing portion (17) is exposed to an interior of the case (13) (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the cap plate (15), the terminal plate (16), and the sealing portion (17) are integrally formed (Fig. 5, [0033]-[0034]).
The Examiner notes that the limitation “formed by insert injection” is a product-by-process limitation and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the implied structure of the product.
In a product-by-process limitation, so long as the product has the same claimed composition or properties, the method by which it was made or by which the properties were tested is not material. According to the MPEP, “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Higuchi discloses wherein the cap plate (15), the terminal plate (16), and the sealing portion (17) are integrally formed (Fig. 5, [0033]-[0034]) and therefore meets the requirements of the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 7, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in Figs. 1-6:
a first electrode tab (12) that electrically connects the first electrode (2) to the terminal plate (16) ([0033]-[0034]);
a second electrode tab (11) that electrically connects the second electrode (1) to the case (13) and the cap plate (15) ([0033]-[0034]).
Regarding Claim 18, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the case (13) is cylindrical, and the cap plate (15) is welded to the opening of the case (13) ([0034]).
Regarding Claim 19, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the rechargeable battery is a button-type battery ([0008])) and therefore Higuchi necessarily and inherently discloses wherein the rechargeable battery has a height-to-diameter ratio of 1 or less, as evidenced by P7, L6-10 of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in the exemplary embodiment of Fig. 5 wherein a thickness of the terminal plate (16) is greater than a thickness of the cap plate (15).
Consequently, Higuchi does not disclose wherein one side of the cap plate and one side of the terminal plate are arranged on the same plane.
However, Higuchi remains silent regarding a thickness of the terminal plate (16) ([0041], [0048]) and therefore Higuchi suggests wherein such is a design choice that is not particularly limited.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce the thickness of the terminal plate, such that a top surface of the cap plate and a top surface of the terminal plate are arranged on the same plane, as a thickness of the terminal plate is a design choice that is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the cap assembly desired by Higuchi.
Claims 4-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 2012/0100404 A1).
Regarding Claims 4-5, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a top surface and a bottom surface of the sealing portion (17) are flat (Fig. 5).
However, Higuchi does not disclose wherein the cap plate and the terminal plate are disposed between the top and bottom surfaces of the sealing portion.
Lee teaches in Fig. 1 a rechargeable battery comprising a sealing portion (140) formed of an insulating material ([0034]).
Specifically, Lee teaches the sealing portion (140) has an L-shape such that it contacts an upper and side portions of the outer circumference of a plate (150) in order to support the upper and side portions of the outer circumference of a plate (150) while providing electrical insulation ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the edges of the sealing portion of Higuchi to have an L-shape, as taught by Lee, such that the sealing portion comprises a side portion adjacent to the edge of the terminal plate of Higuchi and a side portion adjacent to an edge of the cap plate of Higuchi, in order to provide support to the terminal plate and the cap plate while providing electrical insulation between the terminal plate and the cap plate, as desired by Higuchi
In light of the above, modified Higuchi discloses wherein the cap plate (15 of Huang) and the terminal plate (16 of Huang) are disposed between the top and bottom surfaces of the sealing portion (17 of Huang) (Fig. 5 of Higuchi and Fig. 1, [0039] of Lee).
Furthermore, modified Higuchi discloses wherein the sealing portion (17 of Higuchi) is annular (Fig. 5 of Higuchi) and a circumferential portion of the terminal hole side of the cap plate (15 of Higuchi) and a circumferential portion of the terminal plate (16 of Higuchi) are inserted into an outer circumferential portion and an inner circumferential portion of the sealing portion (17 of Higuchi) (Fig. 5 of Higuchi and Fig. 1, [0039] of Lee).
Regarding Claim 8, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein, in the electrode assembly (10), the first electrode (2), the second electrode (1), and the separator (3) are wound (Figs. 1, 5, [0034]).
However, Higuchi does not disclose wherein the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator are wound around a center pin, and the center pin is arranged in a vertical direction on a bottom surface of the case.
Lee teaches in Fig. 1 a rechargeable battery comprising a wound electrode assembly, wherein the electrode assembly is wound around a center pin and wherein the center pin is arranged in a vertical direction on a bottom surface of a case in order to provide a predetermined strength to the electrode assembly ([0003]-[0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to wind the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator of Higuchi around a center pin, wherein the center pin is arranged in a vertical direction on a bottom surface of the case of Higuchi, in order to provide a predetermined strength to the electrode assembly of Higuchi.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first electrode tab (12 of Higuchi) is extended upwardly of the electrode assembly (10 of Higuchi) and welded to an inner surface of the terminal plate (16 of Higuchi) (Fig. 5, [0033]-[0034] of Higuchi).
Modified Higuchi further discloses wherein the second electrode tabs extends upwardly of the electrode assembly (10 of Higuchi) and is welded to an inner surface of the cap plate (13 of Higuchi) (Fig. 5, [0033]-[0034] of Higuchi).
Consequently, modified Higuchi does not disclose wherein the second electrode tab extends downwardly of the electrode assembly.
Lee further teaches wherein a second electrode tab extends downwardly of the electrode assembly in order to electrically connect the second electrode tab to an inner surface of the case ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the second electrode tab of modified Higuchi to extend downwardly from the electrode assembly of modified Higuchi, as further taught by Lee, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully electrically connect the second electrode tab to the case of modified Higuchi, as desired by modified Higuchi.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses
a first insulation member (14 of Higuchi) that is disposed between the first electrode tab (2 of Higuchi) and a top surface of the electrode assembly (10 of Higuchi) (Fig. 5, [0032] of Higuchi); and
a second insulation member that is disposed between the second electrode tab (1 of Higuchi) and a bottom surface of the electrode assembly (10 of Higuchi) ([0031] of Higuchi, [0031] of Lee).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 109192889 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated October 30, 2025).
Regarding Claim 6, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in the exemplary embodiment of Fig. 5 wherein a thickness of the terminal plate (16) is greater than a thickness of the cap plate (15).
Consequently, Higuchi does not disclose wherein a thickness of the terminal plate is smaller than a thickness of the cap plate.
Higuchi further discloses wherein the cap plate (15) may have a thickness of 0.4 mm ([0048]).
However, Higuchi remains silent regarding a thickness of the terminal plate (16) ([0041], [0048]) and therefore Higuchi suggests wherein such is a design choice that is not particularly limited.
Huang teaches in Figs. 1-2 a battery ([0027]) comprising a cap assembly (3) comprising a cap plate (31) and a terminal plate (33) ([0027]).
Specifically, Huang teaches wherein a thickness of the terminal plate (33) and the cap plate (31) may be between 0.02 mm and 1 mm ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the terminal plate and the cap plate of Higuchi to have thicknesses in the range taught by Huang, such that a thickness of the terminal plate is smaller than a thickness of the cap plate, as such are known suitable thicknesses in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the cap assembly desired by Higuchi.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action) in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 2012/0100404 A1), as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US PGPub 2020/0106060 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Higuchi does not disclose a third insulation member that is disposed between the first electrode tab and the cap plate.
Shin teaches a rechargeable battery in which an electrolyte is easily injected into a case, and an internal structure of the rechargeable battery is not exposed to air to prevent oxidation of an electrode and deterioration of the electrolyte from occurring ([0017]).
Specifically, Shin teaches in Figs. 5-6 the rechargeable battery (1a) comprising a first insulation member (161a) that is disposed between a first electrode tab (131) and a top surface of an electrode assembly (13) and a third insulation member (162a) that is disposed between the first electrode tab (131) and a cap plate (111) ([0050], [0057], [0085], [0069], [0071]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first insulation member of Higuchi to have the configuration taught by Shin, such that the rechargeable battery of modified Higuchi comprises a first insulation member that is disposed between the first electrode tab of modified Higuchi and a top surface of the electrode assembly of modified Higuchi and a third insulation member that is disposed between the first electrode tab and the cap plate of modified Higuchi, in order to form a rechargeable battery in which an electrolyte is easily injected into the case of modified Higuchi, and an internal structure of the rechargeable battery is not exposed to air to prevent oxidation of an electrode and deterioration of the electrolyte from occurring.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Okahisa et al. (US PGPub 2002/0031704 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Higuchi does not disclose wherein at least one of an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal hole side of the cap plate and an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal plate is bent.
Okahisa teaches in Figs. 1-2 wherein the rechargeable battery comprises a cap plate (2) having a terminal hole and a terminal plate (1) disposed in the terminal hole, and a sealing portion (3) that is formed of an insulating material, seals between the cap plate (2) and the terminal plate (1) ([0004]).
Specifically, Okahisa teaches wherein an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal plate (1) is bent in order to enhance the sealing properties between the terminal plate (1), the sealing portion (3), and the cap plate (2) ([0045]-[0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal plate of Higuchi, as taught by Okahisa, in order to enhance the sealing properties between the terminal plate and the sealing portion of Higuchi.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action) in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 2012/0100404 A1), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 109192889 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated October 30, 2025).
Regarding Claim 16, Higuchi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Higuchi does not disclose wherein a plurality of exposed grooves extending in a radiation direction in an inner circumferential portion of the sealing portion are formed on a bottom surface of the sealing portion.
Huang teaches in Figs. 1-2 a battery ([0027]) comprising a cap assembly (3) comprising a cap plate (31) coupled to the opening and having a terminal hole ([0027]); a terminal plate (33) ([0027]); and a sealing portion (32) that is formed of an insulating material, and seals between the cap plate (31) and the terminal plate (33) by covering a circumferential portion of a terminal hole side of the cap plate (31) and a circumferential portion of the terminal plate (33) ([0027]).
Specifically, Huang teaches a plurality of exposed grooves (35) extending in a radiation direction in an inner circumferential portion of the sealing portion (32) are formed on a bottom surface of the sealing portion (32) in order to create a tighter seal (Fig. 3, [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a plurality of exposed grooves extending in a radiation direction in an inner circumferential portion of the sealing portion of Higuchi on a bottom surface of the sealing portion, as taught by Huang, in order to create a tighter seal.
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 108023037 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated October 30, 2025), and further in view of Okahisa et al. (US PGPub 2002/0031704 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses in Fig. 1 a battery ([0027]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (2) in which a separator (23) is disposed between a first electrode (21) and a second electrode (22) ([0027]-[0028]);
a case (11) including an opening at one side, and accommodating the electrode assembly (2) ([0027]); and
a cap assembly (12, 3, 4) that is coupled to the opening to close and seal the case (11) ([0027]),
wherein the cap assembly (12, 3, 4) comprises:
a cap plate (12) coupled to the opening and having a terminal hole (123) ([0027]);
a terminal plate (4) disposed in the terminal hole (123) ([0027]); and
a sealing portion (3) that is formed of an insulating material, and seals between the cap plate (12) and the terminal plate (4) by covering a circumferential portion of a terminal hole side of the cap plate (12) and a circumferential portion of the terminal plate (4) ([0027]), wherein
an upper surface of the sealing portion (3) is exposed to an exterior of the battery and a lower surface of the sealing portion (3) is exposed to an interior of the case (11) (e.g. see annotated Fig. 1 provided below wherein an upper surface of the sealing portion 3 is exposed to an exterior surface of the cap plate 12 of the battery).
Huang further discloses wherein the battery is a button battery ([0027]).
However, Huang does not disclose wherein the battery is a rechargeable battery.
Okahisa teaches wherein in a button battery may be formed to be rechargeable battery (Fig. 1, [0001], [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the battery of Huang to be a rechargeable battery , as taught by Okahisa, as such is a known configuration in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the battery desired by Huang.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein
a top surface and a bottom surface of the sealing portion (3 of Huang) are flat, and the cap plate (12 of Huang) and the terminal plate (4 of Huang) are disposed between the top and bottom surfaces of the sealing portion (3 of Huang) (see annotated Fig. 1 of Huang provided below).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein
the sealing portion (3 of Huang) is annular (Fig. 1 of Huang), and
a circumferential portion of the terminal hole side of the cap plate (12 of Huang) and a circumferential portion of the terminal plate are respectively inserted into an outer circumferential portion and an inner circumferential portion of the sealing portion (3 of Huang) (Fig. 1 of Huang).
Claims 1-3, 6, 12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 109192889 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated October 30, 2025), and further in view of Okahisa et al. (US PGPub 2002/0031704 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses in Figs. 1-2 a battery ([0027]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (2) in which a separator (23) is disposed between a first electrode (21) and a second electrode (22) ([0027]);
a case (1) including an opening at one side, and accommodating the electrode assembly (2) ([0027]); and
a cap assembly (3) that is coupled to the opening to close and seal the case (1) ([0027]),
wherein the cap assembly (3) comprises:
a cap plate (31) coupled to the opening and having a terminal hole ([0027]);
a terminal plate (33) ([0027]); and
a sealing portion (32) that is formed of an insulating material, and seals between the cap plate (31) and the terminal plate (33) by covering a circumferential portion of a terminal hole side of the cap plate (31) and a circumferential portion of the terminal plate (33) ([0027]), wherein
an upper surface of the sealing portion (32) is exposed to an exterior of the battery and a lower surface of the sealing portion (32) is exposed to an interior of the case (1) (e.g. see annotated Fig. 2 provided below).
Huang further discloses wherein the battery is a button battery ([0027]).
Huang discloses wherein the terminal plate (33) is disposed on top of the cap plate (31) (Fig. 1) and consequently does not disclose wherein the terminal plate is disposed in the terminal hole.
Though, Huang discloses in another embodiment wherein the terminal plate (33a, corresponding to 33) is disposed in the terminal hole (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the terminal plate to be disposed in the terminal hole, as disclosed by Huang, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the battery desired by Huang.
Modified Huang further discloses wherein the battery is a button battery ([0028]).
However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein the battery is a rechargeable battery.
Okahisa teaches wherein in a button battery may be formed to be rechargeable battery (Fig. 1, [0001], [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the battery of modified Huang to be a rechargeable battery , as taught by Okahisa, as such is a known configuration in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the battery desired by modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses wherein the cap plate (31 of Huang), the terminal plate (33 of Huang), and the sealing portion (32 of Huang) are integrally formed (Fig. 2, [0030] of Huang).
The Examiner notes that the limitation “formed by insert injection” is a product-by-process limitation and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the implied structure of the product.
In a product-by-process limitation, so long as the product has the same claimed composition or properties, the method by which it was made or by which the properties were tested is not material. According to the MPEP, “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Modified Huang discloses wherein the cap plate (31 of Huang), the terminal plate (33 of Huang), and the sealing portion (32 of Huang) are integrally formed (Fig. 2, [0030] of Huang) and therefore meets the requirements of the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein one side of the cap plate and one side of the terminal plate are arranged on the same plane.
Okahisa further teaches in Figs. 1-2 wherein the rechargeable battery comprising a cap plate (2) having a terminal hole and a terminal plate (1) disposed in the terminal hole, and a sealing portion (3) that is formed of an insulating material, seals between the cap plate (2) and the terminal plate (1) ([0004]).
Specifically, Okahisa teaches in Figs. 1-2 wherein the terminal plate (1) is bent such that one side of the cap plate (2) and one side of the terminal plate (1) are arranged on the same plane ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the terminal plate of modified Huang to be bent such that one side of the cap plate of modified Huang and one side of the terminal plate are arranged on the same plane, as further taught by Okahisa, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a rechargeable battery, as desired by modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein a thickness of the terminal plate is smaller than a thickness of the cap plate.
Though, modified Huang discloses wherein a thickness of the terminal plate (33 of Huang) and the cap plate (31 of Huang) may be between 0.02 mm and 1 mm ([0038] of Huang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the terminal plate and the cap plate to have thicknesses in the range disclosed by modified Huang, such that a thickness of the terminal plate is smaller than a thickness of the cap plate, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the cap assembly desired by modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein at least one of an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal hole side of the cap plate and an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal plate is bent.
Okahisa further teaches in Figs. 1-2 wherein the rechargeable battery comprises a cap plate (2) having a terminal hole and a terminal plate (1) disposed in the terminal hole, and a sealing portion (3) that is formed of an insulating material, seals between the cap plate (2) and the terminal plate (1) ([0004]).
Specifically, Okahisa teaches wherein an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal plate (1) is bent in order to enhance the sealing properties between the terminal plate (1), the sealing portion (3), and the cap plate (2) ([0045]-[0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend an end of the circumferential portion of the terminal plate of modified Huang, as further taught by Okahisa, in order to enhance the sealing properties between the terminal plate and the sealing portion of modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses wherein the case (1 of Huang) is cylindrical, and the cap plate (31 of Huang) is welded to the opening of the case (1 of Huang) (Fig. 2, [0028] of Huang).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses wherein the rechargeable battery is a button-type battery ([0028] of Huang) and therefore modified Huang necessarily and inherently discloses wherein the rechargeable battery has a height-to-diameter ratio of 1 or less, as evidenced by P7, L6-10 of the instant specification.
Claims 4-5, 7-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 109192889 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated October 30, 2025) in view of Okahisa et al. (US PGPub 2002/0031704 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 2012/0100404 A1).
Regarding Claims 4-5, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses wherein a top surface and a bottom surface of the sealing portion (32 of Huang) are flat (Fig. 2 of Huang).
However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein the cap plate and the terminal plate are disposed between the top and bottom surfaces of the sealing portion.
Lee teaches in Fig. 1 a rechargeable battery comprising a sealing portion (140) formed of an insulating material ([0034]).
Specifically, Lee teaches the sealing portion (140) has an L-shape such that it contacts an upper and side portions of the outer circumference of a plate (150) in order to support the upper and side portions of the outer circumference of a plate (150) while providing electrical insulation ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the edges of the sealing portion of modified Huang to have an L-shape, as taught by Lee, such that the sealing portion comprises a side portion adjacent to the edge of the terminal plate of modified Huang and a side portion adjacent to an edge of the cap plate of modified Huang, in order to provide support to the terminal plate and the cap plate while providing electrical insulation between the terminal plate and the cap plate, as desired by modified Huang.
In light of the above, modified Huang discloses wherein the cap plate (31 of Huang) and the terminal plate (33 of Huang) are disposed between the top and bottom surfaces of the sealing portion (3 of Huang) (Fig. 2 of Huang and Fig. 1, [0039] of Lee).
Furthermore, modified Huang discloses wherein the sealing portion (32 of Huang) is annular (Fig. 1 of Huang) and a circumferential portion of the terminal hole side of the cap plate (31 of Huang) and a circumferential portion of the terminal plate (33 of Huang) are inserted into an outer circumferential portion and an inner circumferential portion of the sealing portion (32 of Huang) (Fig. 2 of Huang and Fig. 1, [0039] of Lee).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses a first electrode tab that electrically connects the first electrode (21 of Huang) to the terminal plate (33 of Huang); and a second electrode tab that electrically connects the second electrode (22 of Huang) to the cap plate (31 of Huang) (Fig. 2, [0027]-[0028] of Huang).
However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein the second electrode tab electrically connects the second electrode to the case.
Furthermore, modified Huang remains silent regarding the material of the case such is not particularly limited.
Lee teaches in Fig. 1 a rechargeable battery comprising a first tab (310) that electrically connects a first electrode to a terminal plate (110) and a second electrode tab (310) that electrically connects a second electrode to a case (200) ([0031]).
Specifically, Lee teaches wherein the case (200) is formed of a conductive metal material ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the case of modified Huang to be made of a light conductive metal, as taught by Lee, such that the second electrode tab of modified Huang electrically connects the second electrode to the case and the cap plate, as the material of the case is not particularly limited and such is a known suitable material in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a case suitable for use in a rechargeable battery, as desired by modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses wherein, in the electrode assembly (20 of Huang), the first electrode (21 of Huang), the second electrode (22 of Huang), and the separator (23 of Huang) may be wound ([0027] of Huang).
However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator are wound around a center pin, and the center pin is arranged in a vertical direction on a bottom surface of the case.
Lee further teaches in Fig. 1 wherein the rechargeable battery comprises a wound electrode assembly, wherein the electrode assembly is wound around a center pin and wherein the center pin is arranged in a vertical direction on a bottom surface of a case in order to provide a predetermined strength to the electrode assembly ([0003]-[0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to wind the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator of modified Huang around a center pin, wherein the center pin is arranged in a vertical direction on a bottom surface of the case of modified Huang, in order to provide a predetermined strength to the electrode assembly of modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses wherein the first electrode tab is extended upwardly of the electrode assembly (2 of Huang) and electrically connected to an inner surface of the terminal plate (33 of Huang) (Fig. 1, [0027] of Huang).
However, modified Huang does not disclose wherein the electrical connection is achieved by welding.
Lee further teaches wherein electrical connection can be achieved by a method of welding ([0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to weld the first electrode tab of modified Huang to the inner surface of the terminal plate of modified Huang, as taught by Lee, in order to electrically connect the first electrode tab to the terminal plate, as desired by modified Huang.
Modified Huang further discloses wherein the second electrode tabs extends downwardly of the electrode assembly (2 of Huang) and is electrically connected to an inner surface of the cap plate (31 of Huang) (Fig. 2, [0027] of Huang).
Consequently, modified Huang does not disclose wherein the second electrode is welded to an inner surface of the case.
In light of the teachings above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to weld the second electrode tab of modified Huang to the inner surface of the case of modified Huang, as taught by Lee, in order to electrically connect the second electrode tab to the case, as desired by modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huang does not disclose a first insulation member that is disposed between the first electrode tab and a top surface of the electrode assembly; and a second insulation member that is disposed between the second electrode tab and a bottom surface of the electrode assembly.
Lee further teaches in Fig. 1 wherein an insulation member (400) may be disposed between a first electrode tab and a top surface of an electrode assembly (100) and wherein a second insulation member (400) may be disposed between a second electrode tab and a bottom surface of the electrode assembly (100) in order to prevent the electrode assembly from contacting a cap assembly or a case ([0016], [0020], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose a first insulation member between the first electrode tab of modified Huang and a top surface of the electrode assembly of modified Huang a second insulation member between the second electrode tab of modified Huang and a bottom surface of the electrode assembly, as taught by Lee, in order to prevent the electrode assembly from contacting the cap assembly and the case of modified Huang.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Huang further discloses wherein a plurality of exposed grooves (35 of Huang) extending in a radiation direction in an inner circumferential portion of the sealing portion (32 of Huang) are formed on a bottom surface of the sealing portion (32 of Huang) (Fig. 3, [0030] of Huang).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 109192889 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated October 30, 2025) in view of Okahisa et al. (US PGPub 2002/0031704 A1) and Lee et al. (US PGPub 2012/0100404 A1), as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US PGPub 2020/0106060 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Huang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Huang does not disclose a third insulation member that is disposed between the first electrode tab and the cap plate.
Shin teaches a rechargeable battery in which an electrolyte is easily injected into a case, and an internal structure of the rechargeable battery is not exposed to air to prevent oxidation of an electrode and deterioration of the electrolyte from occurring ([0017]).
Specifically, Shin teaches in Figs. 5-6 the rechargeable battery (1a) comprising a first insulation member (161a) that is disposed between a first electrode tab (131) and a top surface of an electrode assembly (13) and a third insulation member (162a) that is disposed between the first electrode tab (131) and a cap plate (111) ([0050], [0057], [0085], [0069], [0071]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first insulation member of Huang to have the configuration taught by Shin, such that the rechargeable battery of modified Huang comprises a first insulation member that is disposed between the first electrode tab of modified Huang and a top surface of the electrode assembly of modified Huang and a third insulation member that is disposed between the first electrode tab and the cap plate of modified Huang, in order to form a rechargeable battery in which an electrolyte is easily injected into the case of modified Huang, and an internal structure of the rechargeable battery is not exposed to air to prevent oxidation of an electrode and deterioration of the electrolyte from occurring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended Claim 1, the Applicant argues that the upper surface of the insulating seal 3 of Huang ‘037 is not exposed to an exterior of the button cell. Instead, it is covered by the fixing plate.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Huang discloses wherein an upper surface of the sealing portion (3) is exposed to an exterior of the battery (e.g. see annotated Fig. 1 provided below wherein an upper surface of the sealing portion 3 is exposed to an exterior surface of the cap plate 12 of the battery).
In other words, the Examiner notes that the exterior of the battery as claimed does not have any structure requirements and therefore can be any exterior of the battery, such as an exterior surface of the cap plate (12) of the battery.
Next, the Applicant argues that the insulating bonding sheet 32 of Huang ‘889 does not include a lower surface exposed to an interior of the case.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Huang discloses wherein a lower surface of the sealing portion (32) is exposed to an interior of the case (1) (e.g. see annotated Fig. 2 provided below).
In other words, the Examiner notes that that the lower surface of the sealing portion as claimed does not have any structure requirements and therefore can be any lower surface of the sealing portion, such as a lower surface of the sealing portion when viewed from a 90-degree rotation.
The Examiner suggests that wherein the following amendment may overcome this interpretation: “a lower surface of the sealing portion is exposed to an interior of the case, wherein the lower surface is parallel to a bottom surface of the case”.
Assuming for the sake of argument that the previously cited prior art does not read on amended Claim 1, Higuchi (JP 2008-262825 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action) has been relied upon.
Thus, the arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 13 was indicated as allowable subject matter in the prior Office Action dated October 30, 2025. Thus, refer to the prior Office Action dated October 30, 2025 for the statement of reasons for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725