DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 5 February 2026, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 in view of MSR have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant provides the SDS which shows that the composition includes a large amount of n-butane which would affect the gliding temperature. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection in view of MSR has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 5 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended “used as” to “which is” in an attempt to overcome the intended use aspect of the instant claims. However, this is not persuasive as the claim is still drawn to a composition of matter and not to a process, machine, or manufacture. Accordingly, as the art of Podella teaches the composition as claimed it is considered to be capable of use as a refrigerant. Both because the mixture would be a compressible gas which are known to be useful as refrigerants, as well as both components being known and used as refrigerants, isobutane is commonly referred to as “R600a” as a refrigerant and propane is “R-290”.
Accordingly, the rejection under Podella is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Podella et al. (US Patent #4,013,595, hereinafter referred to as “Podella”).
As to Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6: Podella teaches a propellent composition consisting of 80% isobutane and 20% propane (Table VII, Comp Ex. 27). As to the language drawn to “which is a refrigerant in a refrigeration” this language is considered to be an intended use of the composition and therefore is considered for any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art and not the use itself. See MPEP § 2111.02(II). In the instant case the product of Podella is considered to be capable of use as a refrigerant.
As to Claim 2: Podella teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Podella does not expressly teach a gliding temperature difference of the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant is greater than 4°C. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Podella. However, Podella teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the gliding temperature difference is a property controlled by the composition. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a gliding temperature difference of the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant is greater than 4°C, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 4: Podella teaches the composition of claim 3 (supra). Podella does not expressly teach a gliding temperature difference of the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant is between 4.1-7.2°C. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Podella. However, Podella teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the gliding temperature difference is a property controlled by the composition. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a gliding temperature difference of the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant is between 4.1-7.2°C, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767