Acknowledgments and Claim Status
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the amendment filed 2/8/2022 wherein the specification and claims 11-10 and 12 were amended and claims 14-17 were added.
Note(s): Claims 1-17 are pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2020/071865 filed 8/4/2020 and claims benefit to EPO EP19315089.3 filed 8/8/2019.
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 USC 119 (a) – (d). The certified copy was filed in the pending application on 2/28/2022.
While a certified copy of the prior document was submitted, an English language translation is not of record. Should Applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 USC 119 (a) – (d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English language translation of the foreign application should be submitted. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to prove the certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English document.
Note(s): The earliest effective filing date is 8/4/2020 because support for the pending invention is provided therein. In addition, it is noted that the priority document is not in English and it is unclear whether or not the pending invention is supported therein.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claim 1 is directed to a method of imaging using the fluorophore,
, at a wavelength of 1000 nm – 1700 nm and wherein the variables are as set forth in the claim.
Claim 6 is directed to the fluorophore
Claim 8 is directed to a composition comprising a fluorophore compound having formula
.
Claim 11 is directed to a kit comprising an injection system and the fluorophore
or
.
Claim 12 is directed to a method of in vitro identification of a biological target wherein the fluorophore used is
or
.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/8/2022 and 3/1/2022 was considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: it is difficult to read some of the structures (e.g., atoms, charges, and/or subscripts). See page 16, lines 1 and 5; page 18, line 10; page 20, lines 1-3; page 27, line 4; page 28, line 14; page 29, line 11; page 30, line 12; page 31, line 6; page 32, line 9; page 33, line 7; and page 37, line 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 7,897,786. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to overlapping fluorophore compounds. However, while the patented invention does not specify the wavelength as being 1000 – 1700 nm, according to MPEP 2112.01, if the compositions are physically the same, then they have the same properties. As a result, the skilled artisan would recognize that both fluorophore would be capable of being excited in the wavelength of 1000 -1700 nm. In addition, the skilled artisan would recognize that since the purpose of generating fluorophores is for imaging purposes, then it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to use the fluorophore in a method of imaging. Thus, the inventions disclose overlapping subject matter.
112 Second Paragraph Rejections
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-11 and 13-17: Independent claim 1 is ambiguous for the following reasons:
(1) It is unclear for what purpose imaging is being performed (see line 1) in independent claim 1.
(2) A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 (line 13) recites the broad recitation “chalcogen”, and the claim also recites “SePh and TePh” (line 13) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
(3) Claim 1, lines 22-24 and lines 27-29 are duplicates. Did Applicant intend to delete some of the text or is text missing?
(4) The claim is ambiguous because it is unclear what metal complex(es) Applicant is referring to that are considered effective for therapeutic purposes, especially because the purpose for which the method of performing the imaging is not identified in the claim.
(5) Claim 1, line 42, is ambiguous because it is unclear what molecule(s) Applicant is referring to with a diameter of less than 10 nm that is/are compatible for imaging with
.
(6) Claim 1, line 46, is ambiguous because of the phrase ‘caffeine derivative’. Specifically, it is unclear what portion of the parent structure must be present in the derivative such that the derivative is compatible for imaging with
For the reasons above, claims 2-11 and 13-17 which depend upon independent claim 1 for clarity are also vague and indefinite.
Claim 5: The claim is ambiguous because it is difficult to read some of the charges because they overlap some of the bonds and atoms of the structures they are a part of. In addition, it is unclear what is the value of the variable range for “n” in some of the structures (see line 5, last structure and line 11).
Claim 5, line 14: For the variable X (line 13), it is unclear if X is all of the things listed thereafter because X = NH2 appears in 14 and 21 and the phrase ‘from the groups comprising a biological vector” with various substances listed thereafter. Hence, it is unclear what is the actual value of X. Applicant should consider replacing “X=” with “wherein X is selected from” and list the options thereafter in an appropriate Markush format. Also, for the reference for the reference to a biological vector, Applicant should clarify the claim by indicating that the biological vector is ‘selected from’ and listing the options in a proper Markush format (see line 21).
Claim 5, lines 24-28. The claim is confusing because of the ‘from’ in front of some of the terms as well as simply not knowing what the lines are referring to. In addition, the claims include reference to sequences which do not contain a sequence identification number (see line 26).
Claim 6: The claim is confusing as it is unclear if Applicant is referring to the definitions of Ra, Rb, Rc, and Rd is that of claim 1 or if reference is to claims 3-5 which also contain the variables Ra, Rb, Rc, and Rd. In addition, in the reference to Re and Rf, the phrase ‘at least one group’ is confusing. Did Applicant something similar to ‘Re and Rf are independently selected from hydrogen, a halogen, NRcRd, -ORd, hydrazine, -CF3, and -CN’. According to MPEP 2173.05(s), where possible claims are to be complete in themselves. Thus, Applicant should consider defining the variables in claim 6 as it is directed to a particular structure having a limited number of variables attached thereto. As a result, there does not exist and exceptional circumstance wherein the information cannot be duplicated in the claim.
Claim 11: The claim is ambiguous because it is unclear what apparatus Applicant is referring to as an injection system.
Claims 11 and 12: The claims references formulae I and II and generally states that the formula are as defined above. According to MPEP 2173.05(s), where possible claims are to be complete in themselves. Thus, it is respectfully requested that Applicant incorporated Formula I and II into the claim as well as definitions thereof. There does not exist and exceptional circumstance wherein the information cannot be incorporated in the independent claims.
Essential Steps Missing
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are those which enable one to identify the target cells.
103 Rejection
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al (Chem. Commun., 2019, Vol. 55, pages 10920-10923).
Independent claim 1 is directed to a method of imaging using the fluorophore,
, at a wavelength of 1000 nm – 1700 nm and wherein the variables are as set forth in the claim. Claims 2-5, 7, 13, and 14 are directed to various variable definitions that are present in independent claim 1. Claim 17 is directed to the presence of a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and/or solvent.
Bai et al is directed to aza-BODIPY NIR-II fluorophores that are used for in vivo imaging. In particular, it is disclosed that biological imaging in the second near infrared (NIR-II, 1000-1700nm) has advantages such as deep tissue penetration, high signal to background ratio, and high maximum permissible exposure to lasers. In Figure 1, Bai et al disclose structures which are encompassed by pending claims 1-5, 7, 13, and 14. The compounds are NJ960,
; NJ1030,
; and NJ1060
which had emissions at 960 nm, 1030 nm, and 1060 nm, respectively. NJ960, NJ1030, and NJ1060 were evaluated in a PBS solution (pH = 7.4) containing 20% DMSO as a co-solvent. In vivo imaging was performed using the fluorophores (see entire document, especially, abstract; page 10920, left and right columns, bridging paragraph; page 10920, Figure 1; page 10921, left and right columns, bridging paragraph; page 10921, Figure 2; page 10922, left and right columns, bridging paragraph; page 10922, Figure 4; pages 10922-10923, bridging paragraph). The fluorophores meet the requirements of the pending claims at the following conditions: NJ960: R1 and R2 = C6 aryl group with NRcRd; R3 and R4 = C6 aryl substituted with ORd; and R5 and R6 = hydrogen; and NJ1030 and NJ1060: R1 and R2 = heteroaryl group; R5 and R6 = hydrogen; R3 and R4 = C6 aryl substitute with ORd. Thus, the limitations of claims 1-5, 7, 13, 4, and 17 are met.
Claim 6 is directed to the fluorophore
As disclosed supra for independent claim 1, Bai et al disclose the fluorophore of pending claim 6. For NJ960 of Bai et al, Applicants Re and Rf variables are both ORd. Thus, the claim limitations are met.
Claim 8 is directed to a composition comprising a fluorophore compound having formula
. Claim 9 is directed to the composition of claim 8 wherein the pH is from 4-10. Claim 15 is directed to the composition of claim 8 having a pH in the range of 6-8.
As disclosed supra for independent claim 1, Bai et al disclose the fluorophore of claim 8. In addition, it is disclosed that the pH = 7.4. Thus, the limitations of claims 8, 9, and 15 are met.
Claim 10 is directed to an encapsulated fluorophore compound.
In the abstract, Bai et al disclose that the fluorophores give bright fluorescence as nanoparticles in an aqueous solution. In addition, it is disclose that for NJ1060, for example, nanoparticles were prepared for in vivo NIR-II imaging using sonication to encapsulate them into a Pluronic F-127 matrix. Thus, the claim limitation is met.
Claim 11 is directed to a kit comprising an injection system and the fluorophore
or
.
As set forth supra for independent claim 1, Bai et al encompasses the species present in pending claim 11. In addition, Bai et al disclose that before in vivo imaging studies were conducted, the NIR-II imaging depth was investigated by imaging a capillary tube filled with the fluorophore (NJ1060) nanoparticles solution with biological tissue (chicken meat) at various depths (page 10922, left and right columns, bridging paragraph). Thus, the limitation of claim 11 is met. Specifically, since there are no particular regarding what is an injection system and a kit in general is equipment used for a particular purpose.
Claim 12 is directed to a method of in vitro identification of a biological target wherein the fluorophore used is
or
.
As set forth supra for independent claim 1, Bai et al disclose the species disclosed in claim 12. Also, Bai et al is directed to in vitro identification (images) of subjects administered the NIR-II compositions (e.g., NJ1060, see page 10922, Figure 4). In addition, as set forth supra for claim 11, Bai et al conducted in vitro identification studies with a capillary tube and chicken meat prior to conducting in vivo imaging studies. Thus, the limitation of claim 12 is met.
Claim 16 is directed to measuring fluorescence via microscopy, flow cytometry, optical imaging with fluorescence reflection, or optical probe.
As discussed supra, Bai et al disclose various methods of imaging for optically imaging using the NIR-II fluorophores (see entire document, especially, page 10921, Figure 2; page 10922, Figure 4). Thus, the limitations of claim 16 is met.
Comments/Notes
Applicant is respectfully requested to incorporate the SEQ ID Nos into the appropriate claims (e.g., claim 5).
According to 37 CFR 1.75(i), where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step should be separated by a line indentation. Thus, Applicant is respectfully requested to review all the claims (e.g., claim 1) and remove the hyphens, bullets, and any other markings not recommended by the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP).
It is respectfully suggested that in claim 5, lines 4 and 12, the phrase ‘ of the following formulae’ be replaced with ‘selected from’.
Conclusion
Claims 1-17 are rejected.
Future Correspondences
/D. L. Jones/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1618
September 14, 2025