Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 & 18-29, in the reply filed on 25 August 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner has not interpreted the claims in light of the specification in making the assertion of a lack of unity (reply, pg. 4). This is not found persuasive because limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 30 & 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 25 August 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of:
A) Lipophilic compound: mineral oil;
B) Thickening polymer: xanthan gum;
C) Type of composition A): aqueous;
D) Composition C-present or absent: Composition C is absent in the reply filed on 25 August 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the office has not provided any reason to conclude patentable distinction (reply, pg. 3). This is not found persuasive because this is the national stage of a 371 application. The species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 28 & 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the election requirement in the reply filed on 25 August 2025.
Claim Status
Applicant’s claim amendments filed 02/10/2022 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-6 & 18-31 are pending.
Claims 18-31 are new.
Claims 7-17 are cancelled.
Claims 1-6 are amended.
Claims 28-31 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 & 18-27 are under consideration.
Examination is to the extent of the following species:
A) Lipophilic compound: mineral oil;
B) Thickening polymer: xanthan gum;
C) Type of composition A): aqueous;
D) Composition C-present or absent: Composition C is absent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 February 2022, 06 October 2023 and 22 October 2024 have been fully considered by the examiner. A signed and initialed copy of each IDS is included with the instant Office Action.
Objections/Rejections
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 refers back to claim 1 and recites “compounds according to a) of composition B are at least one selected from the group…” Claim 1 recites “one or more guanidine compound(s)” which permits only one guanidine compound. As such, claim 6 is not conjugated correctly and does not match claim 1.
Applicant may wish to consider whether an amendment to recite “one or more compound(s) according to a)…” would obviate the objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 18, 22-24 & 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites “one or more direct dye(s)” which encompasses a multitude of direct dyes (emphasis added). However claim 3 recites “the direct dyes of composition A is at least one selected from the group consisting of HC Blue 18, HC Red 18, and HC Yellow 16”. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the direct dyes present in composition A must be at least one of HC Blue 18, HC Red 18, and HC Yellow 16 (emphasis added).
Applicant may wish to consider whether a claim 3 amendment to recite “at least one of the one or more direct dyes of composition A…” would obviate the rejection.
Claim 18 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites “one or more guanidine compound(s)” which encompasses a multitude of guanidine compounds (emphasis added). However claim 18 recites “the compound according to a) of composition B is guanidine sulfate”. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the guanidine compounds present in composition B is guanidine sulfate.
Applicant may wish to consider whether a claim 18 amendment to recite “wherein the one or more guanidine compound(s) and/or its salts according to a) of composition B is guanidine sulfate” would obviate the rejection.
Claim 22 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites “one or more oxidizing agent(s)” which encompasses one oxidizing agent (emphasis added). However claim 22 recites “compounds according to c)”. The term “compounds” requires a multitude compound of oxidizing agents however, “according to c)” permits inclusion of just one oxidizing agent. It is unclear whether one or more than one oxidizing agent(s) are required to meet the limitations of claim 22.
Applicant may wish to consider whether a claim 22 amendment to recite “wherein the composition B comprises one or more oxidizing agent(s) according to c)” would obviate the rejection
Claim 22 also recites the limitation “compounds according to c)” in line 2 (emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Applicant may wish to consider whether an amendment to recite “one or more oxidizing agent(s) according to c)” would obviate the rejection.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the compound according to c)” in line 2 (emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Applicant may wish to consider whether an amendment to recite “one or more oxidizing agent(s) according to c)” would obviate the rejection
Claim 24 recites the limitation “according to d)” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “the components of the kit” in lines 1-2 (emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Applicant may wish to consider whether an amendment to recite “the compositions of the kit” would obviate the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 19, 20, 22, & 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nocker (EP 1366755; Published: 12/03/2003) in view of Elumen (https://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=5594&page=10; Published: 11/22/2008).
Claim Analysis: Claim 27 recites “the components of the kit are mixed directly prior to application onto keratin fibers” which is a statement of intended use and does not further limit the composition.
With regard to claims 1 a), 1 b), 1c), 6, 19, 20, 22, & 24, Nocker in Example 5 teaches a composition for conditioning and/or repair purposes after colouring hair with direct acidic dyes comprising water (i.e. aqueous composition), 5.0 % guanidinium chloride (i.e. guanidine hydrochloride), 1.5% silicium/silicone oil (i.e. lipophilic compound), phosphoric acid (i.e. oxidizing agent), and cetrimonium chloride (surfactant; [0007]; [0049]). With regard to claim 2, the Example 5 composition is free of persalt and/or persulfate [0049]. With regard to claims 1, 25 & 26, Nocker teaches a pH in the range from 1.5 to 5 is found to be very effective to reduce bleeding of acidic dyes from hair and exemplifies a pH of 2.5 in the Example 2 conditioner ([0007]; [0046]). With regard to claim 26, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified Nocker’s Example 5 conditioner by adjusting the pH to 2.5 because this pH is taught as suitable by Nocker for the conditioners which reducing the bleeding of acidic dyes from the hair. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to the reducing the bleeding of acidic dyes from hair. With regard to claim 27, Nocker teaches “this type of composition [i.e. conditioner] can certainly be at the same time colouring composition when dyes are included into preparation” (i.e. the dye components/composition A are mixed with the conditioner/composition B prior to use; [0007]). Nocker teaches the coloring agent is Elumen RR which comprises acid red 52 and it is “used throughout the tests” of the Examples ([0040]; [0043]).
Nocker does not teach a composition A comprising one or more direct dyes and one or more alkalizing agents.
In the same field of invention of dyeing hair with acid dyes, with regard to claims 1 & 4, Elumen teaches Elumen dye comprises water (i.e. aqueous composition), acid red 52, and sodium hydroxide (i.e. alkalizing agent; pg. 1). With regard to claim 2, the Elumen dye is free of persalts and/or persulfate salts. Elumen teaches the customer was “very happy with Elumen” and that the products are “very well thought out” (pg. 2).
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
Here, at least rationale (B) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified Nocker’s kit comprising Elumen RR and conditioning composition by substituting generically taught Elumen RR dye composition with the Elumen dye taught by Elumen because both Elumen RR and Elumen are acid hair dyes comprising acid red 52 dye. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to use a “very well thought out” acid hair dye as taught by Elumen.
With regard to the recited one or more guanidine compounds, lipophilic compounds, and the pH of composition B, the compositions suggested by the combined teachings of Nocker and Elumen teach these parameters with values that overlap or fall within the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nocker & Elumen as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 19, 20, 22, & 24-27 above, and further in view of Picker (EP 3,329,904; Published: 06/06/2018).
Claim Analysis: As above.
The teachings of Nocker & Elumen are described above. In brief, the combined teachings of Nocker & Elumen suggest a kit comprising Elumen hair dye and a conditioner which reduces the bleeding of acid hair dyes from hair dyed with Elumen. Elumen teaches the Elumen hair dye composition comprises acid black 1, Acid Red 52, Yellow 10/D&C Yellow No. 10, Ext. Violet 2/D&C Violet No. 2, Orange 4/D&C Orange No. 4 and red 33/D&C Red No. 33 (Elumen-pg. 1).
Neither Nocker nor Elumen teach inclusion HC Blue 18, HC Red 18, and HC Yellow 16.
In the same field of invention of improving the wash-fastness of artificially-colored keratin fibers, with regard to claim 3, Picker teaches acid black 1, Acid Red 52, Yellow 10/D&C Yellow No. 10, Ext. Violet 2/D&C Violet No. 2, Orange 4/D&C Orange No. 4, red 33/D&C Red No. 33, HC Blue 18, HC Red 18, and HC Yellow 16 are anionic direct dyes [0072].
Here, at least rationale (A) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the Elumen hair dye suggested by the combined teachings of Nocker and Elumen by adding any one of HC Blue 18, HC Red 18, and HC Yellow 16 to the composition as suggested by Picker’s teachings because Elumen hair dye comprises anionic direct dyes and HC Blue 18, HC Red 18, and HC Yellow 16 are anionic direct dyes suitable for application to hair as taught by Picker. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to add blue, red, or yellow tones to hair.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nocker & Elumen, as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 19, 20, 22, & 24-27 above, and further in view of Onitsuka (US 6,206,935; Published: 03/27/2001).
Claim Analysis: As above.
The teachings of Nocker & Elumen are described above. In brief, the combined teachings of Nocker & Elumen suggest a kit comprising Elumen hair dye and a conditioner which reduces the bleeding of acid hair dyes from hair dyed with Elumen. Elumen teaches the Elumen hair dye composition comprises water, propylene carbonate, alcohol (i.e. ethanol), sodium hydroxide and acid dyes (Elumen-pg. 1).
Neither Nocker nor Elumen teach the amount of direct dyes in composition A.
In the same field of invention of dyeing hair with direct dyes, with regard to claim 5, Onitsuka in Table 2 Formulation X teaches a direct hair dye comprising water, 16% propylene carbonate, 4.0% ethanol, sodium hydroxide and 0.47% direct dyes (i.e. Orange No. 205, Violet No. 401, and Red No. 106; col. 4, ll. 40-55). More broadly, with regard to claim 5, Onitsuka teaches inclusion of acid dyes in an amount of 0.2 to 5 wt.% (col. 2, ll. 35-45).
Here, at least rationale (G) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the Elumen hair dye suggested by the combined teachings of Nocker and Elumen by adjusting the amount of acid dyes to be between 0.2 to 5 wt.% as taught by Onitsuka because both Elumen hair dye and Onitsuka’s hair dye compositions comprise water, propylene carbonate, alcohol/ethanol, sodium hydroxide and acid dyes and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success in order to use the direct dyes in an amount that is art recognized as suitable for dyeing hair.
With regard to the recited amounts of direct dyes/acid dyes, the combined teachings of Nocker, Elumen, and Onitsuka suggest the acid dyes in an amount which overlaps or falls within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nocker & Elumen as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 19, 20, 22, & 24-27 above, and further in view of Chuang (US 2012/0141398; Published: 06/07/2012).
Claim Analysis: As above.
The teachings of Nocker & Elumen are described above. In brief, the combined teachings of Nocker & Elumen suggest a kit comprising Elumen hair dye and a conditioner which reduces the bleeding of acid hair dyes from hair dyed with Elumen. Nocker teaches the conditioning composition comprises guanidine chloride (i.e. guanidine hydrochloride; Example 5-[0049]). The Elumen dye comprises orange No. 4/D&C Orange No. 4 and Acid red 52 as dyes (pg. 1).
Neither Nocker, nor Elumen teach the compound is guanidine sulfate.
In the same field of invention of hair dyes, with regard to claim 18, Chuang teaches guanidine salts such as guanidine hydrochloride and guanidine sulfate are organic alkali agents (title; [0042]). Chuang teaches D&C Orange No. 4, Ext. D& C Violet No. 2, D & C Yellow 10, and Acid Red 52 as a suitable cosmetic colors for their invention (Table 6-pg. 4 & 5).
Here, at least rationale (B) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the hair conditioner suggested by the combined teachings of Nocker and Elumen by substituting the guanidine chloride with guanidine sulfate with a reasonable expectation of success because they are both suitable alkali agents for use in the hair dyes including those which contain the direct anionic dye D & C Orange No.4/Orange No. 4 as taught by Chuang and simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nocker & Elumen as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 19, 20, 22, & 24-27 above, and further in view of Xanthan Gum (https://www.beautycon.com/article/xanthan-gum-hair-gel; Published: 11/02/2011) and Seper (US 5,935,560; Published: 08/10/1999).
Claim Analysis: As above.
The teachings of Nocker and Elumen are described above. In brief, Nocker teaches a hair conditioner which improves the color fastness of hair dyed with Elumen. Nocker’s Example 5 hair conditioner is reasonably an emulsion because it comprises the lipophilic agents, silicium/silicone oil and cetearyl alcohol; the surfactant, cetrimonium chloride; and water [0049]).
Neither Nocker nor Elumen teach inclusion of xanthan gum.
With regard to claim 21, Xanthan Gum teaches xanthan gum is useful in hair conditioners and it functions as a viscosity modifier to produce thermally stable creamy products; it is also an excellent emulsion stabilization agent which prevents phase separation (pg. 6).
With regard to claim 21, Seper teaches a composition for imparting durable conditioning properties to hair which may be applied to the hair as an emulsion or a conditioner (abstract; col. 1, ll. 15-25). Seper teaches thickening their compositions with xanthan gum in an amount from 0% to about 3% of the composition (col. 8, ll. 30-45).
Here, at least rationale (A), may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the hair conditioner/composition B suggested by the combined teachings of Nocker and Elumen by adding 0-3% xanthan gum to the hair conditioner as suggested by the combined teachings of Xanthan Gum and Seper because the composition suggested by the combined teachings of Nocker and Elumen is reasonably an emulsion and xanthan gum has the beneficial property of stabilizing emulsions while providing a thick creamy consistency to the formulation as suggested by the combined teachings of Xanthan Gum and Seper. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to thicken the composition and stabilize the emulsion.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nocker & Elumen as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 19, 20, 22, & 24-27 above, and further in view of Legrand (KR 20040036597; Published 04/30/2004) and Gerstein (EP 0133905; Published: 03/13/1985).
Claim Analysis: As above.
*All references refer to the English language translation.
The teachings of Nocker & Elumen are described above. In brief, the combined teachings of Nocker & Elumen suggest a kit comprising Elumen hair dye and a conditioner which reduces the bleeding of acid hair dyes from hair dyed with Elumen. The conditioning composition comprises phosphoric acid (Nocker, Example 5-[0049]). Nocker teaches a pH in the range from 1.5 to 5 is found to be very effective to reduce bleeding of acidic dyes from hair and exemplifies a pH of 2.5 in the Example 2 conditioner (i.e. the hair conditioner is a low pH; [0007]; [0046]).
Neither Nocker nor Elumen teach the conditioning composition comprises hydrogen peroxide.
In the same field of invention of dyeing hair, Legrand teaches compositions for dyeing keratin materials (pg. 4). Legrand teaches that phosphoric acid is a oxidizing agent (pg. 9).
In the same field of invention, Gerstein teaches a low pH hair conditioner and neutralizer conditioning compositions comprising an oxidizing agent (title; abstract). Gerstein teaches hydrogen peroxide is an oxidizing agent (pg. 2, ll. 10-15). Gerstein teaches “the action of an oxidative agent, typically hydrogen peroxide, in the acidic preparation, provides an immediate and effective result in reconstructing the disulfide bonds. Both the acidity of the preparation and the presence of hydrogen peroxide serve to quickly restore the hair to its normal condition providing close to normal tensile strength and reducing the chance of accidental damage to it in its weakened state” (pg. 3, ll.5-20).
Here, at least rationale (B) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the conditioning composition/composition B suggested by the combined teachings of Nocker and Elumen by substituting the phosphoric acid with hydrogen peroxide as taught by Gerstein because Nocker and Gerstein are both directed to conditioners comprising oxidizing agents including phosphoric acid and hydrogen peroxide as suggested by the combined teachings of Legrand and Gerstein and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skill artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to restore the dyed hair to its normal condition by restoring disulfide bonds, providing close to normal tensile strength and reducing the chance of accidental damage through use of hydrogen peroxide as taught by Gerstein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 & 18-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,793,736 (hereinafter ‘736; Issued: 10/24/2023) in view of Nocker (EP 1366755; Published: 12/03/2003), Chuang (US 2012/0141398; Published: 06/07/2012), Onitsuka (US 6,206,935; Published: 03/27/2001), Xanthan Gum (https://www.beautycon.com/article/xanthan-gum-hair-gel; Published: 11/02/2011) and Seper (US 5,935,560; Published: 08/10/1999). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘736 recites a two part dyeing composition/kit of parts comprising a first non-oxidizing aqueous composition having a pH in the range of 7 to 12 which comprises the direct dyes HC Red 18, HC Blue 18 and HC Yellow 16; alkalizing agent which may be ammonia, or alkyl or alkanolamines and/or their salts and/or mixtures; and benzyl alcohol. The amount of these alkalizing agent and benzyl alcohol overlap or fall within the claimed ranges. The ‘736 recites a second aqueous acidic composition. The pH of the composition is necessarily less than 7 because that is an acidic pH. The second aqueous acidic composition comprises an oxidizing agent, which may be hydrogen peroxide, and guanidine. The ‘736 recites the non-oxidizing is free of bleaching compounds; the ordinary skilled artisan recognized that persulfates and persalts are bleaching compounds. The ‘736 also does not recite/require use of bleaching compounds and/or persulfates or persalts. As such, the ‘736 kit is reasonably free of persulfates and persalts. The ‘736 does not recite the guanidine is guanidine sulfate and the amount of guanidine compounds; inclusion of lipophilic compounds and their amount, thickening compounds and their amounts, and surfactant; and amount of direct dyes. With regard to the surfactant; the lipophilic compound and its amount; and amount of guanidine compounds, the teachings of Nocker are addressed above. With regard to the species of guanidine being guanidine sulfate, the teaching of Chuang are addressed above. With regard to inclusion of thickening compounds in the acidic composition, the teachings of Xanthan gum and Seper are addressed above. With regard to the amount of direct dyes, the teachings of Onitsuka are addressed above. With regard to the guanidine sulfate, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have substituted the ‘736’s generically recited guanidine with guanidine sulfate as taught by Chuang and adjusting the amount to be 5.0% as taught by Nocker because the ‘736, Chuang and Nocker are drawn to dyeing hair with acid dyes and guanidine sulfate is an organic alkali agent used with acid dyes with guanidine compounds used in an amount of 5.0%. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to use an alkali agent, art recognized as suitable for dyeing hair in an art recognized suitable amounts. With regard to the lipophilic compounds, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the composition recited by the ‘736 by adding 1.5% silicone oil as taught by Nocker because the ‘736 and Nocker are directed to dyeing hair. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to condition hair. With regard to the thickening agents/xanthan gum, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the acidic composition recited by the ‘736 by adding xanthan gum/thickening agents in an amount of 0-3% as suggested by the combined teachings of Xanthan Gum and Seper because the ‘736, Xanthan Gum, and Seper are directed to hair care compositions and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to thicken the composition using amounts of reagents which are art recognized as suitable for hair compositions. With regard to the surfactant, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the composition recited by the ‘736 application by adding cetrimonium chloride as taught by Nocker because the ‘736 and Nocker are directed to hair dyeing compositions. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to stabilize the formulation by suspending the reagents. With regard to the amount of direct dyes, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified the composition of the ‘736 by adjusting the amount of direct dyes to be between 0.2 to 5 wt.% as taught by Onitsuka because the ‘736 and Onitsuka are both directed to hair dyeing compositions have direct dyes and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success in order to provide the direct dyes in an amount art recognized as suitable for hair compositions having direct dyes. With regard to the recited pH range; amount of direct dyes in Composition A, guanidine compounds in the acidic composition, lipophilic components and thickening components/xanthan gum, the ‘736, Nocker, Chuang, Onitsuka, Xanthan Gum, and Seper teach these parameters with values which fall within or overlap with the recited ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LORI K MATTISON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/NICOLE P BABSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619