DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-3 of the Request for Reconsideration, filed on June 29, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20200373584 A1 (Morin ‘584).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 24-25, and 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090017376 A1 (Yamamura ‘376) in view of US 20200373584 A1 (Morin ‘584).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamura ‘376 teaches an electrode for power storage devices (a laminate type battery 1 having a negative electrode 10; [0021]), comprising:
a conductor plate (negative pole terminal 14; [0021]) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (the negative pole terminal 14, as shown in Figs. 10 & 11, has a first surface adjacent to the three-layered laminate portions 105 and a second surface opposite the first surface facing away from the three laminate portions 105; [0088]);
a first composite film (the three-layered laminate portion 105, i.e., the laminate portion 105 closest to the negative pole terminal 14; [0088] & Fig. 10) including a first layer which contains an insulative material (insulation layer 104; [0088 & Fig. 11]), a first electrically-conductive layer (second electrically conductive layer 103B; [0088] & Fig. 11) and a second electrically-conductive layer (first electrically conductive layer 103A; [0088] & Fig. 11), the first layer being provided between the first electrically-conductive layer and the second electrically-conductive layer (the insulation layer 104 is provided between the first electrically conductive layer 103A and the second electrically conductive layer 103B; Fig. 11).
Yamamura ‘376 further discloses joining portions 19 formed by engaging an ultrasonic horn with the overlaid portion under pressure and applying thereto ultrasonic vibration ([0023]). In the ninth and tenth embodiments of Figs. 10 and 11, unlike the first to eighth embodiments, the negative collector 102 is integrally formed, i.e., joined directly to the negative pole terminal 14 ([0088]).
However, Yamamura ‘376 does not expressly disclose the conductor plate having a first surface which has at least one first recessed portion, the first surface including a first region located outside the first recessed portion; and
the first electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film is connected with the conductor plate at the first recessed portion, and
the second electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film is directly connected with the first electrically-conductive layer within the first recessed portion at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in a normal direction of the first region of the conductor plate.
Morin ‘584 discloses a tab/current collector composite 2040 with a top thin film metallized film collector 2042 and a tab 2044 connected with a bottom film layer of a multi-layered metallized film structure 2046 ([0161] & Fig. 28). The multiple layers 2042, 2046 are manipulated through a weld divot 2048 to connect the multiple layers 2042, 2046 together at a weld interface 2049 ([0161] & Fig. 28). The resultant composite 2040 thus allows for conductivity between all of the metallized film collectors layers 2042, 2046 to the tab 2044 for further utilization with a battery for external power transfer ([0161]). The weld interface 2049 connects such multiple collector layers 2042, 2046 to the tab 2044 ([0161]).
The metallized thin film current collector structure includes at least one layer of metallized film having at least two metallized layers separated by a polymer substrate ([0043]). The utilization of a proper weld anvil creates a certain three-dimensional divot within a subject region of the current collector such that the first metallized layer becomes contacted with the second metallized layer ([0043]). With this weld result, the ability to create such a connection between the current collector and a tab structure is thus available without losing the necessary safety benefits of the thin film current collector itself within the target cell ([0043]).
The inclusion of a tab material within a weld thus allows for the weld anvil to press through the tab and move the current collector in the same manner, thus creating a divot within the tab and current collector simultaneously for connection capabilities between both structures to form a composite for conductivity purposes ([0044]). Such tab weld attachment may be undertaken on either of the top or bottom of such a thin film current collector as well, thereby allowing for the tab to basically connect with the top and bottom metallized layers simultaneously in either manner ([0044]). More than one weld divot may be employed for such connection purposes between the thin film current collector and the tab ([0045]). Such welds may be provided within a small region of the current collector (and thus tab) ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the negative pole terminal of the laminate type battery, as taught by Yamamura ‘376, to include a first recessed portion, i.e., a divot partially formed on the first surface of the negative pole terminal (the first surface having a region located outside the divot at the edge thereof) at the integral connection/weld interface of the laminate portion 105 and the negative pole terminal 14, wherein the second electrically conductive layer 103B is connected to the negative pole terminal at the divot, and the first electrically conductive layer 103A and the second electrically conductive layer 103B are directly connected at the weld interface within the divot of the negative pole terminal 14 at a position overlapping the divot as viewed in the vertical direction of the negative pole terminal 14, as suggested by Morin ‘584, to allow for conductivity between all layers and to create such a connection between the thin film current collector and the tab electrode without losing the necessary safety benefits of the thin film current collector itself within the target cell.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein an organic substance (the organic substance being the polyimide film of the insulation layer; [0025] of Yamamura ‘376) is contained in a portion overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction, the organic substance being at a position deeper than the first region of the first surface (the insulating layer 13, also corresponding to the polymer substrate separating the two metallized layers of the thin film current collector; [0044] of Morin ‘584; would be located at a position overlapping the divot as viewed in the Z direction at a position deeper than the first region of the first surface, because the polymer substrate moves in opposing relation to the weld divot formed by the weld anvil; [0043] of Morin ‘584).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein the first electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film has a third surface facing the first region of the conductor plate (the bottom surface of the second electrically conductive layer 103B of the lowermost laminate portion 105 adjacent to the negative pole terminal 14 has a surface facing the first region of the negative pole terminal 14; Fig. 11 of Yamamura ‘376), and the second electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film has a fourth surface located on a side opposite to the third surface with respect to the first layer (the first electrically conductive layer 103A of the same lowermost laminate portion 105 has a surface located on a side opposite to the surface of the second electrically conductive layer 103B; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376).
However, Yamamura ‘376 does not explicitly disclose a distance along the normal direction from a part of the fourth surface of the second electrically-conductive layer overlapping the first recessed portion of the conductor plate as viewed in the normal direction to the conductor plate is smaller than a distance along the normal direction from a part of the fourth surface of the second electrically-conductive layer overlapping the first region of the conductor plate as viewed in the normal direction.
Nevertheless, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 4, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein a bottom of the first recessed portion includes a flat region (as shown in Fig. 28 of Morin ‘584, the bottom of the weld divot 2048 includes a flat region).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, further comprising a second composite film (the negative collector 102, as shown in Fig. 11, includes a three layered laminate portion 105, corresponding to a first composite film, a second composite film, and a third composite film; [0088]), the second composite film including a third-electrically conductive layer (3 in annotated Fig. 11 below), a fourth electrically conductive layer (4 in annotated Fig. 11 below), and a second layer which contains an insulative material (the layer between 3 and 4 in annotated Fig. 11 below) (each negative collector 102 has a first electrically conductive layer 103A, a second electrically conductive layer 103B, and an insulation layer 104; [0088] & Fig. 10), wherein
the second layer is provided between the third electrically conductive layer and the fourth electrically conductive layer (the layer between 3 and 4 of annotated Fig. 11 corresponds to the same the insulation layer 104 that is provided between the first and second electrically conductive layers 103A and 103B; [0088] & Fig. 10),
at least part of the third electrically conductive layer is provided between the fourth electrically conductive layer and the first composite film (part of 3 is provided between 4 and the layer above comprising 1 and 2, corresponding to the first composite film; see annotated Fig. 11 below),
the fourth electrically conductive layer has a fifth surface located on a side opposite to the third electrically conductive layer (4 has a surface opposite 3, corresponding to the fifth surface; see annotated Fig. 11 below),
the third electrically conductive layer is connected with the first electrically conductive layer and the second electrically conductive layer of the first composite film at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction (at the bent portions 113 of annotated Fig. 11, each electrically conductive layer is connected with the other at the overlapping portion of the bent portions 113),
the fourth electrically conductive layer is connected with the third electrically conductive layer at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction (4 and 3 are connected at an overlapping portion at bent portions 113 in annotated Fig. 11 below of Yamamura ‘376), and
[AltContent: textbox (3)][AltContent: textbox (4)][AltContent: textbox (1)][AltContent: textbox (2)]the fifth surface of the fourth electrically conductive layer includes, at a portion overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction, a portion closer to the second surface than a portion of the first surface of the conductor plate located in the first region (as a result of the ultrasonic vibration, through the formation of recessed portions, a portion of 3 may be closer to the bottom surface of the conductor plate than a portion of the top surface; annotated Fig. 11 below of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein at least one first recessed portion includes two first recessed portions arranged along a first direction perpendicular to the normal direction (such welds may be provided as repeated divots of the same three dimensional structure in patterns thereof; [0035] of Morin ‘584; see Figs 35-37 showing a plurality of weld grid structures having a plurality of anvil protrusions; multiple divots allow for increased conductivity on demand; [0045] of Morin ‘584).
Regarding claim 24, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein the at least one first recessed portion includes a plurality of first recessed portions arranged along a third direction and a fourth direction which are perpendicular to the normal direction and which are different from each other (such welds may be provided as repeated divots of same three dimensional structure or different three-dimensional structures in patterns thereof or random configurations; [0035] of Morin ‘584; see Figs 35-37 showing a plurality of weld grid structures having a plurality of anvil protrusions; multiple divots allow for increased conductivity on demand; [0045] of Morin ‘584).
Regarding claim 25, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 24, wherein the plurality of first recessed portions include at least three first recessed portions arranged along the third direction, each of the at least three first recessed portions having an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate (such welds may be provided as repeated divots of same three dimensional structure or different three-dimensional structures in patterns thereof or random configurations; [0035] of Morin ‘584; see Figs 35-37 showing a plurality of weld grid structures having a plurality of anvil protrusions; multiple divots allow for increased conductivity on demand; [0045] of Morin ‘584),
the at least three first recessed portions include a first set and a second set of two first recessed portions, in each of which sets the two first recessed portions are adjacent along the third direction with the first region interposed therebetween (see Fig. 37 of Morin ‘584 having a weld grid structure that would result in two sets of three recessed portions having a region therebetween when ultrasonic welding is performed), and
a distance between openings of the first two recessed portions included in the first set is different from a distance between openings of the two first recessed portions included in the second set (the distance between the sets of recessed portions may be different depending on which weld grid structure is selected).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 27, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 9, further comprising a first active material layer provided on a part of the first composite film (a negative pole active material layer 9; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), wherein the first layer of the first composite film includes a first portion lying between the first two recessed portions (the insulating layer 15 has a portion lying between the joining portions 19, corresponding to the first two recessed portions; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), and a second portion overlapping the first active material layer (the insulating layer 15 has a portion overlapping the negative pole layer 9; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), and a thickness along the normal direction of at least part of the first portion is greater than a thickness of the second portion (the thickness of the portion at the folded portion 17 is thicker than the second portion overlapping with the negative pole active material layer 9; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376; since a battery that is more excellent in the durability and the resistance to vibration can be obtained as the insulation layer 15 is thicker, the thickness of the insulation layer 15 is preferably 5 µm or more, wherein it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness to provide an insulating layer resistant to vibration; [0025] of Yamamura ‘376).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 28, Yamamura ‘376 teaches a power storage device (a laminate type battery 1; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), comprising: the electrode for power storage devices as set forth in claim 27; a second electrode (a positive pole electrode 6; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376); a second active material layer provided on the second electrode (a positive pole active material layer 5 formed on the surface of the positive collector 4; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376); and an electrolyte (electrolyte layer 7; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376) and a separator provided between the first active material layer and the second active material layer (the electrolyte layer 8 has a separator between the positive pole active material layer 5 and the negative pole active material layer 9; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 29, Yamamura ‘376 teaches a power storage device (laminate type batter 1; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), comprising: the electrode for power storage devise as set forth in claim 1; a second electrode (a positive pole electrode 6; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376); and an electrolyte provided between a part of the first composite film and the second electrode (an electrolyte layer 7 provided between the first electrode and the second electrode; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 30, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the power storage device of claim 29, further comprising a first active material layer provided on the part of the first composite film (a negative pole active material layer 9; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), a separator provided between the first active material layer and the second electrode (an electrolyte layer 7 having a separator provided between the negative pole active material layer 9 and the positive pole electrode 6; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), and a second active material layer provided on the second electrode (a positive pole active material layer 5 formed on the positive collector 4; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), wherein the second active material layer is provided between the second electrode and the separator (the positive pole active material layer 5 is provided between the electrolyte layer 7 having a separator and the positive collector 4; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 31, Yamamura ‘376 teaches a secondary battery (a lithium ion secondary battery; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), comprising the power storage device as set forth in claim 28; and an enclosure covering the energy storage device (the battery element 2 is sealed inside aluminum laminate sheet 3 serving as an exterior covering; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), wherein at least one of the first active material layer and the second active material layer contains a material capable of intercalating and deintercalating lithium ions (the negative pole active layer 9 may contain, for example, lithium transition metal compound, i.e., a material capable of intercalating and deintercalating lithium ions, corresponding to paragraph [0191] of the instant specification; [0020] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 32, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the secondary battery of claim 31, wherein the first electrically conductive layer contains aluminum (the electrically conductive material may be aluminum foil; [0024] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 33, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the secondary battery of claim 31, wherein the first electrically conductive layer contains copper (the electrically conductive material may be copper foil; [0024] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 34, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the secondary battery of claim 31, wherein one of the first active material layer and the second active material layer contains carbon (the negative pole active layer 9 may contain a carbon material; [0030] of Yamamura ‘376).
Claims 6-8, 10-23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090017376 A1 (Yamamura ‘376) in view of US 20200373584 A1 (Morin ‘584), and further in view of US 20200212501 A1 (Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second surface of the conductor plate has one or more second recessed portions.
Matsumasa ‘501 discloses a method for attaching the negative-electrode current collector 8 to the negative-electrode core laminate of the wound electrode assembly 3 ([0062]). The negative electrode current collector 8 and the negative electrode core laminate are placed between a horn 90 and an anvil 91 of an ultrasonic bonding apparatus as illustrated in Fig. 4 ([0063]). As illustrated in Fig. 5A, the layered negative electrode core 5a is bonded to the negative electrode current collector 8 by ultrasonic bonding, and the layered negative electrode core 5a has a bonding region 81 bonded to the negative electrode current collector 8 ([0069]). The bonding region 81 has recessed portions and raised portions ([0069]). More specifically, the bonding region 81 has core recesses 81x corresponding to the horn protrusions 90a ([0069]). Each of the core recesses 81x may have a flat portion 81x1 at its bottom ([0069]). The flat portion 81x1 at the bottom of each core recess 81x promotes friction behavior in the bonding region 81 during ultrasonic bonding and forms a strong bond between the layers of the negative-electrode core 5a and between the negative electrode core 5a and the negative electrode current collector 8 ([0070]).
As shown in Fig. 6, there are a plurality of first recessed portions 81x and a plurality of second recessed portions 8x formed the combination of horn and anvil protrusions of the ultrasonic bonding apparatus ([0072] & Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the second surface of the negative pole terminal, as taught by Yamamura ‘376 in view of Morin ‘584, to include one or more second recessed portions, as suggested by Matsumasa ‘501, to provide a strong bond as a result of the ultrasonic bonding apparatus having horn and anvil protrusions.
Regarding claim 7, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 6, wherein the one or more second recessed portions include a second recessed portion located at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction (see Fig. 6 of Matsumasa ‘501, wherein there is a plurality of first recessed portions 81x and a plurality of second recessed portions 8x overlapping each other; [0072] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 6, wherein the at least one first recessed portion includes two first recessed portions arranged along a first direction perpendicular to the normal direction, and the one or more second recessed portions include a second recessed portion located between the two first recessed portions as viewed in the normal direction (see Fig. 6 of Matsumasa ‘501, wherein there is a plurality of first recessed portions 81x along a direction perpendicular to the Z/normal direction and one or more second recessed portions 8x located between the two first recessed portions 81x; [0072] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein the first layer of the first composite film includes a portion whose thickness increases in a direction from one to the other of the first two recessed portions (since a battery that is more excellent in the durability and the resistance to vibration can be obtained as the insulation layer 15 is thicker, the thickness of the insulation layer 15 is preferably 5 µm or more, wherein it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness to provide an insulating layer resistant to vibration; [0025] of Yamamura ‘376).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 11, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein the first electrically conductive layer includes a first arc-shaped portion curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region, and the first arc-shaped portion is present between the two first recessed portions (as shown in Fig. 8 of Matsumasa ‘501, there is an arc-shaped portion present between the first two recessed portions, curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region).
Regarding claim 12, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein a part of a sixth surface of the first electrically conductive layer which is on a side opposite to the conductor plate is curved in a direction away from the conductor plate in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region (see Fig. 9B below of Matsumasa ‘501 where, as a result of the ultrasonic vibration, there will be curved portions curving away from the current collector 8, as shown in the crystal grain state wherein the layers of the multilayer structure mutually overlap; [0089] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 13, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein the first electrically conductive layer of the first composite film includes a first turned back section in which the first electrically conductive layer is curved so as to mutually override such that the first electrically-conductive player mutually overlaps as viewed in the normal direction, and the first turned back portion is present between the two first recessed portions (see Fig. 9B below of Matsumasa ‘501 where, as a result of the ultrasonic vibration, there will be curved portions having a “turned-back” portion as shown in the crystal grain state wherein the layers of the multilayer structure mutually overlap; [0089] of
Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 14, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 11, wherein the second electrically conductive layer includes a second arc-shaped portion curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region, and the second arc-shaped portion is present between the two first recessed portions (as a result of the ultrasonic vibration of the multilayer structure of the electrode, there is a second arc-shaped portion curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region between the two first recessed portions; [0089] & Fig. 9B of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 15, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 11, wherein a part of a surface of the second electrically conductive layer which is distant from the conductor plate is curved in a direction away from the conductor plate in a cross section perpendicular to the first region (as shown in Fig. 11 of Yamamura ‘376, there is a part of a surface of the second electrically-conductive layer 103B curved or bent in a direction away from the bent portions 113; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376 ), and the part of the surface of the second electrically-conductive layer is present between the two first recessed portions (as a result of the ultrasonic vibration of the multilayer structure of the electrode, the “part” of the surface of the second electrically-conductive layer 103B would be present between the two first recessed portions; Fig. 11 of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 16, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 11, wherein the second electrically conductive layer of the first composite film includes a second turned-back section in which the second electrically-conductive layer is curved so as to mutually override such that the second electrically conductive layer mutually overlaps as viewed in the normal direction (see Fig. 9B of Matsumasa ‘501 where, as a result of the ultrasonic vibration of the multilayer structure, there will be a second turned back section as shown in the crystal grain state, wherein the layers of the multilayer structure mutually overlap; [0089] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 17, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate (as shown in Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501, each of the recessed portions have an opening in the first surface), and a maximum width of one of the opening is greater than a minimum of a distance from the one to the other of the openings (the width of the opening is greater than a distance from one opening to tother; Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 18, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and a maximum width of one of the openings is smaller than a minimum of a distance from one to the other of the openings (an opening of one of the recessed portions may have a distance that is smaller than a distance from one of the recessed portions at the bottom of Fig. 5A to another of the recessed portions at the top of Fig. 5A; see Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 19, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and a width along the first direction of one of the openings is smaller than a width along a second direction of the one of the openings, the second direction being perpendicular to the normal direction and the first direction (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a has an opening, wherein the width along one direction of the opening is smaller than a width along a second direction of one of the other openings, the second direction being perpendicular to the normal direction and the first direction; see Fig. 5A and [0068] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 20, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and one of the openings includes a portion whose width varies along the first direction or a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a has an opening, wherein one of the openings includes a portion whose width varies along the x or y direction; see Fig. 5A and [0068] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 21, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and one of the openings has a crooked shape (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a, and as a result of ultrasonic vibration, one of the openings may have a crooked shape; Fig. 5A, 9B, & 12A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 22, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and one of the openings has a meandering shape (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a, and as a result of ultrasonic vibration, one of the openings may have a meandering shape; Fig. 5A, 9B, & 12A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 23, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 17, wherein the openings have a rectangular shape (see Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 26, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first composite film has a third recessed portion at a position which is on a side opposite to the conductor plate and which corresponds to each first recessed portion of the conductor plate, the third recessed portion being recessed toward the conductor plate.
Matsumasa ‘501 discloses a method for attaching the negative-electrode current collector 8 to the negative-electrode core laminate of the wound electrode assembly 3 ([0062]). The negative electrode current collector 8 and the negative electrode core laminate are placed between a horn 90 and an anvil 91 of an ultrasonic bonding apparatus as illustrated in Fig. 4 ([0063]). As illustrated in Fig. 5A, the layered negative electrode core 5a is bonded to the negative electrode current collector 8 by ultrasonic bonding, and the layered negative electrode core 5a has a bonding region 81 bonded to the negative electrode current collector 8 ([0069]). The bonding region 81 has recessed portions and raised portions ([0069]). More specifically, the bonding region 81 has core recesses 81x corresponding to the horn protrusions 90a ([0069]). Each of the core recesses 81x may have a flat portion 81x1 at its bottom ([0069]). The flat portion 81x1 at the bottom of each core recess 81x promotes friction behavior in the bonding region 81 during ultrasonic bonding and forms a strong bond between the layers of the negative-electrode core 5a and between the negative electrode core 5a and the negative electrode current collector 8 ([0070]).
As shown in Fig. 6, there are a plurality of first recessed portions 81x and a plurality of second recessed portions 8x formed the combination of horn and anvil protrusions of the ultrasonic bonding apparatus ([0072] and Figs. 4, 5A, & 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the second surface of the negative pole terminal, as taught by Yamamura ‘376 in view of Morin ‘584, to include a third recessed portion recessed toward the negative pole terminal and corresponding to the first recessed portions on the opposite surface of the negative pole terminal, as suggested by Matsumasa ‘501, to provide a strong bond as a result of the ultrasonic bonding apparatus having horn and anvil protrusions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200243892 A1 (Muroya ‘892) discloses a positive electrode current collector 6 with a thin-walled portion 6 e provided in the lead portion 6 b and a recess 6 d formed on a surface facing the positive electrode core-stacked portion 40 ([0060] & Fig. 4). The positive electrode core-stacked portion 40 and the lead portion 6 b are sandwiched between a horn 90 and an anvil 91 ([0061] & Fig. 4). The horn 90 has a plurality of horn projections 90 a, and the anvil 91 has a plurality of anvil projections 91 a ([0061] & Fig. 4). As shown in Fig. 6, by sandwiching the positive electrode core-stacked portion 40 and the lead portion 6 b between the horn 90 and the anvil 91, the horn projections 90 a dig into the positive electrode core-stacked portion 40, and the anvil projections 91 a dig into the lead portion 6 b ([0062]). Then ultrasonic vibrations are applied to the horn 90, and the positive electrode core-stacked portion 40 and the lead portion 6 b are joined together ([0062]).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725