DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on February 13, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-34 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090017376 A1 (Yamamura ‘376) in view of US 20200212501 A1 (Matsumasa ‘501), and further in view of JP 2012155974 A (Arima ‘974 – citing to the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamura ‘376 teaches an electrode for power storage devices (a laminate type battery 1 having a negative electrode 10; [0021]), comprising:
a conductor plate (electroconductive plate 13; [0021]) having a first surface which has at least one first recessed portion (a top surface of electroconductive plate 13 with joining portions 19 formed through ultrasonic vibration, wherein it is the examiner’s position that a recessed portion is formed through the ultrasonic joining from the ultrasonic horn; [0022] – [0023] & Fig. 2B) and a second surface located opposite to the first surface (a bottom surface opposite the first surface; [0022] & Fig. 2B), the first surface including a first region located outside the first recessed portion (the top surface of electroconductive plate 13 has a first region located outside of the joining portions 19; Fig. 2B); and
a first composite film (a negative collector 8 with a multilayered structure; [0022]) including a first layer which contains an insulative material (an insulating layer 15 made of an insulating material such as a polyimide film; [0022] & [0025] & Fig. 1), a first electrically-conductive layer (a first electrically conductive layer 16A; [0022] & Fig. 1) and a second electrically-conductive layer (a second electrically conductive layer 16B; [0022] & Fig. 1), the first layer being provided between the first electrically-conductive layer and the second electrically-conductive layer (the insulating layer 15 is interposed between the first electrically conductive layer 16A and the second electrically conductive layer 16B; [0022] & Fig. 1), wherein
the first electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film is connected with the conductor plate at the first recessed portion (the first electrically conductive layer 16A of negative collector 8 is connected with the electroconductive plate 13 at the joining portions 19; Fig. 2B), and
the second electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film is connected with the first electrically-conductive layer at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in a normal direction of the first region of the conductor plate (the second electrically conductive layer 16b of the negative collector 8 is connected with the first electrically conductive layer 16a at a position overlapping the joining portions 19 at folded sections 17 and 18; [0023] & Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2B).
Matsumasa ‘501 discloses a method for attaching the negative-electrode current collector 8 to the negative-electrode core laminate of the wound electrode assembly 3 ([0062]). The negative electrode current collector 8 and the negative electrode core laminate are placed between a horn 90 and an anvil 91 of an ultrasonic bonding apparatus as illustrated in Fig. 4 ([0063]). As illustrated in Fig. 5A, the layered negative electrode core 5a is bonded to the negative electrode current collector 8 by ultrasonic bonding, and the layered negative electrode core 5a has a bonding region 81 bonded to the negative electrode current collector 8 ([0069]). The bonding region 81 has recessed portions and raised portions ([0069]). More specifically, the bonding region 81 has core recesses 81x corresponding to the horn protrusions 90a ([0069]). Each of the core recesses 81x may have a flat portion 81x1 at its bottom ([0069]). The flat portion 81x1 at the bottom of each core recess 81x promotes friction behavior in the bonding region 81 during ultrasonic bonding and forms a strong bond between the layers of the negative-electrode core 5a and between the negative electrode core 5a and the negative electrode current collector 8 ([0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the electrode having joining portions 19, as taught by Yamamura ‘376, to be provided with first recessed portions, as suggested by Matsumasa ‘501, to provide a strong bond.
Yamamura ‘376 discloses that the first electrically conductive layer 16A and the second electrically conductive layer 16B are disposed on opposite sides of the insulating layer 15, and thus, does not disclose that the layers 16A and 16B are directly connected at a position overlapping the first recessed portion in Fig. 1. However, in an embodiment shown in Fig. 11, the insulating layer 15 is formed to not extend entirely between the first and second electrically conductive layers 16A, 16B ([0091] - [0093]). Nevertheless, Yamamura ‘376 does not disclose that the first and second electrically conductive layers 16A, 16B are directly connected within the recess portion, i.e., where the horn and anvil of the ultrasonic welding apparatus are applied, with a portion of the insulating layer 15 between layers 16A, 16B on both sides of the directly connected portion (see the gap 80 shown below in Fig. 19 of Arima ‘974.
Arima ‘974, like Yamamura ‘376, discloses a non-aqueous secondary battery including a current collector having a multilayer structure in which an insulating layer is sandwiched between conductive layers, and an active material layer formed on the current collector ([0010]). The current collector has a connection region in which no insulating layer is interposed ([0010]). The tab electrode is welded and fixed to the current collector connection region so as to overlap a part of the insulating layer ([0010]; Fig. 1). The positive electrode current collector 11 is formed in a multilayer structure in which a resin layer 13 is sandwiched between two metal foils 14 ([0034]).
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 19)]
In the second embodiment, as shown in Fig. 19, a gap 80 is formed at the connection region M, wherein the resin layer 13 is not interposed between the two metal foils 14, and the tab electrode 41 is welded to the connection area ([0102] – [0103]). The welding of the tab electrodes 41 is preferably accomplished by ultrasonic welding, like Yamamura ‘376 and Matsumasa ‘501 ([0072]). As a result, welding strength can be improved by welding tab electrode to a connection region where no insulating layer is interposed ([0013]). Therefore, welding resistance can be reduced, and vibration resistance can be improved ([0013]).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the first composite film structure including the first and second electrically-conductive layers having an insulating layer entirely between the conductive layers thereto in the electrode, as taught by Yamamura ‘376, to have a connection region where the insulating layer is not present between the conductive layers at a position where the conductor plate is welded to the first composite film, such that the first and second electrically-conductive layers are directly connected to each at the connection region within the first recessed portion formed through ultrasonic welding, resulting in improved welding strength, reduced welding resistance, and improved vibration resistance, as suggested by Arima ‘974.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein an organic substance (the organic substance being the polyimide film; [0025] of Yamamura ‘376) is contained in a portion overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction (the negative collector 8 and the electroconductive plate 13 formed with folded sections 17 and 18, as shown in Fig. 2A, and are overlaid one upon the other in a way as to lockingly engage one in the spacing of the other, and thereafter, by engaging an ultrasonic horn with the overlaid portion under pressure and applying thereto ultrasonic vibration, the joining portions 19 are formed; [0023] of Yamamura ‘376), the organic substance being at a position deeper than the first region of the first surface (it is the examiner’s position, that when the joining portions are formed through ultrasonic vibration by the ultrasonic horn, the joining portions 19, corresponding to the recessed portions, are formed, wherein a portion of the polyimide film present at the folded portions 17 and 18 is present at a position deeper than the region where the joining portions are not formed, i.e., the organic material is present in the joining portions and outside of the joining portions in the folded portions at the overlapping section in Fig. 2B of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein the first electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film has a third surface facing the first region of the conductor plate (the first electrically conductive layer 16A has a surface facing the first region of the electroconductive plate 13; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), and the second electrically-conductive layer of the first composite film has a fourth surface located on a side opposite to the third surface with respect to the first layer (the second electrically conductive layer 16B has a surface located on a side opposite to the surface of the first electrically conductive layer 16A; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376).
However, Yamamura ‘376 does not explicitly disclose a distance along the normal direction from a part of the fourth surface of the second electrically-conductive layer overlapping the first recessed portion of the conductor plate as viewed in the normal direction to the conductor plate is smaller than a distance along the normal direction from a part of the fourth surface of the second electrically-conductive layer overlapping the first region of the conductor plate as viewed in the normal direction.
Nevertheless, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 4, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein a bottom of the first recessed portion includes a flat region (each of the core recesses 81x may have a flat portion 81x1 at its bottom; [0069] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, further comprising a second composite film (the negative collector 102, as shown in Fig. 11, includes a three layered laminate portion 105, corresponding to a first composite film, a second composite film, and a third composite film; [0088]), the second composite film including a third-electrically conductive layer (3 in annotated Fig. 11 below), a fourth electrically conductive layer (4 in annotated Fig. 11 below), and a second layer which contains an insulative material (the layer between 3 and 4 in annotated Fig. 11 below) (each negative collector 102 has a first electrically conductive layer 103A, a second electrically conductive layer 103B, and an insulation layer 104; [0088] & Fig. 10), wherein
the second layer is provided between the third electrically conductive layer and the fourth electrically conductive layer (the layer between 3 and 4 of annotated Fig. 11 corresponds to the same the insulation layer 104 that is provided between the first and second electrically conductive layers 103A and 103B; [0088] & Fig. 10),
at least part of the third electrically conductive layer is provided between the fourth electrically conductive layer and the first composite film (part of 3 is provided between 4 and the layer above comprising 1 and 2, corresponding to the first composite film; see annotated Fig. 11 below),
the fourth electrically conductive layer has a fifth surface located on a side opposite to the third electrically conductive layer (4 has a surface opposite 3, corresponding to the fifth surface; see annotated Fig. 11 below),
the third electrically conductive layer is connected with the first electrically conductive layer and the second electrically conductive layer of the first composite film at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction (at the bent portions 113 of annotated Fig. 11, each electrically conductive layer is connected with the other at the overlapping portion of the bent portions 113),
the fourth electrically conductive layer is connected with the third electrically conductive layer at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction (4 and 3 are connected at an overlapping portion at bent portions 113 in annotated Fig. 11 below of Yamamura ‘376), and
[AltContent: textbox (3)][AltContent: textbox (4)][AltContent: textbox (1)][AltContent: textbox (2)]the fifth surface of the fourth electrically conductive layer includes, at a portion overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction, a portion closer to the second surface than a portion of the first surface of the conductor plate located in the first region (as a result of the ultrasonic vibration, through the formation of recessed portions, a portion of 3 may be closer to the bottom surface of the conductor plate than a portion of the top surface; annotated Fig. 11 below of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein the second surface of the conductor plate has one or more second recessed portions (see Fig. 6 of Matsumasa ‘501, wherein there is a plurality of first recessed portions 81x and a plurality of second recessed portions 8x; [0072] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 6, wherein the one or more second recessed portions include a second recessed portion located at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in the normal direction (see Fig. 6 of Matsumasa ‘501, wherein there is a plurality of first recessed portions 81x and a plurality of second recessed portions 8x overlapping each other; [0072] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 6, wherein the at least one first recessed portion includes two first recessed portions arranged along a first direction perpendicular to the normal direction, and the one or more second recessed portions include a second recessed portion located between the two first recessed portions as viewed in the normal direction (see Fig. 6 of Matsumasa ‘501, wherein there is a plurality of first recessed portions 81x along a direction perpendicular to the Z/normal direction and one or more second recessed portions 8x located between the two first recessed portions 81x; [0072] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein at least one first recessed portion includes two first recessed portions arranged along a first direction perpendicular to the normal direction (see Fig. 6 of Matsumasa ‘501, wherein there is a plurality of first recessed portions 81x along a direction perpendicular to the Z/normal direction; [0072] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein the first layer of the first composite film includes a portion whose thickness increases in a direction from one to the other of the first two recessed portions (since a battery that is more excellent in the durability and the resistance to vibration can be obtained as the insulation layer 15 is thicker, the thickness of the insulation layer 15 is preferably 5 µm or more, wherein it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness to provide an insulating layer resistant to vibration; [0025] of Yamamura ‘376).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 11, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein the first electrically conductive layer includes a first arc-shaped portion curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region, and the first arc-shaped portion is present between the two first recessed portions (as shown in Fig. 8 of Matsumasa ‘501, there is an arc-shaped portion present between the first two recessed portions, curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region).
Regarding claim 12, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein a part of a sixth surface of the first electrically conductive layer which is on a side opposite to the conductor plate is curved in a direction away from the conductor plate in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region (see Fig. 9B below of Matsumasa ‘501 where, as a result of the ultrasonic vibration, there will be curved portions curving away from the current collector 8, as shown in the crystal grain state wherein the layers of the multilayer structure mutually overlap; [0089] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 13, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein the first electrically conductive layer of the first composite film includes a first turned back section in which the first electrically conductive layer is curved so as to mutually override such that the first electrically-conductive player mutually overlaps as viewed in the normal direction, and the first turned back portion is present between the two first recessed portions (see Fig. 9B below of Matsumasa ‘501 where, as a result of the ultrasonic vibration, there will be curved portions having a “turned-back” portion as shown in the crystal grain state wherein the layers of the multilayer structure mutually overlap; [0089] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 14, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 11, wherein the second electrically conductive layer includes a second arc-shaped portion curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region, and the second arc-shaped portion is present between the two first recessed portions (as a result of the ultrasonic vibration of the multilayer structure of the electrode, there is a second arc-shaped portion curved in a cross-section perpendicular to the first region between the two first recessed portions; [0089] & Fig. 9B of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 15, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 11, wherein a part of a surface of the second electrically conductive layer which is distant from the conductor plate is curved in a direction away from the conductor plate in a cross section perpendicular to the first region (as shown in Fig. 11 of Yamamura ‘376, there is a part of a surface of the second electrically-conductive layer 103B curved or bent in a direction away from the bent portions 113; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376 ), and the part of the surface of the second electrically-conductive layer is present between the two first recessed portions (as a result of the ultrasonic vibration of the multilayer structure of the electrode, the “part” of the surface of the second electrically-conductive layer 103B would be present between the two first recessed portions; Fig. 11 of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 16, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 11, wherein the second electrically conductive layer of the first composite film includes a second turned-back section in which the second electrically-conductive layer is curved so as to mutually override such that the second electrically conductive layer mutually overlaps as viewed in the normal direction (see Fig. 9B of Matsumasa ‘501 where, as a result of the ultrasonic vibration of the multilayer structure, there will be a second turned back section as shown in the crystal grain state, wherein the layers of the multilayer structure mutually overlap; [0089] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 17, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate (as shown in Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501, each of the recessed portions have an opening in the first surface), and a maximum width of one of the opening is greater than a minimum of a distance from the one to the other of the openings (the width of the opening is greater than a distance from one opening to tother; Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 18, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and a maximum width of one of the openings is smaller than a minimum of a distance from one to the other of the openings (an opening of one of the recessed portions may have a distance that is smaller than a distance from one of the recessed portions at the bottom of Fig. 5A to another of the recessed portions at the top of Fig. 5A; see Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 19, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and a width along the first direction of one of the openings is smaller than a width along a second direction of the one of the openings, the second direction being perpendicular to the normal direction and the first direction (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a has an opening, wherein the width along one direction of the opening is smaller than a width along a second direction of one of the other openings, the second direction being perpendicular to the normal direction and the first direction; see Fig. 5A and [0068] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 20, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and one of the openings includes a portion whose width varies along the first direction or a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a has an opening, wherein one of the openings includes a portion whose width varies along the x or y direction; see Fig. 5A and [0068] of Matsumasa ‘501).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 21, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and one of the openings has a crooked shape (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a, and as a result of ultrasonic vibration, one of the openings may have a crooked shape; Fig. 5A, 9B, & 12A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 22, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 8, wherein each of the two first recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate, and one of the openings has a meandering shape (each of the recessed portions has an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5a, and as a result of ultrasonic vibration, one of the openings may have a meandering shape; Fig. 5A, 9B, & 12A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 23, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 17, wherein the openings have a rectangular shape (see Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 24, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein the at least one first recessed portion includes a plurality of first recessed portions arranged along a third direction and a fourth direction which are perpendicular to the normal direction and which are different from each other (there are a plurality of recessed portions along the x and y direction that are different from each other; see Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501).
Regarding claim 25, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 24, wherein the plurality of first recessed portions include at least three first recessed portions arranged along the third direction, each of the at least three first recessed portions having an opening in the first surface of the conductor plate (as shown in Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501, there are at least three first recessed portions arranged along the x direction, and each of the three first recessed portions have an opening in the first surface of the negative electrode core 5A),
the at least three first recessed portions include a first set and a second set of two first recessed portions, in each of which sets the two first recessed portions are adjacent along the third direction with the first region interposed therebetween (there are a plurality of recessed portions that can be divided into sets of recessed portions along the x and y directions, wherein the first region is interposed therebetween; see Fig. 5A of Matsumasa ‘501 ), and
a distance between openings of the first two recessed portions included in the first set is different from a distance between openings of the two first recessed portions included in the second set (the distance between the sets of recessed portions may be different depending on which set of recessed portions is selected).
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 26, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1, wherein the first composite film has a third recessed portion at a position which is on a side opposite to the conductor plate and which corresponds to each first recessed portion of the conductor plate, the third recessed portion being recessed toward the conductor plate (as shown in Fig. 5B of Matsumasa ‘501, there plurality of recessed portions at a side opposite to the first recessed portions; [0071]).
Regarding claim 27, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the electrode for power storage devices of claim 9, further comprising a first active material layer provided on a part of the first composite film (a negative pole active material layer 9; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), wherein the first layer of the first composite film includes a first portion lying between the first two recessed portions (the insulating layer 15 has a portion lying between the joining portions 19, corresponding to the first two recessed portions; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), and a second portion overlapping the first active material layer (the insulating layer 15 has a portion overlapping the negative pole layer 9; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), and a thickness along the normal direction of at least part of the first portion is greater than a thickness of the second portion (the thickness of the portion at the folded portion 17 is thicker than the second portion overlapping with the negative pole active material layer 9; Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376; since a battery that is more excellent in the durability and the resistance to vibration can be obtained as the insulation layer 15 is thicker, the thickness of the insulation layer 15 is preferably 5 µm or more, wherein it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness to provide an insulating layer resistant to vibration; [0025] of Yamamura ‘376).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 28, Yamamura ‘376 teaches a power storage device (a laminate type battery 1; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), comprising: the electrode for power storage devices as set forth in claim 27; a second electrode (a positive pole electrode 6; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376); a second active material layer provided on the second electrode (a positive pole active material layer 5 formed on the surface of the positive collector 4; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376); and an electrolyte (electrolyte layer 7; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376) and a separator provided between the first active material layer and the second active material layer (the electrolyte layer 8 has a separator between the positive pole active material layer 5 and the negative pole active material layer 9; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 29, Yamamura ‘376 teaches a power storage device (laminate type batter 1; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), comprising: the electrode for power storage devise as set forth in claim 1; a second electrode (a positive pole electrode 6; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376); and an electrolyte provided between a part of the first composite film and the second electrode (an electrolyte layer 7 provided between the first electrode and the second electrode; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 30, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the power storage device of claim 29, further comprising a first active material layer provided on the part of the first composite film (a negative pole active material layer 9; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), a separator provided between the first active material layer and the second electrode (an electrolyte layer 7 having a separator provided between the negative pole active material layer 9 and the positive pole electrode 6; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), and a second active material layer provided on the second electrode (a positive pole active material layer 5 formed on the positive collector 4; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), wherein the second active material layer is provided between the second electrode and the separator (the positive pole active material layer 5 is provided between the electrolyte layer 7 having a separator and the positive collector 4; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 31, Yamamura ‘376 teaches a secondary battery (a lithium ion secondary battery; [0021] of Yamamura ‘376), comprising the power storage device as set forth in claim 28; and an enclosure covering the energy storage device (the battery element 2 is sealed inside aluminum laminate sheet 3 serving as an exterior covering; [0021] & Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376), wherein at least one of the first active material layer and the second active material layer contains a material capable of intercalating and deintercalating lithium ions (the negative pole active layer 9 may contain, for example, lithium transition metal compound, i.e., a material capable of intercalating and deintercalating lithium ions, corresponding to paragraph [0191] of the instant specification; [0020] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 32, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the secondary battery of claim 31, wherein the first electrically conductive layer contains aluminum (the electrically conductive material may be aluminum foil; [0024] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 33, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the secondary battery of claim 31, wherein the first electrically conductive layer contains copper (the electrically conductive material may be copper foil; [0024] of Yamamura ‘376).
Regarding claim 34, Yamamura ‘376 teaches the secondary battery of claim 31, wherein one of the first active material layer and the second active material layer contains carbon (the negative pole active layer 9 may contain a carbon material; [0030] of Yamamura ‘376).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 13, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts the combination of references fail to disclose or suggest that the second-electrically conductive layer of the first composite film is directly connected with the first electrically-conductive layer within the first recessed portion at a position overlapping the first recessed portion as viewed in a normal direction of the first region of the conductor plate.
Applicant states that Yamamura’s layers 16A,16B are separated from each other by the insulating layer 15, and the right ends of Yamamura’s layers 16A, 16B are connected to each other via the plate 13 and not within the joining portion 19.
However, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Yamamura ‘376 discloses that the negative collector 8 formed of the layers 16A, 16B, and 15, is formed at an end side for contact with the electroconductive plate 13 with a folded section 17, wherein the electroconductive plate 13 is brought into surface-to-surface contact with both layers 16A, 16B, so that they are electrically connected to each other by way of the electroconductive plate 13 ([0020]). The electroconductive plate 13 and the negative collector 8 are joined at the surface-to-surface contact portions thereof by ultrasonic joining to thereby form joining portions 19 ([0020]). Thus, the electrical connection of the layers 16A, 16B occurs within the joining portions 19 by ultrasonic joining.
While Fig. 1 of Yamamura ‘376 discloses an embodiment where the insulating layer 15 is located entirely in between layers 16A, 16B, Fig. 11 discloses an embodiment where the insulation layer 15 is formed to not extend entirely between the first and second electrically conductive layers 16A, 16B ([0091] - [0093]).
Nevertheless, Yamamura ‘376 does not disclose that the first and second electrically conductive layers 16A, 16B are directly connected within the recessed portion/joining portion, i.e., where the horn and anvil of the ultrasonic welding apparatus are applied, with a portion of the insulating layer 15 still present on both sides of the directly connected portion (like the gap 80 shown in Fig. 19 of Arima ‘974).
Arima ‘974 discloses a gap 80 formed at the connection region M, wherein the resin layer 13 is not interposed between the two metal foils 14, and the tab electrode 41 is welded to the connection area ([0102] – [0103]). The welding of the tab electrodes 41 is preferably accomplished by ultrasonic welding ([0072]). As a result, welding strength can be improved by welding tab electrode to a connection region where no insulating layer is interposed ([0013]). Therefore, welding resistance can be reduced, and vibration resistance can be improved ([0013]).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have found it obvious for the layers 16A, 16B of Yamamura ‘376 to be directly connected at the connection region, wherein the insulating layer is modified, in view of Arima ‘974, such that it is not present at the connection region where the horn and anvil of the ultrasonic joining apparatus is applied to connect the layers, to improve welding strength at the connection region, wherein recessed portions are formed by the ultrasonic joining apparatus at the connection region where layers 16A, 16B are directly connected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mechanical performance and electrical resistance of ultrasonic welded multiple Cu-Al layers (Shin) discloses representative surface images at horn and anvil sides of specimens after ultrasonic welding (UW) showing imprints of horn/anvil tips (section 3.2 on pages 146-147 and Fig. 10).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725