Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 06/23/2026. Claims 1 and 15 are amended. Claims 16 – 17 remain withdrawn. Claims 5 and 9 are canceled. Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 8, and 10 – 15 are pending in the current Office action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment, is established below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and the insulating layer of amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of prior art being used in the current rejection. Specifically, in the new grounds of rejection, the previously cited prior art is further modified by the teaching reference Nagahama (US PG Pub. 2020/0321576 A1) to address the amended limitation of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 4, 6, 10 – 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai (US PG Pub. 2011/0206948 A1, cited in prior Office action mailed 04/02/2026) in view of Fujii (US PG Pub. 20140/220391 A1, cited in prior Office action mailed 04/02/2026) and Nagahama (US PG Pub. 2020/0321576 A1, foreign priority 03/19/2029).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Asai discloses a battery module (battery block; Figs. 5 – 6, 50; [0050 – 0051]) comprising: a battery stack (Figs. 7 – 9, 10; [0052]) including a plurality of stacked battery cells (Figs. 7 – 9, 1; [0052]); a pair of end plates disposed at both end parts in a stacking direction of the battery stack (Fig. 9, 4; [0052]); a bind bar coupling the pair of the end plates to each other (Fig. 9, 5; [0052]); and an electronic circuit block mounted with a voltage detection circuit that detects a voltage of each of the plurality of stacked battery cells (block circuit board; Fig. 9, 60; [0054];[0056]), wherein the electronic circuit block is disposed on a surface of one of the pair of end plates (Refer to how block circuit board 60 is attached to end plate 4A by circuit board holder 61 in Fig. 10; [0054]), and wherein pair of end plates comprise metal ([0053]).
The block circuit board of Asai is disposed in a space provided by the circuit board holder (Figs. 9 – 10; [0054]).The space has protruding walls the surround peripheral edges of the circuit board block, and thus, necessarily forms an accommodating space that has the capability to protect the circuit board ([0054]).
Asai does not explicitly disclose, wherein the one of the pair of end plates comprises a shield fixed on a surface thereof, the shield covering an outer peripheral edge of the electronic circuit block and being made of metal to electrically shield from external noise.
Fujii teaches a power source apparatus including a plurality of battery stacks and each battery stack 5 has a housing that includes a circuit board holding structure on the top of the battery stack (Figs. 1 – 2 and 5; [0041 – 0042];[0066 – 0071]). Fuji further teaches that metal enclosures that cover a circuit board of a battery stack can serve as structures to shut out external noise, and thus avoid malfunction of the circuity due to externally generated electromagnetic noise ([0005 – 0006]). In the battery stack embodiment of Fig. 5, Fujii particularly teaches having the structure that encloses the circuit board 28 in the circuit board holder to be comprised of a metal material and have the function of blocking externally generated random noise electrically (and electromagnetically) to ensure stable circuit operation (Fig. 5; [0073];[0076];[0078]).
Therefore, since Asai already teaches using a metal structure to hold the circuit board in the battery module, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the circuit board holder structure of Asai such that is forms a metal enclosure around the circuit board {i.e. include a cover with the holder} to shield the circuit board electrically and electromagnetically from noise, as taught by Fujii, and thus obtain the claimed shield structure that covers an outer peripheral edge of the electronic circuit block and is made of metal to electrically shield from external noise, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining stable circuit operation and further protecting the circuit board in the battery module.
Asai teaches protecting the electronic components from detrimental thermal effects and further teaches using an insulating layer between the battery cells and cooling plate of the battery module to electrically insulate the battery cells and prevent short circuiting ([0059];[0062];[0066]). The block circuit board 60 in Asai is taught to control the battery cels that make up the battery stack 10 and electrical components 63 that control the amount of battery cell 1 current ([0053]).
Modified Asai does not explicitly disclose; however, wherein an insulating sheet comprising a rubber-like elastic body is interposed between the electronic circuit block and the one of the pair of end plates.
Nagahama teaches a battery pack including a circuit board and further teaches mounting the circuit board to a seat surface with an elastic sheet interposed between the circuit board and the seat surface ([0022]). The elastic sheet is specifically taught by Nagahama to be a waterproof sheet comprising silicon rubber that is also electrically insulating and capable of reducing chattering/vibration between the cell holder and the circuit board during operation ([0045 – 0046];[0059]). Nagahama further teaches that the elastic sheets prevent short circuiting by sealing a surface of the circuit board on the side that contacts the seat surface(s) ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further include an elastic sheet between the circuit board and mounting surface of the circuit board, as taught by Nagahama, with a reasonable expectation of success in preventing short-circuits and further reducing chattering/vibration between the cell holder and the circuit board during operation of the battery module.
The elastic sheet of modified Asai, is an elastic, silicone rubber sheet that is electrically insulating ([0045 – 0046]), as such, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the elastic sheet of modified Asai to have a rubber-like elastic body and thus provide the claimed structure of an insulating sheet comprising a rubber-like elastic body interposed between the electronic circuit block and the one of the pair of end plates. Furthermore, by mounting the circuit board with the elastic sheet between the circuit board and surface of the circuit board holder that holds the circuit board (Nagahama: [0022 – 0023]), modified Asai further provides the claimed structure of wherein the electronic circuit is fixed to a surface of one of the pair of end plates via the rubber-like elastic body (Claim 15).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. In Figs. 9 and 10, the block circuit board, which corresponds to the claimed electronic circuit block, is shown to be fixed onto a surface of the circuit board holder and the circuit board holder is taught to be tightly fixed to the surface of end plate 4A ([0054]); therefore, through the circuit board holder, the electronic circuit block is fixed to an outer side of the surface of the one pair of end plates.
The end plates are further taught to be metal (Asai [0053]) and the elastic sheet of modified Asai is explicitly taught to be electrically insulating (Nagahama: [0046]); therefore, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the end plates to be capable of conducting heat and in thermal contact with the circuit board holder since the holder and end plates contact each other. Furthermore, since the circuit board holder includes the block circuit board on its surface, and is shown to be relatively thin in Figs. 9 – 10, one with ordinary skill in the art would further reasonably expect, due to the surface contact of the three components {i.e. the circuit board block, holder, and end plate}, the electronic circuit block to be fixed to the outer side surface of the end plate in a thermally coupled state.
Annotated Fig. 10 showing corresponding outer peripheral edge of end plate 4A.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. Asai further discloses wherein an outer shape of the electronic circuit block is smaller than an outer shape of the one of the pair of end plates, and the electronic circuit block is disposed on surface without protruding from an outer peripheral edge of the one pair of endplates (Refer to how block circuit board 60 is shown to be relatively smaller than end plate 4A in Figs. 9 – 10 and annotated Fig. 10 above showing the corresponding outer peripheral edge of end plate 4A above).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. As established above, the modified circuit board structure in Asai includes an insulating layer between it and the holder surface in which the circuit board is mounted on, and the insulating layer functions to electrically insulate the circuit board from the surface of the holder (Refer to Asai: Fig. 10 and Nagahama: [0046]); therefore, in modified Asai, the electronic circuit block {i.e. modified block circuit board 60} is fixed to the one pair of end plates in an insulated {i.e. electrically insulated} state.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. Asai further discloses the battery module comprising a base plate to which the pair of end plates are fixed; that is Asai teaches mounting the battery stack on cooling plate 7, and cooling plate 7 reads on being a base plate by being the bottom surface of battery block (Figs. 6, 13, and 15; [0051]).
The circuit board holder reads on being the claimed bracket included on the base plate, that protrudes from an outer side of the surface of the one pair of endplates, because it is a structure that is necessarily included on the based plate by being a part of the battery stack mounted on the cooling plate and further is a structure that protrudes from an outer side of end plate 4A {i.e. refer to side of end plate 4A to which the holder is directed facing/fixed to in Figs. 9 – 10}. {Examiner Note: The broadest reasonable interpretation of bracket is a structural member used to support/connect different parts which would necessarily include frame-like structures like the holder taught in Asai.}
In Asai, the block circuit board 60 is shown to be flat, and therefore, is in a shape that would protrude from a tip end edge of the circuit board holder, which corresponds to the claimed bracket, in plan view (Refer to Figs. 9 – 10).
Annotated Fig. 10 showing where the block circuit board is fixed onto holder.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. Holes are shown to be included on the block circuit board that correspond to mounting structures included in the recessed space of the holder, the holes and mounting structures are included on both a lower and upper portion of the block circuit board and holder, respectively (Refer to annotated Fig. 10 Annotated Fig. 10 showing where the block circuit board is fixed onto holder above). As such, by including two mounting structures for the block circuit board on a lower portion of the holder, which corresponds to the claimed bracket, modified Asai necessarily further includes the claimed structure of wherein the electronic circuit block is fixed at a lower part to the bracket.
Annotated Fig. 10 showing connecting pieces.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. Asai further discloses wherein the electronic circuit block is fixed at a lower part to the bracket (Refer to rejection of claim 11 above).
In addition to screw-attachment, Asai teaches attaching the circuit board holder to end plate 4A using two extended connecting pieces that fit over two upper end edge portions of the end plate (Refer to annotated Fig. 10 showing connecting pieces above and [0054]). Therefore, by being fixed to the end plate 4A via the circuit board holder and due to the holder including the upper edge connecting structure (Refer to annotated Fig. 10 showing upper edge screw-attachment portions above and [0054]), the block circuit board further reads on being locally fixed at a part of an upper edge to the one of the pair of end plates.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai (US PG Pub. 2011/0206948 A1), Fujii (US PG Pub. 20140/220391 A1) and Nagahama (US PG Pub. 2020/0321576 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US PG Pub. 2011/0151311 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 04/02/2026).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. Asai teaches including a battery block case over the battery stack (Fig. 6; [0051]). Asai further teaches applying the battery pack in electric/hybrid vehicles ([0045]).
Modified Asai does not disclose wherein the battery module is provided with a gas duct disposed opposite to terminal surfaces of the plurality of stacked battery cells.
Lee teaches a battery pack with an upper frame 120 and cover 124 that form a degassing duct for discharging gas generated from battery cells included in the pack ([0056 – 0057]). Lee further teaches that when the gas is generated by the cells, due to explosion or rapid chemical reaction for example, the gas generated is poisonous and harmful to people, indicating that is important to include a means for degassing when implementing the battery pack in a vehicle where the possibility of the gas flowing into a space with people is increased ([0057];[0106 – 0107]).
Since Asai teaches applying the battery block in a vehicle, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the battery pack structure of Asai to include a degassing duct, as taught by Lee, and thus obtain the claimed gas duct disposed opposite to terminal surfaces of the plurality of stacked battery cells, with a reasonable expectation of success in increasing the safety of the battery block.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. In Fig. 10, the circuit board holder, which corresponds to the claimed bracket, is shown to have a shape with flanges to form a space for block circuit board to fit ([0054]). When mounted on the cooling plate, the bottom flange of the circuit board holder comes into contact with the cooling plate (Refer to Fig. 6).
While Asai teaches including screw attachment portions on the bracket (Fig. 10; [0054]), Asai does not particularly disclose the bracket including a fixing hole where the electronic circuit board is disposed at a different position from the fixing hole in plan view.
Lee teaches a battery pack with an outermost end plate structure that includes a lower flange, and the lower flange is further shown to include a fixing hole for coupling the end plate to the lower frame (Fig. 2; [0051];[0053]).
Since the endplate structure shown by Lee is similar to the holder structure of Asai {i.e. both include lower and side flanges, and since Asai already teaches including screw holes on the cooling plate for attaching the battery block case (Fig. 6; [0051]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a fixing hole on the bottom flange of modified Asai’s circuit board holder, as taught by Lee, and thus obtain the claimed fixing hole disposed in a different position from electronic circuit board, with a reasonable expectation of success in further securing the battery stack to the cooling plate.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai (US PG Pub. 2011/0206948 A1), Fujii (US PG Pub. 20140/220391 A1) and Nagahama (US PG Pub. 2020/0321576 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yano (US PG Pub. 2010/0052692 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 04/02/2026).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. The circuit board structure of modified Asai includes a voltage detection circuit (Asai: [0056]).
Modified Asai does not disclose wherein the electronic circuit block includes an equalizing circuit of the plurality of stack battery cells.
Yano teaches a battery block including a circuit board with battery state detection circuit and further teaches providing the battery state detection circuit with a voltage detection circuit ([0034];[0043]). Yano teaches including with the voltage detection circuit a cell balance circuit to equalize the voltages of the battery cells ([0043]).
Since Asai teaches a block circuit board including a voltage detection circuit, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further include a cell balance circuit in the battery module of modified Asai, as taught Yano, and thus obtain the claimed equalizing circuit, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a battery block system in Asai that is capable of equalizing the battery cell voltages and further preventing battery cell degradation due to over-charging or over-discharging (Yano: [0004];[0003]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai (US PG Pub. 2011/0206948 A1), Fujii (US PG Pub. 20140/220391 A1) and Nagahama (US PG Pub. 2020/0321576 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kunimitsu (US PG Pub. 2012/0161677 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 04/02/2026) and Kinoshita (JP3293410B2, cited in previous Office action mailed 04/02/2026).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Asai discloses all limitations as set forth above. The circuit board structure of modified Asai includes a voltage detection circuit (Asai: [0056]).
Modified Asai does not disclose wherein the electronic circuit block includes a wireless communication circuit.
Kunimitsu teaches a battery module including a circuit board with a detection circuit for detecting the voltages of the batteries in the module and a communication circuit for transmitting the detected voltages to an external apparatus ([0012 – 0014]). The inclusion of a communications circuit is taught by Kunimitsu to provide a battery system that allows for more intensive management of battery cell voltage without increasing battery module size ([0014 – 0015];[0035]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a communication circuit on the block circuit board of modified Asai, as taught by Kunimitsu, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a battery system capable of transmitting voltage data and allowing for more intensive battery management.
Kinoshita teaches a battery pack monitoring device that includes a transmission circuit that wirelessly transmits data collected from a voltage detection circuit to a central control device ([0028]). Kinoshita further teaches that such a wireless transmission circuit simplifies the wiring configuration of battery pack ([0028]).
It would have been further obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to particularly select a wireless communication circuit, as taught by Kinoshita, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a selection would be a suitable communication circuit for the battery block and further would allow the benefit of a simpler wiring configuration.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/14/2026