DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendments filed on 07/23/2026 are acknowledged. Any previously applied minor objections and/or minor rejections (i.e., formal matters), not explicitly restated here for brevity, have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s formality correction and/or amendments. For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner’s withdrawal, and/or maintaining, if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner’s Response to Arguments section.
Briefly, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments; however, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
New and/or Maintained Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, Obviousness
Claims 176, 182-184, 190-192, and 198-199 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry (US 2016/0193258; Date of Publication: July 7, 2016 – previously cited) in view of Bengoechea (Klebsiella pneumoniae infection biology: living to counteract host defences; 2019 – previously cited), Henn (US 2017/0151291; Date of Publication: June 1, 2017 – previously cited), Fathi (Isolation, Detection, and Characterization of Enterotoxigenic Bacteroides fragilis in Clinical Samples; 2016 – previously cited), and Popoff (Clostridium difficile and Clostridium sordellii toxins, proinflammatory versus anti-inflammatory response; 2018 – newly cited).
Berry’s general disclosure relates to probiotic, non-pathogenic bacterial populations for the prevention, control, and treatment of disorders and conditions, in particular diseases associated with graft versus host disease (see, e.g., Berry, [0004]).
Regarding claims 176 and 198 pertaining to the purified bacterial composition, Berry teaches a purified bacterial composition containing combinations of commensal bacteria of human gut microbiota with the capacity to meaningfully provide functions of a healthy microbiota when administered to a mammalian subject, wherein the composition inhibits the growth of a pathogen so that a healthy, diverse, and protective microbiota can be maintained or, in the case of pathogenic bacterial infections, repopulate the intestinal lumen to reestablish ecological control over potential pathogens (see, e.g., Berry, [0199], [0348]-[0349]). The bacterial compositions can comprise 15 or more bacterial species, wherein those bacterial strain can belong to the species of Bacteroides ovatus, Bacteroides vulgatus, Bifidobacterium longum, Blautia coccoides, Clostridium citroniae, Clostridium clostridioforme, Clostridium innocuum, Dorea longicatena, Erysipelatoclostridium ramosum, Blautia obeum, Alistripes putredinis, Collinsella aerofaciens, Phasocolarctobacterium faecium, Fusobacterium mortiferum, and Escherichia coli (see, e.g., Berry, [0206]-[0207] & Table 1). Therefore, Berry teaches a purified bacterial composition comprising at least 15 bacterial species wherein the species can be those listed above and a method of administering the composition to a subject to inhibit the replication and/or survival of a pathogenic organism thereby suppressing the colonization of a pathogenic organism.
Regarding claims 182-183 pertaining to the pathobiont, Berry teaches that the pathogenic organism is a pathobiont that is in the intestine of the subject or part of the gut microbiota of the subject (see, e.g., Berry, [0199], [0329]).
Regarding claims 184 and 198 pertaining to the Th1 responses, Berry teaches that the bacterial composition can be administered for treatment of dysbiosis (or pathobiont imbalance in the gut microbiota), wherein the pathogenic organism is capable of altering a proportion of the immune subpopulations, e.g., T cell subpopulations, in the subject (see, e.g., Berry, [0496]). In particular, the bacterial composition is capable of reducing Th1 cells (see, e.g., Berry, [0497]-[0499]). Therefore, it is obvious that the pathobiont is inducing a Th1 response in the subject that is being treated by the bacterial composition.
Regarding claims 190-192 pertaining to the pharmaceutical composition, Berry teaches that the pharmaceutical bacterial composition is formulated for delivery to the GI tract or intestines by an oral route (see, e.g., Berry, [0262], [0362]). Berry teaches the composition can be formulated to be pH sensitive and can be formulated to have an enteric-coated capsule or tablet or with a buffering or protective composition (see, e.g., Berry, [0262]).
Regarding claims 198-199 pertaining to suppressing diseases and disorders, Berry teaches the disease or disorders to be treated by the bacterial compositions in the subject comprises dysbiosis, including, but not limited to, an infection due to a gastrointestinal pathogen or may be at risk of developing or transmitting to others an infection due to a gastrointestinal pathogen, and/or dysbiosis that contributes to or causes a condition classified as an autoimmune or inflammatory disease or inflammatory bowel disease (see, e.g., Berry, [0172]). Berry teaches a purified bacterial composition containing combinations of commensal bacteria of human gut microbiota with the capacity to meaningfully provide functions of a healthy microbiota when administered to a mammalian subject, wherein the composition inhibits the growth of a pathogen so that a healthy, diverse, and protective microbiota can be maintained or, in the case of pathogenic bacterial infections, repopulate the intestinal lumen to reestablish ecological control over potential pathogens (see, e.g., Berry, [0199], [0348]-[0349]). The bacterial compositions can comprise 15 or more bacterial species, wherein those bacterial strain can belong to the species of Bacteroides ovatus, Bacteroides vulgatus, Bifidobacterium longum, Blautia coccoides, Clostridium citroniae, Clostridium clostridioforme, Clostridium innocuum, Dorea longicatena, Erysipelatoclostridium ramosum, Blautia obeum, Alistripes putredinis, Collinsella aerofaciens, Phasocolarctobacterium faecium, Fusobacterium mortiferum, and Escherichia coli (see, e.g., Berry, [0206]-[0207] & Table 1). Berry teaches that the pathogenic organism is a pathobiont that is in the intestine of the subject or part of the gut microbiota of the subject (see, e.g., Berry, [0199], [0329]). Furthermore, Berry teaches “In another embodiment, a probiotic composition contains immunomodulatory bacteria that decrease the proportion of Th1 cells in a subject” (see, e.g., Berry, [0498]).
In addition, Examiner notes that Berry identifies that the disclosed compositions could be utilized to treat inflammatory bowel disease, NASH, primary sclerosing cholangitis, nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (see, e.g., Berry, [0507]-[0508], claim 95), and heart, autoimmune, and liver disease generally (see id. at [0361]), as well as alcoholism (see, e.g., Berry, [0840], treating a mouse model of alcoholism).
However, Berry does not teach: a pathogenic bacterium belonging to the species Klebsiella pneumoniae (claims 176 and 198); or wherein two or more conditions of (1)-(4) are satisfied: (1) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Bacteroides thetaiotaomicron, Bacteroides caccae, Bacteroides intestinalis, Bacteroides faecis, Bacteroides fragilis, and Bacteroides uniformis; (2) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Paraclostridium bifermentans and Clostridium sordellii; (3) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Bifidobacterium pseudocatenulatum and Bifidobacterium adolescentis; and(4) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Eubacterium hallii and Eubacterium rectale (claims 176 and 198).
Bengoechea’s general disclosure relates to understanding Klebsiella pneumoniae host-pathogen interactions, and K. pneumoniae immune invasion strategies, to develop new therapeutics for treating K. pneumoniae infection (see, e.g., Bengoechea, abstract). Moreover, Bengoechea discloses “Klebsiella species cause a wide range of diseases including pneumonia, urinary tract infections (UTIs), bloodstream infections and sepsis. These infections are particularly a problem among neonates, elderly and immunocompromised individuals” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, abstract). Furthermore, regarding K. pneumoniae infections, Bengoechea discloses that that the “Defining features of these infections are the ability to metastatically spread and their significant morbidity and mortality” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction).
Regarding claims 176 and 198 pertaining to K. pneumoniae, Bengoechea teaches infections caused by K. pneumoniae, wherein K. pneumoniae induces Th1 responses (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123 & Contribution of Host Signaling in Defence Against K. pneumoniae Infections, pg. 127). Additionally, Bengoechea teaches that K. pneumoniae infections are primarily a problem among neonates, elderly, and immunocompromised individuals within the healthcare setting (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123).
Henn’s general disclosure relates to bacterial mixture compositions, wherein the bacteria synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, in order to prevent, treat, and reduce symptoms associated with a dysbiosis in a mammalian subject (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008]).
Regarding claims 176 and 198 pertaining to the bacterial mixture not comprising certain bacteria, Henn teaches that in an embodiment, the bacterial composition does not comprise Bacteroides fragilis (see, e.g., Henn, [0132]) and Clostridium sordellii (see, e.g., Henn, [0131]). Moreover, Henn teaches that the compositions comprise an effective amount of a bacterial composition comprising bacteria that are inhibitors to a pathogenic bacterium, wherein the pathogenic bacterium can be Klebsiella (see, e.g., Henn, [0010]). Furthermore, Henn teaches the construction of assays to screen the bacterial compositions for inhibitor activity against Klebsiella pneumoniae (see, e.g., Henn, Example 10).
Fathi’s general disclosure relates to the isolation and characterization of Bacteroides fragilis in clinical samples (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Moreover, Fathi discloses that B. fragilis is an opportunistic pathogen that can cause abscess formation and bacteremia in humans (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Additionally, Fathi discloses that “in its enterotoxigenic form, B. fragilis is a known cause of diarrheal illness, is associated with inflammatory bowel disease, and has been recently characterized in patients with colon cancer” (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract).
Regarding claims 176 and 198 pertaining to the bacterial mixture not comprising B. fragilis, Fathi teaches that B. fragilis has been shown to cause a wide range of pathologies in humans, such as abscess formation, bacteremia, diarrheal disease, inflammatory bowel disease, and is associated with colon cancer (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Additionally, Fathi teaches that toxins produced by B. fragilis have been shown to include NF-kB signaling (see, e.g., Fathi, Introduction, pg. 57); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that B. fragilis is pro-inflammatory. Therefore, based on the pathogenicity and pro-inflammatory nature of B. fragilis, one of ordinary skill in the art would exclude B. fragilis from a bacterial composition, wherein the bacterial composition is produced to treat bacterial infections.
Popoff’s general disclosure relates to toxins produced by Clostridium difficile and Clostridium sordellii which cause either a proinflammatory or anti-inflammatory response (see, e.g., Popoff, abstract). Regarding claims 176 and 198 pertaining to the bacterial mixture not comprising Clostridium sordellii, Popoff teaches that “C. sordellii is responsible for sporadic cases of myonecrosis and gangrene in humans and animals. More recently, this pathogen has been involved in dramatic cases in women with obstetric wound, medical abortion, or endometritis. Although rare, these cases are all dramatic resulting in a high rate of mortality subsequently to a toxic shock syndrome which accompanies the local infection of uterus or perineum. In addition, a few cases of C. sordellii infections have been reported as bacteremia, arthritis, pericarditis, pleuropneumonia with presumably a portal of entry of the pathogen from the gastrointestinal tract” (see, e.g., Popoff, Introduction, pg. 54). Additionally, Popoff teaches that C. sordellii produces C. sordellii lethal toxin (TcsL) which produces “edema, muscle fiber disruption, tissue necrosis, and mid poly morphonuclear lymphocyte infiltration” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 56). Additionally, during C. sordellii infection, “The white blood cell count reaches 75,000 to 100,000 cells/mL or more and mainly consists in an elevated number of granulocytes. The mortality rate is high (about 70%) and a marked leukemoid reaction is predictive of fatal outcome” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 57).
It would have been first obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry’s bacterial mixture for suppression of Klebsiella pneumoniae infection, as taught by Bengoechea. One would have been motivated to do so because Bengoechea teaches that “K. pneumoniae is gaining attention due to the rise in the number of infections and the increasing number of strains resistant to antibiotics” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pgs. 123-124). Additionally, Bengoechea teaches that “Klebsiella species cause a wide range of diseases including pneumonia, urinary tract infections (UTIs), bloodstream infections and sepsis. These infections are particularly a problem among neonates, elderly and immunocompromised individuals” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, abstract). Moreover, Bengoechea teaches infections caused K. pneumoniae, wherein K. pneumoniae induces Th1 responses (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123 & Contribution of Host Signaling in Defence Against K. pneumoniae Infections, pg. 127).Therefore, one would have been motivated to produce an anti-inflammatory composition since the bacterial composition taught by Berry is capable of reducing Th1 cells (see, e.g., Berry, [0497]-[0499]), and inhibits the growth of a pathogen so that a healthy, diverse, and protective microbiota can be maintained or, in the case of pathogenic bacterial infections, repopulate the intestinal lumen to reestablish ecological control over potential pathogens (see, e.g., Berry, [0199], [0348]-[0349]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that administration of Berry’s bacterial composition, wherein the composition reduces Th1 responses, in order to treat K. pneumoniae, which induces Th1 responses, would exhibit immunomodulatory and anti-inflammatory activity and be effective in treating K. pneumoniae infections. Additionally, Berry teaches “the probiotic composition reduces inflammation in the gastrointestinal tract of the subject. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the probiotic composition comprises an anti-inflammatory bacterial population. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population decreases secretion of pro-inflammatory cytokines and/or increases secretion of anti-inflammatory cytokines by human peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs). In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population decreases secretion of a pro-inflammatory cytokine selected from the group consisting of IFNγ, IL-12p70, IL-1α, IL-6, IL-8, MCP1, MIP1α, MIP1β, TNFα, and combinations thereof. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population increases secretion of an anti-inflammatory cytokine selected from the group consisting of IL-10, IL-13, IL-4, IL-5, TGFβ and combinations thereof. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population produces short chain fatty acids” (see, e.g., Berry, [0011]). Therefore, Berry’s bacterial composition exhibits anti-inflammatory activity. Furthermore, the bacterial composition taught by Berry can be used for “the prevention, control, and treatment of transplant disorders and conditions, in particular diseases associated with graft versus host disease (GVHD)” (see, e.g., Berry, [0004]). Therefore, based on the teachings of Berry and Bengoechea it would have been obvious to administer Berry’s bacterial mixture in order to inhibit survival of K. pneumoniae. One would have expected success because Berry and Bengoechea both teach treatment of bacterial infections, as well as bacterial infections that stimulate inflammatory responses, such as Th1 responses.
It would have been secondly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry’s bacterial mixture, wherein the bacterial mixture does not comprise Bacteroides fragilis, as taught by Henn. One would have been motivated to do so because Fathi teaches that B. fragilis is an opportunistic pathogen that causes abscess formation, bacteremia, diarrheal disease, inflammatory bowel disease, and is associated with colon cancer (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Additionally, Fathi teaches that toxins produced by B. fragilis have been shown to activate NF-kB signaling (see, e.g., Fathi, Introduction, pg. 57); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that B. fragilis is pro-inflammatory. The bacterial composition taught by Berry is anti-inflammatory and inhibits the growth of bacterial infections, such as K. pneumoniae infections (see, e.g., Berry, [0011]). Therefore, based on the teachings of Berry, Henn, and Fathi, it would have been obvious to produce a bacterial mixture, wherein the bacterial mixture does not comprise B. fragilis because B. fragilis is a pro-inflammatory pathogen that causes a wide variety of diseases; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that inclusion of B. fragilis in Berry’s bacterial composition would not be beneficial in treating K. pneumoniae infections. Furthermore, Henn teaches administration of bacteria that synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, wherein the pathogenic bacterium can be K. pneumoniae and wherein the composition does not comprise B. fragilis (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008], [0086], [0132]). One would have expected success because Berry, Henn, and Fathi all teach bacterial infections and treatment of bacterial infections.
It would have been thirdly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry’s bacterial mixture, wherein the bacterial mixture does not comprise Clostridium sordellii, as taught by Henn. One would have been motivated to do so because Popoff teaches that C. sordellii is an opportunistic pathogen “associated with trauma which facilitates the bacterial entry into deep tissues. Most cases occur after trauma notably during childbirth, medically induced or spontaneous abortion, and also after accidental trauma, surgery, injections in drug users and to a lower extent in patients with underlying neoplasms or other pathologies (traumatic arthritis, pericarditis, pleuropneumonia)” and “Experimental C. sordellii infection of muscle or intramuscular injection of TcsL induce edema, muscle fiber disruption, tissue necrosis, and mid poly morphonuclear lymphocyte infiltration” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 56). The bacterial composition taught by Berry is anti-inflammatory and administered to individuals to treat various diseases and disorders, including patients that have undergone transplants (see, e.g., Berry, [0011], [0027]-[0030]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not want to administer C. sordellii to these patients since this bacterium is opportunistic, causes a pro-inflammatory reaction (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pgs. 56-57), and would not be beneficial in treating a K. pneumoniae infection. Furthermore, Henn teaches administration of bacteria that synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, wherein the pathogenic bacterium can be K. pneumoniae and wherein the composition does not comprise C. sordellii (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008], [0086], [0131]). One would have expected success because Berry, Henn, and Popoff all teach bacterial infections and treatment of bacterial infections.
Claim 193 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi and Popoff as applied to claims 176, 182-184, 190-192, and 198-199 above, and further in view of Budic (Escherichia coli Bacteriocins: Antimicrobial Efficacy and Prevalence among Isolates from Patients with Bacteraemia; 2011 – previously cited).
The references of Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, and Popoff are discussed above as it pertains to a bacterial mixture for treating K. pneumoniae infections.
However, the references do not teach: wherein the bacterial strain belonging to the species Escherichia coli comprises one or more bacteriocin-encoding genes (claim 193).
Budic’s general disclosure relates to E. coli and bacteriocin-produced thereby (see, e.g., Budic, abstract). Moreover, Budic discloses that “Colicins have been shown to be effective against E. coli strains associated with diarrhea including serotype O157:H7, as well as postweaning diarrhea (PWD) and edema disease in swine” (see, e.g., Budic, Results and Discussion, pg. 2). Furthermore, Budic discloses that the prevalence of bacteriocins are significantly decreased in immunocompromised individuals (see, e.g., Budic, pg. 4)
Regarding claim 193 pertaining to E. coli bacteriocins, Budic teaches that bacteriocins are antimicrobial peptides generally active against bacteria closely related to the producer and that Escherichia coli produces two types of bacteriocins, colicins and microcins (see, e.g., Budic, abstract). Moreover, Budic teaches that colicins are plasmid encoded, wherein microcin encoded genes are found in the chromosome (see, e.g., Budic, Introduction, pg. 1). Additionally, Budic discloses that E. coli bacteriocins have been shown to be effective against pathogenic E. coli strains, such as O157:H7 and F18-positive enterotoxigenic E. coli, as well as Listeria monocytogenes, which is the causative agent of human listeriosis, and Salmonella strains (see, e.g., Budic, Results and Discussion, pg. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, and Fathi’s bacterial mixture comprising E. coli, wherein the E. coli comprises bacteriocin-encoding genes, as taught by Budic. One would have been motivated to do so because Budic teaches that bacteriocins are antimicrobial peptides that are active against bacteria, such as pathogenic E. coli strains, Listeria monocytogenes, and Salmonella strains (see, e.g., Budic, abstract & Discussion, pg. 2). Furthermore, Berry teaches an anti-inflammatory bacterial composition that can be used to prevent, control, and treat disorders and conditions, in particular diseases associated with graft versus host disease (see, e.g., Berry, [0004]). Therefore, based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to produce a bacterial mixture comprising E. coli, wherein the E. coli comprises bacteriocin-encoding genes, because, since the prior art of Budic teaches the antimicrobial effect of bacteriocins against pathogenic microorganisms, one would reasonably conclude that the antimicrobial effect would be beneficial in treating K. pneumoniae infections since K. pneumoniae is a pathogenic bacterium. One would have expected success because Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, Popoff, and Budic teach bacterial infections and/or treatment of bacterial infections.
Claim 195 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry (US 2016/0193258; Date of Publication: July 7, 2016 – previously cited) in view of Bengoechea (Klebsiella pneumoniae infection biology: living to counteract host defences; 2018 – previously cited), Henn (US 2014/0147425; Date of Publication: May 29, 2014 – previously cited), Fathi (Isolation, Detection, and Characterization of Enterotoxigenic Bacteroides fragilis in Clinical Samples; 2016 – previously cited), Popoff (Clostridium difficile and Clostridium sordellii toxins, proinflammatory versus anti-inflammatory response; 2018 – newly cited), and Schneider (U.S. Patent No. 9,999,641; Date of Publication: June 19, 2018 – previously cited).
The teachings of Berry are discussed above as it pertains to a bacterial mixture for inhibiting the growth of a bacterium.
Regarding claim 195 pertaining to the purified bacterial composition, Berry teaches a purified bacterial composition containing combinations of commensal bacteria of human gut microbiota with the capacity to meaningfully provide functions of a healthy microbiota when administered to a mammalian subject, wherein the composition inhibits the growth of a pathogen so that a healthy, diverse, and protective microbiota can be maintained or, in the case of pathogenic bacterial infections, repopulate the intestinal lumen to reestablish ecological control over potential pathogens (see, e.g., Berry, [0199], [0348]-[0349]). The bacterial compositions can comprise 15 or more bacterial species, wherein those bacterial strain can belong to the species of Bacteroides ovatus, Bacteroides vulgatus, Bifidobacterium longum, Blautia coccoides, Clostridium citroniae, Clostridium clostridioforme, Clostridium innocuum, Dorea longicatena, Erysipelatoclostridium ramosum, Blautia obeum, Alistripes putredinis, Collinsella aerofaciens, Phasocolarctobacterium faecium, Fusobacterium mortiferum, and Escherichia coli (see, e.g., Berry, [0206]-[0207] & Table 1).
Regarding claim 195 pertaining to the sequence identities, Berry teaches that the sequences associated with the 15 species as the following: Bacteroides ovatus (SEQ ID NO: 287), Bacteroides vulgatus (SEQ ID NO: 331), Bifidobacterium longum (SEQ ID NO: 356), Blautia coccoides (SEQ ID NO: 573), Clostridium citroniae (SEQ ID NO: 569), Clostridium clostridioforme (SEQ ID NO: 571), Clostridium innocuum (SEQ ID NO: 595), Dorea longicatena (SEQ ID NO: 774), Erysipelatoclostridium ramosum (SEQ ID NO: 617), Blautia obeum (SEQ ID NO: 1664), Alistripes putredinis (SEQ ID NO: 132), Collinsella aerofaciens (SEQ ID NO: 659), Phasocolarctobacterium faecium (SEQ ID NO: 1462), Fusobacterium mortiferum (SEQ ID NO: 897), and Escherichia coli (SEQ ID NO: 825) (see, e.g., Berry, Table 1). Berry’s SEQ ID NOs: 287, 331, 356, 573, 569, 774, 617, 1664, 132, 659, 1462, 897, and 825 have 97.4%, 97.9%, 97%, 100%, 99.2%, 98.9%, 99.4%, 99.5%, 99.4%, 93.2%, 100%, 96.9%, 99.2%, 98.9%, and 99.7% identity to this present application’s SEQ ID NO: 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 25, 26, 27, 31, 34, and 36, respectively.
However, Berry does not teach: a pathogenic bacterium belonging to the species Klebsiella pneumoniae (claim 195); or wherein two or more conditions of (1)-(4) are satisfied: (1) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Bacteroides thetaiotaomicron, Bacteroides caccae, Bacteroides intestinalis, Bacteroides faecis, Bacteroides fragilis, and Bacteroides uniformis; (2) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Paraclostridium bifermentans and Clostridium sordellii; (3) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Bifidobacterium pseudocatenulatum and Bifidobacterium adolescentis; and (4) the purified bacterial mixture excludes bacteria of at least one species selected from the group consisting of Eubacterium hallii and Eubacterium rectale (claim 195).
Bengoechea’s general disclosure relates to understanding Klebsiella pneumoniae host-pathogen interactions, and K. pneumoniae immune invasion strategies, to develop new therapeutics for treating K. pneumoniae infection (see, e.g., Bengoechea, abstract). Moreover, Bengoechea discloses “Klebsiella species cause a wide range of diseases including pneumonia, urinary tract infections (UTIs), bloodstream infections and sepsis. These infections are particularly a problem among neonates, elderly and immunocompromised individuals” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, abstract). Furthermore, Bengoechea discloses that that the “Defining features of these infections are the ability to metastatically spread and their significant morbidity and mortality” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction).
Regarding claim 195 pertaining to K. pneumoniae, Bengoechea teaches infections caused K. pneumoniae, wherein K. pneumoniae induces Th1 responses (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123 & Contribution of Host Signaling in Defence Against K. pneumoniae Infections, pg. 127). Additionally, Bengoechea teaches that K. pneumoniae infections are primarily a problem among neonates, elderly, and immunocompromised individuals within the healthcare setting (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123).
Henn’s general disclosure relates to bacterial mixture compositions, wherein the bacteria synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, in order to prevent, treat, and reduce symptoms associated with a dysbiosis in a mammalian subject (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008]).
Regarding claim 195 pertaining to SEQ ID NO: 33 corresponding to Bacteroides fragilis, Henn teaches that the bacterial composition does not comprise Bacteroides fragilis (see, e.g., Henn, [0132]) and Clostridium sordellii (see, e.g., Henn, [0131]).
Fathi’s general disclosure relates to the isolation and characterization of Bacteroides fragilis in clinical samples (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Moreover, Fathi discloses that B. fragilis is an opportunistic pathogen that can cause abscess formation and bacteremia in humans (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Additionally, Fathi discloses that “in its enterotoxigenic form, B. fragilis is a known cause of diarrheal illness, is associated with inflammatory bowel disease, and has been recently characterized in patients with colon cancer” (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract).
Regarding claim 195 pertaining to the bacterial mixture not comprising B. fragilis, Fathi teaches that B. fragilis has been shown to cause a wide range of pathologies in humans, such as abscess formation, bacteremia, diarrheal disease, inflammatory bowel disease, and is associated with colon cancer (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Therefore, based on the pathogenicity of B. fragilis, one of ordinary skill in the art would exclude B. fragilis from a bacterial composition, wherein the bacterial composition is produced to treat bacterial infections.
Popoff’s general disclosure relates to toxins produced by Clostridium difficile and Clostridium sordellii which cause either a proinflammatory or anti-inflammatory response (see, e.g., Popoff, abstract). Regarding claim 195 pertaining to the bacterial mixture not comprising Clostridium sordellii, Popoff teaches that “C. sordellii is responsible for sporadic cases of myonecrosis and gangrene in humans and animals. More recently, this pathogen has been involved in dramatic cases in women with obstetric wound, medical abortion, or endometritis. Although rare, these cases are all dramatic resulting in a high rate of mortality subsequently to a toxic shock syndrome which accompanies the local infection of uterus or perineum. In addition, a few cases of C. sordellii infections have been reported as bacteremia, arthritis, pericarditis, pleuropneumonia with presumably a portal of entry of the pathogen from the gastrointestinal tract” (see, e.g., Popoff, Introduction, pg. 54). Additionally, Popoff teaches that C. sordellii produces C. sordellii lethal toxin (TcsL) which produces “edema, muscle fiber disruption, tissue necrosis, and mid poly morphonuclear lymphocyte infiltration” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 56). Additionally, during C. sordellii infection, “The white blood cell count reaches 75,000 to 100,000 cells/mL or more and mainly consists in an elevated number of granulocytes. The mortality rate is high (about 70%) and a marked leukemoid reaction is predictive of fatal outcome” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 57).
Schneider’s general disclosure relates to compositions and methods for the treatment or prevention of pathogenic infections (see, e.g., Schneider, abstract & [81]). Moreover, Schneider teaches that the bacterial composition “induces the proliferation and/or accumulation of regulatory T cells (Tregs)” (see, e.g., Schneider, [78]), and that the bacterial composition is effective in eliminating pathogenic bacteria, such as C. difficile, from the body (see, e.g., Schneider, [36]).
Regarding claim 195 pertaining to instant SEQ ID NO: 25 corresponding to Blautia obeum, Schneider teaches a composition comprising Blautia obeum associated with Schneider’s SEQ ID NO: 84, which has 99.3% identity to the present application’s SEQ ID NO: 25 (see, e.g., Schneider, Table F1, Table F2). Additionally, Schneider teaches this strain of Blautia obeum produces short chain fatty acids, such that the short chain fatty acids produced provide a synergistic effect with the other bacteria in the composition to suppress growth of pathogens and/or stimulate growth of non-pathogens in the intestinal track (see, e.g., Schneider at col. 20, lines 15-56).
It would have been first obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry’s bacterial mixture for suppression of Klebsiella pneumoniae infection, as taught by Bengoechea. One would have been motivated to do so because Bengoechea teaches that “K. pneumoniae is gaining attention due to the rise in the number of infections and the increasing number of strains resistant to antibiotics” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pgs. 123-124). Additionally, Bengoechea teaches that “Klebsiella species cause a wide range of diseases including pneumonia, urinary tract infections (UTIs), bloodstream infections and sepsis. These infections are particularly a problem among neonates, elderly and immunocompromised individuals” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, abstract). Therefore, one would have been motivated to produce an anti-inflammatory composition since the bacterial composition taught by Berry is capable of reducing Th1 cells (see, e.g., Berry, [0497]-[0499]), and inhibits the growth of a pathogen so that a healthy, diverse, and protective microbiota can be maintained or, in the case of pathogenic bacterial infections, repopulate the intestinal lumen to reestablish ecological control over potential pathogens (see, e.g., Berry, [0199], [0348]-[0349]). Additionally, Berry teaches “the probiotic composition reduces inflammation in the gastrointestinal tract of the subject. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the probiotic composition comprises an anti-inflammatory bacterial population. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population decreases secretion of pro-inflammatory cytokines and/or increases secretion of anti-inflammatory cytokines by human peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs). In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population decreases secretion of a pro-inflammatory cytokine selected from the group consisting of IFNγ, IL-12p70, IL-1α, IL-6, IL-8, MCP1, MIP1α, MIP1β, TNFα, and combinations thereof. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population increases secretion of an anti-inflammatory cytokine selected from the group consisting of IL-10, IL-13, IL-4, IL-5, TGFβ and combinations thereof. In one embodiment of the foregoing aspect, the anti-inflammatory bacterial population produces short chain fatty acids” (see, e.g., Berry, [0011]). Furthermore, the bacterial composition taught by Berry can be used for “the prevention, control, and treatment of transplant disorders and conditions, in particular diseases associated with graft versus host disease (GVHD)” (see, e.g., Berry, [0004]). Therefore, based on the teachings of Berry and Bengoechea it would have been obvious to administer Berry’s bacterial mixture in order to inhibit survival of K. pneumoniae One would have expected success because Berry and Bengoechea both teach treatment of bacterial infections.
It would have been secondly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry’s bacterial mixture, wherein the bacterial mixture does not comprise Bacteroides fragilis corresponding to 99.9% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 33, as taught by Henn. One would have been motivated to do so because Fathi teaches that B. fragilis is an opportunistic pathogen that causes abscess formation, bacteremia, diarrheal disease, inflammatory bowel disease, and is associated with colon cancer (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Additionally, Fathi teaches that toxins produced by B. fragilis have been shown to activate NF-kB signaling (see, e.g., Fathi, Introduction, pg. 57); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that B. fragilis is pro-inflammatory. The bacterial composition taught by Berry is anti-inflammatory and inhibits the growth of bacterial infections, such as K. pneumoniae infections (see, e.g., Berry, [0011]) Therefore, based on the teachings of Berry, Henn, and Fathi, it would have been obvious to produce a bacterial mixture, wherein the bacterial mixture does not comprise B. fragilis because B. fragilis is a pro-inflammatory pathogen that causes a wide variety of diseases; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that inclusion of B. fragilis in Berry’s bacterial composition would not be beneficial in treating K. pneumoniae infections. One would have expected success because Henn teaches administration of bacteria that synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, wherein the pathogenic bacterium can be K. pneumoniae and wherein the composition does not comprise B. fragilis (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008], [0086], [0132]).
It would have been thirdly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry’s bacterial mixture, wherein the bacterial mixture does not comprise Clostridium sordellii, as taught by Henn. One would have been motivated to do so because Popoff teaches that C. sordellii is an opportunistic pathogen “associated with trauma which facilitates the bacterial entry into deep tissues. Most cases occur after trauma notably during childbirth, medically induced or spontaneous abortion, and also after accidental trauma, surgery, injections in drug users and to a lower extent in patients with underlying neoplasms or other pathologies (traumatic arthritis, pericarditis, pleuropneumonia)” and “Experimental C. sordellii infection of muscle or intramuscular injection of TcsL induce edema, muscle fiber disruption, tissue necrosis, and mid poly morphonuclear lymphocyte infiltration” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 56). The bacterial composition taught by Berry is anti-inflammatory and administered to individuals to treat various diseases and disorders, including patients that have undergone transplants (see, e.g., Berry, [0011], [0027]-[0030]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not want to administer C. sordellii to these patients since this bacterium is opportunistic and facilitates entry deep into muscles to cause symptoms accompanied by toxic shock syndrome, including hypotension, tachycardia, absence of fever, haemoconcentration and an intense leukocytosis called leukemoid reaction. The white blood cell count reaches 75,000 to 100,000 cells/mL or more and mainly consists in an elevated number of granulocytes. The mortality rate is high (about 70%) and a marked leukemoid reaction is predictive of fatal outcome” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pgs. 56-57). One would have expected success because Henn teaches administration of bacteria that synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, wherein the pathogenic bacterium can be K. pneumoniae and wherein the composition does not comprise C. sordellii (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008], [0086], [0131]).
It would have been fourthly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry’s bacterial mixture comprising Blautia obeum corresponding to Schneider’s SEQ ID NO: 84. One would have been motivated to do so because Schneider teaches that this strain of Blautia obeum produces short chain fatty acids, such that the short chain fatty acids produced provide a synergistic effect with the other bacteria in the composition to suppress growth of pathogens and/or stimulate growth of non-pathogens in the intestinal track (see, e.g., Schneider at col. 20, lines 15-56). Moreover, the bacterial composition taught by Berry can be used for “the prevention, control, and treatment of transplant disorders and conditions, in particular diseases associated with graft versus host disease (GVHD)” (see, e.g., Berry, [0004]). Therefore, based on the teaching of Berry and Schneider, it would have been obvious to produce a bacterial mixture composition comprising Blautia obeum because the short chain fatty acids produced by Blautia obeum can provide a synergistic effect with the other bacterial species within the mixture in order to inhibit infections. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that inclusion of Blautia obeum in the Berry’s bacterial composition would be beneficial in treating K. pneumoniae infections because of the synergistic effects B. obeum exhibits in order to inhibit pathogenic infection, as taught by Schneider. One would have expected success because Berry and Schneider both teach purified bacterial mixture compositions for treatment of diseases.
Claim 197 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, Popoff, and Schneider as applied to claim 195 above, and further in view of Honda (U.S. Patent No. 11,633,433; Effective Filing Date: July 19, 2017 – previously cited).
The teachings of Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, Popoff, and Schneider are discussed above as it pertains to a bacterial mixture composition for inhibiting growth of K. pneumoniae.
Regarding claim 197 pertaining to the sequence identities, Berry teaches Bacteroides ovatus (SEQ ID NO: 287), Bacteroides vulgatus (SEQ ID NO: 331), Bifidobacterium longum (SEQ ID NO: 356), Blautia coccoides (SEQ ID NO: 573), Clostridium citroniae (SEQ ID NO: 569), Clostridium clostridioforme (SEQ ID NO: 571), Clostridium innocuum (SEQ ID NO: 595), Dorea longicatena (SEQ ID NO: 774), Erysipelatoclostridium ramosum (SEQ ID NO: 617), Blautia obeum (SEQ ID NO: 1664), Alistripes putredinis (SEQ ID NO: 132), Collinsella aerofaciens (SEQ ID NO: 659), Phasocolarctobacterium faecium (SEQ ID NO: 1462), Fusobacterium mortiferum (SEQ ID NO: 897), and Escherichia coli (SEQ ID NO: 825) (see, e.g., Berry, Table 1). SEQ ID NOs: 287, 331, 356, 573, 569, 774, 617, 1664, 132, 659, 1462, 897, and 825 (see, e.g., Berry, Table 1) have 97.4%, 97.9%, 97%, 100%, 99.2%, 98.9%, 99.4%, 99.5%, 99.4%, 93.2%, 100%, 96.9%, 99.2%, 98.9%, and 99.7% identity to the instant application’s SEQ ID NO: 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 25, 26, 27, 31, 34, and 36, respectively.
Regarding claim 197 pertaining to the sequence identities Schneider teaches a composition comprising Blautia obeum (see, e.g., Schneider, SEQ ID NO: 84), which has 99.3% identity to the present application’s SEQ ID NO: 25 (see, e.g., Schneider at Table F1, Table F2). Additionally, modified-Berry-Bengoechea-Henn-Fathi-Schneider teaches a composition comprising Bacteroides ovatus (see, e.g., Schneider, SEQ ID NO: 101), which has 99.0% identity to the instant application’s SEQ ID NO: 4 (see, e.g., Schneider at col. 43, lines 23-40).
However, Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, Popoff, and Schneider do not teach: bacterial strains of B. vulgatus, B. longum, and C. aerofaciens having 99% identity to SEQ ID NO. 7, 9, and 27 (claim 197).
Honda’s general disclosure relates to an antibacterial composition against oral bacteria and the like capable of inducing Th1 cell proliferation or activation in an intestinal tract, wherein the composition comprises isolated intestinal bacteria (see, e.g., Honda, abstract). Additionally, Honda discloses that “the present invention relates to use of the intestinal bacterium for producing a pharmaceutical composition for treating, alleviating, or preventing a disease attributable to Th1 cells” (see, e.g., Honda, [2]). Moreover, Honda discloses a bacterial composition that suppresses the colonization of Th1 cell-inducible bacteria, such as K. pneumoniae (see, e.g., Honda, [11], [14]).
Regarding claim 197 pertaining to the sequence identities, Honda teaches an antimicrobial composition against a bacterium capable of inducing Th1 proliferation or activation in an intestinal tract, wherein the composition comprises B. vulgatus (associated with Honda’s SEQ ID NO: 24), B. longum (associated with Honda’s SEQ ID NO: 69), and C. aerofaciens (associated with Honda’s SEQ ID NO: 110) which have 99.6%, 100%, and 100% identity to the present application’s SEQ ID NO: 7, 9, and 27, respectively (see, e.g., Honda at col. 3, lines 24-32; col. 27-28, Table 2, Table 4, Table 5). Moreover, Honda teaches that bacterial compositions comprising B. vulgatus, B. longum, and C. aerofaciens exhibits antibacterial activity against bacteria capable of inducible Th1 cell proliferation or activation in an intestinal tract (see, e.g., Honda, pg. 26, col. 3, lines 50-55), wherein a bacterium capable of inducing Th1 cells is K. pneumoniae (see, e.g., Honda, [11], [14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, Popoff, and Schneider’s bacterial mixture, wherein the bacterial mixture comprises B. vulgatus, B. longum, and C. aerofaciens, corresponding to SEQ ID NOs: 21, 69, and 110, as taught by Honda. One would have been motivated to do so because Honda teaches that B. vulgatus, B. longum, and C. aerofaciens have antibacterial activity against bacteria capable of inducing Th1 cell proliferation or activation in the intestinal tract (see, e.g., Honda, col. 4, lines 5-8). Moreover, Honda teaches that K. pneumoniae is a bacterium capable of inducing Th1 cell proliferation (see, e.g., Honda, [11], [14[), and that the bacterial composition comprising B. vulgatus, B. longum, and C. aerofaciens, as taught by Honda, is capable of inhibiting K. pneumoniae proliferation (see, e.g., Honda, Figure 12). Furthermore, Bengoechea teaches that “Klebsiella species cause a wide range of diseases including pneumonia, urinary tract infections (UTIs), bloodstream infections and sepsis. These infections are particularly a problem among neonates, elderly and immunocompromised individuals” (see, e.g., Bengoechea, abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, Popoff, Schneider, and Honda, it would have been obvious to produce a bacterial mixture comprising B. vulgatus, B. longum, and C. aerofaciens because these bacteria have antibacterial activity against bacteria that induce Th1 responses in the intestines, such as K. pneumoniae. One would have expected success because Berry, Bengoechea, Henn, Fathi, Popoff, Schneider, and Honda all teach bacterial infections and/or treatment of bacterial infections.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the amended claims reciting bacteria that are excluded from the mixture are not taught by the prior art (remarks, pages 11 and 14-15), this argument is not persuasive because Henn teaches administration of bacteria that synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, wherein the pathogenic bacterium can be K. pneumoniae and wherein the composition does not comprise B. fragilis and C. sordellii (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008], [0086], [0131]-[0132]). Furthermore, the bacterial mixture composition was taught by Berry (see, e.g., Berry, [0206]-[0207] & Table 1), wherein Berry teaches “In another embodiment, a probiotic composition contains immunomodulatory bacteria that decrease the proportion of Th1 cells in a subject” (see, e.g., Berry, [0498]). Bengoechea teaches infections caused by K. pneumoniae, wherein K. pneumoniae induces Th1 responses (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123 & Contribution of Host Signaling in Defence Against K. pneumoniae Infections, pg. 127). Therefore, the bacterial mixture composition taught by Berry is administered to decrease Th1 inflammation, wherein K. pneumoniae increases Th1 inflammation and Henn teaches administration of bacteria that synergistically interact to inhibit a pathogenic bacterium, wherein the pathogenic bacterium can be K. pneumoniae and wherein the composition does not comprise B. fragilis and C. sordellii (see, e.g., Henn, abstract & [0008], [0086], [0131]-[0132]). Moreover, Fathi was cited as motivation to not include B. fragilis in the bacterial mixture composition because Fathi teaches that B. fragilis has been shown to cause a wide range of pathologies in humans, such as abscess formation, bacteremia, diarrheal disease, inflammatory bowel disease, and is associated with colon cancer (see, e.g., Fathi, abstract). Therefore, based on the pathogenicity of B. fragilis, one of ordinary skill in the art would exclude B. fragilis from a bacterial composition, wherein the bacterial composition is produced to treat bacterial infections. Popoff was cited as motivation to not include C. sordellii in the bacterial mixture composition because Popoff teaches that “C. sordellii is responsible for sporadic cases of myonecrosis and gangrene in humans and animals. More recently, this pathogen has been involved in dramatic cases in women with obstetric wound, medical abortion, or endometritis. Although rare, these cases are all dramatic resulting in a high rate of mortality subsequently to a toxic shock syndrome which accompanies the local infection of uterus or perineum. In addition, a few cases of C. sordellii infections have been reported as bacteremia, arthritis, pericarditis, pleuropneumonia with presumably a portal of entry of the pathogen from the gastrointestinal tract” (see, e.g., Popoff, Introduction, pg. 54). Additionally, Popoff teaches that C. sordellii produces C. sordellii lethal toxin (TcsL) which produces “edema, muscle fiber disruption, tissue necrosis, and mid poly morphonuclear lymphocyte infiltration” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 56). Additionally, during C. sordellii infection, “The white blood cell count reaches 75,000 to 100,000 cells/mL or more and mainly consists in an elevated number of granulocytes. The mortality rate is high (about 70%) and a marked leukemoid reaction is predictive of fatal outcome” (see, e.g., Popoff, Section 1.2, pg. 57).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to interference between Berry’s bacterial strains in the mixture and there being no motivation to combine claimed bacterial strains from Berry’s teachings (remarks, pages 11-17), this argument is not persuasive for multiple reasons: First, claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”, which is “inclusive or open-ended as does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or steps” (see, e.g., MPEP 2111.03(I)). Therefore, due to the use of “comprising” as the transitional phrase, this can include all of the bacteria taught by Berry. Moreover, Berry teaches that the bacteria are anti-inflammatory (see, e.g., Berry, [0011]) and Berry teaches “In another embodiment, a probiotic composition contains immunomodulatory bacteria that decrease the proportion of Th1 cells in a subject” (see, e.g., Berry, [0498]). Bengoechea teaches infections caused by K. pneumoniae, wherein K. pneumoniae induces Th1 responses (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123 & Contribution of Host Signaling in Defence Against K. pneumoniae Infections, pg. 127). Therefore, the bacterial mixture composition taught by Berry is administered to decrease Th1 inflammation, wherein K. pneumoniae increases Th1 inflammation. Secondly, Applicant argues that the bacteria taught by Berry would interact amongst each other and have decreased activity against K. pneumoniae; however, Applicant does not actually provide evidence of this and instead just provides arguments that this may happen. Arguments by Applicant cannot take the place of evidence (see, e.g., MPEP 716.01(c)(II)); therefore, evidence would be needed to actually show that the bacteria taught by Berry would interact and have decreased activity against K. pneumoniae.
Regarding Applicant’s data pertaining to Figures 26B and 39 (remarks, page 12), this data and the arguments are not persuasive because Figure 26B does not even provide evidence regarding LBP-34, which is the 15-strain combination that is claimed, and Figure 39 does not even show a significant or even noticeable difference in K. pneumoniae CFU/g in stool between the LBP-34 15-mix and the LBP-32 19-mix. Therefore, Applicant’s argument(s) that adding bacteria to the mixture decreases activity against K. pneumoniae is not consistent since the LBP-32 and LBP-34 mixtures have no significant differences in K. pneumoniae CFU/g in Figure 39. Furthermore, these results are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. For the data set forth in Figure 26, Applicant is relying on
Regarding Applicant’s argument that there is no motivation to combine Berry’s 2,000 bacteria listed and then make exclusions, as claimed (remarks, pages 16-17), this argument is not persuasive because, as stated above and reiterated here, the claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”, which is “inclusive or open-ended as does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or steps” (see, e.g., MPEP 2111.03(I)). Therefore, due to the use of “comprising” as the transitional phrase, this can include unrecited bacterial strains. Moreover, Berry teaches that the bacteria listed in Tables 1, 1A, and 1B can be administered to help treat liver, heart, and inflammatory disorders (see, e.g., Berry, [0119, [0206]-[0207], [0348]-[0349], [0361, [0507]-[0508], [0840], Table 1, Table 1A, Table 1B). Moreover, Berry teaches that the bacterial mixture composition inhibits the growth of a pathogen so that a healthy, diverse, and protective microbiota can be maintained or, in the case of pathogenic bacterial infections, repopulate the intestinal lumen to reestablish ecological control over potential pathogens (see, e.g., Berry, [0144], [0199], [0348]-[0349]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that Berry’s mixture comprising Bacteroides ovatus, Bacteroides vulgatus, Bifidobacterium longum, Blautia coccoides, Clostridium citroniae, Clostridium clostridioforme, Clostridium innocuum, Dorea longicatena, Erysipelatoclostridium ramosum, Blautia obeum, Alistipes putredinis, Collinsella aerofaciens, Phascolarctobacterium faecium, Fusobacterium mortiferum, and Escherichia coli can be used to suppress pathogens within the intestines, which can include K. pneumoniae. Moreover, Berry teaches that the bacterial composition can be used for treatment of dysbiosis (or pathobiont imbalance in the gut microbiota), wherein the pathogenic organism is capable of altering a proportion of the immune subpopulations, e.g., T cell subpopulations, in the subject (see, e.g., Berry, [0496]). In particular, the bacterial composition is capable of reducing Th1 cells (see, e.g., Berry, [0497]-[0499]), and Bengoechea teaches infections caused K. pneumoniae, wherein K. pneumoniae induces Th1 responses (see, e.g., Bengoechea, Introduction, pg. 123 & Contribution of Host Signaling in Defence Against K. pneumoniae Infections, pg. 127). This is motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Berry’s bacterial mixture to treat K. pneumoniae infections. Furthermore, the claimed invention is a combination of prior art elements (i.e., known bacterial strains and combinations thereof), combined according to known methods as taught by Berry, to yield predictable results, namely bacterial compositions suitable for treating heart, liver, autoimmune, and inflammatory diseases and disorders, exactly as taught and disclosed in view of the prior art. Each prior art element would merely perform its art-recognized function in combination, and wherein variations within the scope of the prior art (e.g., different combinations) would be expected to be functionally equivalent absent objective evidence to the contrary (see, e.g., MPEP 2143(I)(A), (F), (G) & 2144.07 & 2144.06(I)-(II)). Moreover, again, the open-ended “comprising” language does not exclude additional, unrecited bacterial strains, and Applicant does not provide evidence that Berry’s bacterial mixture is ineffective at decreasing K. pneumoniae infection. Therefore, Applicant is arguing that the bacterial mixture taught by Berry would be ineffective at treating K. pneumoniae without actually providing evidence. Arguments by Applicant cannot take the place of evidence (see, e.g., MPEP 716.01(c)(II))
Conclusion
Claims 176, 182-184, 190-193, 195, and 197-199 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/NATALIE IANNUZO/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653